We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Wonderful”
Review of Maca Villas & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maca Villas & Spa
Ranked #30 of 147 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We have been to Bali so many times however we had never stayed in a villa

As a friend was getting married in Seminyak we decided to stay in the area and MACA had been recommended by a friend.

Right from the complimentary transfer from the Airport where we were greeted with cool towels and water - which was very refreshing after traveling for most of the day!
We found the staff at MACA villas welcoming, warm and so attentive to any of our needs

We stayed in a deluxe pool side villa and it was amazing!!
Exactly as the pictures depict on the website we so impressed by the presentation and layout of the villa!! We found the privacy of our own pool was fantastic we could relax using all the facilities provided by the villa including the free movies, very large bathroom with rain shower and large bedroom without going anywhere!


They service the villa twice a day which is a nice touch
Even replacing the complimentary bottles of water if we had drunk them already and giving us extra!
The staff are so attentive from the grounds staff greeting you as you walk past to the breakfast staff each morning

Breakfast is great- it can be served in your villa or at the restaurant
We found there was a good range on the menu and we pleased to see a healthier option like Bircher museli which was very yummy on the menu and the pancakes are fantastic!!

We ate dinner twice at the restaurant while we were at MACA and found the food to be good value for money and the atmosphere was lovely
We'd happily eat there again

The villa is a little out of the way- I would recommend to take advantage of the Villa's complimentary shuttle service into Seminyak - we also walked back from Sea Circus one night after dinner and were a little nervous however we had no problems

Overall we only have positive things to say about our stay at MACA villas- I really think its the staff that make the difference at MACA villa- we really have not experienced a team that were so professional and welcoming before, nothing was ever too much to ask!

We will never stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: Deluxe Pool Villa is fantastic!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lucas11B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (476)
There are newer reviews for Maca Villas & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

397 - 403 of 476 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2012

This is the first time I’ve stayed in a villa for 2. It was nice and the real thing does matches with the pictures from the hotel website.

Service:
Overall service was excellent as it was personalised and your needs are always catered for. An example of this would be my request to have an iron and ironing board but they could only get hold of an iron and provided thick sheets for ironing on the floor. The hotel staff gave a follow up call to apologise and offered free ironing services. Now that’s what I call service!

Location:
In agreement with many comments made here, not many taxi drivers know of the place. The Taxi driver from the Airport was good enough to make a call to the villa to ask for the exact location. It does take a fair bit amount of time to travel to and from the Airport, which is roughly about 45 to 50 minutes during the day. It is not that far but you do get stuck passing through the small lanes in Seminyak and traffic in Kuta.
The villa is located near a quiet stretch of Jalan Petitenget. There are some convenient shops located near the main road (2 restaurants, 1 convenient store) but you would see more as you make your way further down towards each end of Jalan Petitenget (which is about 5-10 mins walk). It does put you off from walking out at night as the lighting is very poor (wouldn’t want to drop into any pot holes or accidentally stepped on a dog). Maybe the surrounding villas should make a point to have the lighting improved in the area. This would make a 10 min walk seem like a 5 min one.

Food:
Breakfast is nice and you have the option to be served in your villa. Good selection from classic continental breakfast to local Indonesian. But wouldn’t suggest having the nasi goreng (Fried rice) as the rice felt more like rice cakes (cold and hard). It was probably cooked way before its serving time.
The MASÉ Kitchen and Bar has a very nice setting. Food was good. You should try the MASÉ creation cocktails and of course the IPPOLITO Coffee.

Villa Facilities:
The villa is clean and comfortable. The private pool is quite cold as sun light hardly gets to it. There are TVs in the bedroom and in the bathroom but I would rather have one in the living area instead. I guess not many people uses the bathtub as I didn’t see many comments about the lack of hot water. For those who like to soak in bathtubs, this isn’t really for you :). Hot water is only enough for showers and not with the bathtub as it would only fill in less than a quarter of the tub. After that you would need to wait about 30 mins for the hot water to refill for other usage. Apparently they don’t have a centralised heating system and each villa is equipped with its own water heater tank which can be quite small.

Overall, it is a nice place to stay and the service provided does make the difference.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank micca23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

Dear Guests,
Many thanks for taking your time to share your experience through tripadvisor.
Your comment regarding of the hot water capacity as well as the lighting along the lane has been discussed with our team and hope this would be happening very soon and all of us here hoping to have another privilage to welcome you again. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We stayed at Maca Villa's for 2 nights on our Honeymoon and really enjoyed our stay. The staff we extremely freindly and helpful and the butler brought a smile to our face every morning with his friendly 'morning' and asking how we were. The villa was clean and imaculately presented. The pool was a little cold as it didnt get any sun but it didnt matter as it was so nice just lying around the day beds.

One piece of advise is many Taxi drivers dont know the villa so take the little map that comes with your room key to show them where they need to go Once they see it on the map it is no issue.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bame_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

Dear Guests,
Many thanks for taking your time to share your experience through tripadvisor.
we are glad to know that you enjoyed your honeymoon with us although Bali weather is bit chill lately at night. We look forward to welcome you again in the future. Best wishes from Maca' villas team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

This has to be the best villa i have stayed in and the staff are fantastic.
The first thing i noticed was that check in was easy and done in the air con comfort of the villa rather than the open air reception area.

THE RESORT:
Beautiful grounds, lovely plants and man made creeks full of koi. The communal swimming has 2 waterfalls and plants growing all around it, making it feel more like a natural swimming spot than a man made pool.
The Ippolito coffee shop does it's own roasting on site and has a great coffee menu. You can even get a takeway coffee to have in your room if you can't be bothered making your own plunger coffee. BTW the coffee is good!

THE VILLA
We stayed in a one bedroom pool villa. It was huge! The bathroom alone was the size of most hotel rooms. What we really loved was the use of glass doors. It means that you can either have everything open, thus letting the outside in or you can have evrything closed with aircon on and still see the pool and garden. The walls are very high ensuring maximum privacy.
The bedroom, living area and bathroom are all seperate.
The bathroom has a huge rain shower, twin basins and a big stone tub. It also fills with natural light. It even has a tv in there! The bedroom has a kingsize bed, inbuilt wardrobe, safe and another tv- once again with cable and free movies.
The lounge area has everything you need in luding fridge, coffee plunger with free house roasted coffee and a Bose mp3 dock.

BREAKFAST:
You can have this at the restaurant or in your villa. The choice is varied and yummy. We tried everything during our stay and would happily have it all again.

THE STAFF:
Last but by nomeans least the staff here are fantastic. Friendly, attentive and very proffessional. This is a great place but the staff really do make it!!!! A big thankyou to them.

This is by far and away the best villa we have ever stayed in and we are already talking about coming back. Thankyou to everyone- from service staff to grounds and maintenace staff- for a wonderful stay.:

Room Tip: The location is ideal. Its walking distance to great spas, sarong, potatoe head etc and getting a...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank howzatperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 July 2012

Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for taking you time to write review about our resort, all the team here at Maca Villas & Spa Seminyak are very happy to heard regarding of your re visit plan and we look forward to welcome you again. Best wishes from all of us here at Maca Villas. Thanks. Ika Dunn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

My wife and I would just like to say how wonderful our experience was when we stayed at the Maca Villa. From the moment we arrived we were greeted with smiles and professionalism.Then we were escorted to our room, which was truly amazing and beautiful. The rooms were spotless, modern, but still had a Balinese feel. The pool was fantastic, the free wi-fi is great, and the room service is excellent. The restaurant was fantastic the food was great and the coffee was incredible (which you must make sure you try) thank you to the staff members at ipolito restaurant, you guys were fantastic!!! The management team were first class, and we thank you very much!!. This villa is also tucked away in a side alley which we found very convienient as it was away from the traffic. A taxi ride is very cheap to the seminyak square, but the walk will also do you good. Our stay at maca villa was absolutely perfect and we will definitely back next year.... If anyone has a bad thing to say about this villa they need to have a look at themselves, as we have stayed at many 5 star resorts and this by far is way ahead.... Thank you again everyone and we look forward to seeing you next year :) :) ps: we can't rate the spa or fitness centre as we never used it, but I'm sure it would be fantastic. Sean & Tracey J (Australia)

Room Tip: Go the Deluxe room with the day bed... Very relaxing
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 July 2012

Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for taking your time to share your experiences through trip advisor.
We are glad that you had a wonderful stay with us and would definitely look forward for another privilege to welcome you again at Maca Villas. Best wishes from all of us here at Maca Villa. Kind regards, Ika Dunn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

The Maca Villas on first sight were fantastic. We arrived late at night and was shown our villa with all the lights. It wasn't until morning where we got to see how amazing these villas were.

During the day we opened the sliding doors to have an open planned area. The access to an iPod doc and the tv being on a swivel made the entertainment enjoyed while swimming in the pool.

All the staff were friendly and helpful. The location of the villas was down a undeveloped road and alittle away from any decent restaurants or supermarkets, but is a great place to stay to be away from all the hussle n bussle of Bali.

As a travel agent, I will definitely be recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wishbone0312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 July 2012

Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your review about our resort, such a honour to received a beautiful comment from a Travel Agent and we look forward to welcome your clientele to Maca Villas & Spa Seminyak. Best wishes, Ika Dunn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We had a wonderful trip to Bali staying at Maca Villas.

The location, although a little off the main road, was very good and close to many of the main attractions of Seminyak.

The staff where very polite and helpful, the Villas very spacious, comfortable and exceptionally clean. The Breakfast at the restaurant was of a very high quality and perfect to get you started for the day.

For the price I think you will really struggle to find anything as good in this location, its not as flash as some of the higher priced villas and not as bustling as the resorts, but for what it is, it's perfect!

We would definitely suggest it to friend who where looking for this experience.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AKXIX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for taking your time to write this wonderful review.
Best wishes.Ika Dunn and Maca team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.4 mi away
The Kayana Bali
The Kayana Bali
#22 of 147 in Seminyak
655 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Le Jardin Villas, Seminyak
Le Jardin Villas, Seminyak
#20 of 147 in Seminyak
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Amala
The Amala
#17 of 147 in Seminyak
645 reviews
0.6 mi away
eqUILIBRIA SEMINYAK
eqUILIBRIA SEMINYAK
#18 of 147 in Seminyak
552 reviews
0.6 mi away
Disini Luxury Spa Villas
Disini Luxury Spa Villas
#44 of 147 in Seminyak
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maca Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maca Villas & Spa

Address: Jalan Lebak Sari No.7 | Petitenget, Seminyak 80119, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Seminyak
#8 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#21 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#27 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#29 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range: £152 - £303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Maca Villas & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tropical sanctuary for the sense’s featuring true luxury facilities and first-class guest services. Offering 23 One-bedrooms villas and 2 two-bedrooms villas designed for travelers who desire the utmost in privacy whilst also being just minutes away from the beach and the myriad of fine dining restaurants and nightlife venues that has made Seminyak world famous ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maca Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maca Villas Hotel Seminyak
Maca Villas And Spa
Maca Villas & Spa Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing