We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third visit but first in the main hotel - totally faultless - easily one of my top 5 hotels worldwide.”
Review of The Legian Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Legian Bali
Ranked #7 of 146 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Third visit but first in the main hotel - totally faultless - easily one of my top 5 hotels worldwide.”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I have stayed at the Legian Club Villas twice before but as I was traveling alone this time, I opted for the main hotel. I had expected less than the club but no, the attention to detail, the staff attitude, the rooms, the food, the management response was honestly 100% throughout. I'm picky and probably not an easy guest but The Legian is warm, welcoming, accommodating and I think easily the best in Bali by a very long way!

The rooms are huge, traditional but in perfect order, and always immaculately cleaned. Good facilities, Bose sound etc, a couple of great infinity pools facing the ocean right on the beach, a great bar and a very very good restaurant, all with amazing service throughout - what more do I need?

This remains my only choice for Bali and I've looked at the W and a couple of others but this feels like home each time. The hotel is in the best part of Seminyak, near all the good shops and restaurants. I'm sorry if this all sounds like an advert, but I rarely get this enthusiastic about somewhere!!

Room Tip: The one bed studio ground floor are the best rooms for the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank rogerstephens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear rogerstephens,

It was great to see you again and welcoming you back to The Legian Bali. I am very pleased to read that your experience at the main hotel was as good as the ones in The Club and that the team was able to exceed your expectaitons. It is also wonderful to learn that The Legian remains your choice in Bali and thank you for reviewing you stay.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back to The Legian Bali very soon.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,364
    134
    26
    10
    11
See reviews for
358
850
58
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The Legian is incredible! I have never stayed at a hotel which is so unbelievably slick. The three tiered swimming pool is gorgeous and there were rarely more than two people in each tier at a time. The staff are phenomenal; constantly smiling and nothing is too much for them. If you leave your sun lounger they straighten your towels, your glass of ice water is constantly topped up and you are even given a mist spray to keep you cool. The beach is great for surfing (the hotel have boards you can borrow) but the current is quite strong and not a turquoise water white sand place. Tea is served whilst you are lying on your sun lounger! A three tiered cake stand is delivered with incredibly delicious treats. We were upgraded to a suite over looking the sea which was lovely. Other reviews have mentioned the rooms being dark. This isn't something we would have noticed/ mentioned but it's true they aren't bright and sunny but definitely not dark and dingey. The position was great, with lots of amazing restaurants within walking distance and amazing shopping. Really hope we can come back!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank holiday2008London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear holiday2008London,

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to describe your holiday at The Legian Bali and thank you for staying with us. We are all very happy to hear that you enjoyed every feature of the hotel be it the detail oriented and personalized service delivered by the team, the infinity pools and afternoon tea to the location of the hotel being in the heart of Seminyak.

We hope to welcome you back to The Legian Bali in the near future.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We are coming to the end of what can only be described as a wonderful holiday under the guidance of probably one of the leading hotel managers in the world Kevin Abramowicz. Together with his superb management and staff they have provided us with a memorable experience.

During the week it was my wife's birthday and after breakfast we heard all the staff entering the villa singing Happy Birthday. Much to her embarrassment they provided her with a gorgeous bouquet of flowers, champagne and a birthday cake. Something we will always remember.

We are now sat alongside the pool in our garden villa in the most tranquil setting one could imagine. With the sound of Balinese music drifting across the gardens from the beach.

The key to this wonderful holiday as been the service our butler Eka has provided us with. He is so knowledgable, experienced and informative on all aspects of Balinese life. We prefer privacy at certain times of the day and with his expert eye for detail and personal service this has been made possible throughout our stay.

Like many trippers have commented everything as been said about the hotel, so we would only be repeating what others have said. However it is very clear to see why it's the No 1 in Seminyak.

Once again an enormous thank you to everyone at the Club and Hotel who made this holiday so very special.

Room Tip: It's expensive but stay at the " Club " if at all possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DaveSchnauzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Schnauzer123,

On behalf of Eka and the rest of the team at The Legian Bali, I would like to sincerely thank you for choosing to spend your wife’s birthday with us and writing about your experience. It is with great pleasure to read that her birthday celebration was very special and truly memorable. Eka was very happy to learn that his personalized service was very much appreciated and the key to a wonderful holiday.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to The Legian Bali very soon.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

If you are looking to stay in Seminyak the one and only hotel to consider is The Legian. It was truly faultless from begining to the end in every possible way. We stayed for 2 weeks and the service never lessened infact I would probably say improved as the staff got to know you better. From Senior Management namely Rohann Chandra couldn't have been more accomodating and always went the extra mile to the more Junior Staff, everyday producing a genuine smile and the need to want to please. A truly memorable experience that I have already recommended to others on my return to the UK.
Our reson to return to Bali would have to be to experience The Legian all over again but cannot give a reason how they could possibly improve on what they already have a perfect combination to be left alone when required to the continous attentiveness when needed... makes the perfect and idyllic hotel experience.

Thank you so much to both Rohann and Kevin from Mr & Mrs Pond

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NADIA P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Mr. & Mrs. Pond,

It was a pleasure having your family and you stay with us and thank you for expressing your feelings about your Legian experience. I am truly delighted to hear that you enjoyed the level of personalized service at our hotel and sincerely appreciate your compliments towards Rohaan and the entire staff. I was very happy to learn that your motive to return to Bali would be simply to indulge in The Legian experience once again.

Thank you for recommending us to others and look forward to welcoming you all back to The Legian Bali.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Whilst this review is actually not focused on the original visit, I am reminded of a wonderful trip with world class hospitality and service as always enjoyed at The Legian. Today I received a birthday card at home a year to the day of my visit. Thank you! Please also note that everyone should go and try the steak with a lobe of foie gras!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank loveaholiday101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear loveaholiday101,

I am glad to read that the card reached you in time and brought back fond memories of a wonderful trip.

We wish you all the very best and hope to celebrate your next birthday at The Legian Bali.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I can't add much to what's already been said, other than it's really pricey. But the service is amazing, second to none. Almost pre-emptive. Overall, a very well-run, beautiful hotel, with really good room service and plenty on offer for vegetarians.

Room Tip: Go for a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dingbat_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear dingbat_10,

We are all pleased to read that you had a wonderful experience at The Legian Bali and look forward to welcoming you back in the future to experience more.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

A lot has been written regarding The Legian in terms of the service level that it provides, the ambience it creates, the lovely comfortable and luxurious rooms. Well its all true.

Arriving from the hustle and bustle of the airport it was a joy entering the hotel foyer, where several people greet you and quickly go through the check in process.

Our room was a studio suite, which had everything you would wish for and more. Beautifully appointed with an ocean front view. They also have villas, which are located across the road and away from the beach.

We were there for 10days and during that period met some amazing staff members who were extremely well trained and provided a high-class service with a smile. Nothing was too much trouble and special mention goes to Edi who was gracious and helpful.

The hotel ambience is all inspiring particularly as its ocean facing and it looks amazing in the evening with fires lit up around the pool area and lanterns everywhere.

Seminyak region is a busy place with lots of traffic during the daytime and need to be careful, as the roads are narrow and little in the way of footpaths. The area is safe and served by many good restaurants within easy walking distance from the hotel.

Enjoy

Room Tip: Ocean facing suites are best. Second and third floor location give you magnificent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ntjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear ntjt,

The entire team at The Legian Bali and Edi in particular were pleased to read your review and happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are also delighted to hear that you enjoyed the arrival experience, the high level of personalized service delivered, the stunning views as well as the ambience of our hotel.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Legian Bali very soon.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.6 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#18 of 146 in Seminyak
3,346 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#4 of 146 in Seminyak
1,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#10 of 146 in Seminyak
1,642 reviews
1.0 mi away
Double-Six Luxury Hotel Seminyak
0.4 mi away
Alila Seminyak
Alila Seminyak
#21 of 146 in Seminyak
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Legian Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Legian Bali

Property: The Legian Bali
Address: Jl. Kayu Aya, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#1 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#1 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#6 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#7 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Legian Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Legian Bali is an exclusive all-suite hotel set in landscaped tropical gardens, offering unrivalled views across the Indian Ocean. Flanked by quiet beach, this luxurious property offers a unique chance to experience the magical island of Bali in a relaxed setting. Beautifully integrated within landscaped gardens and lotus ponds, The Legian Bali boasts 67 sea-facing suites plus The Beach House in an ample variety of exquisite accommodation style. Situated in a quiet enclave in Seminyak, and adjacent to the exclusive The Legian Bali, a cluster of 14 private villas stands majestically amid scented gardens and private pools. This exquisite residence that redefines luxury living in the tropics is The Club at The Legian, offering guests the ultimate in privacy, and unobtrusive, yet flawless, personalised service. The Legian Bali and The Club at The Legian present all the charms of Balinese hospitality in its personable service, customised spa treatments and alluring surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Legian Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Legian Bali Hotel Seminyak
Legian Bali Seminyak
Legian Bali Hotel Seminyak
Legian Hotel Bali
Legian Seminyak
Bali Legian
The Legian Bali Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing