We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't get fooled by tripadvisor's rating”
Review of The Legian Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Legian Bali
Ranked #7 of 146 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Don't get fooled by tripadvisor's rating”
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Not sure why this is a GMH property. We couldnt beleive this is rated number one on tripadvisor. Usually they much more accurate than this.

The arrival experience is highly unimpressive. The building itself feels tired and dated. A 3 stars at best in terms of quality and finishes. The images used on the GMH website are not representative at all for what you'll get. We were told that we were given un upgrade to the suite we reserved. The suites are too large to an extent they feel empty and impersonal. The interior is very poor with a couple of corners made to be picture ready. Shower floor made from textured and porous material which is difficult to clean; we had to wear slippers to shower. If this is the upgraded situation, not sure what the less lucky got!

Service: room wasn't properly cleaned when we received it and stayed that way until our third day after we left a tip note on the table. The bed sheets were not replaced everyday. Restaurant staff were good.

We received a suite infested with mosquitos. We're talking in the order of at least 50. Housekeeping gave us a choice when complaining to either spraying the suite with baygon or use a mosquito repellent. We asked whether we can get another suite without this issue. We were told all suits have this level of infestation. We had to hunt them one by one.

Most of the staff are very friendly, but treatment is far from genuine and basically formulaic. The GM cannot be more aloof. Showed up at checkin and literally recited a couple of lines as if he was reading from a script. Just seemed wanted to get it over with.

Bed not a real king size but rather a large double. Bed sagged in the middle. The mosquitos net is so thick we had to open it in the middle of the night gasping for air. Something in the mattress or a layer above contains polyester based material. Made us sweat all night. Never happened to us before.

Slippers had a very nice design with local roots, but caused us a rash in both feet after wearing them tomtake shower.

Good sound system. TV ok with the picture of a lot of channels as having reception problems.

Landscape and pool area well done and overlooks the beach nicely.

Some of the guests were the hippy types.

Overall experience is a negative one. Our review might be affected by the fact that we came tonthis hotel right after staying at the Four Seasons in Ubud which was a absolute pleasure. The Legian is definitely not worth what we paid for. If you are seeking luxury in this area you're better off trying at the nearby Oberoi or Samaya based on what we noticed.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Dear Bob S,

I would like to thank you for staying with us and providing us your feedback on TripAdvisor. Whilst your comments are most valuable to us and taken very seriously, I sincerely regret to read that your experience at The Legian Bali did not meet your expectations and seems very different to other reviews.

I am pleased to hear that our staff appeared friendly and you enjoyed the setting and landscape of our hotel as well as some of our amenities. Nevertheless, it is disappointing to learn that you felt mislead by the images and descriptions of our hotel on the website in spite of being most recent.
Since its opening, The Legian Bali has been characterized as authentic Balinese in its architecture and design, with local materials used in and around the building as well as in the public areas. Having said this, we have always made an effort to maintain the same characteristics even during the most recent upgrades of the premises and renovations of our suites. The unique and timeless style has been very much appreciated by our guests thus far and is a strong differentiation towards other properties.

The team and I shall do our utmost to further improve our services and amenities offered, wished however that we would have been given the opportunity to address other concerns stated in your review immediately and while staying with us.

We all do hope to welcoming you back to The Legian Bali in the near future and please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,341
    133
    25
    10
    11
See reviews for
350
838
57
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Nestled in an alcove of the Indian Ocean is a jewel called The Legian Bali. Everything that a fine resort should be is exactly what the resort is. It is only nature in the form of the Indian Ocean that adds immense value to this great hotel. You can get lost in the natural setting of the ocean. If you have the money then go for the Sunset Suite and you will not be disappointed when you encounter the setting sun merging with the ocean in a splash of golden yellow and azure blue. There are many distractions within the resort such as the ocean bar, restaurant and the pool bar. The real cool ones are the three tiered infinity pools. Serious golfers should try the Nirwana golf course by the sea. The resort underwent a renovation drive and the property is simply superb.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClyderSaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear ClyderSaz,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor and defining The Legian Bali as The Jewel in the Indian Ocean. I am very happy to read that the most recent enhancements made to the resort and its facilities have been appreciated.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Legian Bali in the future.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Spent 3 nights in the Legian hotel. The hotel was very busy at that time and the lobby felt a bit like a bus station.the rooms are very large and well appointed though a bit dark for my liking. The service is very good. Tried two treatments at the spa which were excellent. The restaurant is outstanding. We had 2 of our 3 dinners here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank devil63358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

All the positive opinions of this place are true. Incredible service, amazing and opulent suites and a great position. How the staff remember/ know our names from almost the first minute we arrived I shall never know. Deeply impressive.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank ServicemattersLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear ServicemattersLondon,

I would like to thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience about your stay at The Legian Bali. It truly is a pleasure to read that you thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of your stay, be it the incredible service and recognition received by our staff, the luxurious suites and the ideal location of our hotel.
I have shared your positive comments with the team and they were happy to hear that you had a wonderful experience leaving you extremely impressed.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Legian Bali very soon.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

This review is long overdue, since we visited the Hotel back in Spring. We were coming from Australia and wanted to hit the beach again in Bali. It was our second visit to this hotel. Usually second visits are disappointig most of the time, but not this one. The Legian did quite some renovations and has become even better, still perfectly situated right at the beach, sitting in a beautiful environement with palm trees and perfect gardens.

What we loved are the beautiful one bedroom suites, which are beautiful! The sunset from your balcony is just amazing. We loved the breakfast and most of all the beach with superb sunbeds, lifeguard and service. Great food for a great price (remember this is a top Hotel).

Staff is just lovely and the new Manager Kevin is doing a great Job, he can always be found on the premises, in case you have any questions. I doubt that anyone ever has any complaint.

We also liked that they offer brand new Vespa 125cc Scooters for rent in black with the THE LEGIAN logo on them. We have exact the same one at home (in trendy white however). Driving in Bali can be pretty "exciting" (to be modest) but if you feel comfortable driving a scooter - then take these ones, since everything is well in order.

I did my complete laundry at the Hotel by the way, almost 30 Kilos of everything. When it came back, every little item was neatly wrapped and packed or hung up in the closet and the clothes were like new. Housekeeping in general is also truely lovely.

Please make sure to book their Airport Pick Up Service. There are hundreds of people at the airport trying to give you a ride, many of them without any licence. We were so happy to meet our driver at the airport and he drove us in a great and cooled down minivan. I think it was a new service to offer an iPad during the ride so our driver was really proud about that. I wonder however what people look up on this device during the ride - but it added to the overall nice experience.

We will definately return in November - for the third time. Never did that before.

Room Tip: We loved the one bedroom suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SHG10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Dear SHG10,

On behalf of the entire team at The Legian Bali, thank you for writing a review on your recent Legian experience and it was a pleasure to welcome you back again. We are truly happy to read that we were able to exceed your expectations and the interactions with our professional staff were unforgettable from the moment you arrived at the airport with the pickup service all the way through to your departure.
It is gratifying to learn that you noticed the tangible and subtle improvements made within the suites as well as in the other areas of the hotel. I am also glad to hear that you were able to use one of our Vespas, enjoyed the breathtaking sunsets, appreciated the quality of our laundry service and found The Legian to be ideally located in the heart of Seminyak

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Legian Bali very soon.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We've spent 3 nights at The Legian after lovely three nights at their sister property, The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah in Ubud. We have received a free transport between the two resorts and received a warm welcome at The Legian. My partner and I traveled with my mom and had booked a two-bedroom suite. It's like the one-bedroom Deluxe Suite but with an extra bedroom and bathroom. Unfortunately, however, the extra bedroom faces the side away from the ocean so we changed into two deluxe suites the next day and were happy.

The rooms are massive, nicely decorated and come with free non-alcoholic drinks in the minibar that get refilled daily plus a Nesprosso machine which I appreciate for having an early morning coffee in bed. The balcony is very big, too and I recommend asking for the highest (3rd) floor as the rooms have the best seaview - over the trees.

The new gym and spa are beautifully designed and well equipped, even though the additional wellness area with saunas and steam rooms is only planned to be added in 2014. I had a 2 hour massage & scrub treatment and it was very good.

Service at the pool is very good, staff even try to remember your name. Breakfast service is friendly and staff are there when you need them. The choice and quality of breakfast was okay, although I've had a fruit selection with more choice and better quality before.

We didn't try the restaurant for lunch or dinner, so I can't judge it. It was not very crowded, however, and did not appear within the first pages of tripadvisor.

Room Tip: Go for higher floors if you want a sea view. The view from the lower floors may be obstructed by tre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ralf H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Ralf H,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Legian Bali. It is with pleasure to read that you loved every aspect of your stay with us, be it the personalized and attentive service delivered by our staff, the large suites with its amenities, the location as well as The Spa, gym and other facilities.
The staff whether by the pools and at The Restaurant were pleased to hear your feedback and happy to learn that they helped in contributing towards creating a memorable stay for you all.
I have also shared your comments about our breakfast with our culinary team and be assured that we will make any effort to address it.

The entire team and I look forward to welcoming you all back to The Legian Bali very soon to experience the new wellness center and much more.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

Legian is a safe choice if you want to spend quality time in a high-class hotel in the Bali Seminyak region. Service was impeccable and the location next to the beach more than convenient. Legian is also walking distance from Seminyak shopping district - galleries, souveniers and quality restaurants in close reach.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Kai S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Kai S,

It was a pleasure meeting you both and thank you for reviewing your stay at The Legian Bali. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the impeccable service of our staff and found the hotel to be ideally located in the heart of Seminyak with good quality restaurants and shops in the vicinity.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.6 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#18 of 146 in Seminyak
3,297 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#3 of 146 in Seminyak
1,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#10 of 146 in Seminyak
1,627 reviews
1.0 mi away
Double-Six Luxury Hotel Seminyak
0.6 mi away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#1 of 146 in Seminyak
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Legian Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Legian Bali

Property: The Legian Bali
Address: Jl. Kayu Aya, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#1 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#1 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#6 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#7 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Legian Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Legian Bali is an exclusive all-suite hotel set in landscaped tropical gardens, offering unrivalled views across the Indian Ocean. Flanked by quiet beach, this luxurious property offers a unique chance to experience the magical island of Bali in a relaxed setting. Beautifully integrated within landscaped gardens and lotus ponds, The Legian Bali boasts 67 sea-facing suites plus The Beach House in an ample variety of exquisite accommodation style. Situated in a quiet enclave in Seminyak, and adjacent to the exclusive The Legian Bali, a cluster of 14 private villas stands majestically amid scented gardens and private pools. This exquisite residence that redefines luxury living in the tropics is The Club at The Legian, offering guests the ultimate in privacy, and unobtrusive, yet flawless, personalised service. The Legian Bali and The Club at The Legian present all the charms of Balinese hospitality in its personable service, customised spa treatments and alluring surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Southall Travel, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Legian Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Legian Bali Hotel Seminyak
Legian Bali Seminyak
Legian Bali Hotel Seminyak
Legian Hotel Bali
Legian Seminyak
Bali Legian
The Legian Bali Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing