We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice budget hotel, would stay there again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grandmas Plus Hotel Seminyak
Ranked #74 of 148 Hotels in Seminyak
Reviewed 13 March 2012

i got promo price 199k for one night. it was very cheap.

pros:
-they provide tv, safe deposit box
-clean room, cozy bed, good aircon
-they provide kiblat locator inside the desk and a bible. i never found a hotel providing a bible...only in grandmas i found :)
-close to seminyak beach, pub, gado-gado restaurant in the corner seminyak street
-cheap

cons:
- none

Room Tip: avoid room number ...01-..06 in every floor, that room beside the street. especially room 101
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sosweetme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (948)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

768 - 774 of 948 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2012

What to say 200 m from the beach and at proximity of restaurants and night life. Great functional rooms. It's my HQ when ever I need to be in Seminyak. Restaurant as two proven chefs, yes dinner is not budget but good value for the money. Breakfast is there to recharge you before hitting the deck for the day. my 4th visit and still can't find a reson to go anywhere else. Training of staff is progressing, young and enthusiast. Massages are goodbut need more consistency among therapists. I'll be back! Again and again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MiBali21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

i stayed over Grandma's in the mid of feb.....bought a voucher from Groupon, 4d3n = rm249 about USD 80....this is my very 1st time in bali, so for me the hotel is a great budget hotel which located about 3 mins walk from the beach.
Pros:
1. clean and tidy room (still new)
2. 2-3 minutes walk to the beach
3. few eateries places around, like gado gado & etc
cons:
1. The swimming too small for adult
2. No hairdryer & water boiler in the room
3. Not breakfast

I been informed by the local tour, which this hotel still new around here, so for the time been they still offering cheap prices for the room rates, expecting they will increase the rates after gained popularity from the tourists.

but remember this is a budget hotel, so don't expect something 5 stars ....
Will i be back to this hotel? Yes, i would.

Room Tip: Try to get a higher floor, its more quiet & away from the road traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cpting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Stayed for 5 nights..so close to everything...stroll to the beach, resteraunts,some fun shows late at night..
Comfy comfy beds...clean and well maintained, resteraunt is really worth a try as very reasonable...try the spring chicken in lemongrass and the strawberry ice margarita !!!
This is no frills accommodation but for the price...if anyone complains there just wingers! Lol :)

This is my second stay at Grand Mas...and will be staying again..

Room Tip: All rooms are identical so anywhere is good really..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nasicampur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

We saw an advertising of the Grandmas on the road offering rooms for only 330,000 IDR (about 37 US$) per night and as we needed a bed for only two nights we decided to stay there. When calling for the reservation I asked for a quiet room which was promised. Unfortunately no room on the rear of the hotel was available on our arrival late night. The noice from the road, restaurant and bar direct at the hotel was unbearable. I had about 3 hours of sleep this night. Next morning I wanted to leave the hotel again due to this inconvience but the staff at the counter (very friendly and helpful) offered us another room for the afternoon which is located on the rear of the hotel. No more noice from the outside, only the insulation of the rooms is not very well as we could follow the conservation of our room neighbors without any difficulties.
The room is pretty small but big enough for two people to sleep in. Bed exremely comfortable, bathroom clean and well sized. Sink did not run of properly. Warm water was sufficient for two showers. No space for a suitcase and a tiny open shelf for hanging max 5 shirts. Safety box was available.
I can recommend the hotel highly for guest which are looking for a clean and very cheap accommodation in an excellent location. Only a must is a room in the rear of the hotel as the noice from outside is extremely loud.

Room Tip: Only rooms in the rear of the hotel are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank harald999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

It's less than 100 metres from the Seminyak Beach and if you head to the south (by walking along the beach), you'll reach Double Six area and Legian Beach. So it's very good location for a low budget hotel. There are many surfing schools along Seminyak and Legian Beach.

The cleanliness is good because it's a new hotel. The street around is far from traffic jam and it's very easy to get a taxi. A lot of bars and cafe in Dhyana Pura/Abimanyu Street -only few metres from the hotel-.

The room itself is very basic but spacious enough for solo or couples. It's not recommended for family with baby/kids and elderly people since the hotel has many stairs and ramp. It will be noisy in the morning and the midnight when people are going out and coming back to their room.

It has restaurant but the price is quite high (remember to read the footnote that all prices are subjected to the government tax and service charge for 17% while other restaurants only charge you 15% -and some have included the tax and the service charge to the price).

I suggest you to walk about 10 metres to the west and have a breakfast at Puri Cendana Restaurant (the continental breakfast here is Rp 35.000 including tax and service charge while Grandmas Hotel Restaurant gives you the same price Rp 35.000 but excluding its 17% tax and charge).

Room Tip: There are some rooms without window, so if you need room with window, ask it when checking-in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Samulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

I stayed at a total of 3 different hotels in Bali during my 15 day stay there. Grandmas Hotel was by far the best. Free fast WIFI, Clean modern rooms, good plasma screen TV with great international channels, wonderful modern clean bathrooms and glass entrance showers with hot water and great pressure. Breakfast is not included however if you go downstairs to the restaurant you will get a huge beautifully cooked Balinese or American breakfast with plenty of fruit and bread sides all for only 40,000IDR (about 4$USD), you will leave very full! The hotel is in a great area and just steps from the beach. I felt very comfortable here, even more comfortable than the 4 star beachside hotel in Tuban that seemed to want to suck money out of your wallet every chance they got for even basic necessities.

Grandmas Hotel was having an opening special of 330,000 IDR per night which is about 35 dollars USD. This made it not only the cheapest hotel I stayed at in Bali, but it just happened to be the one with the least amount of headaches to deal with. Bali hotels are quite different when it comes to basic standards, and even though I have traveled all around the world I was surprised at how almost every hotel charges for small basic necessities. However I really didn't have any problems at Grandmas House.

The only thing I could say was a bit irritating was the no hair drier thing. Even if you bring or buy your own, then there is no where to plug it in near the sink or even at all in the bathroom. There is only one plug in the entire unit and it is near the desk, which if the cord is long enough you can see yourself in the mirror. However it didn't bother me that much.

I am looking forward to coming back to Bali sometime soon. They are in the process of building 2 or 3 other GH's around Bali, which is great because when I return and they are all finished I can have numerous options of areas to choose from. I loved Seminyak area though, very quiet compared to Kuta/Legian and Tuban. There are a lot less shopkeepers and massage women annoying you for use of their services.

However, for me this area was still not immune to the taxi drivers constantly stopping you during a quite peaceful walk advertising for overpriced transport. BALI TIP: Never take them, and always ask the front desk of the hotel to call a METERED taxi and stress METERED, Grandmas Hotel I am happy to say is one of the honest hotels that will call you a metered taxi at no expense. If a hotel in Bali refuses to call a metered Taxi then raise hell with them because they are profiting off your transport.

Looking forward to coming back to stay at Grandmas Hotel very soon! :D

Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
4  Thank HunterWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.1 mi away
PING Hotel Seminyak Bali
PING Hotel Seminyak Bali
#50 of 148 in Seminyak
491 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vansari Hotel Seminyak
Vansari Hotel Seminyak
#55 of 148 in Seminyak
135 reviews
1.4 mi away
favehotel Umalas
favehotel Umalas
#83 of 148 in Seminyak
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Primera Hotel Seminyak
Primera Hotel Seminyak
#93 of 148 in Seminyak
1,011 reviews
0.2 mi away
Destiny Boutique Hotel
Destiny Boutique Hotel
#88 of 148 in Seminyak
323 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harris Hotel Seminyak
Harris Hotel Seminyak
#110 of 148 in Seminyak
1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grandmas Plus Hotel Seminyak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandmas Plus Hotel Seminyak

Address: Jl. Camplung Tanduk 99, Seminyak, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Seminyak
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#59 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range: £15 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grandmas Plus Hotel Seminyak 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering quality accommodations in the nightlife, restaurants, beaches district of Bali, Grandmas Hotels Seminyak is a popular pick for both business and leisure travelers. From here, guests can enjoy easy access to all that the lively city has to offer. A well-kempt environment and its proximity to Sorriso, Red Room, La Sal give to this hotel a special charm.Offering hotel guests superior services and a broad range of amenities, Grandmas Hotels Seminyak is committed to ensuring that your stay is as comfortable as possible. While lodging at this wonderful property, guests can enjoy the elevator, Wi-Fi in public areas.Step into one of 114 inviting rooms and escape the stresses of the day with a wide range of amenities such as shower, complimentary bottled water, television LCD/plasma screen, in room safe, non smoking rooms. Besides, the hotel's host of recreational offerings ensures you have plenty to do during your stay. Enjoy unparalleled services and a truly prestigious address at the Grandmas Hotels Seminyak. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grandmas Plus Hotel Seminyak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandmas Plus Hotel Seminyak Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing