We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another enjoyable stay in bali”
Review of Maca Villas & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maca Villas & Spa
Ranked #26 of 143 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“another enjoyable stay in bali”
Reviewed 10 August 2012

My partner and I just spent 5 days at Maca Villas. The villas are very nice and comfortable and I thought they were in a good location as the Petitenget area seems to get busier each time we visit. However the villa shuttle or a taxi can have you amongst the hustle and bustle of Seminyak in no time if need be. The whole villa complex is quiet and secure. Mase Restaurant and Cafe is great for people who like us need and enjoy a nice coffee to start their day. You can either have it with breakfast at the restaurant or have it delivered to your room. The Villas themselves are very nice as you would expect.Good sized room,bathroom with a TV and a good size lounge area. Also having the ability to enjoy the open air or close off the villa to the heat is an added bonus and is something we always look for when we choose a villa . Although in saying that the weather in Bali at the moment is fantastic.

My partner also tried the spa and although she was doing some pretty serious yoga and getting deep tissue massages elsewhere she did say that the massage at the spa was more of a relaxing type and she enjoyed it very much.

However,the thing that sets Maca Villas apart is the staff and thats certainly saying something because the service in most places is very good. The staff at Maca Villas are very courteous,polite,helpfull and enjoy a good fun conversation with you. It does nt matter what their role is if they can help they will.

My partner and I enjoy trying new places when we visit Bali because you get the best, something fresh and new each time we visit. In saying that I would recommend Maca Villas and for us we would highly consider returning there on our next rip to Bali.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank churmybro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    86
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
56
326
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We stayed in a one bedroom villa for 4 nights at a cost of $1,200. Service was impeccable and staff was very courteous and had great attention to detail. Bottled water was even provided in bathroom for brushing our teeth and could easily request for more. Bed was comfortable and had option to keep room in complete darkness for lie-ins. Private pool was too cold to swim in(there is however a main pool which looked warm, we did not get a chance to try that) and quite small (more for soaking than actual swim). Daybed provided to soak up the rays. TV is located in bedroom but had option to open sliding doors and angle TV so visible from living room. Had an option to deliver breakfast to room if one is too lazy to make it to the main restaurant, we loved this option. Food was average. Shower was good, high water pressure. Walking distance (5 minutes) to Sarong and 15 minutes to Potato Head. However, not easy to walk around as no proper sidewalk and uneven walkways. Free shuttle service into Seminyak Square. Villa was exactly like published photographs so lived up to expectations, no nasty surprises. We really enjoyed our stay there and would recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skeppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ika D, Director of Sales at Maca Villas & Spa, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Dear Guests, Thank you very much for taking your time to share your experiences.
We are pleased to know that you have great holiday with us and hope to welcome you again very soon. Best wishes from all of us here at Maca Villas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We are currently staying at the Maca Villas in Seminyak Bali. After spending several months researching the bast place to stay with my young family i haven't been dissapointed. The attention detail and the service is amazing. Everything we requested has been taken care of and nothing is too much trouble for the very friendly staff here. I was concerned about my 10 month old daughter and the pool in our villa so they provided a fence around the pool.
The room is very spacious and very clean. The decore is of a good quality and styled to perfection. My mother had a massage in spa and her response was "sublime".
i would highly recommendthis small hotel to others and will hopefully be back soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in villa 15 which was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Renoir77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ika D, Director of Sales at Maca Villas & Spa, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for taking you time writes your experience through Trip Advisor with such a very genuine comments. All of us here hoping that you bring good memory home and not belong to welcome you again. best wishes from us at Maca Villas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

My boyfriend and I just returned from staying 8 nights at the Maca Villas in Seminyak. They were recommended to us and we were very happy!

We stayed in a one bedroom deluxe villa and we were so impressed with the space, style and design of the villa. We absolutely loved the private pool, which also had an undercover day bed and a day bed in the sun. The bed was the best bed we have ever slept in and had the best sleeps! Especially because the room is so dark with the great curtains. It was so wonderful to be able to open up the doors in the bedroom and living rooms to have a huge open plan living space.

The staff were outstanding, so friendly and welcoming. We loved the option of having breakfast brought to our villa or just go and eat at the restaurant. Plenty of meals to choose from and always so well presented and delicious. Everything was reasonably priced so we took full advantage of room service! Waiters loved having a chat with us and sharing stories about their families. Anyone was more than willing to help us. The restaurant was always so quiet - even though the villas were fully booked. There would only be one or two other tables sitting at the same time. It was nice and relaxing.

The villas are situated within walking distance of shops and restaurants, although I didn't really feel comfortable walking along the streets with busy traffic and no footpaths. The Maca Villas have a free shuttle so they would always drop us off to restaurants and the beach. You could walk to Seminyak beach, but it was just easy to get the shuttle, which was about a 3 minute drive.

My boyfriend went to Daily gym which was about 10 minutes walk down the road.

We would recommend staying at the Maca Villas, due to the outstanding service and facilities at the villa. There is also a main pool, so if you lose sun in your villa, you can head over to the main pool area.

A couple of restaurants we would definitely recommend is Potato Head and Ku De Ta - amazing meals and atmosphere. The villa shuttle dropped us off to these restaurants and we paid for taxis to take us home ($1-$5)

We would also recommend booking tours with Jans Tours. They picked us up from the airport, gave us VIP service through customs - so we didn't wait in any lines. Greeted us with a cool towel and bottle of water and drove us to the villas while recommending lots of things to do while in Bali. Madi the tour guide, came to our villa the next day and helped us plan our week. He booked the restaurants and activities for us, drove us around for a day (no charge) and was extremely helpful.

As Seminyak is away from Kuta, it's not as busy, which we liked. However, whenever we went to Kuta or Nusa Dua, it took us so long to get back due to the heavy traffic. I would really think about where you would like to go and choose early mornings because the traffic just becomes ridiculous. I didn't like wasting time stuck in a taxi. I absolutely loved staying in our villa!

Room Tip: Definitely choose the deluxe villa to have the undercover day bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simoed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ika D, Director of Sales at Maca Villas & Spa, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Dear Guests,
Many thanks for taking your time to write very long review about your stay with us through Trip Advisor. We are agreed with your comment about an easy access to everywhere our location is just minutes away from the beach and the myriad of fine dining restaurants, local boutique shop and nightlife venues that has made Seminyak world famous. All of us here hope that you bring great memory back home and not too long for another privilege to welcome you again. Best wishes from Maca Villa’s team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

I have travelled to Bali on numerous occasions and wanted to relax away from the hustle and bustle yet be within walking distance of great restaurants and bars. Maca Villa fitted this category and the final requirement - a villa with doors that completely open / slide back so you can have the experience of complete openness onto the pool and outdoor area.

The service was sensational, nothing was an issue and we enjoyed breakfast in the villa - very private. Only 1 year old, the villas were very clean and large.

Making reservations and arranging transport to popular restaurants was all taken care of by the fabulous reception staff.

We will definitely be back to stay at Maca Villas.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Warren67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ika D, Director of Sales at Maca Villas & Spa, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for taking your time to share your experiences through Trip Advisor.
All of us here looking forward to welcome you again . Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington D.C., USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

My fiance and I just spent four nights at the Maca Villas. We had a wonderful time and enjoyed our stay.

ROOM: We stayed in the one bedroom villa which was extremely spacious and comfortable for two people. The room was spotless and the bed was very comfortable. The sliding glass doors in the bedroom and living area allow for plenty of light. The A/C was ice cold and the bathroom was huge for two people. The room was really fantastic and very private. We sat outside and relaxed at our plunge pool everyday after breakfast.

SERVICE: The staff at Maca Villas are phenomenal. They are always smiling and happy and are more than willing to help you with anything you need. The kind receptionist arranged a driver for us one day when we wanted to go to Ulu Watu and Padang Padang.

LOCATION: So the location isn't the greatest. It is a bit of a walk to Seminyak Square and eat street, which is no big deal except that there are no sidewalks and lots of cars zooming by. So be careful if walking to the restaurants and shops, otherwise take a taxi. We walked to Potato Head (make a reservation!) and the W for drinks several times as these two establishments are close to Maca Villas. We also hired a driver in Seminyak Square to take us to Tanah Lot to watch the sunset. Nusa Dua and Padang Padang beach are about an hour ride away...but only because of traffic. We took a taxi to Jimbaran Beach one night as well to watch the sunset and eat a seafood dinner (a must).

FOOD: We only ate here for breakfast. Their coffee and breakfast is generous and tasty.

SPA: OMG a must. We had a couples aromatherapy massage and I have to say the massages we received here were probably the best I've ever had. My fiance thoroughly enjoyed his massage as well. The spa is small but clean and the massages were fanstastic.

On a final note, Maca Villas are very private as are most villas in Seminyak. If you are looking for people and more of a busy atmosphere, I would recommend staying at a hotel such as the W, which we really liked as well. Overall though, we were very satisfied with our stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jetsetter_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We have been to Bali so many times however we had never stayed in a villa

As a friend was getting married in Seminyak we decided to stay in the area and MACA had been recommended by a friend.

Right from the complimentary transfer from the Airport where we were greeted with cool towels and water - which was very refreshing after traveling for most of the day!
We found the staff at MACA villas welcoming, warm and so attentive to any of our needs

We stayed in a deluxe pool side villa and it was amazing!!
Exactly as the pictures depict on the website we so impressed by the presentation and layout of the villa!! We found the privacy of our own pool was fantastic we could relax using all the facilities provided by the villa including the free movies, very large bathroom with rain shower and large bedroom without going anywhere!


They service the villa twice a day which is a nice touch
Even replacing the complimentary bottles of water if we had drunk them already and giving us extra!
The staff are so attentive from the grounds staff greeting you as you walk past to the breakfast staff each morning

Breakfast is great- it can be served in your villa or at the restaurant
We found there was a good range on the menu and we pleased to see a healthier option like Bircher museli which was very yummy on the menu and the pancakes are fantastic!!

We ate dinner twice at the restaurant while we were at MACA and found the food to be good value for money and the atmosphere was lovely
We'd happily eat there again

The villa is a little out of the way- I would recommend to take advantage of the Villa's complimentary shuttle service into Seminyak - we also walked back from Sea Circus one night after dinner and were a little nervous however we had no problems

Overall we only have positive things to say about our stay at MACA villas- I really think its the staff that make the difference at MACA villa- we really have not experienced a team that were so professional and welcoming before, nothing was ever too much to ask!

We will never stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: Deluxe Pool Villa is fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucas11B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.4 mi away
The Kayana Bali
The Kayana Bali
#22 of 143 in Seminyak
633 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Elysian
The Elysian
#11 of 143 in Seminyak
436 reviews
0.6 mi away
eqUILIBRIA SEMINYAK
eqUILIBRIA SEMINYAK
#24 of 143 in Seminyak
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
The Amala
The Amala
#17 of 143 in Seminyak
624 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Dusun
The Dusun
#12 of 143 in Seminyak
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maca Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maca Villas & Spa

Property: Maca Villas & Spa
Address: Jalan Lebak Sari No.7 | Petitenget, Seminyak 80119, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Seminyak
#8 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#21 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#24 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#25 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Maca Villas & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tropical sanctuary for the sense’s featuring true luxury facilities and first-class guest services. Offering 23 One-bedrooms villas and 2 two-bedrooms villas designed for travelers who desire the utmost in privacy whilst also being just minutes away from the beach and the myriad of fine dining restaurants and nightlife venues that has made Seminyak world famous ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maca Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maca Villas Hotel Seminyak
Maca Villas And Spa
Maca Villas & Spa Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing