We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs maintenance”
Review of Villa Bulan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Bulan
Ranked #241 of 423 Speciality Lodging in Seminyak
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We stayed at Villa Bulan (a group of 9 adults to celebrate a 60th birthday,) after much searching over the internet for a villa large enough to accommodate all of us. It appeared quite different and quirky in design and all the reviews on TA were fantastic at that time.
Kumiko, the owner was in Japan while we we were there, but the staff were beautiful, most spoke English and were extremely happy to help with anything we asked of them. They cooked breakfast for us all every day and cooked meals at night for us on three occasions, all very nice.
There are two villas on the property, one two-bedroomed and the larger villa three-bedroomed,we occupied both. If you don't like stairs, this is not the property for you, the staircase leading to two bedrooms in the main villa, I found quite dangerous to negotiate, polished concrete and you could kill yourself if you fell down them. For young people having a lot to drink, they would be suicidal to negotiate! There are stairs up and down everywhere throughout the property and the flooring is mostly polished concrete (terrazzo,) and can be extremely slippery if wet.
There were four rotting timber sun-lounges for nine people to share, (and we'd made our booking four months in advance,) and no outdoor chairs at all (except for concrete benches which formed part of a wall, OK to sit on but not to relax on to read a book,) three of the sun-lounges had started falling apart by the end of our stay, leaving jagged timber exposed. One of the large windows and frame in the main villa fell away from the wall when we attempted to close it one night (we didn't touch it again!) The pool is lovely, but needs lots of the coping tiles replaced. The gardens need to be thinned out because we spent most days 'chasing' the sun since the areas to spend in the sun are too small (once again, an area for nine guests to share)
The location is down a dirty and smelly lane way which I would certainly never want to walk down alone at night and is not very pleasant to walk down at any time. It is however, close to shopping and restaurants and either a very long walk or a much shorter taxi ride from Seminyak beach (which is not a great beach, Nusa Dua is a beautiful beach by comparison.)
I don't want to sound completely negative, I guess it just depends on your expectations, it definitely needs a lot of TLC. I believe it is at best two-star, probably not as nice as we all hoped (but in saying that, it was also quite cheap, so as the saying goes "you get what you pay for."). I think we all relaxed and enjoyed our stay, but would probably not stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnetteMonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (9)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 9 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2013

Villa Bulan Is truley one of the coolest places ive ever stayed. I cant remember how many fun times we've had there! Me & my wife have always felt so special. The owner makes you feel likes it's your Villa & not hers.. Madame Kumi is one of the loviest ladys i had the pleasure of meeting. The staff are Humble by maybe considered shy at times. But they will do anything to make you feel at home. Thank you always for such fond memories;) if you need anything,just ask them....... Jason & Mami

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
Thank BAILCOVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

I have stayed at 3-4 villas in Bali and this villa was not a enjoyable stay, I cut short my stay there it was such a bad experience. Staff service was poor and they had no understanding of English at all, even with trying to use hand signals, no cooking service was provided and no explanation on how any appliances worked. No Wifi was available at the villa we stayed in. One used can of mosquito spray was used the first night and not replaced, no mosquito coils or personal repellent supplied so with numjjerous bites I ended up catching Ross River fever. The walk to restuarant for all meals is on uneven ground and because of position of villa taxis drop off at least 100 metres from villa - very unsafe.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kerrie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kuma32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank スナヤン
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.8 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#18 of 148 in Seminyak
3,449 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#7 of 148 in Seminyak
1,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
0.4 mi away
Amadea Resort & Villas
Amadea Resort & Villas
#34 of 148 in Seminyak
1,958 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#10 of 148 in Seminyak
1,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Bulan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Bulan

Address: Jl. Basangkasa, Gang Ratu, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Hotel Style:
Ranked #241 of 423 Speciality Lodging in Seminyak
Price Range: £299 - £307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Bulan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Bulan Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing