We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome to heaven!”
Review of The Legian Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Legian Bali
Ranked #7 of 145 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Welcome to heaven!”
Reviewed 8 December 2011

We cut short our stay elsewhere in Bali and headed to the serenity of The Legian on the recommendation of a friend. You couldn't prise me out of the hotel - we ate there, slept there and relaxed there. It was fabulous! The staff were pleasant, helpful and unobtrusive. The meals were very good and the room was super-luxurious. It was pricey, but I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it for a special holiday.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Achikochi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,334
    133
    25
    10
    11
See reviews for
349
835
56
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

We got an ocean view room. You could hear the water crashing. Soft drinks and water are complimentary as is afternoon tea. The sunsets are way more amazing than Jimbaran bay. This hotel was way nice.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sf903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Absolutely a great hotel. The breakfast in itself is an experiment. Eggs Benedict are the best I have had.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Espoo_FinlandMeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Stayed here 19th - 26th November 2011.
Checkin: The weather was hot, and the ride in the taxi from the airport was slow. As with the Intercontinental, we were ushered to a lovely seating area and were welcomed with a drink, some refreshing towels, this is such a fantastic first impression. The concierge who took our bags for us, and the chekin clerk were really lovely.
Hotel appearance: Really well maintained, elegant, and tasteful. While we were waiting for our room key we noticed three people with folders paying particular attention to where art and craft work were being placed in the lobby. I'm not sure if they were the artists or hotel management, but a great deal of attention was placed on aesthetics, which sums up our feel of the hotel overall. It is an older building, however it is immaculately maintained and beautifully decorated.
The room: We were upgraded from a deluxe suite to a double room suite, the room was enormous and beautiful. There is only one tv in the living room, and no tv in the bedroom. At first I thought this might be a bit disappointing, but it proved perfect. Complimentary softdrinks and juices in the minibar, free fruit replenished every day, and a sweet treat was left for us in the evening. Every room has an ocean view, and the balcony is large with a daybed, a small table with two chairs, and a wooden clothes airing rack.
Breakfast: Amazing. The buffet was basic, but had everything you could want, and you also had the choice of pancakes, eggs, tomato, spinach, mushrooms, the list goes on, cooked to your taste. I thought this was great because I could avoide the stodge and have an great helathy breakfast every day. The dining room was just wonderful, overlooking an infinity pool, with the ocean waves rolling on to the shore beyond that.
Activities: The hotel offered four free 90 minute yoga sessions each week. It was great. The ocean at the hotel edge is beautiful to swim in too. I usually like to do laps in a pool, but the ocean was far more tempting. I was worried about sharks, and checked with the lifeguard who said in the seven years he'd worked at the hotel, he'd never heard of a shark in the area.
Staff: They were just wonderful. Very helpful, very kind and gentle people. They added to the serene and relaxed atmosphere of the hotel.
Location: Perfect location. My husband and I wanted to do some shopping at Kuta, and we really wanted to work off breakfast, so most days we walked along the beach to Matahari and Discovery Plaze. It takes less than 50 minutes. Then caught a cab back to the hotel for 50,000rhp. There was no shortage of shops, reastaurants and spas very close to the hotel either.
My husband and I really loved this Bali trip, and I think hotel greatly contributed to this. We're already talking about wanting to go back, and also staying for a couple of nights at the Legian's sister hotel in Ubud, the Chedi.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DonnaLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

The Legian is one of those hotels you just have to experience. The rooms are huge, the hotel staff unbelievably efficient and all the "little"things are taken care of to make your stay just perfect. 2x ipods in your room, afternoon tea by pool or in your room every afternoon, delicious cooked to order breakfast , i-pads on loan in foyer if you dont bring a laptop and complimentary wi fi in room and around hotel .The bar snacks at the pool were delicious.. Absolutely nothing is any trouble to the staff except when asked if we can have a late check out by 2hours. This could not be done which was a real shame as the hotel was not full and it would have made our stay sentational but then having to wait in foyer wasnt that bad.

Room Tip: Every room has a view of the ocean but ask for 2rd -3rd floor and closer to middle for best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tigerbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

there is like 5 staff for every person. They can anticipate everything you need. there is nothing, nothing at all to say that is bad about this place.

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank pjwallace1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Nothing was too much for the staff the Legian. Firstly, as a honeymoon couple we were upgraded to a 2 bedroom luxury suite on arrival which was the size of a large London apartment! Now I'm not one to really use a concierge service that much at a hotel and service in general, whilst important, isn't my highest priority but at the Legian you just couldn't help be impressed by it. They were incredibly helpful with dinner reservations and resolved with ease a potentially highly stressful problem with our return flight home. Service by the pool was equally attentive and you really get the impression that every member of staff is doing their utmost to ensure your stay there is perfect.

As for the place itself, it is without doubt a great hotel but in terms of architecture and atmosphere just not as uniquely special as others in Bali. The hotel is sheltered from the crowds of Seminyak to some degree but you can't quite forget you're close to a very busy resort town. Clientele can be very varied too, yes you get the beautiful trendy young couples but also the families and slightly uncouth middle-aged westerners.

Breakfast however is superb and the free ice-cream by the pool a great touch. So if visiting Seminyak I would definitely recommend the Legian and for what it is, a famous hotel for all, then I really can't fault it. However, just make sure you dig a little deeper into Bali and also stay at one of the fantastic boutique hotels away from this part of the island.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank colonial99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.6 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#19 of 145 in Seminyak
3,284 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#4 of 145 in Seminyak
1,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#9 of 145 in Seminyak
1,620 reviews
1.0 mi away
Double-Six Luxury Hotel Seminyak
0.4 mi away
Alila Seminyak
Alila Seminyak
#22 of 145 in Seminyak
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Legian Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Legian Bali

Property: The Legian Bali
Address: Jl. Kayu Aya, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#1 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#1 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#1 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#1 Business Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Legian Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Legian Bali is an exclusive all-suite hotel set in landscaped tropical gardens, offering unrivalled views across the Indian Ocean. Flanked by quiet beach, this luxurious property offers a unique chance to experience the magical island of Bali in a relaxed setting. Beautifully integrated within landscaped gardens and lotus ponds, The Legian Bali boasts 67 sea-facing suites plus The Beach House in an ample variety of exquisite accommodation style. Situated in a quiet enclave in Seminyak, and adjacent to the exclusive The Legian Bali, a cluster of 14 private villas stands majestically amid scented gardens and private pools. This exquisite residence that redefines luxury living in the tropics is The Club at The Legian, offering guests the ultimate in privacy, and unobtrusive, yet flawless, personalised service. The Legian Bali and The Club at The Legian present all the charms of Balinese hospitality in its personable service, customised spa treatments and alluring surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Legian Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Legian Bali Hotel Seminyak
Legian Bali Seminyak
Legian Bali Hotel Seminyak
Legian Hotel Bali
Legian Seminyak
Bali Legian
The Legian Bali Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing