We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Probably best high end option in Semyniak”
Review of The Legian Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Legian Bali
Ranked #8 of 144 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Probably best high end option in Semyniak”
Reviewed 10 January 2010

Stayed one week at the Legian. I have to say that even though we had a good time I think Bali is very overrated as top destination. Beach is so-so, traffic very bad, and old time charm has been considerably weakend by real estate furious development. That being said there is a lot of components to a nice stay (restaurants, bars, luxury resorts). Sticking to the legian although quite tired this hotel which should definitely go through a renovation program if it wants to keep its attractivity is to my point of view the best one in the bustling and trendy area of Seminyak (there are others in Jimbaran but I would not go there if in Bali, it's too far form the center and if wanted to go in a top hotel for beach and seclusion I would not go to bali). Hotel setting is top, gerat beach access, nice pool, and overall great service.On weak points, OK rooms but again too tired, Their gym is a shame and rates are a little too high especially since you have to add local tax on what's advertised.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Asby08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,299
    130
    25
    10
    11
See reviews for
338
819
56
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2010

We stayed at The Legian from Dec 26 - Jan 2 and could not fault the hotel. The rooms are massive, clean and have all mod cons plus more - we stayed in a one bedroom suite. We travelled with 2 very young kids, 6 months & 2 years and found the hotel very kid friendly.
Great food, service, rooms, pool, everything! 10/10 Nearly forgot all day free gelato!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thewissus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oviedo, Spain
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2009

We spent part of our honey moon in this hotel.
Although it was tues agresive we enjoyed the private beach, as well the swimming pool.
Our room was huge, with an excellent bathroom and al the commodities you can imagine (i-pod, LCD, DVD player...).
Service really good, very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank berrozpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2009

This was the final location on our trip to Hong Kong & Bali (see Intercontinental Hong Kong & The Chedi Club at Tanah Gajah).

The Legian is situated on a fabulous stretch of beach in Seminyak. The rooms are huge as it is an all-suite hotel. We had a bedroom with large living area, large bathroom and 2 balconies one with table & chairs the other with sunbeds as well as a small kitchen with a full size fridge (great for stocking up on cold drinks). Usual LCD TV, Bose sound system but also 2 pre-loaded iPods with around 5,000 songs on each of all different taste/genres and included headsets so you could take them with you too the pool (great idea).

The pool is a 2 tiered infinity one that overlooks the sea and was rarely busy during the week we were there. They also have plenty of sunbeds and large daybeds around the beachfront. They bring you iced water, cold towels and high factor sunscreen on arrival at the pool.

The restaurant food is very good and the lunchtime snack menu at the poolside bar usually has a good chefs special such as seared tuna or red snapper in addition to the usual snack fare. As usual the service was excellent and delivered with a smile (thanks Artini).

Location is 5 mins into shops at Seminyak where there is a great selection of boutiques & lots of bars and restaurants. We ate at La Lucciola (decent but over priced), Hu'u Bar (fantastic setting, good food and superb service) have to mention Ratna and April who looked after us fantastically. We also ate at the Queen Tandoor in Seminyak... avoid, food was mediocre and if it rains (which it did the night we were there) you are in danger of getting soaked as it pours through the roof!

The only watch-for is the building works going on next door (it looks a major project) and whilst It caused me no trouble during day round the pool, in fact the crashing waves made more noise, but when on my balcony it was intrusive (nothing the hotel can do about it, but I was not informed that it was happening)

In all a really top hotel with super service and a great location...

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FergusPatterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2009

Service is great, food is wonderful, and room space is well designed. But there is only one thing that is annoys me and my husband. We stayed there for 4 nights and we see the hotel manager walks around and greets his guests. He appears to avoid the Asian guests; he skips our table (but talks around our table) and never stops by and says hi. He only stops by and greets the Europeans and Americans. It certainly made our stay less perfect and feels not welcome there.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank miluca33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
135 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2009

My husband (boyfriend then!) and I decided on The Legian because our tour agent had a very good bundle deal on this resort together with The Chedi at Tanah Gajah, and also because both are GHM run resorts. You can’t really go wrong with the GHM group and I have to say we were not disappointed!

We stayed at The Legian for 2 nights as part of the bundle offer and right from the time we checked in, we felt like we were treated as VIPs. All the staff were very well-trained and polite, and throughout our stay, most of them remembered and greeted us by our surnames. This sort of personal service is hard to maintain, even at other luxury class hotels. We were also pleasantly surprised when they upgraded us to a 1-bedroom suite (from a junior suite) as the room we booked was not ready yet.

The 1-bedroom suite was luxurious and huge, in fact, bigger than the old apartment I lived in! Although the décor in the room may not be as modern as some other resorts in seminyak, it was very comfortable and spacious, very well-appointed, had a huge bathroom and balcony and had all that you would need if you decide to stay in the room all day and not go out. There are 2 pre-loaded iPods and a BOSE iPod docking station in the bedroom and another BOSE entertainment system in the living room if you prefer to watch TV or a video.

Breakfast was great and the quality good. The spread was good and they use very fresh ingredients in their food. It also helps that the restaurant faces the sea and you get fresh sea breeze flowing through while you enjoy your food! The same restaurant also serves dinner and at night, can become a very romantic venue for candle-lit dinner. Dinner prices are definitely not cheap by Bali standards but you get good quality, fine dining cuisine for a fraction of the price back home. It’s also worth paying for the ambience as you relax and let the sound of waves wash away whatever stress you couldn’t get rid of while you slowly savour the sumptuous meal which the chef has prepared for you.

The Legian is a family friendly resort, so if you are looking for somewhere exclusive for couples only, this may not be the most ideal place. However, the resort is generally peaceful and you’ll only hear children bantering at the pool. Overall, given the level of service, F&B quality and accommodation, I would highly recommend The Legian without a doubt!

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thewhimsicaltrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2009

Going to Bali was a big step for my husband.... he had never really enjoyed it. But after staying at The Legian he is already planning our next visit!

Whilst the rooms may not offer the modern style of some of the surrounding private villas, they were spacious, extremely well equipped with state of the art technology, and were impeccably clean. Turn down service was a delight, creating the most romantic of settings.

The pool area was relaxing, whilst maintaining a buzz..... not boring like some of the private boutique hotels where you never seem to see other guests. Cocktails were fabulous, food was fantastic ( especially Friday night seafood by the sea), and breakfast was my favourite meal of the day.

My daughter was very well cared for by both the staff and the wonderful nanny that was arranged through the hotel. All the staff played with her, and she had a sensational time. Children are very well catered for wrt food, but there are no specific children activities provided by the hotel (the pool offers more than enough entertainment in my opinion)

No request ever seemed too great for the wonderful staff at The Legian. Everybody addressed you by name...... I don't ever recall someone not knowing who I was. Wow... how great that makes you feel.

If visiting The Legian, book direct through the hotel as I missed a few services by using a travel agent. Also, use their visa service as Bali Airport Customs was a nightmare.


The Legian, and in particular the friendly, intelligent staff surpassed all my expectations. Everybody I know who stays there had said it was fabulous, but you can only truly understand how wonderful it is by booking your next holiday there.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieLuxuryLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.1 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#6 of 144 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,745 reviews
0.6 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#22 of 144 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#10 of 144 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,583 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alila Seminyak
Alila Seminyak
#23 of 144 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#1 of 144 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Legian Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Legian Bali

Property: The Legian Bali
Address: Jl. Kayu Aya, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#1 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#1 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#7 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#8 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Legian Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Legian Bali is an exclusive all-suite hotel set in landscaped tropical gardens, offering unrivalled views across the Indian Ocean. Flanked by quiet beach, this luxurious property offers a unique chance to experience the magical island of Bali in a relaxed setting. Beautifully integrated within landscaped gardens and lotus ponds, The Legian Bali boasts 67 sea-facing suites plus The Beach House in an ample variety of exquisite accommodation style. Situated in a quiet enclave in Seminyak, and adjacent to the exclusive The Legian Bali, a cluster of 14 private villas stands majestically amid scented gardens and private pools. This exquisite residence that redefines luxury living in the tropics is The Club at The Legian, offering guests the ultimate in privacy, and unobtrusive, yet flawless, personalised service. The Legian Bali and The Club at The Legian present all the charms of Balinese hospitality in its personable service, customised spa treatments and alluring surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Legian Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Legian Bali Hotel Seminyak
Legian Bali Seminyak
Legian Bali Hotel Seminyak
Legian Hotel Bali
Legian Seminyak
Bali Legian
The Legian Bali Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing