We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We stayed 4 nights at the Legian... wished we had stayed longer!”
Review of The Legian Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Legian Bali
Ranked #8 of 148 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2010

This hotel was definitely the best hotel we stayed in in Bali, with a great location in the heart of Seminyak.
At our arrival the room was not ready but they let us use temporarily another room while they were making the room ready.
We stayed in a one-bedroom suite which was huge with great balinese style decoration with all the usual luxury equipment (bose sound systems, blu-ray, etc.) but still maintaining a very relaxed atmosphere. All rooms seem to have this balcony with ocean view and a day bed on it. Also we came with our young baby and they had installed a very nice wooden crib in the room.
The pool is amazing, the food was also great; on the first night we stayed for dinner at the hotel and we had the best outdoor barbecue ever on the beach.
Very nice staff, always very helpful and great with our baby. Only negative aspect was the baby-sitting rate which was way too high compared to the other 5-star hotels we stayed in Bali.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adelinedubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,575)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,164 - 1,170 of 1,577 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2010

My husband and I went to Bali in April 2009 and chose to stay at the Legian.

The Legian is located in Seminyak, a nice and chill part of town with good shopping and some well-known eateries. KuDeTa is literally just next to the hotel (although I don’t rate this restaurant).

We stayed in a One bedroom deluxe suite and it was lovely, very large dining area and living room. The separate bedroom was of good size and the bathroom was massive with a huge bathtub and shower. The room was very very cozy. The only downside is that our room was situated on one of the lower floors resulting in low visibility of the beautiful sea from our balcony which had a very comfortable day bed.

The thing we really loved about the hotel was the pool area, fantastic infinity pool with great snacks and drinks to enjoy the famous Balinese sunset.

Another thing worth mentioning is the spa. Even though my partner and I aren’t spa lovers we had four treatments at the hotel as they were good value for money.

We also took a trip to Ubud where we had lunch at The Legian’s sister hotel The Chedi Club. The surroundings were amazing as The Chedi Club was bang in the middle of the rice fields. Lunch there was out of this world as it felt like eating in the fields themselves.

The food at the Legian is very good both at The Restaurant and room service. Here are some other recommendations of where to eat: PJ”s at the Four Seasons Jimbaran Bay and eating with the mischievous monkeys at Il Ristorante at the Bulgari Resort.

Overall, we didn’t really take Bali into our hearts. But The Legian is first class, top notch for service, accommodation and ambience, especially when you take the price into consideration.

Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank London-Lourson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2010

Don’t hesitate to book - this hotel is excellent and is exactly what the website and brochures describe - plus more!

We booked a one bedroom deluxe suite which was beyond expectations from the chilled Champagne on arrival onwards. Try to book a top floor if you can.

The aspect next to the beach is superb and very relaxing. The pool is a central feature but can be a little busy. A short stroll into Seminyak with it’s shops and wide selection of very good restaurants makes a perfect evening.

The staff could not be more attentive and friendly, yet are unobtrusive. Nothing is too much trouble for guests comfort. Breakfast is excellent quality with a wide range available and a lovely aspect overlooking the pool and gardens. The only slight down side is the rather high price of drinks and lunch menu.

We wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GastrodontUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

The Legian is without a doubt one of my best hotel experiences ever. Everything from the room quality (we had a huge 2 bdrm suite), service, quality of dining, ameneties such a pool / spa etc were excellent. This was a special trip for my mother and not only did she feel completely happy at this hotel, she loved it so much that she missed it when we moved to our second hotel in Ubud...so much so that we had to call the Legian and see if we could come back (our last minute request was not only accomodated by the amazing manager, Carla, but we were given our previous suite again. I have travelled all over the world and very few places are as perfect as the Legian experience was for us.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dsbali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2010

I have been to Bali many times over the last 10 years and have stayed in many of the 5* hotels here. The Legian is old and not as swish, sleek and swanky as its newer rivals (St Regis, Alila Villas etc) but it certainly exudes a lot of charm. Yes, the rooms and furnishings are old but ours look recently re-painted and have been installed with very current gadgets e.g. bose sound system, 2 ipods (one in the lounge, one in the bed room) etc.
Service is excellent. We had the standard welcome drinks and cold towels when we were being checked in at the lobby but were nicely surprised by the bottle of bubbly in our room (sitting in a bucket of ice), together with canapes.
If you want to be close to all the restaurants and bars in Seminyak but relax in peace for most of the day before you go out and have fun, this is the place. It is also walking distance to ku de ta and La lucciola. You can walk along the beach, less than 3 minutes each way. They also have club rooms if you want newer and swish-er accomodation, but these are not beach-front and are across the road from the main Legian hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ms_Love2Tr4vel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2010

This was our third time in The Legian, and even as we were here before we were surprised by the high service level of this wonderful hotel. It definitely is one of Bali's best. The suites are gorgeous, they all have seaview and are beautifully decorated. Great service, very good breakfast buffet, all the details are allrigth: from the bottle of wine in the bucket of ice when we arrived in our room, the incense, the candles on the terrace at night, etc.
It's not typical suitable for childeren, but our kids (now 4 and 6 years old) always love it there. The staff is very friendly, there always seems so to be someone who takes them to the feed the fish or for a little walk. Nice swimming pool, body boarding at the sea. This time there actually were quiet a lot of childeren, but the hotel is also specially suitable for honeymooners and people who love their rest. Beautiful garden, stunning views, we will go back.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anna057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2010

The purpose of our trip is to interview vendors in preparing our Sep Bali wedding. So We booked a deluxe room last minute, then we got upgraded to junior suite (with balcony facing the beach) when arrived.

I LOVE Seminyak area which is great for boutique clothing shopping, hopping for trendy bar at night, nice restaurant. And you could do all these within walking distance with The Legian. Or simply a 5 -10 minutes taxi ride.

So
The " + " :
- good breakfast, nice menu, great location in Seminyak , the beach is more clean than that of the Sofitel which is down under Seminyak.
- the beach is quite too (please don't compare those in Nusa Dua which is better )
- the great balcony which you could sit outside with comfort sofa
- great services and staffs are very helpful

The "-v":
- they might need to upgrade their bathroom which is a little run down as the toilet didn't flush well which I believe they are a bit too old now
- the toilet amenities is not great, so girls, remember to bring your own

If you want shopping, convenience, dining, clubs & bars but still enjoy some nice beach and sun. This might be a good choice. If you don't want to spend that much and no need to have the beach, then you should book some boutique hotel instead of staying in this one.

E

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mycafebar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.1 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#18 of 148 in Seminyak
3,450 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#11 of 148 in Seminyak
1,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#7 of 148 in Seminyak
1,827 reviews
1.0 mi away
Double-Six Luxury Hotel Seminyak
0.7 mi away
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Legian Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Legian Bali

Address: Jl. Kayu Aya, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#1 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#1 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#7 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#8 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range: £376 - £636 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Legian Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Legian Bali is an exclusive all-suite hotel set in landscaped tropical gardens, offering unrivalled views across the Indian Ocean. Flanked by quiet beach, this luxurious property offers a unique chance to experience the magical island of Bali in a relaxed setting. Beautifully integrated within landscaped gardens and lotus ponds, The Legian Bali boasts 67 sea-facing suites plus The Beach House in an ample variety of exquisite accommodation style. Situated in a quiet enclave in Seminyak, and adjacent to the exclusive The Legian Bali, a cluster of 14 private villas stands majestically amid scented gardens and private pools. This exquisite residence that redefines luxury living in the tropics is The Club at The Legian, offering guests the ultimate in privacy, and unobtrusive, yet flawless, personalised service. The Legian Bali and The Club at The Legian present all the charms of Balinese hospitality in its personable service, customised spa treatments and alluring surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Legian Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Legian Bali Hotel Seminyak
Legian Bali Seminyak
Legian Bali Hotel Seminyak
Legian Hotel Bali
Legian Seminyak
Bali Legian
The Legian Bali Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing