We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice maxico food.”
Review of Taco Beach Grill

Taco Beach Grill
Ranked #63 of 508 Restaurants in Seminyak
Price range: US$1 - US$10
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Inspired Mexican Cuisine Prepared with Integrity. A small, authentic, roadside-style "taqueria" like in Tijuana or Cabo, we are Seminyak's only American owned, and authentic taco cafe featuring deluxe roadside-style tacos. Renowned for our huge variety of salsas and tortillas made fresh from scratch every few hours, we are the Home of the Original Babi Guling Taco.
Hsinchu, T'ai-wan, Taiwan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“nice maxico food.”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Taco Beach staff are very friend and help us to order.
Food are very delious.
B...Drink are good to teast.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 上海貝爾特酒店
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    731
    303
    82
    36
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denpasar, Indonesia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Never fails to please.”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I returned to Taco Beach yesterday and had a marvelous lunch with an old friend of many years. I was a bit nervous as my friend Peter well known for not suffering mediocre food.

Did he like it? I think he may be having breakfast there right now!

Started witha homemade Dill-cured Norwegian Gravlax on Creme Fraiche and crackers, and Nachos Supreme accompanied by 6 seasonal salsas including roasted corn salsa, mango salsa, spicy cheddar cheese dip, tomatillo-coriander salsa, papaya-pineapple salsa, jicama salsa and Bobzilla Sauce.

Mains were Smoked Duck Tacos a L'Orange with a French orange reduction sauce, and also a Carne Asade Quesadilla, which is beef tenderloin, marinated in citrus juices, herbs and spices for 24 hours, in a melted cheese filled home-made flour tortilla - which is flash seared after being seasoned again with their secret in-house Taco Beach taco powder #5! The reduction served with the duck was reminiscent of a cranberry sauce with the consistency of jelly and a hint of cinnamon. To die for!

I’ll hang my sombrero at this place anytime.

Owner said that he is about to launch a second, larger branch in Batu Beliq.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BaliUpdateEditor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob N, Owner at Taco Beach Grill, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thanks indeed for your very kind, five-star review. It was a fortunate turn of events that you could be on hand to sample our Dill-cured salmon, which is still in development, and we're glad it was satisfactory.

Thanks especially for the generous remarks about our Smoked Duck Taco orange reduction sauce, which is made from hand squeezed, mountain grown Kintamani oranges, then simmered for hours until thickened and uniquely seasoned with all sorts of local spices, fruit juices, and chiles to give it a bit of a kick, unlike the standard French a l'orange sauce.

Ob behalf of my staff and myself, we wish you a five-star day in every way. Bob, Director of Taco Technology, Taco Beach Grill - Home of the Babi Guling Taco!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
87 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“AMAZING! You can't miss this! ”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

For the price, and the quality, and the taste, and the service - you can't go past taco beach!

We went here several times it's honestly so amazing! The chips are honestly to die for!

It's so cheap too and such good value! But beware it gets hot in there with 20 fans on a pretty open street front!

Helpful?
Thank epicurism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Taco Beach, Great Experience”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Hey. 'Had a great experience at Taco Beach and I thought it was worth a share.

Some friends and I came back Movie Festival a few nights back and we were starved. It was semi-late and we were already having a good time, ie already had a few drinks. Where are you gonna go? We didn't have the budget for Michelin Stars or the stomach for another plate or Nasi/Fried Egg, and we didn't want to ruin some couple's first date at some ill-lit, Mediterranean restaurant with a dude playing an acoustic mandolin set. We somehow ended up at Taco Beach.

Immediately as we walked in, we met Bob. As my girlfriend said, she's from Barcelona, "he is the typical restaurant owner from Spain." What she meant was that he was cordial, funny, personal, and of course in good spirits. He was proud of his restaurant and him and his staff wanted to make sure you enjoyed your experience. Some of you reading this from different parts of the world might take this for granted, but here in Bali its about as rare as a nun in a bikini. Have a question about the menu? The staff is usually in the back. Want a Coke? Be right back (we don't have any but too shy to tell you). Dietary restrictions? A few teaspoons of MSG will fix that. Bob and the Gang were the opposite. Bob had us laughing before we even sat in our chairs and followed it up with a couple great recommendations. The staff very attentive. Vigilantly looking for eye contact to see if something was needed.

As for the food, it was perfect. Portions were healthy and artfully done. The ingredients were fresh and the variety of sauces/salsas were delicious. We ordered some plates of nachos for the table and they came with a wide-range of salsas ranging from mild and tropical to some uber-hot sauce that some Tijuana Mexican with a mullet would keep in the pockets of his sweatpants. My girlfriend had the carne asada burrito, Bob's recommendation. It was great. I had a Bobi Guling burrito. I was expecting it to taste like carnitas but it was entirely different. Bob did a great job adhering to traditional bobi preparation. The sauces have an unusual combo of Bali spice and ingredients. It's very different but still delicious. Other people, had chicken burritos, fish tacos, and I can't remember what else. Everyone was very pleased and one girl said it was the best Mexican food she's ever had. She's from San Diego.

Overall, we had a great time.. Not too many places in the world where we could have had a better experience. Thanks Bob for a great evening.

Friends of Iggy

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bette_Peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Popped in to see what the fuss was about...”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

...walked out unimpressed frankly. Babi Guling soft taco was very dry and lacked flavour. The tuna salad was awash with an odd flavoured dressing. The experience overall at nearby Lacalaca was a great deal better.

Helpful?
1 Thank mattoleary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob N, Owner at Taco Beach Grill, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thanks for the observsations. My apolgogies if the babi guling seemed dry. It should definitely be moist and flavorful, aromatic and savory. I hope you said something to the waitress and had it exchanged for a proper dish, if it was poorly prepared.

Regarding the dressing on the seared ahi tuna salad starter on mixed lettuces w cracked pepper, the dressing was made from Chipotle Crema, which is composed from smoke-dried chiles in an adobo sauce, It is an unusual sauce rarely seen, but I will check out both these items today to ensure that our usual high standards are maintained. Thanks for providing useful information we can use to elevate our product standards and hope to see you again, for another go. Best, Bob.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taco Beach Grill also viewed

 

Been to Taco Beach Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing