We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hotel we have stayed in ......” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Legian Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Legian Bali
Ranked #8 of 141 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Best Hotel we have stayed in ......”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2010

WE stayed here for 8 days, after a week roughing it in Thailand. A stunning hotel, beautifuly laid out, lit and decorated. The Room we had had seven rooms contained in it - two bedrooms, massive bathrooms, lounge, dining area, kitchen etc. Little details are what makes this place great ..... each room had a surround sound system and they even gave us 2 fully loaded iPods. The staff are excellent and the management run this pl;ace very smoothly indeed. Nothing was too much trouble, and people seemed genuinely eager to make sure we had a good time there. highly recommended. We have stayed in nice hotels around the world, and I think this was the best so far!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GenghisandOtherOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,267
    126
    25
    10
    9
See reviews for
329
799
56
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2010

Was there for some relaxation and my wife booked the room after reading the reviews.

I must say that the staff were very attentive to little details and proactively sought out our comfort. From the arrival, taking our names, serving us the welcome drinks, to a short briefing of the facilities, everything was perfect. The rooms were very clean, and staff were always a phone call away. For example, at the swimming pool, as we arrive, the staff will provide towels as we took our seats. Even to the checkout, we asked for an extension of 2.5 hours due to the flight and we were granted it outright after checking of the availability. And this was done by the front desk staff. She had no need to ask her manager and some higher approval. Just too many details to mention, but everyone we met was friendly and there was a sense that they were very willing to assist in every way.

Overall, I would stay with the hotel again. Have traveled the world and the service ranks up there in the Tier-1 category.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leesengshun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nobby, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2010

Just got back from staying at the wonderful Legian and had a fantastic time. The Hotel is well located in Seminyak, close to many fabulous restaurants and bars. The suites in the Hotel are amazing, yes they are slightly old, but its nice to still get a quality Balinese feel rathe than the sleek modern look which is everywhere at the moment. I travel all over the world, and have never had such great service. We had the VIP meet and greet at the airport, so while others were waitng in ques, we were whisked straight through and then transported in a lovely car, with cool scented facecloths and water. On arrival into our huge suite. there was champagne and nibbles awaiting us. The staff remembered our breakfast order each day and the pool side service was great. Yes it is expensive to eat at the Hotel, but the idea is to get out and about. I highly recommend Sarong and Metis as great restaurants, and you must try the Rock Bar at the Ayana Resort. You can get a lovely massage at nearby Bodyworks. Am already planning my next trip back.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GldCstOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2010

We stayed at The Legian in Seminyak for the second part of our honeymoon trip. it was absolutely stunning, a real 5 star resort, and definitely one of the best hotels in Seminyak, if not the best. We were treated like royalty throughout our stay, the staff really couldn't do enough for us.

Our suite was immaculate and had every convenience we could think of, and some we hadn't!

There were so many great restuarants nearby to try out, that we didn't dine in much, but the resutarant menu looked delicious, and we had the occasional light lunch by the beach which was all superb.
Our suite had an outside varanda space as well, which was great for relaxing in. The pool and bars were just a short walk from our suite.

The weather was wonderful the whole tinme, but not too hot to walk around during even the hottest part of the day.

The hotel is about a 15 to 20 miunute drive to Kuta which is really worth a trip, especially for local handicrafts which was about 30% of prices quoted in the plush boutiques of Seminyak.

We loved best the real luxury of Seminyak, the hotel facilities and fabulous resaturants.
Not so great was that Seminyak is very commercialised and caters for western tourists. Expect to pay from about £40 to £50 per head for dinner at a popular high end resuatrant. The wine particularly is extraordinarily expensive. I ordered by the glass (as hubby doesn't really drink wine) and it tasted watered down to me, but still cost about £10 per glass!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sariat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2010

At last a real 5 star hotel that deserves them...Each and every one:
1*: location: ON the beach. Not by, near close to...ON the beach.
2*:service, service and service: the one you expect .Not the one you were told about in Asia but never really enjoyed.
3*:food is good. at the beach restaurant, at breakfast and for dinner. really good.
4*:rooms are vast, well equipped, neat, comfortable. so are the beds...
5*Even full, the hotel and its compounds are quiet , and amenities available for everyone!
Go, its expensive but worth each and every penny...

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Salomon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2010

The Legian is a traditional Balinese style hotel, built many yeras ago. It still has that traditional feel about it with decor and room furnishings of the 70/80's era. It is located just outside Seminyak right on the beach front. Our stay started badly as the hotel failed to pick us up at the airport as prearranged. After some phone calls and a wait of one hours we were finally transported to the hotel, but not before the car driver tried to get us to pay 350,000 RUP for the trip. We refused to pay and were still taken to the hotel. Upon checking out the hotel tried the same trick and again we refused to pay. This was because we had already prepaid prior to our arrival. Upon arrival we were greeted in a pleasant manner and shown to our deluxe one bedroom suite. The room was large with a separate bedrrom with a king size bed, living area and separte bathroom with a full size bath as well as a shower. The room also had flat screen TV, ADSL internet, DVD and ipod player. No wireless interent although wireless is available in the hotel lobby area. The staff were very polite and friendly always refferring to us by name and were available to assist with bookings etc. However they would only book tours with the hotels own arranged tours which were more substantially more expensive than local tour operators. The hotel is approx 20 min walk from the main Seminyak shopping street with stretches several kms along the main road. The out door areas were fantastic, nice gardens with a great pool, however we found the pool water too hot to be really refreshing. The beach which is right in front of the pool is great for surfers, however rips abound and the red flag was raised the entire time of our 4 day stay. This makes the hotel not really suitable for young children. Drinks service around the pool area was slow, although there was always plenty of staff around, they were slack when it came to taking orders and returning with your drinks. Eating at the hotel is expensive as are drinks and Spa services. The food at the evening meal was excellent, however the same could not be said about breakfast, which was poor for a hotel of this standard. The Legian at Seminyak is approx 20/30 minutes from Kuta by car with the hotel providing a limited shuttle bus service. Seminyak is quieter than Kuta, but it also lacks the extensive designer shops that Kuta has. Overall, we had a nice relaxing stay with the traditional feel of the hotel contributing to our relaxing stay. Our advice is eat elsewhere as there are plenty of good restaurants close by.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jacko582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2010

We stayed at the Legian for our first holiday away without our children (aged 5 and 2). The rooms were very large and included a large balcony area and internal sitting area as well as a kitchenette. The service was excellent in every way. Breakfast was included in the price of our room and you could chose from fresh fruit, asian style breakfast, baked goods/toast and a cooked breakfast which was excellent. After breakfast, we would head to the pool area where there was more than enough seating and no issue with people "bagging the best day beds" and never using them. Two large cabanas next to the pool served snacks and lunch and drinks could be ordered by the pool. All food was very reasonably priced - alcohol was expensive, but that is the case throughout much of Asia. We were very impressed with the level of security both at the entrance to the hotel and also the beach access - unless you were a guest of the hotel it was difficult to gain entry - there were two security guards at the beach entrance and also a lifeguard was posted for swimmers at the beach. We ate the majority of our dinners at the hotel - they were that good and so reasonably priced - they had a number of theme nights eg seafood barbecue and all the dinners were excellent. The hotel was well located to Seminyak, so shopping trips were just a walk or cheap cab ride away. We had a lovely time and would definitely recommend it to friends. Our only issue was the Jetstar flights too and from Bali - they were horrible, with the flight over being delayed by 18 hours!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kht7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.1 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#5 of 141 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,712 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#26 of 141 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#12 of 141 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,548 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#2 of 141 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Legian Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Legian Bali

Property: The Legian Bali
Address: Jl. Kayu Aya, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#1 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#1 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#7 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#8 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Legian Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Legian Bali is an exclusive all-suite hotel set in landscaped tropical gardens, offering unrivalled views across the Indian Ocean. Flanked by quiet beach, this luxurious property offers a unique chance to experience the magical island of Bali in a relaxed setting. Beautifully integrated within landscaped gardens and lotus ponds, The Legian Bali boasts 67 sea-facing suites plus The Beach House in an ample variety of exquisite accommodation style. Situated in a quiet enclave in Seminyak, and adjacent to the exclusive The Legian Bali, a cluster of 14 private villas stands majestically amid scented gardens and private pools. This exquisite residence that redefines luxury living in the tropics is The Club at The Legian, offering guests the ultimate in privacy, and unobtrusive, yet flawless, personalised service. The Legian Bali and The Club at The Legian present all the charms of Balinese hospitality in its personable service, customised spa treatments and alluring surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Odigeo and Hotelopia so you can book your The Legian Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Legian Bali Hotel Seminyak
Legian Bali Seminyak
Legian Bali Hotel Seminyak
Legian Hotel Bali
Legian Seminyak
Bali Legian
The Legian Bali Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing