We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Par Excellence”
Review of The Legian Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Legian Bali
Ranked #7 of 143 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria -Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hotel Par Excellence”
Reviewed 25 September 2008

My wife and i stayed at this hotel from 9 to 18 September and could not speak more highly of the quality of the hotel, the attention to detail,the level of service and the absolutely excellent staff.
If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing break in first class surrounds we could not recommend a better place in Bali.
The hotel runs a free shuttle service to Kouta and there are many good restaurants within walking distance ie 10 to 15 mins BUT watch the prices as $100 plus Australian for 2 is common and wines are expensive on top of that.

  • Liked — Quality, cleanliness, location and staff friendliness
  • Disliked — Only one restaurant and no coffee shop
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maturetraveller_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,318
    130
    25
    10
    11
See reviews for
341
827
56
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2008

Our fourth stay at this hotel and everytime it gets better. Staff excellent from housekeeping to restaurant. Rooms renovated and now with new flat screen tvs.
If you want to tour the island at a reasonable price and safely with polite english speaking driver in air conditioned car then ask for local transport and driver Sami at the hotel reception.
Plenty of good restaurants near hotel but the best for Indian food fanactics is Gateway of India in Jalan Dana Purain in Seminyak (only a 1Euro taxi ride from hotel)
We are already planning the next visit.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank BintangFrankfurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
436 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2008

Located in the middle of Seminyak, surrounded by other hotels, clubs etc - and this is one of the only downsides: you are not in a quiet area here, you can here the KuDeTa music and other noise....but if you like fun around you then you are fine here!

The hotel has great rooms, large, nice decoration, staff is very attentive and helpful, and the manager is always around asking you if you need anything - very appreciated!
Food is good.

The garden and pool is nice, but on the smaller side, as you have your sunchair next to each other, so not much privacy - but again you come here for fun, otherwise you go to other parts of Bali!

Very good hotel, would definitely come back if I was looking for fun!

  • Liked — rooms very nice
  • Disliked — noise from clubs around and the small garden (no privacy)
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TandTSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRANKFURT
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2008

We stayed one week at this beautiful Hotel .....we were one week looking around for a Hotel in Bali and we found the best Hotel of BALI. Pity that we lost one week of our Holidays but we prefer to look around before booking an expensive package trip and be dissapointed.
We stayed at room 333 with a fantastic view and a fantastic service.The room ( was a suite like all the rooms) big ,very big,the biggest i ever had.
I recommend this Hotel to everybody(singles and couples) cause its so beautiful
but dont book the club its behind the main building and has no view.

  • Liked — THE LOCATION AND ROOMS
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GIORGOSskg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2008

We had a wonderful time in Legian. We spent one night at their superior one bedroom suite which was so spacious and with a stunning ocean view. The we moved to the beach house and stayed 3 nigths there. The beach house was perfect in everyway, so romantic yet so convenient. We had our private infinity pool and private ocean access, and two very friendly butlers. On my husband's birthday, they lit up candles and put rose pedals all over the villa, and arranged private balanese dance and music for us. We were truely treated as royalties. It was pricey, but it really worthed it. We enjoyed our stay so much and would recommend the beach house to everybody.

  • Liked — location, service
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ajhli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
59 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2008

The Legian is a hotel that has a true, natural style and class rarely found today with so many new places trying to be "hip". The design is contemporary and balinese without being overstyled or tacky. The staff is 100% professionally trained, genuinely friendly, unintrusive, and never give the impression of being after a tip. The food is excellent, both local and western, very diverse and among the best ever had in many hotels in Bali. The only negative thing that can be said is that some details in the rooms are slightly worn and in need of updating -- the hotel is starting to show its age. But this still somehow adds to the character.

  • Liked — truly classy
  • Disliked — slightly worn
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank 10179k79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2008

The Legian - Bali is an outstanding hotel --- the room, the accomodations, the staff were exceptional.

I was travelling solo in Bali for the week and the hotel staff went out of their way to welcome me and ensure my comfort.

The room was beautifully understated --- lovely Balinese/Asian style with a veranda complete with teak furniture -- table, chairs, chaise loungues. Spa style bathroom with full amenities. There was also a small kitchenette stocked with tea, coffee, drinks and snacks, a fridge.

For starters, I was greeted at the airport by their driver, who had cold water and chilled towels to refresh me after my flight. When I arrived at the hotel, I was greeted with a fresh fruit cocktail, additional chilled facial towels while I was checked in.

I had a private suite on the ground floor -- in a private corner by lovely water gardens overlooking a temple. When I entered the room, the staff had lit incense and had some lovely Balinese- style new age music playing. They had set up a tray of fresh sushi, fresh fruits along with a iced bucket of champagne. I was impressed and to tell the truth, sorry that I had only myself to enjoy the experience with. The fruit basket was replenished daily with jack fruit, snake fruit, bananas, passion fruits ...

The grounds were equally lovely, as was the spa (though quite expensive --- you would do better to go to the local spas in Seminyak --- they are excellent, clean and inexpensive. That said, you can't beat the convenience of the on site spa and their staff is excellent.

The food was fantastic --- I skipped the am brunch and asked the staff to prepare Balinese dishes for me -- I was delighted with the food. I had martabak --- it's almost like an egg strudel --- thin layers of seasoned eggs in won ton type wrappers; each day the staff prepared a special dish for me.

The staff respected my privacy and at the same time went out of their way to socialize --- I think they were a bit perplexed as to why I was travelling alone --- and maybe felt a bit sorry for me.

The Legian is right on the beach and it is a spectacular beach. It's easy to go horseback riding, rent surf boards, boogie boards, etc there. Also wonderful for simply walking the beach or going for a swim -- though the surf is very strong there. Outside the Ku-De-Tah (next door restaurant/bar) there is usually a surf line up. Even if you don't surf -- its fun to watch the others catching the waves.

So, if there were any negatives, it would be that the Legian could be a bit sedate --- the other guests were families, couples and not very sociable or inclined to conversations. I travel extensively by myself and usually meet people to dine with or for drinks --- not the case here. The lounge at the Legian was very quiet as was the ocean side bar. That said, the ocean side bar had beautiful sunsets.

I would definitely recommend the Legian for couples and even families, also for solo travellers who enjoy privacy, rest & relaxation.

  • Liked — Service and location
  • Disliked — Caters more to couples and families so it was a bit sedate for a solo traveller
  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank jtois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.6 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#19 of 143 in Seminyak
3,227 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#4 of 143 in Seminyak
1,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#9 of 143 in Seminyak
1,598 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alila Seminyak
Alila Seminyak
#23 of 143 in Seminyak
875 reviews
1.0 mi away
Double-Six Luxury Hotel Seminyak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Legian Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Legian Bali

Property: The Legian Bali
Address: Jl. Kayu Aya, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#1 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#1 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#6 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#7 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Legian Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Legian Bali is an exclusive all-suite hotel set in landscaped tropical gardens, offering unrivalled views across the Indian Ocean. Flanked by quiet beach, this luxurious property offers a unique chance to experience the magical island of Bali in a relaxed setting. Beautifully integrated within landscaped gardens and lotus ponds, The Legian Bali boasts 67 sea-facing suites plus The Beach House in an ample variety of exquisite accommodation style. Situated in a quiet enclave in Seminyak, and adjacent to the exclusive The Legian Bali, a cluster of 14 private villas stands majestically amid scented gardens and private pools. This exquisite residence that redefines luxury living in the tropics is The Club at The Legian, offering guests the ultimate in privacy, and unobtrusive, yet flawless, personalised service. The Legian Bali and The Club at The Legian present all the charms of Balinese hospitality in its personable service, customised spa treatments and alluring surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotelopia, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Legian Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Legian Bali Hotel Seminyak
Legian Bali Seminyak
Legian Bali Hotel Seminyak
Legian Hotel Bali
Legian Seminyak
Bali Legian
The Legian Bali Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing