We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sanity in Seminyak”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Colony Hotel Bali
Ranked #4 of 117 Seminyak B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2014

This is a delightful, boutique hotel over the road from the beach and on the same road as all the big names (Oberoi, Legian, Samaya, Ku De Ta etc) but far more intimate and personal. The staff, Tami and team, are terrific. The rooms are well furnished and we appreciated the small touches such as cold water brought to you as you lounge by the pool, as well as icy poles. Breakfast was pleasant and served from a set menu, poolside. There is a lane way close by that is a short cut to Seminyak Square. This really is a lovely property and no children are allowed, adding to the relaxed and calm atmosphere, as well as no muzak!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Mops755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (447)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

240 - 246 of 447 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

My husband and I had just 3 nights a long weekend in July ... We travel a lot .... Our stay at the Colony was perfect !!! We started with a standard room and that was excellent, then thought we'd try the delux version for 2 nights. I must say we loved both. The staff are amazing, the breakfast is perfect. Best of all it's in the middle of all our favorite restaurants .... Easy walk everywhere.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esthermoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

A very cosy hotel nestled in the heart of Seminyak. The perfect hotel if you are staying in Seminyak, want to explore the city, be close to the nightlife and come back to a quiet tranquil hotel. Great value for money. Staff are amazing, very helpful and always smiling. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AnnaKokosinska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Intimate little hotel in the best location in Seminyak. Perfect for those who like a smaller personal touch in a hotel and like to be away from the beach. Lovely rooms surrounding the little pool and although small have a real sense of space and very relaxing. Great value, lovely personal service, great massage and great value. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeteSing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The hotel is fantastic - 20 rooms, quiet oasis with rooms arranged around a beautiful pool - but the outstanding feature for us was also the location. The rooms are great - large, well equipped with comfortable beds and luxurious linen - and wifi reaching everywhere.
Location wise I can't fault it. You are very close to some of the best dining in Seminyak, and the recent upgrades of the pavements (since Sept 2013) means that it is an easy walk to many different areas - left out the hotel entrance it's just 500m (via a side lane) to Seminyak Square for shopping, and near the hotel you'll find plenty of eating options within walking distance. We tried Lello Lello (right outside the hotel, a cafe with gelato and coffee, and good-value, great tasting Indian food in the evening) Sea Circus (casual, well designed, cafe food), La Lucciola (beach front, top notch food at an affordable price in the most relaxing atmosphere for lunch), Bambu (luxury Indonesian food, just opened by the owners of La Luciolla), Biku (great vaue Indonesian and other cafe food). And a 3 minute cab ride to places like Sardine (beautiful setting in a open air restaurant overlooking paddy fields) and Naughty Nuri's (Ribs. Oh my, I can still remember the taste of those ribs), and Watercress (light cafe food in an informal setting).
But my one recommendation is once you've chilled enough around the pool at The Colony, cross the road to The Semaya for sunset drinks. Although they are a little more expensive than you might pay elsewhere, you will find lots of space to relax on a sofa on the lawn looking over the beach, and no pressure to do anything other than sip a beer and watch the sun sink on the horizon.
(After dropping the teenagers off to Ku De Ta, Potato Head or the W to get their heads filled with the trance music and cheaper pizzas)

Room Tip: The suites are bigger with better locations - Room 12 is the one that looks down the pool from upsta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ray F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The Colony Hotel is a fantastic place to stay in Seminyak near great places to eat, shopping and close to the beach. Close to Ku de ta, Potato Head and the Vin. The staff are exceptional in their attention to each guest. The rooms are a good size and very comfortable. I was there on my birthday weekend with my partner and the staff brought me a birthday cake to help me celebrate. Such a surprise! Breakfast is included but nothing special to write home about... just your basic continental or Asian fare. So if you want a big buffet pay more and go elsewhere. Alternatively there are heaps of cafes in the area to check out for breakfast, lunch and dinner. We enjoyed The Colony for its quiet and peaceful setting away from the crowds and the hustle and bustle of Seminyak.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walaby64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This hotel was recommended by a friend who is in hospitality industry and yet again she is always right...Centrally located, lovely staff, they are really nice people and they do nice simple breakfast. They even have vegemite! I didn't have a chance to try their lunch. A great spot after exploring the bustling Seminyak. Will be back next year.

Room Tip: I checked 2 other rooms, they are nice size and very clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mariomore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.2 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#7 of 148 in Seminyak
1,827 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#8 of 148 in Seminyak
1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#18 of 148 in Seminyak
3,451 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alila Seminyak
Alila Seminyak
#23 of 148 in Seminyak
1,033 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#11 of 148 in Seminyak
1,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colony Hotel Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colony Hotel Bali

Address: Jalan Laksmana 22, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 117 B&Bs / Inns in Seminyak
Price Range: £115 - £380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Colony Hotel Bali 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colony Hotel Bali is located in the heart of Seminyak and within walking distance to all the fun and leading places that creates your perfect Bali boutique hotel vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Colony Hotel Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Colony Hotel Bali Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing