We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect honeymoon retreat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maca Villas & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Maca Villas & Spa
Ranked #26 of 141 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Tywardreath, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect honeymoon retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon for 4 nights, and loved the experience. The villas are perfect,with your own day bed and bale. The bathroom was very luxurious, even had a tv over the bath! The bedroom was very comfortable, with lots of films recorded on the tv so you can relax after the busy day.

The pros: the food is brilliant, and very reasonable, we often have room service in the luxury of the villa. It is no extra to have breakfast in the villa which was a nice touch. The staff are very friendly and very helpful. We liked having the small pool in the villa but also being able to swim in the main pool. The quality of the cocktails were very good.

The cons: the location is not great, and is a 10 minute walk to the beach. But given the high quality of the villas this is not so bad.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lizze D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    79
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
55
313
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Maca Villas for 4 nights as part of our 'baby moon' vacation - the last stop before our lives change forever!! Maca turned out to be the perfect spot to just unwind in totally peaceful surroundings with zero interruptions or noise! The stuff are genuine, helpful and so unobtrusive. The villa is spot on, daybed is perfect, pool is sublime, the bed is heaven. The facilities are great too, cozy little restaurant and a neat spa. All in just wonderful! Would have stayed here for the whole week if we'd known how nice it was going to be.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank marshalllaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

We recently spent 5 nights here at the end of a tour of Singapore and Bali. Our first impressions was that it is located right on the roadside. We were greeted by lovely staff and check in was speedy. As we arrived fairly early our villa was not ready, not a problem, we were taken to the pool area for welcome drinks which were lovely and refreshing.
We stayed in a deluxe pool villa which was beautiful and well equipped. As we had been celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary the staff had dressed our bath and bed with flowers, petals and swan towels, which was a lovely welcome. After lots of walking and touring this part of our trip was for some welcoming relaxation time and on the whole the villa made that possible. All the staff were friendly and helpful and the whole resort was lovely and clean. A couple of minor negatives to this resort.... we ordered breakfast in our room which arrived cold and very unappetising, this led to us only having croissants and coffee and then going out for brunch which was not quite what we had planned. We have used many spas while on our holidays but the one here offered a very limited range of treatments, we also felt it was not ideally positioned, next to the public resort washrooms and toilets....and the main hub, because of this we could hear a lot of background noise - not what we expect from a relaxing spa...
Our only other gripe was that the whole hub area of the resort is so close to the road and as it is very compact felt at times slightly claustrophobic for us....nowhere to really sit and escape unless it was in your villa - this we felt really let it down. We never really ate in the restaurant mainly due to this but also we prefer to get out and about and meet the locals which we did every night. This resort has its own Ippolito coffee house and they serve fantastic coffees but unfortunately they did not have any decaffeinated - a bit of pain for me as I am not allowed caffeine..
Overall we had a lovely stay and it is a lovely resort just bear in mind it is not close to the beach or the main hub of seminyak. This was not too much of a problem for us as we enjoy walking and chose to walk into the square and beach area and found many delightful small restaurants that we may never have known were there.
I dont think we would return as we think there are better hotels in Seminyak.
Also a small note to mention is the butler service.... we may be being slightly picky here but if you are expecting the true butler service this is not, it is no more than room service.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

We recently spent four nights at Maca Villa and had a fantastic stay - we wish we were still there! Thank you to all the staff who were so helpful and kind, their level of service was exceptional. From the time we got picked up from the airport (with refresher towels & bottled water provided to us in the car) to the time we checked out (and given a take-away breakfast box due to our early departure), the service was top notch. Here's our pros & cons - Pros: excellent service, delicious breakfasts eaten in our villa, decent sized villas that are nicely decorated (we stayed in a deluxe pool villa and enjoyed having the day bed to relax on - we specifically asked for a villa that got lots of sun after reading other reviews, I'd recommend this as the pool is in the cooler side and we wanted to sun bake), great coffee, very private and tranquil surrounds (gorgeous tropical gardens around the villa). Cons: location is just a little bit far from the main restaurants and Seminyak square (but cabs were easy and cheap to get around in), villa doesn't get sun all day so it wasn't great for sunbaking early morning or the afternoon, the bathroom towels were a bit old/tired (they were clean but it might be time to upgrade the towels). These cons are probably just us being picky, as they really weren't that big a deal at all. Overall, a fabulous villa that we would recommend to friends and would love to come back to sometime.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Emsy82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

The villas at Maca's are so beautiful! It's like a dream! They smell very good (they burn some essential oil on arrival), they are really big amd well decorated, the bed is really comfortable and the bathroom is perfect! And what about the private pool.... A real delight and the sound of the water falling down the wall is so peaceful. The staff was so kind and wonderful with us, very caring... And always smiling.
It was the first part of our honeymoon and it was perfect... They had put such beautiful flowers in the bath (in shape pf a heart!) and on the bed....
Aso, we really enjoyed having a good and complete breakfast everyday in our private villa.
It was a wonderful 4 days!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annabelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

We spent 10 nights at Maca Villas & Spa in November 2012 during our honeymoon. We stayed in the Deluxe Spa Villa which had authentic and contemporary Balinese decor. The villa was spacious, extremely clean and well designed. We especially loved jumping into our private plunge pool for an early morning swim and relaxing on our sun bed. The breakfast was absolutely delicious and offered a vartiety of options. We tried everything on the menu! We usually ate breakfast in the restaurant as it was such a pleasure to speak with the wonderful staff who also provided us with suggestions for activities. The villa offered a complentary shuttle service to the heart of Seminyak which we made great use of and were grateful for this service. There were plenty of restaurants within walking distance and we felt safe and at ease. We would like to thank all the staff for contributing to a perfect honeymoon. And in particular, Mr Yoga Iswara who helped us to coordinate our transport for our next destination in Ubud. With our 1 year anniversary fast approaching, we are making plans to return.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

We are on our final day of a 7 day stay here at maca villas. The villas are beautifully furnished and so clean and the staff very polite and welcoming. There was an issue with our travel agent and payment when we arrived but it was soon sorted out and though it wasn't the hotels fault in anyway what so ever (a technical Fault with our travel agents) they gave us a complimentary massage in their spa as an apology!

The villas are about a 20 minute walk from the beach and town which we would have like it closer, the hotel supply a shuttle service to anywhere in seminyak and taxis Are so cheap any way (if you chose the bluebird group of taxis...Don't go with anyone else!)

The villas feel like an oasis away from the business and hustle of seminyak so we are pleased to have stated here and highly recommend it to others.

Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dougiebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.2 mi away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#2 of 141 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Seminyak Icon
Seminyak Icon
#6 of 141 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Trans Resort Bali
The Trans Resort Bali
#13 of 141 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,699 reviews
0.6 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#25 of 141 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,017 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maca Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maca Villas & Spa

Property: Maca Villas & Spa
Address: Jalan Lebak Sari No.7 | Petitenget, Seminyak 80119, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Seminyak
#8 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#21 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#24 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#25 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Maca Villas & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tropical sanctuary for the sense’s featuring true luxury facilities and first-class guest services. Offering 23 One-bedrooms villas and 2 two-bedrooms villas designed for travelers who desire the utmost in privacy whilst also being just minutes away from the beach and the myriad of fine dining restaurants and nightlife venues that has made Seminyak world famous ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Maca Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maca Villas Hotel Seminyak
Maca Villas And Spa
Maca Villas & Spa Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing