We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated Villa with lots of negatives than positives”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bali Baik Villa & Residence
Ranked #300 of 424 Speciality Lodging in Seminyak
Reviewed 19 October 2013

I stayed with my family last week -for 4 nights 13-17, October, 2013. It was a last minute arrangement and kind of blindly booked this villa based on reviews here. While the property itself is upmarket, it has a lot of drawbacks one should be aware before booking this property. I am listing the most important ones below;
First the positives

1. Excellent service staff. Though their language ability is limited, they responded extremely well to all our requests.

2. The visuals of the Villa is very good and gives touch of luxury.

3. The shower pressure was very good and taking bath was enjoyable ( read on open bathroom style below).

4. Both the beach area and Seminyak square (shopping area) was 5 minutes walk from the Villa.

1. They charge 4-5% surcharge on credit card payment and this is totally a hidden and unjustified charge for a 5 star villa. I could not have paid the villa rentals in cash as it was close to 23 million Indonesian rupees and had no option but to agree to pay the 4% surcharge.

2. The villa does not have a professional reception staff ( a manager) that can be contacted for any of our complaints and suggestions like the one above on credit card. The staff that is available to us can be best described as concierge staff and they speak basic English.

3. The Villa we stayed ( type C) had a private pool - while this sounds great, the practical limitations are many. Both the rooms and Kitchen open to the pool. While rooms have glass enclosures towards the pool, the kitchen is open. The area surrounding the pool pools very nice with lot of decorative plants and greenery. While visually this is good, it created its own issues - lots of mosquitos, small ants and lizards roaming around in the kitchen area. So, when ever we st down for breakfast or dinner, we had to ask the staff to light the mosquito coil. Since it was open area, the coils had only so much effect. The lizards in the kitchen were bigger concern for us as we cooked our food for lunch and dinner on all the days.

4. The bathroom and toilet for both the bedrooms were open style ones and this was very inappropriate when you have young kids with you. While this may be more acceptable for some cultures, for Indian, asian culture this is a big negative. Even the glass wall that opens to the pool, has blinds that does not completely block the bed rooms from outside view and this was even a bigger issue for us. In addition, we had plenty of free mosquito bites while using the toilet as well as the toilet is open to the back yard with gardens.

5. The kitchen though well equipped, does not have a microwave oven that is so common in hotel apartments. It's so strange and so inconvenient.

6. There is no power back up for the villas. We had no power for almost 8 hours from 8 AM till 4 PM on the last day and with the Bali summer in full swing and humidity, it was terrible. Luckily, it did not happen to us in the night.

7. The location of the Villa in Seminyak is not conducive for most of the Bali attractions as they are to the north or east of Bali. We spent 30-40 minutes in the morning and evening just get out of the city limits to get to the attractions like Ubud, Kintamani, Bedugal, Ujung, etc.

8. The breakfast choice is so limited and as were the quantities. The breakfast was served in the villa by a maid. While this is not a major issue, this can be improved.

So, the Bali experience was great for us, the Villa stay did not help us to maximize the holidays.

Room Tip: The Villa we stayed ( C type) though a 2 BR type, the layout was more for a 1 BR shared type as no i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank vsnrao36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2013

This is a complex of 6 villas, just a short walk to the main road. It is very private and quiet when in the villa complex but within 5 minutes walk you are at the beach and the main road where everything is happening. Great restaurants such as the Living Room, Petitenget, Ku De Ta, Bonita, Sarong, Legian, and Breeze are all near by. Shopping and a wonderful spa Bodyworks are walking distance too!

The villa itself is gorgeous with the pool as the main focus with lush gardens all around. What is unique about this particular villa and different from the others in the complex is that you can open up all the big doors on the first floor living area and "bring the outdoors in" or if you prefer to close it off and keep the air-conditioning on you can. Since the doors are all glass, you can still see the pool and lovely gardens outside.

The master bedroom is its own building on the far side of the pool and opens up onto the pool terrace. The master bathroom is very large and opens onto its own gardens with large walk in shower and a bath tub the size of a Jacuzzi!

The 2 other ensuites are on the second floor overlooking the pool and in the main building above the very large living and dining area. The kitchen is a full working kitchen with stove, oven and full size American size refrigerator.

My husband and I have stayed many times at this villa - sometimes alone and often with friends and family. It has never disappointed and we just love the location. The staff are very helpful, friendly and keep the place spotless. My husband says this is the only place he has truly seen me relaxed! The villa just creates an ambience of calm and beauty that is restful. There are some days we never even leave the villa because the day just melts away!

Stay in Villa D! You will love it!

Room Tip: Villa D is the best of the 6. Also recommend that you have the breakfast prepared each morning by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kitpattrainor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

First time my girlfriend and I have been to Bali in years and was happily surprised. Villa C was a beautiful villa with a great set-up and the staff were so firendly and helpful. Would definately recommend!

Room Tip: Villa C was the one we stayed in and it was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed in Villa C at Bali Baik for our honeymoon and we couldn't have asked for anything more. The Villa is immaculate but still maintains a setting where you can kick off your shoes and really relax. You wouldn't know there was anyone outside the walls of the villa, it's that peaceful. The bed was made up with flowers specially for our honeymoon. The staff were absolutely fantastic ordering us taxis, making reservations and even bringing us our food when delivered.
The location is great. Close to the beach, off the main road yet walking distance to everything Seminyak has to offer. It was truly a paradise to be in for a week and we came home very rested. We'll be going back there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

My partner and I traveled from the UK and we stayed in Villa C for a week, and it was fantastic. The staff were incredibly friendly, and the location was great. The place itself was absolutely spotless and very secluded so if you were looking to getaway and relax then this would be perfect for either a couple, or two couples (as you have your own private bedroom and bathroom) or families. We had a look at the other villas in the complex and this was easily the best one. The espresso coffee machine was a godsend too! We will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: Villa C was the best lay-out of all the villas and it has an espresso machine too. Brilliant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We have just returned from a 12 day holiday in Bali staying at Villa Alex. From the minute we were picked up at the airport to our trip home again it was perfect. Heading through busy Kuta and into Seminyak we were taken past the beach, a market place and then into a very attractive entry to a lovely villa. The villa was originally set up for a family however after a short discussion with Nicole, the manager the rooms were both set up for two couples sharing a holiday together. The villa is spacious and inviting, ideal for friends travelling together or families. Pool was stunning -being right on your door step and so convenient for that first thing in the morning swim. The Villa is lovely and clean and Miss Yoshi made sure we had a yummy breakfast each morning. She varied our menu to suit our requests and even spoilt us with little surprises of croissants and banana cake. Ngurah not only looked after the pool and the garden but satisfied my friends desire to ride on the back of a motor bike. There is also a lovely spa at the entrance where Fina and her staff looked after our daily massages, pedicures and manicures. The restaurant opposite made our daily mojitos and supplied many good dinners. If you want a beautiful villa slightly removed from the hustle and bustle but still close enough to walk to the beach, Potato Head or many other fine dining places then I highly recommend staying at Villa Alex. The only down side was our holiday ended and we had to leave this lovely villa and its beautiful staff. Thank you Nicole for making sure we were very well looked after.

Room Tip: Let Nicole know how you want beds set up -if you need 2 kings instead of singles and she will accomm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reynell5162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Me and my five friends stayed in Bali Baik Villas for over a week. The villas themselves are really stunning - big pool, pretty garden, open living room and amazing master bedroom with a bathroom surrounded by a garden. The villa is well located, close to town and the beach. However, our visit was slightly tarnished by the difficulty we had communicating with the management before we arrived - emails and phone calls took ages to be answered, listed numbers were incorrect and we didn't finalize the airport collection details until the very last minute (just before our flight from Java) and after a lot of chasing by us. In addition, they had overbooked our villa, so we had to stay in another one for the first night, which took some pleasure out of our arrival. We asked for and were given some compensation but were left with the feeling that we were paying commodities to be managed rather than genuinely welcome guests. That said, the staff who made our breakfasts in the morning were very charming and we were allowed to check out late on our departure day, which was helpful. Worth noting that the salon around the corner, BodyWorks, is significantly better than the Bali Baik Salon in terms of the facilities and range and quality of treatments.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TSL15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.2 mi away
Dash Hotel Seminyak Bali
Dash Hotel Seminyak Bali
#34 of 148 in Seminyak
808 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cicada Luxury Townhouses
Cicada Luxury Townhouses
#13 of 148 in Seminyak
485 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bali Mystique Hotel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Svarna Suite
Svarna Suite
#173 of 424 in Seminyak
20 reviews
0.2 mi away
Petitenget 501 - Boutique Loft Studios
0.0 mi away
Tis Villa Seminyak
Tis Villa Seminyak
#105 of 424 in Seminyak
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bali Baik Villa & Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Baik Villa & Residence

Address: Jl Telaga Waja No 18, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #300 of 424 Speciality Lodging in Seminyak
Price Range: £33 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bali Baik Villa & Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bali Baik Villa & Residence is located in the heard of Seminyak, it just 5 minutes walk to the beach, famous restaurant such as Lining room, Kudeta, laluciola, Hu U bar, Warung Eropa, Potato Head becah Club, The Suku, The Sarong and many more. The property build in 420m2 land designed with Balinese and combined with Mediterranean style, spacious of rooms, wider bathtub, double sings, big living and kitchen. Out door pool and private gazebo surrounded by tropical gardenA complimentary WIFI and Canggu Club access are provided ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bali Baik Villa & Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Baik Villa & Residence Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing