We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel we have stayed at BY FAR”
Review of The Legian Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Legian Bali
Ranked #7 of 147 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We had 6 nights at this hotel to finish off our 3 week honeymoon tour and this hotel was truly amazing from the minute we stepped in.

As it was our honeymoon we had been upgraded to a One Bedroom Deluxe suite and the room was incredible, the decor was lovely and the attention to detail stunning. In the room soft drinks and snacks are included, there are iPods in case you forgot yours, Bose surround sound, nespresso machine for coffee etc.

The pool areas is lovely and is right on the beach. The waves are pretty impressive and the hotel has body boards and surf boards for you to use, there is also a lifeguard on duty watching the sea outside the hotel to keep the guests safe.

Whilst around the pool the staff cater to your every need, bringing iced water regularly, and sorting your towels etc.

We had breakfast included and the food was excellent, lunches and dinners were pricey though but you expect that at this quality of hotel. There are other places to eat nearby.

We had an hours massage for 2 in the spa and this was lovely and worth doing, truly pampered.

The amazing thing about this hotel is the attention to detail and service, at the turn down service they came in and pulled the net curtains closed on the 4 poster bed and left a lovely poem on the bed, put a mat and slippers either side of the bed, water and a glass either side and also some little snacks as a treat. They even dried the shower! Sounds odd to mention that but it is all these little things that stand out. At night you can hear the waves crashing outside which is very soothing.

We absolutely loved our stay here and there is no question of recommending this hotel, I only wish that GHM hotels were in more locations as I will definitely check to see if there is one whenever I travel somewhere now.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dmnicholls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Dear dmnicholls,

It gives the team and I great pleasure to read that you highly appreciated the level of service and genuineness of our staff and the attention to details be it in the suites with the amenities or the small touches around the property. We are truly happy to hear that you both were able to indulge yourselves in our food and beverage outlets, enjoyed the rejuvenating treatments in The Spa and that every other little facet of The Legian put together were able to create a memorable Honeymoon for the two of you.
With new GHM hotels opening this year and with others projected, we hope you are able to experience any of our properties in the near future. I would also like to thank you for recommending us to others.

The entire team and I look forward to welcoming you both back very soon.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,558)
There are newer reviews for The Legian Bali
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

868 - 874 of 1,558 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in October as part of our honeymoon. We have traveled extensively, so when it came time to plan the honeymoon we knew we wanted something great. We were blown away by The Legian. It is now my favorite hotel I've ever stayed at. The room was big and designed perfectly. The high ceilings, the sliding doors, the poster bed, the amount of sunlight, the size of the balcony, every detail was thought through and executed beautifully. The service at the pool area during the day was outstanding. They find you shade if you want shade, fresh towels, drinks, snacks. They really pamper you. No request or task was to much everything was done with a smile all around the hotel. This is truly a luxury 5 star experience! We also loved the location. Close to "eat street" which has all these great restaurants, bars and cafes. We are looking forward to returning one day maybe as an anniversary celebration!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RH_BK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Dear RH_BK,

It is gratifying to read that The Legian, Bali has become your favorite hotel and thank you for reviewing your stay. I am glad to hear that you liked the design and décor of our suites, the friendly and personalized service around the hotel and the location of The Legian. I have shared your positive comments with the team and they were very happy to hear that they were able to make your most important holiday an extraordinary one.

We look forward to welcoming you both back to celebrate your first anniversary with us.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

We've just returned from our honeymoon at The Legian and have had the most amazing time. From the moment we arrived, we felt special and very welcome.

We were upgraded to a one bedroom suite located on the ground floor with terrace and just a few steps to the pool. We were blown away by the room; we expected it to be special but every little detail was covered. As we were on our honeymoon we were presented with a fabulous cake and champagne - perfect touch!

Nothing seemed too much for the staff at The Legian, the service from
every area was outstanding. The food in both the restaurant and the pool bar is also excellent.

The Legian offers everything and goes above and beyond. The extra details really made us smile - afternoon tea each day, sweet treats and a poem left each evening at turn down service.

We've had the most relaxing and fabulous time and would certainly recommend The Legian to anyone travelling to Bali.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Dear traveller1234_6,

On behalf of the entire team, I would like to thank you for spending your Honeymoon at The Legian, Bali and sharing your experience with others in your review. It is with pleasure to hear that we left you with a feeling of being very special from the moment you arrived all the way through till your departure. I am also happy to learn that you both were able to unwind and have a wonderful time whilst staying with us and sincerely appreciate you recommending us to others.

We all very much look forward to welcoming you both back very soon to experience much more in the future.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We stayed at The Legian Hotel for 5 nights and it was absolutely excellent time. Great location, friendly and helpful staff, beautiful and comfortable room. It was one of nicest and best place we ever stayed in. There all was perfect and thought-out for the guests. I spend my birthday at the hotel and they surprised me with cake and champagne. This place was really something special. Thank you !

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AgitaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Dear AgitaG,

Thank you very much for choosing to celebrate your birthday at The Legian, Bali. I am very happy to read that you had an exceptional stay with us and that the team was able to surprise you and make this day a memorable one for you.

The entire team and I look forward to welcoming you back to celebrate many more birthdays here with us.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Stayed here for our Honeymoon. I really liked the place, the deluxe villa was good, and the welcoming bottle of champagne was a nice touch. The room itself looked out onto the sea and the Bose sound system was multi-room which was nice. The room was clean, and the room service etc was fantastic. It was great in the morning being able to walk out from the lounge and then go directly onto the beach. The hotel itself was good, with three infinity pools and two pool bars in the centre of the hotel, with sun beds/lounges spreading our on either side (offering shade or direct sun throughout the day).

the breakfast option was good with a wide range on offer, the only negative was the inability to select how I wanted my eggs done (different to the wife), and also it seems that toast may actually mean bread as well, as it was almost impossible to have the toast, toasted..... I never actually ate here, and the hotel did not seem to plug their food very much.

Overall I would recommend the hotel - it was well kept, clean and the service was good.

Room Tip: Stayed in 403 - Would recommend it.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drbennyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Dear drbennyb,

Thank you for staying with us and I am truly glad to read that you enjoyed the deluxe suite with its features and amenities, the three tiered pools, the spectacular views and service of The Legian. In addition, I have taken note of your feedback regarding your breakfast experience with placing orders and have already addressed this with our Food & Beverage team.

I would like to thank you in advance for recommending The Legian and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Yes it's expensive for a villa with private pool at the Club at the Legian, but everything really did fit together. The Legian appear to work as a coordinated team and we never at any point felt neglected or unrecognised. Our personal "butler" was highly trained and seemed to be able to predict our every need and desire.

The Club itself is separate from the main hotel, and feels like a considerable upgrade even over the already impressive main hotel. Whilst the Club has no sea view, it is a quiet and discrete walled-in compound of villas around an extensive main clubhouse and superb swimming pool. The pool was precisely the right temperature and was big enough for serious swimming. It was also empty most of the time. The clubhouse served free (and top notch) breakfast, afternoon tea and complimentary drinks. Everything is waiter service - no buffets - and even in the room the entire contents of the well-stocked mini-bar are free too.

Although we only could stay one night it was a truly enjoyable time and proved to me that good service is much more than an enthusiastic welcome - it takes coordination, consideration, training and experience - and the staff at the Club at the Legian were true examples of this.

I'm saving my pennies for another visit. Highly recommended for total relaxation.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, do go for a Club Villa. You'll get a free minibar, outside bathtub, person...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SingaporeBizTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Dear SingaporeBizTravel,

A sincere thank you for taking the time to write a very encouraging review about your stay at The Club at The Legian. I am delighted to hear that you were able to relax and enjoy your time spent at The Club whether in the privacy of your villa or within its surroundings. I am also pleased to read that your personal butler along with the rest of the team at The Club and The Legian made you feel recognized and all together were able to create a memorable stay for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and hopefully for a longer stay.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

The really good thing about a great hotel is when you recommend it to a friend and they accept the recommendation, they love it as well. The Legian is one such hotel! Superb location on the beach, suite sized rooms, very friendly and excellent food. We have come back again and this time with a group of friends. The hotel grounds are superb and at night the vista is a fairyland, whether swimming, a cocktail or a few beers it is just a great place. I agree that the property is ageing a little but to me it helps the hotel blend into the local culture and has a very relaxed style. Last time I was here we had our young grandchildren and also found the hotel to be very child friendly. So in summary a hotel for all Seasons as such, will suit just about everyone and I will be back again and again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Dear Stephen T,

I would like to thank you for staying with us again and recommending The Legian to your friends and family. I am glad to read that your friends and you loved every aspect of your stay with us at The Legian, be it the suites, location, level of personalized and friendly service as well as the food in the various outlets.

The team and I very much look forward to welcoming you all back very soon.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.1 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#20 of 147 in Seminyak
3,400 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#11 of 147 in Seminyak
1,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#3 of 147 in Seminyak
1,810 reviews
1.0 mi away
Double-Six Luxury Hotel Seminyak
0.4 mi away
Alila Seminyak
Alila Seminyak
#23 of 147 in Seminyak
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Legian Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Legian Bali

Address: Jl. Kayu Aya, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#1 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#1 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#6 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#7 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range: £368 - £634 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Legian Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Legian Bali is an exclusive all-suite hotel set in landscaped tropical gardens, offering unrivalled views across the Indian Ocean. Flanked by quiet beach, this luxurious property offers a unique chance to experience the magical island of Bali in a relaxed setting. Beautifully integrated within landscaped gardens and lotus ponds, The Legian Bali boasts 67 sea-facing suites plus The Beach House in an ample variety of exquisite accommodation style. Situated in a quiet enclave in Seminyak, and adjacent to the exclusive The Legian Bali, a cluster of 14 private villas stands majestically amid scented gardens and private pools. This exquisite residence that redefines luxury living in the tropics is The Club at The Legian, offering guests the ultimate in privacy, and unobtrusive, yet flawless, personalised service. The Legian Bali and The Club at The Legian present all the charms of Balinese hospitality in its personable service, customised spa treatments and alluring surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Southall Travel, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Legian Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Legian Bali Hotel Seminyak
Legian Bali Seminyak
Legian Bali Hotel Seminyak
Legian Hotel Bali
Legian Seminyak
Bali Legian
The Legian Bali Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing