We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quite beautiful place in lively Seminyak”
Review of Blue Karma Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blue Karma Hotel
Ranked #21 of 144 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A quite beautiful place in lively Seminyak”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

The hotel have a modern design yet with the traditional balineese decorations. The garden and the pool is great and provides a quite retreat from the lively surroundings. The staff is very friendly and the service is good even thought there were some smaller (as usual) misunderstandings due to sometimes lacking language skills among some of the staff. We really recommend this place to families with children as well as couples looking for a nice hideaway.

We were two families with in total four children between 4 and 7 staying in apartments for a total of three nights.

Kill the roaster and you might get a five rating;-)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oakbranch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    431
    160
    32
    5
    5
See reviews for
113
328
32
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My husband and I, along with our 3 daughters (aged 4, 6 & 8), stayed at Blue Karma for 3 nights. Upon arrival at the airport, a hotel rep met us and drove us to the hotel. This cost us $25USD but was worth the convenience. The hotel is located just off of one of the main roads in Seminyak. As others have stated, it is a little sanctuary amidst the motorbikes, cars and dogs of the town! We loved the boutique feel of the hotel. It felt small and personal. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. We had a 2 bedroom pool villa. It was tastefully decorated and comfortable for our entire family. Our daughters enjoyed the private pool, but also had fun at the main hotel pool. The restaurant is excellent. The food was presented beautifully and everything tasted great. The breakfast was small but sufficient. We appreciated the attention to healthy, good quality food. The prices for food and drinks were very reasonable. The hotel is located steps from one of the main shopping strips, and there are great little stores along the road. Interesting stores with good quality, reasonably priced items (as opposed to kitschy, cheap, touristy stuff). We went to the grocery store up the road and bought snacks for our daughters. The hotel will give you a ride to the beach, or you can take the easy 15 minute walk. Our only complaint of our stay is the rooster mentioned in other reviews. We totally appreciate that this hotel is in a residential area, but I do have to mention it as it woke us up between 5:30 and 6:30 each morning. However, we still really enjoyed this hotel and would recommend it to others (with the warning about the rooster!). It is a calm little haven.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PJMomof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred N, Public Relations Manager at Blue Karma Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thank you PJ for your lovely feedback, it was a real pleasure for the entire team hosting you and hear of your feedback and your daughter’s enjoyment of the facilities. Great you loved the food especially our aim to include authentic and organic healthy cuisine into our menus. Sorry for the Rooster this is something that is unfortunately part of all Seminyak communities and larger hotels but we are working with our community to ensure these are not right next to villas. We look forward to your return and accommodating you again  :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I really enjoyed this hotel, very relaxing. We stayed in Sesame a villa with a private pool and it was all lovely. The outdoor bathroom was pretty wet because it rained the first two days but it was still really cool. The staff were all great and the spa was very nice. The rooms were a little pricey however once you got there everything was pretty cheap. The two for one happy hour was awesome! Breakfast was nice every morning. The lunch and dinner food needs some improvement and is not up to the standard of the hotel. There are however many great restaurants in the area so don't let that deter you. Other than the restaurant I thought the resort was great. The pool and landscaping are beautiful and the location is great. All the staff I dealt with were wonderful and the happy hour is an amazing deal. We also enjoyed the free shuttle to the beach which only took 5 minutes or so. The staff booked a great white water rafting trip for us even though we picked up the brochure outside of the resort and even arranged a vegetarian meal for me. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others and would have no issue staying again.

Room Tip: Private pools are nice however it isn't necessary at this resort as the main pool is so beautifu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank huskerabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred N, Public Relations Manager at Blue Karma Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thanks for your comments and delighted to hear of your great stay with us. Glad you enjoyed some adrenalin actions with the rafting and that you will return to sample more of our team’s wonderful hospitality and spa services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karratha, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We enjoyed staying here without doubt. I couldn't believe it was tucked away in a small alley, when so much mayhem is going around out on the streets. You wouldn't know what was going on from your room. Its different, has an earthy feel, the pool is lovely, the spa massage is good, the food is adequate but not too much variety on offer. I would stay there again, no problems. The staff very attentive and nice.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reematt30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred N, Public Relations Manager at Blue Karma Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Hi Reematt – wonderful to have hosted you and glad you loved the room and the oasis created. Come back for massage soon and more of our Blue Karma service and attention  Happy New Year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Blue Karma was the last hotel we stayed at during our time in Bali, and yes this hotel is outstanding...an idyllic oasis off a busy street and It deserves 5 stars, but I have one major issue to warn all future could-be guests about!

I'll start with the rooms, they're spectacular, very large with a contemporary, Eco friendly green feel, the one design issue with them is the roof. So...my issue, they're all thatched roof villas, sound gorgeous right?....they are, - but there is no real thick material to sound proof outside noise. Other reviewers have previously mentioned the cockerels, but it isn't just them, all night you hear traffic, dogs barking, music from a near by temple, street prayers. It just knocks that 5* edge off it, and does let it down, when you're expecting an upmarket luxurious resort in Bali I don't think noise, but this is my one and only quibble with Blue Karma.

It really is an oasis, and perfect hideaway from the nearby hustle, the staff are lovely, and very friendly, but far too many of them? Perhaps I'm used to the right budgets with payroll in the UK. but at times there were 5 of them with nothing to do, plaiting each others hair and taking photos of each other? - this sort of thing doesn't tend to bother me too much, but ultimately it does look unprofessional.

Pool was very warm, and definitely worth a daily afternoon dip!

Breakfast was a perfect amount, and you order what you want, and can also help yourself to bits too, which is a nice combination as other Balinese hotels tend to over feed you! A small tip to Blue Karma would be to present guests with a small menu. I do feel a menu should be available at breakfast to see what you can order, not having one lacks a sleekness upon ordering with the waitress as you don't have a clue what is available?

The hotel is well situated for walks to the beach or to shops, - I believe Blue Karma offer a shuttle bus to the main Bintang supermarket, but god knows why anyone would want a lift there is 100m walk around the corner!

We walked to Kuta one day, along the beach. long walk, perhaps 1 hour, but there isn't much else to do in the area, just a tip for travelers - just avoid, you may as well be in Magaluf, and the people do not leave you alone.

This hotel does advertise it's self as Seminyak, but central Seminyak where all the restaurants etc are is around 30 mins walk away, so there aren't too many places to eat around Blue Karma, but you can eat at the hotel. This was pricey for Bali standards, but can't comment on the food as we didn't try it out!

Blue Karma offer complimentary free upon arrival which I took, which was fantastic, but didn't extend the massage as it was extortionate for Bali standards.

I would recommend this hotel to everyone, as it is top notch, but I feel the noise lets it down, and this is why I probably wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RLJ2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred N, Public Relations Manager at Blue Karma Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Hello and Thank you for your lovely feedback of what looks like a great stay in Paradise. We appreciate your feedback which will be shared with the team who hosted you. We do indeed have amazing rooms showing the traditional and cultural side of the island compared to large concrete hotels. We are delighted you have enjoyed the facilities and definitely the main pool which is a real oasis for all our guests. See you again soon on the next trip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Thankyou Blue Karma Hotel. Most beautiful villa with my own pool. I came for rest and relaxation and that's what I got. My bed was turned back every afternoon and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. To be able to drink the water from the tap and shower was an added bonus and the menu was sensational. Everything fresh and delicious. Even though I had my own pool, I still swam in the main pool sometimes and it is beautiful along with the gardens. I especially loved showering under the stars. Thankyou Blue Karma. I will see you next year

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julesbali23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

We originally stayed five nights at the Blue Karma hotel when we first arrived in Bali at the end of November, and we thoroughly enjoyed everything about the hotel - the staff, beautiful rooms, pool, restaurant and gardens. The backyard is absolutely stunning with lovely landscaping, and you really feel like you are in paradise.

We left Seminyak to go to Ambon for a diving trip, and returned back to Bali earlier than expected, and we were thrilled that we were able to stay again at the Blue Karma. The staff welcomed us back like family members, and we were very happy to feel like we were back in paradise for another four nights.

A special thank you to Utari, Budi, Betty and Sri for outstanding service.

We will be back to the Blue Karma when we can travel again to Bali, and we highly recommend this hotel.

There is nothing we can think of that needs improvement.

Room Tip: Both rooms we stayed in were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ScubadiversM-M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred N, Public Relations Manager at Blue Karma Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Michelle and Michel, Lovely to have hosted you twice during your Bali trip and that you fully enjoyed your stay with us. We have passed all your wishes to Utari, Budi and Sri as well as the rest of the team for their outstanding service. Thanks for your recommendations and see you again soon for another wonderful holiday. Warmest regards and Happy New Year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.3 mi away
Villa Coco
Villa Coco
#30 of 144 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Trans Resort Bali
The Trans Resort Bali
#13 of 144 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,803 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
#27 of 144 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Amala
The Amala
#17 of 144 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Bali Seminyak Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Karma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Karma Hotel

Property: Blue Karma Hotel
Address: Jl. Raya Seminyak, Gang Bima no. 2, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#20 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#22 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#22 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Karma Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Karma is a lifestyle resort in the heart of Bali activities and happenings – Seminyak. The resort is within walking distance to the shops, restaurants and to the beach. Artistic creativity, comfort, ethnic design and flourishing garden have come together to make a vacation paradise in Blue Karma.You will get unique hotel experience and personalized concierge service. Blue Karma welcomes to pamper yourself in Slimming center and Spa, in Restaurant and Lounge Bar enjoy tasteful delights with designer menu options in raw food, listen to mellifluent sounds at live music events and experience special holistic programs as well as creative workshops and authentic trips to discover Bali.This is the lifestyle you deserve, and we are happy to share our passion and curiosity to life with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blue Karma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Karma Hotel Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing