We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Legian Bali
Nearby Hotels
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Breezes Bali Resort & Spa(Seminyak)(Great Value!)
US$153
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$428
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$378
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Vila Lumbung(Seminyak)(Great Value!)
US$81
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$544
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$520
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
U Paasha Seminyak(Seminyak)(Great Value!)
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa(Seminyak)(Great Value!)
US$267
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$235
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amadea Resort & Villas(Seminyak)(Great Value!)
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard by Marriott Bali Seminyak Resort(Seminyak)(Great Value!)
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$138
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$322
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$243
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,654)
Filter reviews
1,654 results
Traveller rating
1,460
145
27
10
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,460
145
27
10
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstudio suitechef lukethe main hotelbottle of champagneour honeymoonclub villaindian oceaninfinity poolcomplimentary afternoon teasound of the wavesthe general managerbose sound systemmini barfour seasonswonderful hotelday bedoverlooking the beach
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
840 - 845 of 1,654 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2014

The Legian is the grand dame of Bali hotels and knocks the socks off her competition with the fantastic service from the long standing staff and the elegant and spacious rooms.

We stayed at the Legian for 6 nights with two young children in tow and had a wonderful time. This was our first stay at the Legian despite having visited Bali many times over the years. We loved the convenient location in the middle of Seminyak, the dedicated staff and the beautiful view of the ocean from the gardens and the pool. Although we had some hiccups during our stay such as the smell of fried fish in the second bedroom coming through the windows and the air-conditioning, this was promptly fixed by the staff and we were able to put the children to bed in the room later that evening.

The offer of the hospitality suite to freshen up before a flight was also a lovely touch which we have not enjoyed at any other hotel we have stayed in anywhere else in the world.

We hope to be back again soon! Our thanks to everyone at the Legian for a very enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SWChin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear SWChin,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Legian Bali and sharing your experience with others on TripAdvisor. I am very happy to read that your family and you enjoyed the service, the central location and the views from the grounds of our hotel. I am also pleased to hear that the team was able to resolve any concerns promptly and also assist you in arranging a suite for you to freshen up prior to departing.

We look forward to welcoming your family and you back very soon to The Legian Bali for another enjoyable stay.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I have always wanted to stay here so we extended our recent trip to Bali so I could have a few days at The Legian Bali. It was better than I expected and I had high expectations!
We booked a villa at The Club. This is just across the road from the main resort but meant we had our own villa and pool. It was superb - I really don't have enough positive words. The villa was roomy but not too large, with a four poster bed and a large stone bath out in the garden - best bath I have seen. The pool is actually pretty large and the bale was big with a proper dinning table. There were also two shady bale's along the side of the villa so at anytime of the day, it was easy to get out of the sun. Everything in the minibar is included in the price and was replenished as we used it by our butler.
The great thing about these villa's is that they are part of a club so you have use of a large pool at the clubhouse that is only open to the 11 villa residents. The clubhouse also had breakfast, afternoon tea and canapes and cocktails (all included in the villa price). You could also get meals and drinks from here anytime. The staff were amazing, a high level of attention but none of it obtrusive.
On the final day of our stay in Bali we moved to a suite in the main hotel as we had a late flight and just needed it to relax and shower in. The suite was a good size with a huge balcony looking out over the grass to the beach. The balcony had a day bed and eating table. We would have been just as comfortable in the suite as the villa.
The resort grounds are beautiful, peaceful and quiet with one of the best pool complexes I've seen. We spent a fantastic day lying around the main pool, had lunch on our day bed and stayed through to watching the sun set with a cocktail - an awesome day.
We ate in the restaurant each night we were there, because it was so good - and great value for money for a five star experience.
I really love this hotel and we will definitely be going back next time we go to Bali. Every staff member we met was friendly and really proficient, the facilities are top notch and in great condition, it's incredibly clean and well maintained and you get the feeling that the team running this hotel love what they do. But its all the little thoughtful things that really set it apart - the wine and canapes for our arrival, being met by the team at the door to our villa where we checked in, the treats in our room each day, the refreshing face cloths and iced water served all day by the pool. Made for a very relaxing treat.

Room Tip: If you can, go for a villa - it's a haven in the middle of Legian.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Su D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Su D,

Thank you very much for staying with us at The Club at The Legian Bali and sharing your experience with others. The entire team and I are very happy to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay at The Club, be it the privacy within your villa along with the other amenities, the lap pool, cocktails every evening at The Club Lounge to all the other facilities that The Legian has to offer. The butler team were very glad to learn that their professional and personalized service delivered as well as the little touches put together contributed towards making your stay a truly enjoyable one.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Legian Bali very soon to experience more.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We have stayed at this hotel many times since it's opening in 1996 and as always the service , staff and hotel are amazing the rooms very big the gardens and pools excellent we were greeted by the GM Kevin and nothing was to much trouble . We stayed in a ground floor room straight out on to gardens and pools , Staff always remember our names ,We will be back many times to come , lWish we could have stayed longer , The pancakes at breakfast are awesome try them , thanks Bonnie and John

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor room , all rooms walk straight out on to gardens and 3 pools
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear John W,

It was a pleasure to welcome you back and thank you very much for writing a review on your stay at The Legian Bali. We are all very happy to learn that you had another amazing stay and enjoyed every bit of it.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Legian Bali for a longer stay in the future.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We loved coming back and the way we were greeted , staff were amazing I know we were only there 24 hours but loved every minute.
The pool area is stunning and very well catered for. I had a foot massage by the pool

Room Tip: All good And very well serviced
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Susannehoppe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Susannehoppe,

It was a pleasure for us to welcome you back to The Legian Bali and we are all very happy to learn that you had enjoyable stay with us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to The Legian Bali for a longer stay in the near future.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed at The Legian during our first 3 nights in Bali and we were really satisfied by the excellent service. We were greeted by the GM and even the hotel staff remember our name! The room was exceptionally big and gorgeous. The hotel staff even put some food and a greeting card to welcome our honeymoon trip. The breakfast was good and what's better than eating your egg and bacon with a million dollar sea view?!
One thing that we are not really satisfied is the bed sheet. The bed sheet had the damp wet feeling, compared to their sister hotel company, Chedi Club Tanah Gajah. Other than that, everything was good at the Legian.
Security is excellent. During one of the night, unknowingly our entrance room door was widely open due to the strong wind; only to realise it the next morning. My wife panicked as she put some of her precious stuff at the living room. However, all of our stuff were still in place!! Good job Legian for maintaining such an excellent service and security. Please do not change and we look forward to staying there again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rendy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Rendy A,

Thank you very much for spending your Honeymoon with us at The Legian Bali and writing about your stay. We are truly glad to learn you found the service to be excellent, liked the amenities in your suite as well as appreciated the breathtaking views of the Indian Ocean whilst eating breakfast in The Restaurant. We are also happy to learn that you found the environment to be safe and secure and that we were able to make your Honeymoon a memorable one.
Your feedback is sincerely appreciated and we will make any effort to address this matter.

The entire team and I look forward to welcoming you both back to celebrate your first anniversary with us at The Legian Bali and bring back fond memories.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews