We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location if your destination is the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grandmas Plus Hotel Seminyak
Ranked #73 of 148 Hotels in Seminyak
Reviewed 7 February 2012

It's less than 100 metres from the Seminyak Beach and if you head to the south (by walking along the beach), you'll reach Double Six area and Legian Beach. So it's very good location for a low budget hotel. There are many surfing schools along Seminyak and Legian Beach.

The cleanliness is good because it's a new hotel. The street around is far from traffic jam and it's very easy to get a taxi. A lot of bars and cafe in Dhyana Pura/Abimanyu Street -only few metres from the hotel-.

The room itself is very basic but spacious enough for solo or couples. It's not recommended for family with baby/kids and elderly people since the hotel has many stairs and ramp. It will be noisy in the morning and the midnight when people are going out and coming back to their room.

It has restaurant but the price is quite high (remember to read the footnote that all prices are subjected to the government tax and service charge for 17% while other restaurants only charge you 15% -and some have included the tax and the service charge to the price).

I suggest you to walk about 10 metres to the west and have a breakfast at Puri Cendana Restaurant (the continental breakfast here is Rp 35.000 including tax and service charge while Grandmas Hotel Restaurant gives you the same price Rp 35.000 but excluding its 17% tax and charge).

Room Tip: There are some rooms without window, so if you need room with window, ask it when checking-in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Samulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (934)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

761 - 767 of 934 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2012

I stayed at a total of 3 different hotels in Bali during my 15 day stay there. Grandmas Hotel was by far the best. Free fast WIFI, Clean modern rooms, good plasma screen TV with great international channels, wonderful modern clean bathrooms and glass entrance showers with hot water and great pressure. Breakfast is not included however if you go downstairs to the restaurant you will get a huge beautifully cooked Balinese or American breakfast with plenty of fruit and bread sides all for only 40,000IDR (about 4$USD), you will leave very full! The hotel is in a great area and just steps from the beach. I felt very comfortable here, even more comfortable than the 4 star beachside hotel in Tuban that seemed to want to suck money out of your wallet every chance they got for even basic necessities.

Grandmas Hotel was having an opening special of 330,000 IDR per night which is about 35 dollars USD. This made it not only the cheapest hotel I stayed at in Bali, but it just happened to be the one with the least amount of headaches to deal with. Bali hotels are quite different when it comes to basic standards, and even though I have traveled all around the world I was surprised at how almost every hotel charges for small basic necessities. However I really didn't have any problems at Grandmas House.

The only thing I could say was a bit irritating was the no hair drier thing. Even if you bring or buy your own, then there is no where to plug it in near the sink or even at all in the bathroom. There is only one plug in the entire unit and it is near the desk, which if the cord is long enough you can see yourself in the mirror. However it didn't bother me that much.

I am looking forward to coming back to Bali sometime soon. They are in the process of building 2 or 3 other GH's around Bali, which is great because when I return and they are all finished I can have numerous options of areas to choose from. I loved Seminyak area though, very quiet compared to Kuta/Legian and Tuban. There are a lot less shopkeepers and massage women annoying you for use of their services.

However, for me this area was still not immune to the taxi drivers constantly stopping you during a quite peaceful walk advertising for overpriced transport. BALI TIP: Never take them, and always ask the front desk of the hotel to call a METERED taxi and stress METERED, Grandmas Hotel I am happy to say is one of the honest hotels that will call you a metered taxi at no expense. If a hotel in Bali refuses to call a metered Taxi then raise hell with them because they are profiting off your transport.

Looking forward to coming back to stay at Grandmas Hotel very soon! :D

Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
4  Thank HunterWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

The room is small but enough just to rest after out all day. Cold room & hot shower is enough for us. The hotel is brand new so its clean, bright but come with no breakfast but is not big problem since many restaurant around the hotel. Service is good & good enough for us

Room Tip: Our room facing the street got a small window and sunlight in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zaxman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

The room is not super large, no fridge but other than that it served us well. This hotel is new so everything is clean and up to todays standards. Bathroom great, bed super! Close to the beach and it has a pool - small but a place to soak on a hot day.
Staff very friendly and helpful. We ate at the restaurant and had great service and good food.
I would stay here again.

Room Tip: try to get a room at the back - it will be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

For our Christmas holiday we spend 2 nights in Gransmas Hotel.
The location is good, and though parking space is limited, We had no problems to get our car parked. The hotel was in it soft opening with special price, so we got extra value.
The personal was friendly and help full. Thje hotel was fully booked, so we got a room in the basement, whee there was little naturel light. The break fast was included in the
499.000 and very wel prepared and delicious.

Room Tip: Try to avoid room in the basement, as no day light
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank danindo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Brand new budget hotel whose headline is "first class feeling with budget rates" which pretty much lives up to its promise. I have been staying here for a total of 3 weeks split back and forth over the last 2 months.

Here's whats good:
Location-5 minutes walk from seminyak beach, 5 minutes to dhyana pura street with lots of restaurants, shopping and funnily enough gay bars- always an interesting walk down the road at night being accosted by various barboys and "artistes"!
Very clean small rooms- bedroom not much bigger than 12m2, very clean comfortable fresh
bedding.
Compact bathroom with great water pressure Toto fixture rainshower in 90x90cm cubicle finished with nice slate effect non slip tiles, single large sink.
Cable tv with 46- yes 46! channels including a huge range of multi lingual channels- this is
more than ive seen at a intercon or shangri la 5 star hotel! Perfect during rainy season!
Housekeeping service every day with bedmaking, towel (2, adequate) change and 2 water replenishments
Laptop size in room safe.
Friendly young professional and smiling staff.

Heres the cons ( although for the rate really a minor inconvenience)
Only 2 clothes hangers per room
Doors not properly soundproofed
Only 1 electrical outlet- bring a multicharger for your various gadgets and phones
Circular outdoor pool is small and looks more decorative or suitable as a plunge/ kiddies pool only- although the beach is just down the road

The hotel has a really great restaurant adjacent to the reception serving all day. Ive eaten
various meals there and all been surprisingly good. Its a slightly higher price bracket than you would expect to be attached to a budget hotel but really worth it.

This hotel is for those who want a fresh and clean simple accomodation perfect for both families on a budget (since you could get 2 rooms next to each other for less than a standard
hotel), budget travellers who will be out and about a lot (since rooms are small but fine) or
those who want to be near the beach. It is not the kind of hotel i would suggest travelling to Bali for a main vacation or trip of a lifetime as it does not feel specifically Balinese and compact but spot on for a quick weekend hop within Asia.

Room Tip: there is no kettle in the room. Bintang supermarket 15 mins walk/ 5 mins by taxi sells hotwater pots...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank gmcrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

I stayed at this hotel again and again. I liked the location that allowed me to have a morning walk on the beach.
The design of the room wont disappoint. Just need more attention on the water outflow from the sink and the hot water not stabil. and also the bath soap and shampoo not well prepared.
Inside the room, we often found red ants around the bed.
overall if u want a nice room with budget price and good location, u can choose this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank m1ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.1 mi away
PING Hotel Seminyak Bali
PING Hotel Seminyak Bali
#49 of 148 in Seminyak
482 reviews
0.3 mi away
Primera Hotel Seminyak
Primera Hotel Seminyak
#93 of 148 in Seminyak
1,006 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harris Hotel Seminyak
Harris Hotel Seminyak
#69 of 148 in Seminyak
1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Destiny Boutique Hotel
Destiny Boutique Hotel
#89 of 148 in Seminyak
317 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Horison Seminyak
Hotel Horison Seminyak
#63 of 148 in Seminyak
1,046 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vansari Hotel Seminyak
Vansari Hotel Seminyak
#57 of 148 in Seminyak
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grandmas Plus Hotel Seminyak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandmas Plus Hotel Seminyak

Address: Jl. Camplung Tanduk 99, Seminyak, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Seminyak
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#59 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range: £17 - £32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grandmas Plus Hotel Seminyak 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering quality accommodations in the nightlife, restaurants, beaches district of Bali, Grandmas Hotels Seminyak is a popular pick for both business and leisure travelers. From here, guests can enjoy easy access to all that the lively city has to offer. A well-kempt environment and its proximity to Sorriso, Red Room, La Sal give to this hotel a special charm.Offering hotel guests superior services and a broad range of amenities, Grandmas Hotels Seminyak is committed to ensuring that your stay is as comfortable as possible. While lodging at this wonderful property, guests can enjoy the elevator, Wi-Fi in public areas.Step into one of 114 inviting rooms and escape the stresses of the day with a wide range of amenities such as shower, complimentary bottled water, television LCD/plasma screen, in room safe, non smoking rooms. Besides, the hotel's host of recreational offerings ensures you have plenty to do during your stay. Enjoy unparalleled services and a truly prestigious address at the Grandmas Hotels Seminyak. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grandmas Plus Hotel Seminyak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandmas Plus Hotel Seminyak Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing