We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blerg”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grandmas Plus Hotel Seminyak
Ranked #77 of 145 Hotels in Seminyak
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Blerg”
Reviewed 19 April 2013

The location of this hotel is fantastic! It's about a block from the beach and only steps away from restaurants, bars, and shops. The rooms are mostly clean and the air con is quiet. Those are the only positive aspects of this hotel. If you have any sense of claustrophobia, do not stay here. The room we had reminded me much of a jail cell as we had a room where we couldn't see outside of the window because it was up towards the ceiling. It seems like people tend to really like this place, but I'm pretty sure there are better places for the amount of money you pay to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    378
    203
    47
    31
See reviews for
76
304
162
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2013 via mobile

The hotel was pretty good and suffice for me and my friend qho were traveling to bali for only 3 nights. Basically perfect for a place to sleep and chill and rest. Though the room didn't really have a windor, it had everything one needs like hot water and a tv and ac.
There was only one power plug to charge our phones so we had to take turns.
Also hot water to make coffee or instant noodles had to be purchased at 6, 000 Rupiah. I thought that was weird.

Other then that the area was perfect walking distance from the beach and the ever-fun La Plancha and accessible to taxis and food and a nearby mart and night clubs. The spa was really good too and not expensive.

Dont forget to check traffic time table before leaving the hotel to get to the airport.

It was an overall good holiday. Would go back again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dushku87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

It's a nice and clean budget hotel, with comfortable bed and nice shower. Too bad they didn't serve breakfast (I stayed at the much cheaper budget hotel that still provides breakfast). However, I appreciate their cleanliness, air-conditioned rooms, hot shower and room service. Things cannot be guaranteed in other budget hotels.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wulan_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013 via mobile

Great budget hotel! Friendly and helpful staff, clean/ modern rooms plus in walking distance to the beach plus an array of shops and bars. The best bars and clubs are a taxi ride away (10 mins roughly) and include many great reggae bars and live bands!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuitarFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

I am not sure why this hotel received the tripadvisor award 2013 as for our experience it was a horrid and unpleasant experience.

Upon our arrival this hotel seemed quite decent but as soon as we stepped in our rooms we were welcomed by a strong scent of urine and dampness. However, we still decided to stay due to its good location. In addition to this we soon realized that the advertised wifi did NOT work at all. We complained straight away at the front desk but he was simply rude and unprofessional as well as uncaring and replied that "This was not his problem and the rooms were cheap and we should be happy with this".

We have been traveling for the past two months and always slept in ac rooms. Though when we woke up the next morning in Grandmas Hotel we were both sick. Sore throat, blocked nose and a very weasy chest developed over the time we stayed in this hotel. Now we are both on antibiotics and this can only be drawn back towards the hotelroom.

If we would not have payed in advance we would have NOT stayed for 5 days. However, as we were not able to claim the money back we were forced to stay. The little bugs in the bed left my boyfriends legs redspotted and itchy. You can NOT store any food in the hotelroom as it will be infested by tiny bugs.

To sum it up:

- NO wifi
- Bedbugs (!!!!)
- Ants all over the bathroom
- smelly toilets
- Damp rooms / dirty aircon
- Rude Staff
- and DO NOT eat in the restaurant directly next to the hotel as it is overpriced and the portions are of very poor quality.

One positive aspect was that the cleaning staff was very friendly and seemed very hard working. Though the rooms were bug filled it seems an infestation problem.

I cant stress enough of how many hotels and hostels we have stayed in over the past period of four months for half the price but GRANDMAS HOTEL has been the worst and I would NOT recommend this hotel as I can still feel the tiny bugs wondering over my arms and legs.

Find somewhere better!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lastminaroundworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balikpapan, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I arrived one night early for a conference I was attending in Bali and stayed here for one night. Check in was fast and efficient. The room was basic but clean and comfortable. Staff was polite and helpful. I'm not sure I would stay with the family but if I was traveling alone or even with just my wife I think this place would be more than sufficient. There are plenty of restaurants etc within walking distance so there is no need for a taxi. This is nice as traffic can be a bit of a pain during high season. Some may find the hotel a bit loud since the halls are open air. I didn't have a problem sleeping though. I felt the place was good value for the price. I would stay again if I needed a place for a night or two.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thered1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

I spent one night at Grandmas Hotel in February. I booked as I ended up flying in to Bali a day earlier, due to the flights being considerably cheaper. I had already booked 5 nights at a Villa in Seminyak, so just wanted somewhere cheaper to spend the first night.

On the plus side to Grandmas Hotel, the staff were very nice and helpful. There was a small pool at the front, which was very refrshing to go for a dip in. There is a cafe attached, and the breakfast I chose (maple pancake) was nice and great value.

On the negative side, the room was tiny, but this was expected. However, I didn't find it to be very clean, particularly the bathroom. A lot of the silicone and grout in the bathroom had blackened, leaving it looking grotty. I didn't end up using the shower, deciding to wait until I checked in to my next hotel, because it was really dark and the grout looked mouldy.

Also, the bathroom had only a tinted sliding door, not offering a lot of privacy.

It seems at the front of the hotel there is a taxi racket going on. We went to get a taxi as a metered blue bird taxi had just pulled up. As we approached it another man, who had a transport car', opened the taxis door and exchanged heated words. He ended up thumping on the top of the taxi and trying to kick it as it drove away. It was really intimidating. The security at the front asked us where we were going, and loaded our luggage into the aggressive man's car, despite me saying I didn't want to travel with him. In the end, we relented and got in the taxi. The driver was okay, however, I didn't like that I couldn't catch a metered taxi fom Grandma's Hotel (and we didn't want to drag our luggage down the uneven street to try and flag one down).

It's an okay hotel for a short stay, but I wouldn't recommend it as your primary hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorksOnly2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.1 mi away
PING Hotel Seminyak Bali
PING Hotel Seminyak Bali
#50 of 145 in Seminyak
459 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harris Hotel Seminyak
Harris Hotel Seminyak
#73 of 145 in Seminyak
1,065 reviews
0.3 mi away
Primera Hotel Seminyak
Primera Hotel Seminyak
#88 of 145 in Seminyak
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Horison Seminyak
Hotel Horison Seminyak
#62 of 145 in Seminyak
993 reviews
1.4 mi away
favehotel Umalas
favehotel Umalas
#85 of 145 in Seminyak
671 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vansari Hotel Seminyak
Vansari Hotel Seminyak
#57 of 145 in Seminyak
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grandmas Plus Hotel Seminyak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandmas Plus Hotel Seminyak

Property: Grandmas Plus Hotel Seminyak
Address: Jl. Camplung Tanduk 99, Seminyak, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Seminyak
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#59 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grandmas Plus Hotel Seminyak 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering quality accommodations in the nightlife, restaurants, beaches district of Bali, Grandmas Hotels Seminyak is a popular pick for both business and leisure travelers. From here, guests can enjoy easy access to all that the lively city has to offer. A well-kempt environment and its proximity to Sorriso, Red Room, La Sal give to this hotel a special charm.Offering hotel guests superior services and a broad range of amenities, Grandmas Hotels Seminyak is committed to ensuring that your stay is as comfortable as possible. While lodging at this wonderful property, guests can enjoy the elevator, Wi-Fi in public areas.Step into one of 114 inviting rooms and escape the stresses of the day with a wide range of amenities such as shower, complimentary bottled water, television LCD/plasma screen, in room safe, non smoking rooms. Besides, the hotel's host of recreational offerings ensures you have plenty to do during your stay. Enjoy unparalleled services and a truly prestigious address at the Grandmas Hotels Seminyak. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grandmas Plus Hotel Seminyak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandmas Plus Hotel Seminyak Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing