We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect honeymoon (Part 1) at the Legian”
Review of The Legian Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Legian Bali
Ranked #7 of 143 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect honeymoon (Part 1) at the Legian”
Reviewed 22 October 2008

We'd both been looking forward to our honeymoon in Bali since our wedding in July. We'd booked 10 nights at the Legian and then 4 nights at the sister hotel in Ubud, the Chedi Club (also reviewed seperately).

From the moment we stepped off the plane and were greeted by the Legian's representative "Hello Mr & Mrs Lock, welcome to Bali" to the moment we checked out, we had such a wonderful time at the Legian.

The hotel itself was superb, from it's architecture which at night, looked like some temple from an Indiana Jones film to it's elegant luxory - our suite (113) was unbelieveable, all colonial, dark wood with marvellous facilities and a superb balcony overlooking the rear grounds, the beach and the crashing waves of the Indian Ocean.

The four posted bed was luxorious and very comfy and the bathroom was amazing. When we were taken up to our room upon arrival, we were greeted by a bottle of champagne, a cake and a card congratulating us on getting married and a frangipani petal laced bath had been run for us.

A Bose CD player with chillout cd's was standard in the room as was a Bose speaker system with two ipods, for our own personal use.

The service was outstanding - when we arrived, everyone knew our names and welcomed us with open arms and wide smiles and nothing was too much trouble. They booked restaurants, they booked taxi's, they made up or moved our sun loungers, they even brought in a relatives video camera after we'd enquired if we could get one from somewhere for a couple of days - without being too invasive.

The infinity pool was wondrous with fantastic views of the beach and was a great place to watch the sun set, the beach outside the hotel was kept amazingly clean on a daily basis despite the rest of the Seminyak to Kuta sweep of beach being very dirty, the restaurant and lunch bar served some lovely meals at a cost that might be slightly high but certainly not unreasonable given where we stayed.

A previous reviewer has complained of noise from the nearby bar; Ku De Ta (a 10 minute walk away) but the only sounds we could hear were the sounds of the waves crashing on the beach.

In short, this was simply the most amazing hotel (until we went to the Chedi Club) we'd stayed at and that list includes the Oberoi and Leela Palace in Bangalore and the Mumbai Hilton and we were very, very sad to leave.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JonLock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,318
    130
    25
    10
    11
See reviews for
341
827
56
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2008

We stayed at the Legian Club for a week at the beginning of a Bali trip. It is located behind the Legian Hotel (and next door to the Samaya), just a 30sec. walk over the street. Like in most GHM properties, many things are free of charge (laundry, mini-bar). But the Legian Club also had a restaurant-lounge, where all drinks were free (we drunk out the red house wine, it was finished the last day...) and they serve free canapees, bakery ect, very pleasant. Personal butler was very special, ours (Raditá) was one of the best we ever had. Also our 4-years daughter, which is usually very shy, loved him from the 2nd day. Only negative was the not-changing menu in the Club restaurant, where we ended eating each day because of the free wine. Spoken to the manager, he promised too change this.
Beach is great, a little away from the crowds, big waves and fantastic sunsets; beach service was also great. Spa is fantastic, over the expectations. All in all the Legian Club is highly recommended to those who want a lot of privacy (each villa is absolute secluded) and pampering (butler, pool, lobby). The main hotel - half the price of the club (and looks a bit like the Lemuria/Seychelles) - is a good choice for those who love the ocean views from the room and don´t mind not to live in separate villas.
All in all the Legian it is a grat choice, but dont forget to move to other places in the "real Bali" (e.g. Matahari Beach/Permutaran, Chedi Club/Ubud or Amankila. For beginning or ending of a Bali trip we would absolutely come back.

  • Liked — Our butler radita
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DRKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2008

Nice clean hotel. They were supposed to pick us up at the airport but had to catch a cab there instead.

Hotel is very modern with wi-fi available in many areas including our room. Room itself was spacious enough, but bathroom is very TINY but clean as well. Closet is also vry TINY.

Pictures by other reviewers are accurate. Pool is nice but shallow.

Breakfast buffet is great.

Overall a great value and would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Friendly staff, wi-fi access, breakfast buffet, clean room
  • Disliked — Small bath & closet
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Maerica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
Reviewed 3 October 2008

My 1st trip to Bali and got to stay at the best resort on the Island! It was awesome in everyway. The staff where excellent and attention to detail was wondeful. Our room was amazing, very roomy and comfortable. Cleaned beautifully everyday. I would find it hard to stay anywhere else when I return to Bali which I intend to do as soon as I save enough!!

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank geelow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2008

Stayed here as the second part of my honeymoon, what a wonderful hotel. Upon arrival the staff upgraded us to a huge suite which was lovely. The suite itself had beautiful furniture, we particularly likes the voile curtains around the bed, Very romantic!
The hotel facilities were very good, we used the spa and found it to be very relaxing.
We spent every day lounging on the huge bed like sun loungers on the beach - the hawkers can be a bit irritating but the security at the hotel soon move them on if they become a nuisance.

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SnazzyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria -Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2008

My wife and i stayed at this hotel from 9 to 18 September and could not speak more highly of the quality of the hotel, the attention to detail,the level of service and the absolutely excellent staff.
If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing break in first class surrounds we could not recommend a better place in Bali.
The hotel runs a free shuttle service to Kouta and there are many good restaurants within walking distance ie 10 to 15 mins BUT watch the prices as $100 plus Australian for 2 is common and wines are expensive on top of that.

  • Liked — Quality, cleanliness, location and staff friendliness
  • Disliked — Only one restaurant and no coffee shop
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maturetraveller_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2008

Our fourth stay at this hotel and everytime it gets better. Staff excellent from housekeeping to restaurant. Rooms renovated and now with new flat screen tvs.
If you want to tour the island at a reasonable price and safely with polite english speaking driver in air conditioned car then ask for local transport and driver Sami at the hotel reception.
Plenty of good restaurants near hotel but the best for Indian food fanactics is Gateway of India in Jalan Dana Purain in Seminyak (only a 1Euro taxi ride from hotel)
We are already planning the next visit.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank BintangFrankfurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.6 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#19 of 143 in Seminyak
3,227 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#4 of 143 in Seminyak
1,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#9 of 143 in Seminyak
1,599 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alila Seminyak
Alila Seminyak
#23 of 143 in Seminyak
875 reviews
1.0 mi away
Double-Six Luxury Hotel Seminyak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Legian Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Legian Bali

Property: The Legian Bali
Address: Jl. Kayu Aya, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#1 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#1 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#6 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#7 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Legian Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Legian Bali is an exclusive all-suite hotel set in landscaped tropical gardens, offering unrivalled views across the Indian Ocean. Flanked by quiet beach, this luxurious property offers a unique chance to experience the magical island of Bali in a relaxed setting. Beautifully integrated within landscaped gardens and lotus ponds, The Legian Bali boasts 67 sea-facing suites plus The Beach House in an ample variety of exquisite accommodation style. Situated in a quiet enclave in Seminyak, and adjacent to the exclusive The Legian Bali, a cluster of 14 private villas stands majestically amid scented gardens and private pools. This exquisite residence that redefines luxury living in the tropics is The Club at The Legian, offering guests the ultimate in privacy, and unobtrusive, yet flawless, personalised service. The Legian Bali and The Club at The Legian present all the charms of Balinese hospitality in its personable service, customised spa treatments and alluring surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotelopia, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Legian Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Legian Bali Hotel Seminyak
Legian Bali Seminyak
Legian Bali Hotel Seminyak
Legian Hotel Bali
Legian Seminyak
Bali Legian
The Legian Bali Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing