We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Legian is back as one of the best hotel in the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Legian Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Legian Bali
Ranked #7 of 143 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
195 reviews
184 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 351 helpful votes
“The Legian is back as one of the best hotel in the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2010

If i've decided not too choose The Legian for my holidays during a 3 years period, it's bacause there were a few problems unacceptable for a five stars hotel. I've had a discussion with the previous GM who wasn't really nice but thanks God, a new GM arrived and took all my remarks very seriously and now, this is the rebirth of The Legian, still superbly located on Pettitenget beach and offering the epytom in term of confort of service. Our last stay in March has been more than amazing...

*Check in/Service: When you arrive at The Legian, you know immediatly you'll have such a luxurious experience. After the very serious security check, the car will drop you in a little heaven where you'll be welcome as a king with the authentic balinese smile and a legendary professionnalism. Each member of the staff at The Legian will treat you with the perfect attention you expect, using your family name all the time, trying to provide a WOW little detail to make of your holidays an amazing and unforgettable moment.
We arrived in this fantastic property a day where there was refurnishment making the lobby much more smaller than usual but still very beautiful and moreover, we checked in at 1pm which is a bit early. However, after a few minutes waiting and a quite efficient check in procedures, the very nice GM Carla came to say hello and she apologized cause the two suites we booked were not ready but she offered us the possibility to stay in the hospitality room to get changed and be able to enjoy the pool without waiting. Actually, this hospitality room is one of the service offered by The Legian for early check in or late check out guests and this is a real "plus" cause you can relax, have a shower, check your emails...
But it was really hot at this time of the day and we had decided to wait inside this room. About 45 min later, we have been escorted to our studio suites and as return guests, some welcome cocktails, a bottle of excellent champagne and a large basket of fresh fruits were ready on the table. I can't imagine a better check in... Just FABULOUS...

*Design/Confort: What to say about "perfect luxury"??? Maybe i could just say something: "hard to leave"... The smallest suite offers a space of 90 sq. meters with huge terrace overlooking the ocean. The design at The Legian is timeless, elegant, relaxing... They have upgraded a few details always using the nicest materials and making of the decor something even better (new sofas, tables, lighting...). You'll feel really like at home and the same experience of luxury is in the bathroom with a very large space, double sinks, a rain shower, a very comfy bathtub and a perfect lighting which is a very important detail so often wrong in many hotels.
About the confort, there is absolutely nothing to add apart of PERFECT... (bed, linens and pillows from the highest quality) and now there is a blind curtain making an excellent black out for having a good sleep. Thanks to improve this detail i consider essential for confort...

*Food: Like everything at The Legian, Food and beverages are excellent and don't miss the french toasts with strawberry and mascarpone for breakfast. The most delicious starting day before to lay down in front of the two exceptionnals pools. For lunch and dinner, same satisfaction with the finest ingredients and the very intelligent recipes of the Executive chef.

*Atmosphere: Elegance and luxury are everywhere at The Legian. This is undoubtly one of the nicest place for spending holidays and if you choose this property amazingly located in front of the ocean and in the vibrant and trendy Seminyak, you'll never ever try to try an other hotel cause there is no challenger with The Legian. A home sweet home in Bali, perfect and impressive.

*Conclusion: Thanks to Carla, the excellent GM, and the whole team of The Legian. Now, this property is back in my heart and personnaly, i consider this hotel as one of the five best over the globe. An experience not to be missed...

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RCBLHKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,282
    128
    25
    10
    10
See reviews for
335
805
57
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2010

Location: Just by the beach, half an hour drive from either airport or Kuta. There are a couple of resturants nearby, but expensive compared with Indonesian CPI. We stayed almost within the hotel because it was great.

Rooms: All rooms are suites with a balcony facing the beach, though the temperature outside is always high unless in late afternoon. I chose the most affordable one, which covered around 100sqm.
Mini bar in kitchen, where you can cook coffee or afternoon tea;
dinner table available besides a desk with free internet access;
a large sofa located in the open living room where LCD TV, Blue Ray player, Bose sound box connected with an iPod classic are for your use;
two wardrobes, two washstands, one shower room and one bathtub are quite guest-friendly.

Service: Don't hesitate to ask for anything and be ready to get satisfying answers
We were offered a mini van pick-up upon arrival at the airport. Iced towl and Evian serviced by driver;
After arrival, fresh welcome juice came with a receptionist guided us around the hotel and into our suite to make everything clear to understand.
During our 5-day-4-night stay there, house keep frequency was twice a day, one around noon and the other around 6~7.pm, which made all amenities tiny and supplemented before it was necessary.

Value: I chose a flight+hotel package from a travel agent, who offered relatively lower room rates than the promotion price on the hotel's website. Probably around $370/night (in Feb. 2010) with all service charge or taxes. Thus I think the experience there is worth the money!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xiongjiayue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2010

Excellent
Great Service
Great Food
Well Featured
An oldy but a goody
Close to shopping - Happy Wife happy Life.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WearyTravellerSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2010

WE have stayed at the legian twice now and wouldn't stay anywhere else.
yes, the rooms are getting a bit tired, but this is a beach holiday so you really don't need cutting edge interior design, the important thing is ti feel relaxed...and there is no other way to feel but relaxed at the legian.

The staff are the best I have ever encountered other than staying at another GHM hotel , the Chedi in Milan, so this is one hotel company that trains and looks after their staff well.

The service is faultless, the grounds are beautiful, it has the best location on the beach in Seminyak, the shopping and restaurants nearby are amazing, the poolside service is amazing. the rooms are huge 110sqm!! It is more like an apartment than a hotel room.

The babysitting ( request Made or Ayu) is the best in the world!!!

You would be crazy to stay anywhere else!!!!

Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbug3Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2010

SUMMARY: Prime oceanfront property in Seminyak with huge suites, fantastic dining, and some of the best sunsets you'll ever see. This along with great service and excellent value make this one of the best hotels I've ever experienced.

ROOMS: A friend and I stayed in a 2 bedroom suite that was so large I could run laps inside. In addition to the spacious comfort, they were immaculately clean with tasteful design and furniture. Our enormous balcony had superb views of the property gardens, ponds, pool, ocean, and sunsets. There were also two huge bathrooms and a large kitchenette. These might possibly be the nicest hotel suites in Seminyak or maybe all of Bali.

SERVICE: Great service with a warm smile. The Balinese are well known for their genuine hospitality and big beautiful smiles, and this hotel's staff was a model example. The staff I interacted with was knowledgeable and provided efficient service, although some of them were soft-spoken and a bit difficult to understand at times.

AMENITIES: The pool was extraordinary. It was elevated just slightly above sea level to create a great view of the ocean while swimming. The gym was quite small, but I was told the hotel has plans to expand the facility. The restaurant beside the pool served a fantastic dinner, but I still can't believe I had the best french toast of my life at the hotel breakfast, in Bali of all places.

LOCATION: The location is flawless for those who want to be directly on Seminyak beach, which I believe is among the most beautiful beaches in Bali. Shopping is a stone's throw away, as are some of the well established entertainment venues like KuDeTa right around the corner.

CLEANLINESS: The hotel appeared to be spotless, especially the guestrooms. Even the beach behind the property was well maintained. There is some renovation work going on in the hotel which made for some minor noise pollution, but overall everything was quite picturesque.

VALUE: Compared to a standard hotel room, this property provided excellent value. The sheer size of the suites was enough to make me smile like a kid in a candy shop, but the inclusion of a kitchenette, free room Internet, and its oceanfront location provide incomparable value.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wangderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2010

We stayed at the Legian for five days recently.WOW we were totally blown away by the service, the surroundings and the wonderful staff in this hotel.
On arrival we were upgraded to a suite with a view of the ocean.The staff were attentive and called you by your name.They provided a customer service that surpassed any we have ever come across before.Nothing was ever too much trouble and most of the time you were provided with every thing you needed without even asking.
Though the hotel is small and is getting older we could not fault it at all and are looking forward to returning to this place called Paradise.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jobe021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2010

As background, we have seen quite a few hotels in Bali – stayed in Amanusa, Amankila (beautiful!), Bvlgari (trendy!), Como Shambhala (amazing & surreal), Intecontinental and I’ve taken a look at the Oberoi (getting a bit old), new St Regis (if you like American-style luxury), Conrad and Four Seasons Jimbaran Bay (getting old).

We came in with ‘managed’ expectations as friends warned us that Legian is getting a bit tired. I must admit, we didn’t spend much time in the main building (which may indeed be a bit old), so for those of you looking at rooms there, this feedback may not be of much help.

However, if you interested in the ‘Club’ section, I can say that we had a terrific stay. The butler service was genuinely attentive – we stayed in Amanusa two weeks later and while we are Aman fans, the service there just did not measure to Legian Club's. The room service food was really, very good – wish we had time for another room service meal. The villa’s are comfortably nice -- tasteful décor and enough patio area to have guests over (although the pool is still a tad too small to be functional in any way).

The ‘packages’ that they typically offer – open mini bar, free laundry, free transportation, etc. – is a nice treat. Most of all, if you want to be in Seminyak, which is by far the most hip place in Bali, with a selection of restaurants and bars, then Club Legian is a super convenient and nice high-end place to stay. No need to take a 40 minute car ride to Ku De Ta … it’s now across the street.

Bear in mind that the Club section is across the street, slightly removed from the beach area.

While we typically don't mind spending for upgraded rooms in places like Bvlgari Hotel, etc ... Club Legian is more reasonable priced than its comparable hotels, making our overall experience really a positive one.

Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank tinaWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.1 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#6 of 143 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,730 reviews
0.6 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#26 of 143 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#11 of 143 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,569 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alila Seminyak
Alila Seminyak
#24 of 143 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#2 of 143 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Legian Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Legian Bali

Property: The Legian Bali
Address: Jl. Kayu Aya, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#1 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#1 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#6 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#7 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Legian Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Legian Bali is an exclusive all-suite hotel set in landscaped tropical gardens, offering unrivalled views across the Indian Ocean. Flanked by quiet beach, this luxurious property offers a unique chance to experience the magical island of Bali in a relaxed setting. Beautifully integrated within landscaped gardens and lotus ponds, The Legian Bali boasts 67 sea-facing suites plus The Beach House in an ample variety of exquisite accommodation style. Situated in a quiet enclave in Seminyak, and adjacent to the exclusive The Legian Bali, a cluster of 14 private villas stands majestically amid scented gardens and private pools. This exquisite residence that redefines luxury living in the tropics is The Club at The Legian, offering guests the ultimate in privacy, and unobtrusive, yet flawless, personalised service. The Legian Bali and The Club at The Legian present all the charms of Balinese hospitality in its personable service, customised spa treatments and alluring surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Legian Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Legian Bali Hotel Seminyak
Legian Bali Seminyak
Legian Bali Hotel Seminyak
Legian Hotel Bali
Legian Seminyak
Bali Legian
The Legian Bali Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing