We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Legian " In A League Of It's Own"”
Review of The Legian Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Legian Bali
Ranked #7 of 143 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
755 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
“The Legian " In A League Of It's Own"”
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 6 nights earlier this month as part of a 3 stop tour of Bali & Lombok.
On reading other reviews much is covered of this amazing hotel. I just want to cover some special touches that help make it such a fabulous hotel.
From the moment you arrive at the airport you know you are going to be staying at a special hotel.
After a long tiring flight from the UK we were greeted by a representative from the hotel. He met us as we got off the plane & dealt with passports & visa's for us , collected luggage & swiftly bypassed the queues securing us in a lovely air conditioned car. It really was a lovely touch not having to deal with visa's etc.
On arriving at hotel we were personally met by hotel manager. On reading other reviews this looks to be a standard of the hotel. This is again a lovely touch that helps make you feel that bit special.
The management clearly have an excellent way of training their staff as they were all so charming & helpful . They had this very clever way with ear pieces of connecting to one another giving them the ability of discretely asking your room no. Repeating the no and then via ear piece would be given your name. They then made sure they used it. Again a lovely way to make you feel special.
The room/suite. Well other reviewers have covered so much about the suite's. But wow wow wow. Absolutely stunning & huge. Really loved the layout decor & furnishings. Bed was super comfy and loved the little notes left on your bed each evening.
What I loved most though was the huge balcony with day bed Beautiful views out across the ocean loved to sit there watching the sunset. What I loved most of all though was sitting on the balcony looking out to sea having our breakfast We did this everyday and it made the perfect start to the day. With no extra charge this was again a lovely touch provided by the hotel
I really could go on and on about all the good things about this hotel. Please if you are wondering which hotel to book in Seminyak, stop wondering & book The Legian. Yes not cheap but worth every penny.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank places2seeplaces2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear JulieSBournemouth,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Legian Bali on your tour thru Bali and Lombok.
We are very pleased to read that you spent a wonderful time in our hotel and that our amenities and services left a memorable impression, be it from the smooth arrival experience all the way to departure.
We sincerely appreciate your review on TripAdvisor highlighting your experience and some details observed during your stay with us.

The entire team at The Legian is looking forward to welcoming you back soon to enjoy the view and sunsets from the suite or around the pools.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,318
    130
    25
    10
    11
See reviews for
341
827
56
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

After a 7 year hiatus I stayed at the Legian again recently. I only wish I hadn't left it so long to return. The staff are all friendly and efficient, rooms are spacious with the most wonderful view over the spectacular pool and beach. We ( 3 adults) stayed in a Club 2 bedroom suite which has more than enough room both inside and out on the huge balcony. Service throughout our stay was very good, from arrival to departure.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blueyloons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear blueyloons,

On behalf of the entire team at The Legian Bali, thank you very much for staying with us again and writing a review on your recent visit.
We are truly glad to learn that you enjoyed our services and facilities, the spacious suites and villas as well as view over the pools to Seminyak Beach.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards,

Kevin J. Abramowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
70 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We have just returned from our 6th stay at the Legian and the place just gets better and better each time we return. The recent refurbishment has freshened up most things but the design has remained the same, which I like as it has a Balinese flair. Too many hotels are too generic.

The gym has been completely redone and brand new high-end Technogym equipment was delivered during our stay. The new gym looks fantastic and it makes the daily workout really enjoyable. The Spa offers some excellent treatments.

The new management team is highly competent with a great eye for detail. They have done a lot of fine-tuning and the Legian is now better than ever. The service is top-notch and we really felt pampered by the excellent staff; many have worked there for years and recognise us as returning guests.

Each day we had some delicious food for lunch and the kitchen gladly caters to special wishes. The beef tartare is really yummy.

The Legian is definitely a wonderful hotel and we have already bought tickets to return next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jmalux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear jmalux,

It was with great pleasure to have you both returning to The Legian Bali and thank you for taking the time to write a review on your most recent stay with us.
I am glad to read that you feel the hotel has further improved its standards since your last visit. The Legian will always remain authentic Balinese in its design and any effort shall be made to improve its facilities and services based on the feedback received from our guests. Hence, we are happy that the latest upgrade to our property, namely in the suites or the new Spa and Gym with its latest Technogym equipment made your stay and daily workout even more enjoyable.

We are also pleased to hear that the staff have recognized you as frequent guests to The Legian Bali and were able to create another memorable stay to both of you whether in terms of service or on the culinary side.

Looking very much forward to welcoming you back soon to The Legian,

Kindest regards,

Kevin J. Abramowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

The only problem with writing a review about "The Legian" is trying to book back in when it has become well known as the most amazing, wonderful place in Bali that it is. There is simply nothing else like this hotel.

My family of four just had another 9 days in "paradise"...thank you Kevin and your fabulous team.

Room Tip: all rooms in this hotel are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drswoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Drswoods,

Thank you very much for staying with us again with your family and taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that The Legian Bali remains your Paradise away from home.

The entire team and I look forward to welcoming you back soon to The Legian.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

This is our second stay at the Legian, Bali. The first being 10 years prior. On this trip we had spent 6 weeks away travelling throughout Asia and parts of Europe. Our most impressive memory of quality of service and outstanding attention to detail was at the Legian, Bali. We have been fortunate to experience 5 * service and hotels with our business over many years but the Legian far exceeds the standards of any hotel we have ever stayed at bar none! It is obvious that the thing that drives this high level of attention to detail and customer interaction is the General Manager, Kevin. We found every member of his staff that we interacted with was always quietly doing that little bit more to ensure our stay was memorable. This level of service begins with Kevins personal warm welcome at check-in. It is the only hotel we have ever been in where you see the General Manager actively engaging and interacting with genuine interest with his guests as if you were in a small boutique hotel.

The beauty of the Legian is that you don't have to go anywhere. The rooms, food, grounds, outlook and the amenities are all first class.

We have already begun plans for our next visit at this beautiful hotel before the year is out.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pittwaterblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed at The Legian several times over the years and loved every minute of it.
The manager always greets me upon arrival, and many of the staff welcome me "home"!!The staff that don't know me are soon greeting me by name every corner I walk around.
Sitting having breakfast or lunch looking at the ocean is beautiful and the food is also devine.
Not a cheap hotel to stay in, but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelli T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Dear Kelli T,

It was a pleasure to welcome you back and I am very happy to hear that the team recognized you during your stay and that you loved every minute of it.

We all at The Legian look forward to welcoming you back home very soon.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed 6 days at The Legian last week and were very impressed with the resort. The staff were amazing and nothing was too much trouble for any of them. Our one bedroom suite was large, very comfortable and relaxing as was our balcony overlooking the beach with a huge daybed. It was our first visit to Bali and we loved the time we spent at the resort. The horizon pools were beautiful. Fruit and chocolates were left in our suite every day and we enjoyed complimentary afternoon tea each day. We would love to return again. The Ancient Balinese massage was wonderful at the spa.

Room Tip: We loved our suite on the first floor but all other rooms looked lovely. They all seemed to face th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beachtide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Dear beachtide,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Legian and I am pleased to read that my team as well as the facilities including The Spa made your stay a truly enjoyable and memorable one.

We all look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.6 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#19 of 143 in Seminyak
3,223 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#4 of 143 in Seminyak
1,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#9 of 143 in Seminyak
1,598 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alila Seminyak
Alila Seminyak
#23 of 143 in Seminyak
873 reviews
1.0 mi away
Double-Six Luxury Hotel Seminyak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Legian Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Legian Bali

Property: The Legian Bali
Address: Jl. Kayu Aya, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#1 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#1 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#6 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#7 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Legian Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Legian Bali is an exclusive all-suite hotel set in landscaped tropical gardens, offering unrivalled views across the Indian Ocean. Flanked by quiet beach, this luxurious property offers a unique chance to experience the magical island of Bali in a relaxed setting. Beautifully integrated within landscaped gardens and lotus ponds, The Legian Bali boasts 67 sea-facing suites plus The Beach House in an ample variety of exquisite accommodation style. Situated in a quiet enclave in Seminyak, and adjacent to the exclusive The Legian Bali, a cluster of 14 private villas stands majestically amid scented gardens and private pools. This exquisite residence that redefines luxury living in the tropics is The Club at The Legian, offering guests the ultimate in privacy, and unobtrusive, yet flawless, personalised service. The Legian Bali and The Club at The Legian present all the charms of Balinese hospitality in its personable service, customised spa treatments and alluring surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Ebookers, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Agoda, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Legian Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Legian Bali Hotel Seminyak
Legian Bali Seminyak
Legian Bali Hotel Seminyak
Legian Hotel Bali
Legian Seminyak
Bali Legian
The Legian Bali Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing