We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Legian Bali
Ranked #4 of 148 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Each area in Bali has its distinct character and we definitely like staying in Seminyak when we are in town. Seminyak's appeal lies in its sunset facing beaches and its trendy and fairly upscale town, should you like options outside your resort. However, there are a limited number of hotels to choose from and in particular, limited high-end hotels. There is a new W Hotel there but we don't care for the purple/white/90s decor (and as I understand, its location is not as good) and The Oberoi is getting old, and the rooms smaller (at least when we last did a hotel tour, around 2 years ago). Therefore, we still think that The Legian is the best choice in Seminyak ... for decent rooms and great service. We stayed at The Club Legian last time, which is not beach-side but has large, impressive villas with butler service. This time, we stayed at the less expensive hotel section but found the same great service.

In particular, I like to commend Mr Rohaan Chandra, their Director of Rooms, for his professionalism and excellent service ... we had arrival/airport problems with one of our family members and he was proactive, resourceful and helped find a solution to our problem. He is very pleasant to work with and is certainly someone who would do what he can (within their hotel policies of course) to address guest needs. With leadership like this, you know that the hotel is in good hands.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tinaWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,603)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,005 - 1,011 of 1,604 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2013

An absolutely gorgeous place
This is the best Hotel and restaurant in Bali

The food in the restaurant is magic as usual and always a great experience
The service was exceptional
I will be back very soon
Great job to all in the legian

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MauritiusPascal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

The Good Life! Old World Charm, at it’s magnificent finest! Tropical Ocean breezes, off the crashing surf sets the scene for an enjoyable lazy lunch or suburb dinner with uncompromising levels of unobtrusive attentive service and the best food in Bali. Yesterday we had the most enjoyable lunch I can remember: Tuna
Tuna Carpaccio with White Truffle Mayonnaise, Rucola Salad, Extra Virgin Olive Oil and Parmesan Cheese; Pan–Fried Hokkaido Scallop, Red Onion Confit, Herb Vinaigrette; Cappellini with Freshwater Shrimps, Prawn Oil and Konbu; 
Wagyu Tenderloin, Périgord Foie Gras, Truffle Jus, complemented with a Shiraz/Grenache from Australian Rolf Binder. Chef Dorin out performs time and time again with simple fresh wholesome dishes.

Room Tip: Ocean View Villa's are the best value
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank johnberndt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

We stayed for three nights in a 2 bedroom suite. The room was gorgeous, spacious enough for 2 groups to feel "together, but separate" which is what we wanted.

The hotel itself is impeccably maintained, with ultra-accommodating but not overbearing staff. The beachfront setting of the pools, the deck, the bars and the beach itself is faultless.

The breakfast was slightly disappointing, but only because all the other food we enjoyed there was so good.

The location, on the edge of Seminyak is perfect whether you want to walk into town or along the beachfront.

We had a late flight and, having checked out at 2pm were offered the option of freshening up in another room before our airport transfer – a nice touch, that was much appreciated.
Nothing else to say - it is truly excellent.

Room Tip: We saw two rooms (a 2 bedroom suite and a 1 bed standard room) and both were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Matt N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

This is our favorite hotel in Seminyak, but things often change so quickly in Bali these days, you just never know if your expectations will continue to be met, year end, year out. Rest assured that The Legian is better than ever and will continue to get better, according to their plans to renovate the already amazing rooms. The service is impeccable; everyone seems to really like their job and that goes a long way to creating a relaxing, enjoyable atmosphere. The spa massages never disappoint, the food is excellent, the beds comfy and rooms spacious. I highly recommend the corner room 131 (which curiously is on the 3rd floor). It has balconies on 2 sides, ocean views, a small kitchenette-- it's as close as you can come to having your own private villa. All in all another amazing experience. Thanks to Kevin and his entire staff for looking after us so magnificently.

Room Tip: Choose a corner room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeemarieSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We stayed across the road at The Club. Had a 1bedroom villa & butler Purna was superb. Friendly without being too in our face. Customer service started the minute we landed at Denpasar. There's a guide there waiting for us & guided us through the visas & fast track service as we landed late in the evening. He kept us company whilst we waited for our bags. There were many porters about. Then guided us all the way to the driver, complimentary transfer to the hotel.
From the drive to the smooth check-in, whereby Purna met us at the entrance. Our suitcases arrived within minutes of us opening the door to our villa.
Purna's many restaurants recommendation were superb. All drinks & nibbles in the villa bar are free so are laundry. Rides into Seminyak and other places were complimentary. The hotel even picked up our taxi bill when we arrived back at the hotel from an evening out.
Sunsets were amazing. We ate lunches at the pool bar. They really know how to take care of you. Ice water, cool towels, facial mist, complimentary sorbets etc.
We will be back

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank PrimroseHill219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We stayed in a villa at the club and the secret ingredient that really made the difference was our butler Wydi. He ensured we had four great nights, booked excellent restaurants for us and when we left very early presented us with lunch boxes for the trip home. He found my phone when I forgot it in the gym and tracked us down when my wallet fell out of my pocket on the way to dinner. When we decided to take a few hours in town he arranged for our baby sitter to come in early. Wydi made our stay special but all the staff are great. Nothing was ever any trouble for them at any time. The quality of the hotel is excellent, the food is great, the villa was remarkable and we loved it. Highly recommended!

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seminyak
0.1 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#19 of 148 in Seminyak
3,523 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#6 of 148 in Seminyak
1,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#11 of 148 in Seminyak
1,717 reviews
10.2 mi away
The St. Regis Bali Resort
1 mi away
Double-Six Luxury Hotel Seminyak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Legian Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Legian Bali

Address: Jl. Kayu Aya, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#1 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#1 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#4 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#4 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range: £354 - £623 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Legian Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Legian Bali is an exclusive all-suite hotel set in landscaped tropical gardens, offering unrivalled views across the Indian Ocean. Flanked by quiet beach, this luxurious property offers a unique chance to experience the magical island of Bali in a relaxed setting. Beautifully integrated within landscaped gardens and lotus ponds, The Legian Bali boasts 67 sea-facing suites plus The Beach House in an ample variety of exquisite accommodation style. Situated in a quiet enclave in Seminyak, and adjacent to the exclusive The Legian Bali, a cluster of 14 private villas stands majestically amid scented gardens and private pools. This exquisite residence that redefines luxury living in the tropics is The Club at The Legian, offering guests the ultimate in privacy, and unobtrusive, yet flawless, personalised service. The Legian Bali and The Club at The Legian present all the charms of Balinese hospitality in its personable service, customised spa treatments and alluring surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, MrandMrsSmith, Southall Travel, Holiday Gems, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Legian Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Legian Bali Hotel Seminyak
Legian Bali Seminyak
Legian Bali Hotel Seminyak
Legian Hotel Bali
Legian Seminyak
Bali Legian
The Legian Bali Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing