We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return stay”
Review of Blue Karma Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Blue Karma Hotel
Ranked #18 of 143 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Return stay”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Had the opportunity to stay again at the Blue Karma. Our expectations were met and so we were not disappointed. Every hotel we have stayed in over many years have had some kind of minor issue. We take it in our stride and not let it spoil our trip. I am sure some readers will find things not to liking at Blue Karma. Nature of the beast. For us the positives overwhelmingly allow to have an enjoyable. Had to beat the location, pool area, simple breakfast and most importantly the staff who operate in a friendly manner.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter but you still will get the chirping of the birds and the crowing of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizjak10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred N, Public Relations Manager at Blue Karma Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you so much for your return visit and delighted to know we have exceeded your expectations. Cant wait for your return again and again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    441
    162
    32
    5
    5
See reviews for
114
335
32
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Blue Karma! The communal area is beautiful.Rooms were beautiful and staff very friendly.The service was outstanding.Only thing lacking is that other customer downstairs will play noisy music. It affect our sleep but the staff help us resolve it. All in all i would happily stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjd20132014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Fantastic stay in a relaxing private villa with own pool. Small resort style. Lovely caring, friendly and very helpful staff. Housekeeping daily. Private pool attended to daily. Night staff turn your lights on, shut curtains and turn bed down....Just beautiful.
Will definitely return

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krystyna277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wongan Hills, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

First time at Blue Karma. Very impressed. Big separate rooms, lounge and kitchen, bedroom and bathroom. 2 TV's & 2 DVD players & 2 A/C, 3/4 size fridge, nice polished concrete floors, walls, kitchen bench. Big bathroom with open type wood floor boards and a very big cement bath. Concertina doors open the lounge area to the pool. All lighting is LED and very colourful and effective. All villas open with a very big wooden door to the infinity pool, lawn area, beautiful garden, dinning and bar. This area is very nice and again very clever with LED lighting, even in the pool. Great restaurant with a smallish healthy menu, seats overlooking the garden and pool. Most of the kitchen is open and can see the staff preparing the meals. Looks like all meals, food is made in house. A small shop near the restaurant with cloths and gifts, part of Blue Karma is a trap with the ladies. We found ourselves sitting here all morning after breakfast, soaking up the garden area, going for a dip, ordering another drink. Don’t miss free afternoon tea at 4pm.
All villas have names, no numbers. The key ring is a very nice, heavy brass symbol that also doubles as the power key in the villa. At Blue Karma there are Villas and Suites. Villas have a privet pool and you can get one, two and four bedroom villas. These villas have an upstairs suite that can be shut off and with outside stairs so the suite can be used at the same time. There are inside stairs as well. So you can have a two bedroom villa, upstairs and down stairs.
The photos on Blue Karma web site are all as it is, beautiful, but only showing the better villa bedrooms. Very nice garden, swimming pool and restaurant areas. Great staff.
Our villa pool was shaded a bit so a bit cool sometimes. We swam in the main pool mostly. A couple of evenings there was some noise from motor bikes across the street, but not too bad. The villa and suite combination is very confusing when booking. This I see is a very big problem when booking for a one bedroom villa with a pool. We went with another couple and we both booked one bed room privet villas, at the same time. We got the best villa at Blue Karma, but for the same price the other couple got a villa that would have fitted in our bedroom. Both are classed as one bedroom villas. I questioned staff about this and this is right, one bedroom villas are all different at Blue Karma. I also found out ours was the biggest villa, and the only one this big. The only one bedroom villa with a kitchen. The other villa was a bedroom and bathroom. No bath, no kitchen, small fridge, one TV, one A/C and a shaded pool with no room around it. The pool was too cold to swim in, even in Bali. May be not a problem but not at this price.
So for us this has been the best villa we have stayed at in Bali, very good big villa, common area, gardens, restaurant, great staff. Close second we have stayed at would be Villa Kubu. But unless you know the villa names, and book direct with Blue Karma it would be hit & miss with what type, size of villa you will get. We would love to stay again, but only in the same villa. Because the one bedroom villas are different at Blue Karma, may be look at how Villa Kubu do it on the net as all Villa Kubu villas are different and they have each villa listed separate, photos, plan of the villa area.

Room Tip: I think we had the best Villa, Champaka.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alcatraz59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred N, Public Relations Manager at Blue Karma Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thanks for your lovely detailed review. Delighted you and your friends enjoyed your stay and the wonderful service of Blue Karma Bali. It's a little heaven and we love sharing it with you. Come back again soon to see our latest additions and improvements as well as brand new spa treatments offerings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth WA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

After 12 visits to Bali and stays at numerous 5 star villas and resorts, I would have to say that Blue Karma was very disappointing. The main pool, gardens, Wi-Fi and restaurant are fabulous, the staff are very accommodating without being annoying and the lighting is beautiful, that is where the praise ends. We travelled with another couple and checked in at the same time but were given completely different villas. Our villa was a bedroom, small bathroom and plunge pool that I named the puddle. The other couple's villa had a lounge room, kitchen, separate bedroom and large bathroom with a huge bath. We booked at the same time and paid the same amount for our villas, so to say that I was unimpressed is an understatement. After voicing my displeasure, we were moved to another villa that was equally as small but had a table a chairs outside so at least we had somewhere to sit instead spending all of our time inside the bedroom. These villas do not get any sun so the pool was too cold to use, this is one of the main reasons we book private villas. The staff used an area directly next to our villa so we had no privacy as the stairs they use look straight into our villa, not to mention their chatting, coughing/spitting and moving around in general ruined any chance of peace and quiet. I feel that they are confused between being a resort/hotel or villa and should have gone with one or the other. The other alternative is to book a suite at nearly half the price, we went through one of the upstairs suites, they are very small with cement décor but perfect as the main area is the highlight.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank moocam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred N, Public Relations Manager at Blue Karma Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Moocam, Many thanks for your feedback and we are delighted of your positive comments on our pool, gardens and restaurant. Sorry to hear about your disappointment in our villas, which are indeed all different. Our team was quick to apologise onsite and move you to another larger villa complimentary. We have taken your feedback seriously in regards to the access of the villa and have talked to our team to ensure this doesn't happen again. We trust we will have the chance of accommodating you in the future and let you experience the peace and quiet that everyone raves about. Have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We recently stayed at the Blue Karma Hotel in the 4 bedroom villa. The Villa was spacious, each bedroom had it's own bathroom and there were two large living areas. The location is great with plenty of good resturants within walking distance. The staff were great and nothing was too much trouble. Loved it would recommend and defiantly stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LyndaS23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Bali Seminyak Resort
0.3 mi away
Villa Coco
Villa Coco
#28 of 143 in Seminyak
607 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Amala
The Amala
#16 of 143 in Seminyak
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Breezes Bali Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
The Trans Resort Bali
The Trans Resort Bali
#13 of 143 in Seminyak
1,845 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
#30 of 143 in Seminyak
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Karma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Karma Hotel

Property: Blue Karma Hotel
Address: Jl. Raya Seminyak, Gang Bima no. 2, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#18 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#22 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#22 Family Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Karma Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Karma is a lifestyle resort in the heart of Bali activities and happenings – Seminyak. The resort is within walking distance to the shops, restaurants and to the beach. Artistic creativity, comfort, ethnic design and flourishing garden have come together to make a vacation paradise in Blue Karma.You will get unique hotel experience and personalized concierge service. Blue Karma welcomes to pamper yourself in Slimming center and Spa, in Restaurant and Lounge Bar enjoy tasteful delights with designer menu options in raw food, listen to mellifluent sounds at live music events and experience special holistic programs as well as creative workshops and authentic trips to discover Bali.This is the lifestyle you deserve, and we are happy to share our passion and curiosity to life with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Blue Karma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Karma Hotel Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing