We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, fabulous location”
Review of The Legian Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Legian Bali
Ranked #8 of 148 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2011

A good mini-bar, comfortable beds, attractive rooms, the sound of the waves in your room -- they're everywhere. What makes a good hotel great? Staff, staff, staff. The Legian has been a fixture on this beach for 15 years or so, and I'll bet most of the staff have been there since the first day. They are warm and welcoming, and take great enjoyment from having happy clients in their "home". Good management that empowers them to be creative is essential -- this is not the kind of service a manager can simply command. Overall, it is very impressive.

On the other hand, there are always a few things ... The iPods in the rooms contain a huge stock of albums, but would greatly benefit from a selection of well-composed playlists -- when I go on holiday, I don't want to wade through Metallica and Burt Bacharach, I just want to choose a good jazz playlist. Next, the in-room decor could use a critical eye. The giant shells were impressive 15 years ago, but today we are reminded that these are endangered species and most are probably on the CITES list for banned trade. And how about certification as an officially green hotel? That would REALLY make clients happy.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank indonesia80571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,619)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,137 - 1,143 of 1,619 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2011

we stayed here after 4 nights at the amazing GHM Chedi Ubud. We thought that that hotel could not be beaten but how wrong we were .

how this hotel isnt at the top of tripadvisor i do not know. elegant luxury . gorgeous grounds , beach , pools etc etc

we stayed at the club across the road for 4 nights in a pool villa. you get between the hotel and the club by spending about 1 minute travelling by golf cart! i thought the villas at chedi where amazing but they blew even those away. amazing butler called Sura . the great thing about the Legian Club is your butler only works for you - so is always there for you.

just absolutely amazing. service. spa . restaurants . afternoon tea at the villa . free cocktails. my local newspaper from the UK brought to our room every day.

any questions - Sura had an answer. where to get handbags ? where to eat ? where to get authentic Bali souvenirs ? Sura had an answer and a car waiting to take us there!
the list is endless

amazing amazing amazing - truely a leading hotel of the world
we met the assistant manager at a cocktail night and had a note from the manager on arrival and an email after. brilliant service.

we were treated like VIPs from start to finish thanks to the level of service at the hotel and being on honeymoon and booking through the legendary travel agent David Ourisman all helped!

stayed in a lot of 5 star hotels in europe and usa and this was the best

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robertadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

The Legian is an excellent hotel. The staff are friendly, helpful and nothing is too much trouble for them. We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite, it is spacious and clean, there is a turndown service each night and the small treats that are left is a nice touch. The mini bar is well stocked and the soft drinks and water is free. The spa treatments are lovely and well worth a treat. The Hotel meals are a little expensive and be aware that alcohol is extremely expensive, a bottle of wine can cost up to £50, however, all that said, the meals are very good. There is a wide range of restaurants outside of the Hotel, we went to Hard rock cafe in Kuta and also Chandi in Seminyak, both restaurants provided value for money and the meals were lovely. There are beach sellers, but if you politely say 'no thank you' they will not bother you. When you arrive at the airport, be aware of the porters as they will offer to help with your case and then escort you to the money exchange bureau, you need not pay anymore than 5000 rupees per case.
Remember to take your mosquitto repellent as you will most certainly be bitten at night. We had a good holiday and will certainly stay at other GHM hotels.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms are brighter. We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite, it was spacious and provided for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KittyPatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

We stayed at the club in one bedroom Villa. The Villa was of good size, luxurious and the free mini bar was generous .We had a private butler which was trying his best to give the best service. However we expected him to be more knowledgeable of the area, dining options and shopping options. his English was OK but in times we couldn't understand each other. some amenities expected in a basic hotel bathroom were not there. We love staying in luxurious places but we didn't feel the club here worth the money. the rooms at the hotel will be of much greater value.

Room Tip: stay at hotel not at the club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dbarashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Stayed for 4 nights as part of an extended honeymoon in Indonesia/SE Asia.

Had a villa at The Club. Having flitted between the hotel and the Club area constantly, I can honestly say The Club has a distinct edge (as you can spend as much time at the hotel as you like, but then retreat to your villa). Having breakfast at The Club was a no-brainer as they have their own kitchen and staff - we only saw 2 other couples the entire time, whereas the buffet in the main hotel was rammed.

Great butler (Putu) - a genuinely sweet natured man who couldn't have wanted to help us more than he did. His patience with my constant demands for ice, vodka and chopped limes was heroic! (the complimentary bar is the best I've ever seen)

The ipods have a lot of good music from Kylie to classic punk like The Misfits.

The pool at The Club is 35M and rarely has anyone in it or by it - it's yours effectively. The pool in the villas is also sizeable and perfect for a cool-off dip or a drunken naked divebomb at midnight!

The bed is smaller then you expect, but the interior of the villa is so cool, it really doesn't matter.

6 pieces of laundry per person are included - this was an unexpected perk having arrived with loads of dirty clothes.

Dinner over the road at The Legian is quiet and relaxing with the waves crashing down on the beach. Service was spot on and the Indonesian food very good. The special ice cream bowls also are worthy of a mention (they have an inner bowl with crushed ice to stop the ice cream melting - ingenious.

Spa - excellent. The massages were very good.

Communal areas of the hotel - excellent...a very cool layout and design - very tasteful.

Overall one of best hotels I've ever stayed at. Recommended unreservedly.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank coops9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Amazing hotel with attentive, friendly and helpful staff. We plan on going back to Bali in the next couple of years and will definitley include a stay at The Legian as part of the trip!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dmichaelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

You can't beat the beach view at the Legian, especially at sunset. The hotel is beautiful and the entire property well designed. We stayed in a pool villa at the club and cannot say enough about the service and dedication of the staff. They remembered every preference and made sure we were well attended to. The only downside of the club is that the villas do not have sea view but the private pool is a great place to unwind in the chaos of Seminyak.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jjhpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seminyak
0.1 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#19 of 148 in Seminyak
3,564 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#6 of 148 in Seminyak
1,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#11 of 148 in Seminyak
1,733 reviews
10.2 mi away
The St. Regis Bali Resort
0.6 mi away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#1 of 148 in Seminyak
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Legian Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Legian Bali

Address: Jl. Kayu Aya, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#1 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#1 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#7 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#8 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range: £336 - £597 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Legian Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Legian Bali is an exclusive all-suite hotel set in landscaped tropical gardens, offering unrivalled views across the Indian Ocean. Flanked by quiet beach, this luxurious property offers a unique chance to experience the magical island of Bali in a relaxed setting. Beautifully integrated within landscaped gardens and lotus ponds, The Legian Bali boasts 67 sea-facing suites plus The Beach House in an ample variety of exquisite accommodation style. Situated in a quiet enclave in Seminyak, and adjacent to the exclusive The Legian Bali, a cluster of 14 private villas stands majestically amid scented gardens and private pools. This exquisite residence that redefines luxury living in the tropics is The Club at The Legian, offering guests the ultimate in privacy, and unobtrusive, yet flawless, personalised service. The Legian Bali and The Club at The Legian present all the charms of Balinese hospitality in its personable service, customised spa treatments and alluring surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Holiday Gems, Southall Travel, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Legian Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Legian Bali Hotel Seminyak
Legian Bali Seminyak
Legian Bali Hotel Seminyak
Legian Hotel Bali
Legian Seminyak
Bali Legian
The Legian Bali Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing