We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Experience”
Review of The Legian Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Legian Bali
Ranked #7 of 146 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fantastic Experience”
Reviewed 29 January 2013

If you want a beach resort in Bali - this is the place to go. Rooms face the roaring Indian Ocean, fabulous views from a huge, well appointed and very comfortable room.
Staff are great, accommodating and pleasant. Food is very very good with a large variety. The town is a short walk away filled with restaurants and nice stores.
I would return again and urge to you treat yourself to a wonderful 5 star resort.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ellen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,364
    134
    26
    10
    11
See reviews for
358
850
58
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Just returned from staying at a one bedroom villa at the Club at the Legian (not the main Legian hotel - across the road). The room rate includes a butler who made our stay truly superb. We initially didn't know what to ask him to do but once you get used to it there is no going back (Hendra - you are fantastic!). The Club is quiet and slow paced, although you get full access to the Legian Hotel across the road if you wish. The villas are huge, private pools are large, all drinks (including beer and basic spirits) included and the personal butler delivers whatever you want whenever you wish. The staff truly go out of their way to make your stay memorable with lots of little things like not many hotels do. You really do feel very looked after.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LRGFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Just returned from 6 nights at the Legian, fantastic experience. We were upgraded on arrival to a 1 bedroom suite as we wanted to stay on the ground floor so our 1 year old son could play on the lawn in front of the suite, spacious and very well appointed, huge bathroom and great view over the lawn to the ocean.
Staff were outstanding, nearly all the staff took the time to remember our son's name and always spoke to him, very helpful in any way, nothing was an issue for them.
Pool staff were great, great to get fresh iced water and cold face towels, as soon as you went for a swim your towels were fixed up and water always topped up, we nearly always managed to get the large bale's that were totally shaded, great for our son.
Also loved the evening sweet snack left every night during the turn down service, they even asked what time suited our son's sleeps for housekeeping and turn down service, truly great service.
The GM of the hotel was also frequently around and always stopped to speak, he was there on our departure and thanked us for staying with them. Airport transfer was excellent, water towels and a team member waiting at the airport who took luggage right up to check in counters, great way to end the holiday, except for a 6 hour Virgin Airline delay!
Highly recommend anyone wanting 5 star luxury and service to book at the Legian.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Stayed her in December 2012 and I could not fault this hotel. As soon as the staff saw us walking towards the pool area they would look for a deck chair for us, lay down the towels and supply free iced water. Poolside service was excellent. One day I complained that my beer was not cold enough so the bar staff put half a dozen beers on ice for me and kept asking me all afternoon if my beer was cold enough, now that's exceptional service. I found all bar, food and front desk staff excellent in all areas of services. This is a 5 star resort with very reasonable food and drink prices. Another positive is there is no road between the resort and the beach which keeps a lot of the hawkers away.
My wife and I have stayed at many resorts in Seminyak and this is one of the best. Breakfasts are fantastic. One morning Roger the GM walked through the breakfast area talking to all the guests making sure everyone was happy. I really could not fault this resort and will be coming back.

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank excelsiorSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Only reason we stayed at this wonderful hotel was due to JETSTAR cancelling our flight back to Sydney. We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite which was immaculate the staff are amazing but not in your bubble, we were given a late check out at 6 pm normal time 12 noon we spent our full day at the 3 pools had an amazing breakfast including the best chicken curry outside of South Africa the GM Personally came and said goodbye a first for me and I have travelled extensively the hotel transfer vehicle had cold bottled water fresh towels and a person at airport to take us thru to customs if we ever do Bali again it would only to stay at this hotel.
Only one downer the beach ain't great

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dgam007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

On my last trip to Bali, I've decided to try The Legian because of all the good things I've heard about this hotel. The starting price of the rooms here was more expensive than most of the other properties in the proximity, so I had high expectations. And I wasn't disappointed... the service throughout was helpful and friendly, even the General Manager had the time to greet me during check-in.

I stayed in a deluxe room, which was really spacious (balcony, kitchenette, extra toilet) and had all the amenities you could hope for. There were nice touches like pre-loaded iPods (combined with an excellent stereo system) and a map of surrounding area. I also liked the list of movies you can borrow at no charge; the selection was well chosen.

The public areas, while not super-big like in a resort, are stylish and well-kept (really liked the lobby/library area). Of course another highlight is the beach-fronting infinity pool. One thing they didn't have was a business centre or even one or two PC stations. But I don't imagine many people go here with this in mind, anyway. Besides, wi-fi is included in the room price and there's good signal throughout the hotel.

I was really impressed with my experience at The Legian. Would definitely come back again, or try the neighboring property (The Club).

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SpiceNSpruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Words cannot describe the experience we had while staying at The Legian. When we first arrived we stayed in a deluxe room in the hotel. Stunning: spacious and very well appointed. the decor is a mixture of Balinese traditional and modern. We then transferred to a one bedroom villa at The Club which is just across the road. This is our sixth trip to Bali but our first time here and we have 'hit the jackpot'. We have stayed that the Sheraton properties, the Ritz Carlton in Jimbarran Bay, the Westin but NOTHING comes close to or compares with The Club at The Legian. Why? The Club at The Legian is totally unique. The staff are amazing: nothing is too much trouble. They are friendly and genuinely want you to have a wonderful experience. But most importantly, the staff are so proud of the Legian Brand. They love working for the property. They love their job and that makes a huge difference when it comes to hospitality. It's not just a job to them, they are part of the Legian team and the Brand. The villas are stunning: spacious and well appointed and the attention to detail is outstanding: frangipanis strewn over the bed for the turn down service. If you stay at The Club you have access to all the facilities at the hotel. The Club is very exclusive and private. If you are travelling with children, the hotel is probably the best option as you are very close to the beach and there is more for the kids to do. if there are 2 of you or even 4 adults, The Club is the way to go. The pool is sensational. Everything about this hotel is premium. Why will I be back? Simply: the staff. Hotels can have similar hard products: restaurants, pools rooms etc but it's the staff and their genuine care and attention to detail that is worth every cent. Do yourself a favour, give the Legian a try. It's simply sensational.

Room Tip: If you are staying at the Legian hotel proper, go for the deluxe room. If you are going for that lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cohuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.6 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#19 of 146 in Seminyak
3,343 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#4 of 146 in Seminyak
1,791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#10 of 146 in Seminyak
1,641 reviews
1.0 mi away
Double-Six Luxury Hotel Seminyak
0.6 mi away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#1 of 146 in Seminyak
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Legian Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Legian Bali

Property: The Legian Bali
Address: Jl. Kayu Aya, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#1 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#1 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#6 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#7 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Legian Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Legian Bali is an exclusive all-suite hotel set in landscaped tropical gardens, offering unrivalled views across the Indian Ocean. Flanked by quiet beach, this luxurious property offers a unique chance to experience the magical island of Bali in a relaxed setting. Beautifully integrated within landscaped gardens and lotus ponds, The Legian Bali boasts 67 sea-facing suites plus The Beach House in an ample variety of exquisite accommodation style. Situated in a quiet enclave in Seminyak, and adjacent to the exclusive The Legian Bali, a cluster of 14 private villas stands majestically amid scented gardens and private pools. This exquisite residence that redefines luxury living in the tropics is The Club at The Legian, offering guests the ultimate in privacy, and unobtrusive, yet flawless, personalised service. The Legian Bali and The Club at The Legian present all the charms of Balinese hospitality in its personable service, customised spa treatments and alluring surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Legian Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Legian Bali Hotel Seminyak
Legian Bali Seminyak
Legian Bali Hotel Seminyak
Legian Hotel Bali
Legian Seminyak
Bali Legian
The Legian Bali Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing