We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary service”
Review of Maca Villas & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maca Villas & Spa
Ranked #32 of 147 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The good:
*The service was first-rate; best we had from our three hotels in Bali; all butler requests (restaurant reservations, spa booking confirmations, anything we needed in our villa such as removing a small ant parade that had formed after breakfast) were taken care of in minutes and all service was done with a smile
*Their vegetarian / vegan breakfast selections were pretty good; my wife and I dined in fried rice, noodles, cereal, milk, fruit, fruit juices, and coffee every morning
*The shuttle was convenient for travel in the Seminyak area and always available within 5-10 minutes
*The villa was nicely furnished and though the sun never reached the pool, it was still a nice amenity to have
*They went out of their way to provide an eggless cake for our honeymoon celebration; a nice touch on top of the flowers and swan towels they placed on our bed

The not-so-good:
*The location is not as ideal as a location on the beach or in Seminyak Square
*Minor mishap with one of the front desk employees indicating that local calls are free when in fact they are quite expensive; just have the front desk dial any numbers for you

All in all, location aside, an extremely pleasant experience. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Stayed in villa 14; not too far or close from front. Had no problems and would recommend it.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indiantraveler1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (474)
There are newer reviews for Maca Villas & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

270 - 276 of 474 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

These villas were a fabulous experience. The customer service/staff was phenomenal . The breakfast (included in rate) was the best I had in Indonesia. The location is not in the middle of everything, but it's really not an issue. The hotel car will take you to your local destination, and you can take a cab back for less than 5$ (remember to negotiate!). The only minor issue was that the way the villas are built, there are cracks where mosquitoes can slip into the villas. It was not terrible, as everything is sprayed down, but having longer drapes that cover the windows would help address that issue. Also, rooms need new towels.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 7continents5oceans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stayed at Maca for six nights with our five month old. The staff really made the stay memorable. They were fantastic with our baby and nothing was too much of an ask. The facilities are lovely and the complimentary massage is an added treat. I would definitely recommend staying at Maca if you are looking for a private pool villa in Seminyak.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jens_spork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Fantastic service, delicious food and friendly staff.had an amazing time, first time in seminyak and at mac as villas but won't be the last.enjoyed the live music at night at the restaurant and delicious breakfast, so well presented.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chanelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed for four nights in a One Bed Deluxe Pool Villa having been upgraded from the standard version upon check in. Not sure what the difference is between standard and deluxe but either way the villa was very comfortable and well appointed. We have stayed in Seminyak before in another pool villa and put up with one night's noise before fleeing two nights early to the quiet of Ubud! This time Maca Villas were a haven of calm and quiet amidst the craziness of Seminyak.

They also score on value for money but I think this probably reflects the fact that there appear to be lots if new shiny pool villas in Seminyak offering a level of luxury that some of the older places are unable to offer.

Top marks too for service - everyone we met was super friendly and went out of their way to help when needed.

The only negative was the food but this was mixed. On arrival we had dinner in the Mase restaurant and the food was not great - a terrible piece of steak masquerading as a prime grain fed Australian rib eye. Breakfast was also hit and miss - we ordered once in our villa and it was cold and unappetising. In the restaurant it was good one day and not so great the next but then we ordered differently both times so it may just be our choices. Lunch in our villa, on the other hand, was really good but we ordered Indonesian so maybe the key is order local or simple western dishes and you'll be fine.

I would definitely stay again and would not hesitate to recommend to anyone looking for good value and quiet in Seminyak

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

My husband and I stayed in a One Bedroom Villa at Maca Villas & Spa. The villa was clean, tidy, and spacious, with all the amenities required for a luxury holiday. The pool was clean and big enough for fun. Coming back to the villa after a day out was like stepping in to a private haven, cool and quite.
The complex is located an easy walk (or very short cab ride) from the main hubs of Seminyak.
Mase restaurant served yummy breakfasts and dinner. And Ippolito coffee met my husbands "Australian Standard".
All the staff at Maca Villas were helpful and friendly, from the desk staff to the servers and villa maintenance - always a smile and a greeting.
I will happily return to Maca Villas.
I would have rated the villas five star had we had reliable internet access. The wifi was down for over 24hrs (and it's pretty slow at the best of times), which doesn't seem like a big problem however I own a business at home and needed to keep in contact as they were having some problems of there own. Also, you have to log in with the password every time you open the internet (small complaint, but becomes tedious).

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wandering_lincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

First time to Bali, so was daunted by all the accommodation choices. Chose Maca Villas for 4 nights in Seminyak based on trip advisor reviews. Stayed in a 2br pool villa with family. All thoroughly enjoyed staying here. Friendly staff & personalised service, and my partner was highly complimentary of the spa. I was initially concerned we might be too far from Seminyak central, but not the case at all, easy 5min by taxi/shuttle. On this holiday, we stayed in a few nice places (Komaneka Bisma in Ubud, Regent Bali in Sanur, etc), and using Maca Villas as our reference point none compared on total package (location, comfort, personal service and balinese style).

Thanks to the team at Maca Villas, definitely a thumbs up from us.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.4 mi away
The Kayana Bali
The Kayana Bali
#21 of 147 in Seminyak
655 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Le Jardin Villas, Seminyak
Le Jardin Villas, Seminyak
#19 of 147 in Seminyak
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
eqUILIBRIA SEMINYAK
eqUILIBRIA SEMINYAK
#18 of 147 in Seminyak
551 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Amala
The Amala
#17 of 147 in Seminyak
644 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ulin Villas & Spa
The Ulin Villas & Spa
#4 of 147 in Seminyak
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maca Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maca Villas & Spa

Address: Jalan Lebak Sari No.7 | Petitenget, Seminyak 80119, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Seminyak
#8 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#21 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#29 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#30 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range: £151 - £308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Maca Villas & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tropical sanctuary for the sense’s featuring true luxury facilities and first-class guest services. Offering 23 One-bedrooms villas and 2 two-bedrooms villas designed for travelers who desire the utmost in privacy whilst also being just minutes away from the beach and the myriad of fine dining restaurants and nightlife venues that has made Seminyak world famous ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maca Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maca Villas Hotel Seminyak
Maca Villas And Spa
Maca Villas & Spa Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing