We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Legian Bali
Nearby Hotels
The Oberoi Bali(Seminyak)
US$377
US$326
Agoda.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pelangi Bali Hotel(Seminyak)(Great Value!)
US$109
US$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Anantara Seminyak Bali Resort(Seminyak)
US$958
US$412
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Breezes Bali Resort & Spa(Seminyak)(Great Value!)
US$132
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mutiara Bali Boutique Resort & Villas(Seminyak)(Great Value!)
US$62
US$51
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amadea Resort & Villas(Seminyak)(Great Value!)
US$88
US$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa(Seminyak)(Great Value!)
US$349
US$313
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TS Suites Leisure Seminyak Bali(Seminyak)(Great Value!)
US$302
US$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Four Points by Sheraton Bali, Seminyak(Seminyak)(Great Value!)
US$122
US$108
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard by Marriott Bali Seminyak Resort(Seminyak)(Great Value!)
US$126
US$123
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,651)
Filter reviews
1,651 results
Traveller rating
1,458
144
27
10
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,458
144
27
10
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstudio suitechef lukethe main hotelbottle of champagneour honeymoonclub villaindian oceaninfinity poolcomplimentary afternoon teasound of the wavesthe general managerbose sound systemmini barfour seasonswonderful hotelday bedoverlooking the beach
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,242 - 1,247 of 1,651 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2009

My husband (boyfriend then!) and I decided on The Legian because our tour agent had a very good bundle deal on this resort together with The Chedi at Tanah Gajah, and also because both are GHM run resorts. You can’t really go wrong with the GHM group and I have to say we were not disappointed!

We stayed at The Legian for 2 nights as part of the bundle offer and right from the time we checked in, we felt like we were treated as VIPs. All the staff were very well-trained and polite, and throughout our stay, most of them remembered and greeted us by our surnames. This sort of personal service is hard to maintain, even at other luxury class hotels. We were also pleasantly surprised when they upgraded us to a 1-bedroom suite (from a junior suite) as the room we booked was not ready yet.

The 1-bedroom suite was luxurious and huge, in fact, bigger than the old apartment I lived in! Although the décor in the room may not be as modern as some other resorts in seminyak, it was very comfortable and spacious, very well-appointed, had a huge bathroom and balcony and had all that you would need if you decide to stay in the room all day and not go out. There are 2 pre-loaded iPods and a BOSE iPod docking station in the bedroom and another BOSE entertainment system in the living room if you prefer to watch TV or a video.

Breakfast was great and the quality good. The spread was good and they use very fresh ingredients in their food. It also helps that the restaurant faces the sea and you get fresh sea breeze flowing through while you enjoy your food! The same restaurant also serves dinner and at night, can become a very romantic venue for candle-lit dinner. Dinner prices are definitely not cheap by Bali standards but you get good quality, fine dining cuisine for a fraction of the price back home. It’s also worth paying for the ambience as you relax and let the sound of waves wash away whatever stress you couldn’t get rid of while you slowly savour the sumptuous meal which the chef has prepared for you.

The Legian is a family friendly resort, so if you are looking for somewhere exclusive for couples only, this may not be the most ideal place. However, the resort is generally peaceful and you’ll only hear children bantering at the pool. Overall, given the level of service, F&B quality and accommodation, I would highly recommend The Legian without a doubt!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thewhimsicaltrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2009

Going to Bali was a big step for my husband.... he had never really enjoyed it. But after staying at The Legian he is already planning our next visit!

Whilst the rooms may not offer the modern style of some of the surrounding private villas, they were spacious, extremely well equipped with state of the art technology, and were impeccably clean. Turn down service was a delight, creating the most romantic of settings.

The pool area was relaxing, whilst maintaining a buzz..... not boring like some of the private boutique hotels where you never seem to see other guests. Cocktails were fabulous, food was fantastic ( especially Friday night seafood by the sea), and breakfast was my favourite meal of the day.

My daughter was very well cared for by both the staff and the wonderful nanny that was arranged through the hotel. All the staff played with her, and she had a sensational time. Children are very well catered for wrt food, but there are no specific children activities provided by the hotel (the pool offers more than enough entertainment in my opinion)

No request ever seemed too great for the wonderful staff at The Legian. Everybody addressed you by name...... I don't ever recall someone not knowing who I was. Wow... how great that makes you feel.

If visiting The Legian, book direct through the hotel as I missed a few services by using a travel agent. Also, use their visa service as Bali Airport Customs was a nightmare.


The Legian, and in particular the friendly, intelligent staff surpassed all my expectations. Everybody I know who stays there had said it was fabulous, but you can only truly understand how wonderful it is by booking your next holiday there.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AussieLuxuryLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2009

My husband and I just returned home from our honeymoon in Bali. We originally planned one week at the Legian and one week at the Maya Ubud. However, we ended our trip in Ubud early and went back to the Legian for the rest of our honeymoon. Without question, the Legian is the most wonderful hotel we have ever stayed in. First of all, the staff at the Legian is world class, top notch service. We cannot stop talking about how wonderful and hospitable the staff is there. The rooms are so romantic and comfortable. ( A honeymoon “baby bali” is probable!) ;) The food was delish. And the hotel offers tea time and icecream as just nice, little, free afternoon touches – but that’s what makes this hotel amazing. There are little touches here and there that take your experience over-the-top. We had spa services, which of course was fabulous. But I could not end this review if I didn’t mention the view. The pool, beach set up is what I expect to heaven to look like. To look out on the magnificent Indian ocean while taking a dip in the beautiful pool is just astonishingly relaxing and romantic. Each day we had a poolside/beachside bed with an umbrella, and the staff waits on you the whole time – with drinks and food making your relaxing day beyond enjoyable. The Legian, without question, is the most romantic place on earth.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DCWineLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2009

This hotel does not dissapoint! When we first arrived we were shocked about how spacious and beautiful our suite was. With a view of the ocean we thought there had been a mistake and that we were upgraded! The rooms are immaculate and the breakfast in the hotel was fabulous.
The beach location is on the nicest part of Seminyak beach, go further down past KuDeTa and it's crowded and not very pleasant at all. You can laze about comfortably on a day bed or sit on a lounge by the pool which is possibly the best pool in Bali! Hotel staff are so attentive, constantly ensuring your glass of cool water is filled, at 4pm afternoon tea is served and at any time you can go and get the best gelato complimentary!
Every detail has been thought out in this hotel even providing you with a beach bag to carry your sunscreen and book down to the beach, I cannot think of anything that they could do better or any other service they could provide.
The service was so friendly yet professional at the same time. Every encounter with every staff member was smooth, not a single mistake was made and you really got the sense that everybody who worked in the hotel were proud to be there, and that they like an extended family!
The location of the hotel was so convient for shopping and dining in Seminyak.
We will definately be going back (every year from now on hopefully) and it was worth every single cent!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank penel0pe-pit-st0p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2009

Just got back from 4 nights at the Legian after spending 3 nights in Ubud.
Could not fault anything about the hotel.The room, pool, grounds, reataurant, bar, spa & above all the service were top notch.
Not cheap, but you get what you pay for.
The location is excellent, right on the beach & within walking distance (or a short cab ride) to many restaurants, bars & shops.
Had dinner at the hotel one night (Wednesday night Bali Feast - very good) & also went to Sarong, Breeze at the Samaya & Kafe Warisan which were all excellent.Security has been beefed up everywhere after the Jakarta bombings so get used to having your bag searched.
The only downside (which is not really the fault of the hotel) is that
the surf appears quite polluted (but then so were the French riviera beaches) which is kind of a shame given that the beach is what started all this.I guess lots of tourists simply go in the pool.
Aussie Phil.

Thank aussiephil07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews