We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most Wonderful Hotel We've Stayed In”
Review of The Legian Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Legian Bali
Ranked #8 of 144 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Most Wonderful Hotel We've Stayed In”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We were at the Legian for 6 nights in April after a week in Ubud. We were overwhelmed by the property and it was a great mix of contemporary Balinese style, comfort, and great service. You know you're in Bali, but the resort is legitimately excellent in all aspects. They were even completing some renovations to 1/2 of the hotel - and we saw and heard pretty much nothing.

We were upgraded to a larger suite - which was similar to a hip NYC apartment - it was wonderful. All rooms have ocean views, but some on the ends are a little in the palm trees, so if that matters to you, ask. The hotel staff is amazing and know your name by the 2nd day. The Manager is everywhere - seriously, he is constantly surveying things - and is particularly nice (and relatively new to the property). If you need anything, they'll get it for you. The staff is friendly and extremely attentive.

The common spaces are simple and beautiful. The concierge is diligent and very helpful. Breakfast is somewhat unreal - in terms of quality, selection and that its available through 11am. Lunch/snacks are very good and great variety; dinner is romantic and delicious. We could have taken 1000 pictures to try to capture the beach and property view, but you have to go. Sunset is fantastic over drinks or dinner. We actually went to the Oberoi nearby for dinner, but the food was not as good - and more expensive. [There are a lot of good options off property too.]

The beach is really beautiful - but has somewhat real surf, so know that. We liked it. Great walking beach. The gym/spa at the resort was being renovated, so they would take us on a 1 min golf cart drive to the sister property where they set up a gym and spa - wonderful facilities even for temporary, so no idea what it will be like on site after renovations are done in a short while. Service was attentive, meticulous, but also not too eager to bother you (we've found that annoying at some places); just truly perfect all around.

So much attention to detail for everything; the entire staff even knew it was my husband's birthday - incredible - everyone wished him a great day - by name. Everything is just wonderful. Would go back in a second; one of the most beautiful, fantastic places we've stayed.

Room Tip: See above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkWeGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Dear YorkWeGO,

A sincere thank you for a truly thorough and highly inspiring review. My team and I were extremely pleased to read your positive comments about our hotel. I am glad that the food and beverage experience, personalized service and the ambience in general left you with a feeling of fervent return.

We look forward to welcoming you both back to The Legian very soon in order to experience the improvements currently being worked on.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,296
    131
    25
    10
    11
See reviews for
338
816
57
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013 via mobile

Amazing service from friendly, professional staff. Stunning pool area right on the beach, and all different day bed and beach chair options to choose from. Just renovated, the new three-tiered pools are gorgeous, whether you want a lap pool, kids pool or just want a refreshing swim in the main pool. In fact, the entire hotel architecture is stunning to look at and the rooms have a unique authentic Asian interior design which results in understated luxury. Every detail of the room, hotel and its management is well thought out. There is no pretentiousness here, just a relaxing nurturing environment for the ultimate holiday. It's a more expensive option of the Seminyak hotels but you will not be disappointed!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vespaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Dear Vespaz,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us. I have shared your feedback with my team and glad to see that you liked the architecture, contemporary design, environment and the professional staff at The Legian.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

My Sister and I spent four days here recently in a two bedroom suite, it was absolute heaven. The staff are extraordinary and so lovely. The hotel is so beautiful and the food is exquisite.
I can highly recommend this hotel for couples, honeymooners and families with older children.
Service is the best I have ever experienced anywhere in the world.

Room Tip: Try to book a room away from the street as motor scooters and dogs are noisy. I was worked by barki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anne h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

My recent stay at The Legian could only be described as "Perfect".
From the moment you enter the hotel hidden behind high secure walls you knew that you are in for a great experience. Attention to detail was superb, Many touches made you feel special from being greeted on arrival by the GM in person, thru to the farewell on check out.
Our room was on the 3rd floor overlooking the grounds, the pool and the beach. Attention to detail in the room was impressive, from the bose sound system, the size of the room/bathroom/balcony,kitchenette, entrance foyer, etc, etc.The turndown service also impressive.
The general ambience of the hotel was calm, friendly and professional. A great place for relaxing stay.
A special "Thank you" for Kevin and his staff for helping to make my birthday a special day, one to remember.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JayAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Dear JayAdelaide,

Thank you very much for a sharing your experience and I am very happy to hear that the little touches around the property as well as my team were able to create an unforgettable experience for the two of you at The Legian.

We all look forward to welcoming you both back very soon.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Having travelled to many "leading hotels of the world" I can safely say the Legian is by far one of the best. We were greeted with a lovely smile and a warm welcome on arrival and were made to feel at home from the outset. We were in Bali to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary and the staff at the Legian went out of their way to make our stay wonderful. want stayed in a club villa and a fantastic butler who did everything to make our trip perfect.

The check in process was immaculately smooth and we were greeted warmly by all levels of staff by name throughout the trip, an excellent touch. The general manager, Kevin, arrived to greet us personally in warm and extremely hospitable manner. In no other hotel have we felt the welcoming presence of its senior staff, who definitely give the impression they care about their guests.

We were greeted into our villa with a welcome bottle of sparkling wine and canapés. Having mentioned that I liked passion fruit our villa was stocked up with fresh passion fruit daily. No request was too small for Toni our butler to carry out for us.

The high walls of the club area meant we had a place of peace and solitude from the craziness of seminyak and stepping out was an adventure in itself.

We had both club and main hotel services available to us. We opted to have breakfast at the vibrant beach view restaurant in the main hotel, where the staff took exceptional care of us. Eddie, the food and beverage manager who also introduced himself to us has done an excellent job with the level of service provision at the restaurant. The swimming pools and loung areas on the beach front were very clean and the service was excellent. Highly recommend a massage there! (the spa was closed during our stay but the massages made up for it!)

There were renovations being undertaken at the hotel at the time of our stay but not once did they interfere with our holiday.

We cannot recommend staying at The Legian enough and will definitely return for another visit! Overall our stay at the Legian was faultless!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NK110782010581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Dear NK110782010581,

I would like to sincerely thank you for writing such a detailed and personal review about The Legian and recommending it to others. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and very glad to learn that Toni, Edi and the rest of my team as well as our facilities were able to craft a memorable experience filled with fond memories for your first anniversary.

We all very much look forward to welcoming you both back to The Legian in the future.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

We had stayed at Chedi Club Ubud earlier in the week and since we had such a lovely time there, we wanted to stop by their sister hotel, Legian Bali while we were shopping in seminyak. We stayed for drinks, spa massages, and dinner and had a spectacular time. Between the wonderful staff and the general manager, Mr. Abramowicz, who welcomed us like family, we felt their hospitality was genuine and very kind. The food quality and variety were fantastic and their wine was great (good wine, esp. by the glass, is actually quite hard to find here in Bali). We were particularly fond of their crab over watermelon salad, and their equivalent of pork belly which had an accompanying sauce that could have been the standard balinese dish, but they elevated it with a few more spices making it more complex. The grounds are also beautiful and the plunge pool is right on the beach which is quite nice! We had a couples massage treatment which was quite nice and relaxing and the facilities were beautiful. While I chose Jimbaran thinking it would be more quiet than bustling Seminyak, we realize that this hotel would have been perfect for its close proximity to posh shops and restaurants on J. Laksmana while also being a quiet oasis on the beach that is much more private than I originally beiieved seminyak would be during my trip planning stages. We can't wait to stay here the next time we return to Bali!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYnomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Dear NYnomad,

I would like to thank you for choosing to spend a day at The Legian after having stayed at our sister property in Ubud. I am pleased to hear that you had a spectacular time and have shared your comments with my team.

On behalf of the entire team, we all look forward to welcoming you back to spend your next holiday with us.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Where do I start? This hotel is superb in every way. We have stayed in many hotels the world over, but this has to be our favourite. This is our 4th stay in 6 years, and I struggle to absolutely identify why it is so special.
The welcome feels warm and genuine, the studio suite (which we usually book) is huge and classy. They have 2 balconies overlooking the pounding ocean, one with 2 sunbeds. We actually prefer the studio suite to the one bedroom. The pool, especially after the renovation, is perfect. The pool staff provide a tray with iced water all day, continuously refreshing it. There's the little treats of being served during the afternoon with a refreshing fruit stick or sorbet. The provided afternoon tea with sweet treats in either the ocean bar or at the sunbed. The breakfasts are varied and perfect. It's a mix of buffet and a la carte. Fresh juices, smoothies, poached eggs benedict on brioche, eggs any way, fresh waffles with caramelised bananas and maple syrup - the list goes on. We usually don't eat in the hotels that we stay other than breakfast as like to get out to experience the area, but did have dinner last night and it was superb and reasonably priced.
There's the little touches like the frangipani flower on the bed at night, and the sweet treat. There a coffee machine in the room with complimentary capsules, and complimentary soft drinks from the mini-bar.
The beds do tend to be firm, so if you like a softer sleep, ask for the feather top. It made a huge difference to our comfort and because we requested it on booking, was organised prior to check in.
The Legian is our yardstick by which we measure all others, and have yet to find one that even comes close.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TraceyB1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali, responded to this review, 21 April 2013
Dear TraceyB1959,

Thank you very much for staying with us again and your detailed review of our hotel, its facilities and services.
I am very glad to read that we are able to continuously provide you a memorable experience and we shall make any effort to constantly optimize our amenities to be measured on.

The entire team is looking forward to your next visit and to welcoming you back to The Legian.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.1 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#6 of 144 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,745 reviews
0.6 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#22 of 144 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#10 of 144 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,582 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alila Seminyak
Alila Seminyak
#23 of 144 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#1 of 144 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Legian Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Legian Bali

Property: The Legian Bali
Address: Jl. Kayu Aya, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#1 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#1 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#7 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#8 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Legian Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Legian Bali is an exclusive all-suite hotel set in landscaped tropical gardens, offering unrivalled views across the Indian Ocean. Flanked by quiet beach, this luxurious property offers a unique chance to experience the magical island of Bali in a relaxed setting. Beautifully integrated within landscaped gardens and lotus ponds, The Legian Bali boasts 67 sea-facing suites plus The Beach House in an ample variety of exquisite accommodation style. Situated in a quiet enclave in Seminyak, and adjacent to the exclusive The Legian Bali, a cluster of 14 private villas stands majestically amid scented gardens and private pools. This exquisite residence that redefines luxury living in the tropics is The Club at The Legian, offering guests the ultimate in privacy, and unobtrusive, yet flawless, personalised service. The Legian Bali and The Club at The Legian present all the charms of Balinese hospitality in its personable service, customised spa treatments and alluring surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Legian Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Legian Bali Hotel Seminyak
Legian Bali Seminyak
Legian Bali Hotel Seminyak
Legian Hotel Bali
Legian Seminyak
Bali Legian
The Legian Bali Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing