We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Dame of Bali hotels”
Review of The Legian Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Legian Bali
Ranked #8 of 144 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Grand Dame of Bali hotels”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

The Legian is the grand dame of Bali hotels and knocks the socks off her competition with the fantastic service from the long standing staff and the elegant and spacious rooms.

We stayed at the Legian for 6 nights with two young children in tow and had a wonderful time. This was our first stay at the Legian despite having visited Bali many times over the years. We loved the convenient location in the middle of Seminyak, the dedicated staff and the beautiful view of the ocean from the gardens and the pool. Although we had some hiccups during our stay such as the smell of fried fish in the second bedroom coming through the windows and the air-conditioning, this was promptly fixed by the staff and we were able to put the children to bed in the room later that evening.

The offer of the hospitality suite to freshen up before a flight was also a lovely touch which we have not enjoyed at any other hotel we have stayed in anywhere else in the world.

We hope to be back again soon! Our thanks to everyone at the Legian for a very enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SWChin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear SWChin,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Legian Bali and sharing your experience with others on TripAdvisor. I am very happy to read that your family and you enjoyed the service, the central location and the views from the grounds of our hotel. I am also pleased to hear that the team was able to resolve any concerns promptly and also assist you in arranging a suite for you to freshen up prior to departing.

We look forward to welcoming your family and you back very soon to The Legian Bali for another enjoyable stay.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,298
    130
    25
    10
    11
See reviews for
338
818
56
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I have always wanted to stay here so we extended our recent trip to Bali so I could have a few days at The Legian Bali. It was better than I expected and I had high expectations!
We booked a villa at The Club. This is just across the road from the main resort but meant we had our own villa and pool. It was superb - I really don't have enough positive words. The villa was roomy but not too large, with a four poster bed and a large stone bath out in the garden - best bath I have seen. The pool is actually pretty large and the bale was big with a proper dinning table. There were also two shady bale's along the side of the villa so at anytime of the day, it was easy to get out of the sun. Everything in the minibar is included in the price and was replenished as we used it by our butler.
The great thing about these villa's is that they are part of a club so you have use of a large pool at the clubhouse that is only open to the 11 villa residents. The clubhouse also had breakfast, afternoon tea and canapes and cocktails (all included in the villa price). You could also get meals and drinks from here anytime. The staff were amazing, a high level of attention but none of it obtrusive.
On the final day of our stay in Bali we moved to a suite in the main hotel as we had a late flight and just needed it to relax and shower in. The suite was a good size with a huge balcony looking out over the grass to the beach. The balcony had a day bed and eating table. We would have been just as comfortable in the suite as the villa.
The resort grounds are beautiful, peaceful and quiet with one of the best pool complexes I've seen. We spent a fantastic day lying around the main pool, had lunch on our day bed and stayed through to watching the sun set with a cocktail - an awesome day.
We ate in the restaurant each night we were there, because it was so good - and great value for money for a five star experience.
I really love this hotel and we will definitely be going back next time we go to Bali. Every staff member we met was friendly and really proficient, the facilities are top notch and in great condition, it's incredibly clean and well maintained and you get the feeling that the team running this hotel love what they do. But its all the little thoughtful things that really set it apart - the wine and canapes for our arrival, being met by the team at the door to our villa where we checked in, the treats in our room each day, the refreshing face cloths and iced water served all day by the pool. Made for a very relaxing treat.

Room Tip: If you can, go for a villa - it's a haven in the middle of Legian.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Su D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Su D,

Thank you very much for staying with us at The Club at The Legian Bali and sharing your experience with others. The entire team and I are very happy to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay at The Club, be it the privacy within your villa along with the other amenities, the lap pool, cocktails every evening at The Club Lounge to all the other facilities that The Legian has to offer. The butler team were very glad to learn that their professional and personalized service delivered as well as the little touches put together contributed towards making your stay a truly enjoyable one.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Legian Bali very soon to experience more.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We have stayed at this hotel many times since it's opening in 1996 and as always the service , staff and hotel are amazing the rooms very big the gardens and pools excellent we were greeted by the GM Kevin and nothing was to much trouble . We stayed in a ground floor room straight out on to gardens and pools , Staff always remember our names ,We will be back many times to come , lWish we could have stayed longer , The pancakes at breakfast are awesome try them , thanks Bonnie and John

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor room , all rooms walk straight out on to gardens and 3 pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear John W,

It was a pleasure to welcome you back and thank you very much for writing a review on your stay at The Legian Bali. We are all very happy to learn that you had another amazing stay and enjoyed every bit of it.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Legian Bali for a longer stay in the future.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We loved coming back and the way we were greeted , staff were amazing I know we were only there 24 hours but loved every minute.
The pool area is stunning and very well catered for. I had a foot massage by the pool

Room Tip: All good And very well serviced
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Susannehoppe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Susannehoppe,

It was a pleasure for us to welcome you back to The Legian Bali and we are all very happy to learn that you had enjoyable stay with us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to The Legian Bali for a longer stay in the near future.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed at The Legian during our first 3 nights in Bali and we were really satisfied by the excellent service. We were greeted by the GM and even the hotel staff remember our name! The room was exceptionally big and gorgeous. The hotel staff even put some food and a greeting card to welcome our honeymoon trip. The breakfast was good and what's better than eating your egg and bacon with a million dollar sea view?!
One thing that we are not really satisfied is the bed sheet. The bed sheet had the damp wet feeling, compared to their sister hotel company, Chedi Club Tanah Gajah. Other than that, everything was good at the Legian.
Security is excellent. During one of the night, unknowingly our entrance room door was widely open due to the strong wind; only to realise it the next morning. My wife panicked as she put some of her precious stuff at the living room. However, all of our stuff were still in place!! Good job Legian for maintaining such an excellent service and security. Please do not change and we look forward to staying there again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rendy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Rendy A,

Thank you very much for spending your Honeymoon with us at The Legian Bali and writing about your stay. We are truly glad to learn you found the service to be excellent, liked the amenities in your suite as well as appreciated the breathtaking views of the Indian Ocean whilst eating breakfast in The Restaurant. We are also happy to learn that you found the environment to be safe and secure and that we were able to make your Honeymoon a memorable one.
Your feedback is sincerely appreciated and we will make any effort to address this matter.

The entire team and I look forward to welcoming you both back to celebrate your first anniversary with us at The Legian Bali and bring back fond memories.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I've stayed in some pretty smart hotels over the years and I tend not to get too wowed by hotels these days. However,The Legian is a breathtaking experience from the minute you arrive. The service is astonishing and the rooms (we stayed in the deluxe suite) are well appointed and serviced by some excellent room service. The swimming pools, bars, restaurants are all what you would expect from this level of hotel. The big distinguishing point is always the service and the quality of staff they have at the hotel.

The hotel has breathtaking views and Seminyak is a lovely town with some nice places to drink and eat too. I cannot thank you enough for making our honeymoon so pleasurable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 601Jonathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear 601Jonathan,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at The Legian Bali to spend your Honeymoon and writing a review on your experience. I am very happy to read that you had a wonderful stay and you were very impressed with the level of personalized service received from the moment you arrived till your departure. I am glad that you were able to enjoy the magnificence of a Balinese Sunset and found us to be ideally located in the heart of Seminyak.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back very soon to The Legian Bali.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I have read some of the reviews of this hotel and I came to the conclusion that I really could not add to the praise they have already elicited from other guests. But I cannot resist the opportunity to at least acknowledge that the management and staff created for me and my wife a memorable experience that we shall never forget.
The staff work very hard and this is the core of the experience because they do this with good grace and pleasantness from beginning to end. A typical day starts with a pleasant greeting at breakfast from the smiles of the attendants and goes on through to the pool areas and restaurants. The staff who clean the rooms and leave them pristine should not be forgotten either.
In truth I had expected as much and I thought that the holiday would be partly made by this level of attention to making our stay trouble free. I had also thought that I would be keen to get out and about to see what the island of Bali had to offer but I was seduced by the hotel and I was glad to surrender!
I wish we lived nearer...
So in rounding off, thank you so much.

Room Tip: I am sure they're all equally good. They all face the sea and the sunsets. Our room on the 1st f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikePJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear MikePJ,

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to review your stay at The Legian Bali. It is extremely encouraging to learn that we were able to meet your expectations as well as amaze you with the level of service offered whether by the pools, in the outlets or in the suite. It is also very nice to know that we created an unforgettable experience for your wife and you.

The team and I are looking forward to welcoming you back to The Legian Bali to experience much more.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.1 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#6 of 144 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,745 reviews
0.6 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#22 of 144 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#10 of 144 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,583 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alila Seminyak
Alila Seminyak
#23 of 144 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#1 of 144 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Legian Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Legian Bali

Property: The Legian Bali
Address: Jl. Kayu Aya, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#1 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#1 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#7 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#8 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Legian Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Legian Bali is an exclusive all-suite hotel set in landscaped tropical gardens, offering unrivalled views across the Indian Ocean. Flanked by quiet beach, this luxurious property offers a unique chance to experience the magical island of Bali in a relaxed setting. Beautifully integrated within landscaped gardens and lotus ponds, The Legian Bali boasts 67 sea-facing suites plus The Beach House in an ample variety of exquisite accommodation style. Situated in a quiet enclave in Seminyak, and adjacent to the exclusive The Legian Bali, a cluster of 14 private villas stands majestically amid scented gardens and private pools. This exquisite residence that redefines luxury living in the tropics is The Club at The Legian, offering guests the ultimate in privacy, and unobtrusive, yet flawless, personalised service. The Legian Bali and The Club at The Legian present all the charms of Balinese hospitality in its personable service, customised spa treatments and alluring surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Legian Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Legian Bali Hotel Seminyak
Legian Bali Seminyak
Legian Bali Hotel Seminyak
Legian Hotel Bali
Legian Seminyak
Bali Legian
The Legian Bali Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing