We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Legian Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Legian Bali
Ranked #8 of 141 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

Just returned from our first trip to Bali and The Legian, and we cannot praise this hotel enough.... from the moment you drive into the gates you're greeted with a smile and warm welcome from every member of staff..... nothing is too much! they have thought of everything.... refreshments in the heat of the afternoon by the pool, to taking the liberty of making your checkout late to match a departing flight without being asked! The restaurant was fantastic, the cocktails sublime and I only wish other "so called" first class hotels would use this place as the benchmark. We only had a studio suite on the ground floor, however..... this was fantastic with direct access to the pool area and ocean and bigger than some suites we have stayed in around the world was plenty big enough as we only used the room to freshen up and sleep, as there's so much to enjoy outside. A little gripe would be the allowance of one guest on two occasions to bring in large groups to take pictures of the pool areas whilst we're trying to relax and at one stage getting out electronic room dimension measuring gadgets whilst we were at dinner one evening..... certainly a little unusual and intimidating!
Other than this - fabulous staff, great food, a superb pool area with the best "pool concierges".
Cant wait to go again!

Room Tip: ground floor studio suites are plenty big enough for those who wont be spending much time in the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesandRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Dear JamesandRob,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are truly pleased to read that our services offered exceeded your expectations in every way possible and that you feel that we are able to set a benchmark for other hotels.

I appreciate your constructive criticism towards larger groups and we will make any effort to prevent our guests from being disturbed during their Legian experience.

All of us at The Legian look forward to welcoming you both back very soon to experience more.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,267
    126
    25
    10
    9
See reviews for
329
799
56
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Coming back after 7 years; better than ever; even some of the staff still there; It is THE Place to spend the last few days before departure from this beautiful island !

new spa in construction; new third pool finished

Room Tip: size of all rooms and suits are XL; only See view, every floor has a perfect view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blacky12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Dear Blacky12,

Thank you very much for writing your review on trip advisor. It is with pleasure to hear that since your last visit you feel that the hotel has further improved and you were able to recognize many of our staff.

We all look forward to welcoming you back very soon to experience the new spa and gym.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

I would like to start this review by thanking the Manager Kevin and his entire team for making our first holiday in 3 years so amazing. The Legian is without doubt the best hotel we have stayed in. The staff are so friendly and welcoming - right from check-in to when we left with Kevin standing on the steps to say good-bye, the service was perfect. This hotel is not snobbish in any way - it just offers the best in accommodation and service with no pretensions. We were lucky enough to get an upgrade to a suite which was so stunning and much appreciated. We spent every late afternoon on our daybed on the balcony with a cool drink, overlooking the beach. You can be assured that all rooms have an ocean view and the studio suites are perfect for couples as they still have an enormous living room and balcony. The pools (3 of them) are overlooking the beach and all wet-edged, so there's one that suits families with kids and then the lower one is great for swimming lengths or just lolling around looking at the beach. We walked the beach every day. Ku de Ta is only a short stroll away and Potato Head not that much further in the other direction. Check out both but don't spend too much time there - they are both trendy with loud music and over priced drinks. If you decide to venture out of The Legian then you are not far away from Éat Street' where we enjoyed numerous meals. Our favourite was Ginger Moon. They have the most amazing food and although they call their food share plates, the servings are very generous. I forgot to mention the breakfast. There's no overcooked self-serve buffet. You order your hot food from a great menu and everything is freshly cooked - Eggs Benedict, the best omelettes etc. Just remember when you arrive for breakfast the next day the wait staff will have remembered what your ordered the day before - how great is that. Also, the coffee is great, the pastries are terrific and I could go on.
I reckon you will be like us and not want to leave the resort much at all. The service by the pool is second to none - chilled water always topped up, cool face towels and spray, friendly chat with the wait staff if you want. (They all love working at the Legian and have very interesting family lives to share with you). Don't forget the delicious afternoon tea from 4pm each day.
As far as the room goes, housekeeping is so on the button. Room made up each morning at a time to suit. Turn down service (with delicious treat) each evening also at a time to suit. Beautiful candle lit on your balcony. And, no need to bring the insect repellent and it is all supplied if you need it.
I could go on however, you need to go there yourselves and enjoy every minute.
We will be booking again for next year without a doubt.
Thanks again to The Legian

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Dear Kathryn G,

I would like to sincerely thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed and lovely review about The Legian.

The staff and I were very happy to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay as well as every aspect of the hotel from the rooms to meals all the way to the services rendered around the property.

We all look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
103 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

we have been coming to this hotel for the last seven years and just when you think it can't get any better, it does. Lots of small improvements in the last 12 months join together to make an even better experience when staying at The Legian. The rooms have been refurbished with lots of small attention to detail while keeping the overall Legian style which has made it the best hotel in Bali. The staff are superior to any other hotel we have stayed at worldwide and every wish is read from the lips and nothing too much trouble. After years of commenting that the sunbeds should be under sun shades this has now happened. They are however a little too small and in too short a number as you need a shade per sunbed to get adequate cover. As a result the staff were permanently having to roll heavy sun shades around as at present only one shade per two sunbeds is provided and most guests found this insufficient shade coverage.
The GM Kevin is very evident on site and obviously runs the ship as tightly as his predecessors.
Two small suggestions :
On the mains steps down to the beach from the hotel there should be a handrail on one side as not only we ( still relatively young ) nearly slipped on these steps. Witnessed several elderly guests having same issue.
Room service appetizer and sunbed menu ( bring back the Samosas)
Very nice to now see a female hotel security guard. Not only optically a nice addition but good to see emancipation has reached Bali!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melita1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Dear melita1,

Thank you very much for your patronage towards The Legian. It is with great pleasure to read that loyal guests like yourself are able to see and appreciate all the small enhancements made. In addition, thank you for your constructive feedback which is extremely valuable to us and be assured that we make any effort to address it.

On behalf of the entire team, we all look forward to welcoming you back to The Legian very soon.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

Cannot think of staying anywhere else. Just the best staff, best service. Best spa treatments, best pools, best position, best food either in house or at many great restaurants nearby.

Have just arrived home to the freezing cold, need to start saving to go back again.

Thanks you everybody just fantastic.

Room Tip: Choose a ground floor room and you can walk straight out to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Dear Judi B,

Thank you very much for your review. I am glad to read that The Legian was able to provide you with the best service in every way possible.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to continue providing you with the very same and even more.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

The Legian was amazing. We stayed there last week for our 10th wedding anniversary (sans children) and we loved it. The service is second to none, the views and pool / beach area are just so beautiful and nothing was ever any trouble for the staff. We only booked a basic room and it was huge and very well appointed with spectacular beach views. The sunset on the day beds at the beach with a pre dinner drink are the perfect way to end a day. A HUGE thank you to all the staff at The Legain for making our (too short) stay so memorable and pleasurable. We are SO glad we stayed at The Legian as we looked at plenty of other options. The best by far!

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing and have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali, responded to this review, 25 May 2013
Dear Sonya B,

Thank you very much for staying with us and reviewing your holiday at The Legian. I am very happy to learn that the staff were able to meet all your expectations at ease and made your stay ever so pleasurable.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon for a longer stay filled with fond memories.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Legian at the end of a 9 day Honeymoon in Bali and what a place to end the trip. The attention to detail in this hotel is amazing, but it still manages to pull off being relaxed and friendly at the same time. This is the place to come if you want to be in the heart of buzzing Seminyak, but want a luxury, peaceful retreat where you can spend the day chilling on the beachfront with cocktail in hand. We had a suite, a huge room with a 4 poster bed and garden terrace, probably a bit overkill, but nonetheless special. We loved our experience here and would definitely go back.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Henley_traveller375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Dear Henley_traveller375,

Thank you very much for choosing The Legian to spend one of the most important holidays in your life. I am happy that all of us were able to create a wonderful experience for the two of you and leave you with beautiful memories.

We look forward to welcoming you back to celebrate your first anniversary with us.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.1 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#4 of 141 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,711 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#25 of 141 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#12 of 141 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,548 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#2 of 141 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Legian Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Legian Bali

Property: The Legian Bali
Address: Jl. Kayu Aya, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#1 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#1 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#7 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#8 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Legian Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Legian Bali is an exclusive all-suite hotel set in landscaped tropical gardens, offering unrivalled views across the Indian Ocean. Flanked by quiet beach, this luxurious property offers a unique chance to experience the magical island of Bali in a relaxed setting. Beautifully integrated within landscaped gardens and lotus ponds, The Legian Bali boasts 67 sea-facing suites plus The Beach House in an ample variety of exquisite accommodation style. Situated in a quiet enclave in Seminyak, and adjacent to the exclusive The Legian Bali, a cluster of 14 private villas stands majestically amid scented gardens and private pools. This exquisite residence that redefines luxury living in the tropics is The Club at The Legian, offering guests the ultimate in privacy, and unobtrusive, yet flawless, personalised service. The Legian Bali and The Club at The Legian present all the charms of Balinese hospitality in its personable service, customised spa treatments and alluring surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotelopia and TravelUp so you can book your The Legian Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Legian Bali Hotel Seminyak
Legian Bali Seminyak
Legian Bali Hotel Seminyak
Legian Hotel Bali
Legian Seminyak
Bali Legian
The Legian Bali Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing