We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Legian”
Review of The Legian Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Legian Bali
Ranked #7 of 143 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Legian”
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Having travelled to many "leading hotels of the world" I can safely say the Legian is by far one of the best. We were greeted with a lovely smile and a warm welcome on arrival and were made to feel at home from the outset. We were in Bali to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary and the staff at the Legian went out of their way to make our stay wonderful. want stayed in a club villa and a fantastic butler who did everything to make our trip perfect.

The check in process was immaculately smooth and we were greeted warmly by all levels of staff by name throughout the trip, an excellent touch. The general manager, Kevin, arrived to greet us personally in warm and extremely hospitable manner. In no other hotel have we felt the welcoming presence of its senior staff, who definitely give the impression they care about their guests.

We were greeted into our villa with a welcome bottle of sparkling wine and canapés. Having mentioned that I liked passion fruit our villa was stocked up with fresh passion fruit daily. No request was too small for Toni our butler to carry out for us.

The high walls of the club area meant we had a place of peace and solitude from the craziness of seminyak and stepping out was an adventure in itself.

We had both club and main hotel services available to us. We opted to have breakfast at the vibrant beach view restaurant in the main hotel, where the staff took exceptional care of us. Eddie, the food and beverage manager who also introduced himself to us has done an excellent job with the level of service provision at the restaurant. The swimming pools and loung areas on the beach front were very clean and the service was excellent. Highly recommend a massage there! (the spa was closed during our stay but the massages made up for it!)

There were renovations being undertaken at the hotel at the time of our stay but not once did they interfere with our holiday.

We cannot recommend staying at The Legian enough and will definitely return for another visit! Overall our stay at the Legian was faultless!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NK110782010581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Dear NK110782010581,

I would like to sincerely thank you for writing such a detailed and personal review about The Legian and recommending it to others. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and very glad to learn that Toni, Edi and the rest of my team as well as our facilities were able to craft a memorable experience filled with fond memories for your first anniversary.

We all very much look forward to welcoming you both back to The Legian in the future.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,319
    130
    25
    10
    11
See reviews for
341
828
56
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

We had stayed at Chedi Club Ubud earlier in the week and since we had such a lovely time there, we wanted to stop by their sister hotel, Legian Bali while we were shopping in seminyak. We stayed for drinks, spa massages, and dinner and had a spectacular time. Between the wonderful staff and the general manager, Mr. Abramowicz, who welcomed us like family, we felt their hospitality was genuine and very kind. The food quality and variety were fantastic and their wine was great (good wine, esp. by the glass, is actually quite hard to find here in Bali). We were particularly fond of their crab over watermelon salad, and their equivalent of pork belly which had an accompanying sauce that could have been the standard balinese dish, but they elevated it with a few more spices making it more complex. The grounds are also beautiful and the plunge pool is right on the beach which is quite nice! We had a couples massage treatment which was quite nice and relaxing and the facilities were beautiful. While I chose Jimbaran thinking it would be more quiet than bustling Seminyak, we realize that this hotel would have been perfect for its close proximity to posh shops and restaurants on J. Laksmana while also being a quiet oasis on the beach that is much more private than I originally beiieved seminyak would be during my trip planning stages. We can't wait to stay here the next time we return to Bali!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYnomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Dear NYnomad,

I would like to thank you for choosing to spend a day at The Legian after having stayed at our sister property in Ubud. I am pleased to hear that you had a spectacular time and have shared your comments with my team.

On behalf of the entire team, we all look forward to welcoming you back to spend your next holiday with us.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Where do I start? This hotel is superb in every way. We have stayed in many hotels the world over, but this has to be our favourite. This is our 4th stay in 6 years, and I struggle to absolutely identify why it is so special.
The welcome feels warm and genuine, the studio suite (which we usually book) is huge and classy. They have 2 balconies overlooking the pounding ocean, one with 2 sunbeds. We actually prefer the studio suite to the one bedroom. The pool, especially after the renovation, is perfect. The pool staff provide a tray with iced water all day, continuously refreshing it. There's the little treats of being served during the afternoon with a refreshing fruit stick or sorbet. The provided afternoon tea with sweet treats in either the ocean bar or at the sunbed. The breakfasts are varied and perfect. It's a mix of buffet and a la carte. Fresh juices, smoothies, poached eggs benedict on brioche, eggs any way, fresh waffles with caramelised bananas and maple syrup - the list goes on. We usually don't eat in the hotels that we stay other than breakfast as like to get out to experience the area, but did have dinner last night and it was superb and reasonably priced.
There's the little touches like the frangipani flower on the bed at night, and the sweet treat. There a coffee machine in the room with complimentary capsules, and complimentary soft drinks from the mini-bar.
The beds do tend to be firm, so if you like a softer sleep, ask for the feather top. It made a huge difference to our comfort and because we requested it on booking, was organised prior to check in.
The Legian is our yardstick by which we measure all others, and have yet to find one that even comes close.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TraceyB1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali, responded to this review, 21 April 2013
Dear TraceyB1959,

Thank you very much for staying with us again and your detailed review of our hotel, its facilities and services.
I am very glad to read that we are able to continuously provide you a memorable experience and we shall make any effort to constantly optimize our amenities to be measured on.

The entire team is looking forward to your next visit and to welcoming you back to The Legian.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Located on Seminyak beach, but private and quiet. Excellent services, staffs are always there to help. King size bed, very comfy. The only downside is its a bit pricey, but worth your money! Overall its a great experience! Highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali, responded to this review, 21 April 2013
Dear Eric Y,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay with us and for recommending our hotel to other visitors to Bali.
It is with pleasure to read that you enjoyed our services and had a great experience at The Legian.

We all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Had a wonderful stay at The Legian last week. I hadn't been to Bali before so feel very lucky to have stayed at such a lovely hotel in such a super location - right on the beach and right by the shops! I had had a hard time deciding between the Legian and the Samaya when looking at accommodation and ended up picking The Legian, with no regrets. Whilst it needs a little updating (rooms, pools infrastructure, lighting in the grounds etc and this is underway), the service, the facilities, the relaxed atmosphere and wonderful food totally outweighed the areas where the decor needs to be updated, it was just an impeccably run hotel. We stayed in a one bedroom deluxe room one the ground floor. It was a little dark in the bathroom and as we preferred the doors open and minimal a/c I got a few mozzie bites (in retrospect, I should have asked for a fan) but the room had terrific access to the garden, pool, bar and restaurant. Next time I would try a room on an upper level simply to have more natural light in the bathroom. I would return to The Legian (and to Bali) without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona_Syd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Dear Fiona_Syd,

Thank you very much for choosing The Legian on your recent trip to Bali and for reviewing our hotel. I am pleased to read that our services, facilities, food and atmosphere were able to compliment the upgrades being carried out. I have made note of your feedback which is truly valuable and have shared this with my team in order to further improve our services offered.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to The Legian and Bali in the future.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
100 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We have been visiting Bali for 19 years but this was our first stay at this excellent hotel.
Rooms are much larger then the average size rooms found in Bali, as a matter of fact most of the rooms are suites.
Service is close to perfect, staff members are extremely friendly and helpful. The restaurants are excellent and breakfast is superb. But for me the best about this property is the location, a beautiful beach with an infinity pool across 3 levels.
The property is within walking distance of both the KuDeTa and Potato Head, two top beach bars in Seminyak.
Currently one wing is undergoing renovations, this does not impact the stay - as a matter of fact it results in guests having even more space as only about 60% of the hotel rooms are currently used for occupation.
I can only recommend this property and I will for sure go back to the Legian very soon!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor for a better ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Notsofar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Dear Notsofar,

Thank you very much for staying with us and writing a very positive review. I am very happy to hear that you were finally able to experience The Legian despite coming to Bali for so many years.

Your experience has been shared with the entire team and we all look forward to welcoming you back to The Legian very soon.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We spent five nights here in late March with two other couples. All of us could not fault The Legian on any level.
The room was amazing: we had a ground floor room which allowed us direct access across the gardens to the pool and beach. This does mean the balcony is less private, but we found it very convenient for quick trips back to the room etc. The kitchenette in the room features a Nespresso machine for reasonable coffee. All juices and soft drinks are complimentary in the mini bar too. A pleasant surprise! As were the delicious dessert treats that were left in our room during turn-down.

The level of service is outstanding. We ate regularly at the pool bar and enjoyed their seafood bbq night. Excellent food. We ate at the Oberoi hotel for one meal and found their staff to have poorer English and much less attentive service that The Legian. We also attended a wedding at the Anantara Resort and again felt like we had made a sounder choice by staying at The Legian.

The proximity of the pools and sun lounges to the shoreline is outstanding. Pool staff are always ready to provide you with cold towels, face mist and cold water.
We would find it very difficult to return to Seminyak and stay anywhere else. The Legian is worth the $!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank royandkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Dear royandkate,

I would like to thank you for complimenting our facilities as well as and most importantly the level of service being offered by our staff. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the Seafood Indulgence and your time spent at the resort.

We all look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Bali.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.6 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#19 of 143 in Seminyak
3,235 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#4 of 143 in Seminyak
1,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#9 of 143 in Seminyak
1,602 reviews
1.0 mi away
Double-Six Luxury Hotel Seminyak
0.3 mi away
Alila Seminyak
Alila Seminyak
#23 of 143 in Seminyak
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Legian Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Legian Bali

Property: The Legian Bali
Address: Jl. Kayu Aya, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#1 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#1 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#6 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#7 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Legian Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Legian Bali is an exclusive all-suite hotel set in landscaped tropical gardens, offering unrivalled views across the Indian Ocean. Flanked by quiet beach, this luxurious property offers a unique chance to experience the magical island of Bali in a relaxed setting. Beautifully integrated within landscaped gardens and lotus ponds, The Legian Bali boasts 67 sea-facing suites plus The Beach House in an ample variety of exquisite accommodation style. Situated in a quiet enclave in Seminyak, and adjacent to the exclusive The Legian Bali, a cluster of 14 private villas stands majestically amid scented gardens and private pools. This exquisite residence that redefines luxury living in the tropics is The Club at The Legian, offering guests the ultimate in privacy, and unobtrusive, yet flawless, personalised service. The Legian Bali and The Club at The Legian present all the charms of Balinese hospitality in its personable service, customised spa treatments and alluring surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotelopia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Legian Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Legian Bali Hotel Seminyak
Legian Bali Seminyak
Legian Bali Hotel Seminyak
Legian Hotel Bali
Legian Seminyak
Bali Legian
The Legian Bali Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing