We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent and Compact”
Review of Guess House Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guess House Hostel
Ranked #321 of 421 Speciality Lodging in Seminyak
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Good backpackers hostel supported by friendly staff. Well-known internationally for backpackers and received several internet hotel / travel website rewards since its opened. Reasonable price per bed per day, especially considering that there is only a few good quality backpackers hostel in Bali. For a limited space, it is still considered a great place for backpackers. Common area are utilized properly and just by hanging out there for an hour or so, you'll make friends and will easily exchange information.

Room Tip: Just follow the direction from its friendly staff =D
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank difotodito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
There are newer reviews for Guess House Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

The rooms are clean as is the common area. No complaints there. It's a short walk to restaurants, warungs, and the beach. The staff were friendly and helpful.
Things that need improvement. No wifi in the rooms. That's unacceptable in this day and age. Also the room fees and everything else seemed to be controlled by the computer or by somebody not on site. We wanted to stay an extra night and they quoted us a price three times higher than we paid for the previous three. We complained a little and the guy at the counter said he has to go by the prices on the computer and it's out of his hands.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Osakachero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

I booked 4 nights here through hostel bookers, however was struck with a 24 hour bug the night before and was bed bound in kuta so couldn't make it to seminyak. I emailed the hostel straight away, giving over 24 hours
notice to re sell the bed for the night and I would be there the next day. One of my friends was still going there that night and would pay it all upfront for us both. However they still made me pay for the night I couldn't make. I would accept this, as it is in the conditions, however the hostel was not full at all. 4 people showed up the next day and got a bed, so I wasn't robbing them of a bed.I also barely got any replies from my emails, I had to email twice to get a response and when I did, the manager Tina, just copied and pasted the terms and conditions... It's just not very nice..

I've also been travelling for 3 months and stayed in many hostels. Things don't always go to plan and when I've had to cancel before, all other hostels have been much more sympathetic to changes and a bit more 'human'. I've never had to pay for a night I couldn't make in any other hostel I've stayed at.

On top of this, the room was FREEZING. Someone from the dorm went to reception at 4am but no one was downstairs. I had to come down again at 7am to get someone to turn the air con off. My glasses had frosted over, that was how cold it was...

I've also woken to a load of bites on me, as has my friend.

Plus wifi only works in the common area and it's still intermittent there.

Overall, my memories of good hostels are because of the staff working there and that's what makes me want to go back. although some of them are nice, the manager has really let this hostel down for the rest of them.

Won't be staying here again and wouldn't recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aammyy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 January 2014

Guest know about all terms and condition booking at web booking, " all cancellation must do it before 3 day before arrival any cancellation do it after past 3 days follow the system and hostel policy". About Air condition freezer, we always set with temperature 24-25•C this normal because we can not provide every bed with remote all room share with other traveller, so can not request every guest must accept by own request.

Thanks & Regards,

Guess House Hostel.
Andrew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

Clean, good location and great staff! The place was perfect and reasonably priced. Mila and Tina are just delightful and their English is very good so anything you need ask them! Situated next to all the restaurants and bars too but not a noisy location. Will be going back there.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Rachel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 January 2014

Guest know about all terms and condition booking at web booking, " all cancellation must do it before 3 day before arrival any cancellation do it after past 3 days follow the system and hostel policy". About Air condition freezer, we always set with temperature 24-25•C this normal because we can not provide every bed with remote all room share with other traveller, so can not request every guest must accept by own request. I hope she must be responsibility with all she

Thanks & Regards,

Guess House Hostel.
Andrew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This hostel had character. I always felt like I was in a cozy home. I got to know both the receptionist really well and every morning they both had a sunshine smile. It was definitely comfortable and the common room is great for meeting other travellers!

Close to everything! local restaurant, cafe, convenient store, money exchange, boutique clothing stores and a massage can all be experienced opposite the hostel. Next to Guess house is also another massage place and also a travel agency - speak to 'Wayan' his pretty cool and can arrange anything! Scooters can be hired for $5 a day.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sethutchinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuessHouse, Owner at Guess House Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Guest know about all terms and condition booking at web booking," all cancellation must do it before 3 day before arrival any cancellation do it after past 3 days follow the system and hostel policy". And we management already give explain and condition also she booking under she name for 2 people and 4 Night and she not accept with this condition.

About Air condition she comment freezer, we always set with temperature 24-25•C this normal because we can not provide every guest with remote control, We are hostel with rate price start around 10 USD( Dynamic rate) all room share with other traveller not sale private room. I think she know with condition at hostel around the world. So sorry we can not request every guest( depend with request) I hope she must be responsibility with all booking she make it.

Thanks & Regards,

Guess House Hostel.
Andrew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

Great hostel! Seemed to attract very fun people, had a good and social common room with a big TV, lots of movies, a sofa, dining table and wifi (also 2 computers). No breakfast included but you can use the kitchen and the supermarket (or places to eat) are right around the corner which is just as easy/cheaper. Everything you need to cook is there, and there's free hot water and a toaster in the common room too. Great and cheap little warungs right around too for lunch or dinner nearby.
Very spacious and clean ACed dormrooms - they are cleaned religiously it seems at 11.30 every day. That kind of cleanliness makes any basic hostel experience that much more comfortable though. Showers have hot water most of the time, and were very clean too when I was there. Also lots of mirror space outside them so you're not on top of everyone else while getting ready, and there's even a hairdryer. In terms of security everyone gets lockers, and the rooms as well as the hostel as a whole are equipped with modern keycard locks.
Very friendly and helpful staff, do befriend them. 10-15 min walk to the beach, and a taxi journey away from Kuta (which is often almost as fast to walk on the beach at night bc of traffic) but it's definitely close enough that going out there is no issue whatsoever, while providing you with the option of not being in the middle of all the Kuta hussle during the day. Oh and(!) cheapest large bintang in town!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linn_K_1360745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

This hostel is newer than many we've stayed in but is definitely not as we thought. At the time of our booking, I believe free breakfast was advertised- I got coffee one morning but have seen nothing else resembling breakfast. Internet can only be used in the common area and can be spotty if there are a lot of people on. Bedrooms are cleaned daily, which is nice, but the bathrooms haven't been cleaned in god knows how long and they're covered in shower scum. There is definitely no hot water anywhere and the shower upstairs will just stop running water for several minutes so you have to stand and wait for it to start again. There is a sink and some dishes but the actual kitchen is only for staff so you cannot prepare your own food. The rooms are nice, but a bit too small considering most people are carrying huge backpacks. 15 minute walk from the beach, but quite a long way from any popular bars or real activity in Seminyak. There are a number of restaurants nearby and a convenient store across the street. I've paid the same amount at other places in Bali and received a private room and bathroom, breakfast delivered to my room and free internet. As Bali goes, this is not worth the money.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Alexandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seminyak
2.8 mi away
Kuta Puri Bungalows
Kuta Puri Bungalows
#9 of 254 in Kuta
719 reviews
3.0 mi away
Grand Inna Kuta
Grand Inna Kuta
#39 of 254 in Kuta
2,226 reviews
3.2 mi away
Kuta Paradiso Hotel
Kuta Paradiso Hotel
#41 of 254 in Kuta
1,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Kuta Seaview Boutique Resort & Spa
77.9 mi away
Segare Anak Bungalows & Restaurant
3.1 mi away
Rabasta Kuta Beach Inn
Rabasta Kuta Beach Inn
#167 of 283 in Kuta
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guess House Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guess House Hostel

Address: 22 Petitenget Street, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #321 of 421 Speciality Lodging in Seminyak
Price Range: £10 - £14 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Guess House Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mixing modern design and traditional Balinese elements, Guess House Hostel offers affordable dormitory accommodations in Petitenget. Free coffee and tea are available all-day, as well as free internet usage at the computer corner.The air conditioned dormitory rooms come with wooden-frame bunk beds and personal electric power points. The shared bathroom comes with free shower gel. Hairdryers and individual reading lights are available upon request.Guess House Hostel is a 15-minute walk from Petitenget Beach and a 10-minute drive from nightlife and restaurants at Seminyak. It is within a 25-minute drive from Tanah Lot Beach and Ngurah Rai International Airport.The common lounge area is equipped with a flat-screen TV, DVD player and radio. Guests can also make use of the shared pantry, which has a microwave, toaster and fridge.Guess House Cafe serves a daily breakfast, as well as local beers and Indonesian cuisine. Pastries and tea are also offered.The hostel provides baggage storage and a tour desk. Car and motorbike rentals can also be arranged ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Guess House Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guess House Hostel Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing