We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A slice of heaven ... even the second time around”
Review of The Oberoi Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Oberoi Bali
Ranked #11 of 148 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2011

My husband and I first stayed at The Oberoi in July 2008 and had a fantastic time. In planning our recent trip to Bali, there was no question about where we wanted to stay ... we knew we wanted to go back to The Oberoi.

I know it can be a risk that second time around is never as good as the first, but from the moment we were greeted at the airport by the hotel representative I knew we would not be disappointed. Everything from the welcoming and super-friendly staff, to the quality and comfort of the rooms, and just the general Balinese "feel" of The Oberoi was exactly how we remembered. How can you complain when you lie by a beautiful pool surrounded by gorgeous gardens, water, sunscreen and cold towels provided, snack on your complimentary fruit skewers, sorbet and afternoon tea and sometime during the morning they've "polished" your sunglasses. After all this I even had one staff member aks me "is there anything else we can do to make you more comfortable?" ... this place is heaven. And just to remind you every now and then that you really are in Bali, a five minute walk away (or very short taxi ride) puts you in the heart of Seminyak restaurants and shops. The location is fantastic!

Sure, you can find newer and more modern places. But this hotel embodies every aspect of Balinese hospitality, rather than a bland hotel block you could stay in anywhere in the world. Two stays now that have exceeded our expectations ... we will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingGirl1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

We are delighted to note that you have again enjoyed your stay and that you were satisfied with the services rendered.

It is very encouraging for us to receive your feedback appreciating The Oberoi, Bali’s low density development of only 75 single storey thatched-roof Villas and Lanai rooms on one of the most beautiful beach front, garden estates on the island. We hope to continue to welcome and delight discerning visitors to Bali wishing to experience warm Balinese hospitality in an authentic setting.

We would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity of being of service to you during your recent visit to Bali and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali in the near future.


With kind regards,

Kamal K. Kaul
Vice President & General Manager
Email : kamal.kaul@oberoihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,737)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,215 - 1,221 of 1,737 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2011

My husband and I stayed here for the last 6 days of our honeymoon. We had just stayed in an amazing spa in northern Bali and I was worried it wasn't going to be as good. It was different (Seminyak is different!) but still excellent. We had an oceanview Lanai room which was wonderful - facing the beach, very quiet and just what we wanted. The service in the hotel from everyone was exceptional. Breakfast was fantastic, the bar area was lovely and the pool service amazing! The grounds are very well maintained and a pleasure to walk around in. We probably won't return to Bali in the near future (although it was great) but we would definitely stay in another Oberoi hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frescocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

We are pleased to note that you have enjoyed your honeymoon stay with us and that you were satisfied with the services rendered. Your detailed feedback on various service areas of the hotel is extremely useful and indeed very encouraging for my team members to keep working hard to exceed our guests’ expectations.

Myself and my entire team would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity of being of service to you during your recent visit to Bali. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you to another Oberoi Hotels & Resorts in the near future.


With kind regards,

Kamal K. Kaul
Vice President & General Manager
Email : kamal.kaul@oberoihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

Loved the oberoi. Great rooms and pool. lovely staff and excellent breakfast. Enjoyed the different fruit brought to our room each afternoon, and the breakfast had lots of healthy choices. We had breakfast in our room which was a fabulous treat (no extra charge).
Staff by the pool were friendly and would bring over cold water, face towels, cooling sprays and sunscreen.
Very romantic and relaxing gardens and only short walk/taxi into local bars and restaurants.
We didnt eat at the hotel restaurant as was over priced and too boring for us in the evenings.
Overall fantastic stay in Bali.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank princessme123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

We are pleased to note that you have enjoyed your stay and that you were satisfied with the services rendered. Your detailed feedback on the hotel’s various services is extremely useful as it will assist us in maintaining high standards of service.

Thank you for having stayed with us and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali in the near future.


With kind regards,

Kamal K. Kaul
Vice President & General Manager
Email : kamal.kaul@oberoihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

Returned to The oberoi for our second visit in six months and once again, we were thrilled to be back. We were welcomed by the staff as if we were family returning home and I must say, it was wonderful to be back. We were given the same room and were welcomed with fruit and flowers and a lovely note thanking us for returning - a lovely touch. On our last visit, we had asked for extra water to have near our beds and when we arrived in our room, the water was already next to the bed for us. The staff are friendly and so professional and NOTHING is too much trouble. The management is also friendly and available to help with anything! The rooms are comfortable Balinese style with everything one could ask for and the grounds are beautifully maintained and a pleasure to meander through. This is a property that mixes old and new with class without being pretentious and makes each guest feel special. I would recommend this Hotel to anyone who wants a tropical paradise holiday.
If nothing else, treat yourself and just go and walk through the gardens and enjoy the calm of The Oberoi.
I'm ready to go again ...... HelAustralia

Room Tip: Ask nicely and anything is possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

We are delighted to note that you have again enjoyed your stay and that you were satisfied with the services rendered.

It is very encouraging for us to receive your feedback appreciating The Oberoi, Bali’s “unchanged” low density development of only 75 Villas and Lanai rooms on one of the most beautiful beach front, garden estates on the island.

We hope to continue to welcome and delight discerning visitors to Bali wishing to experience warm Balinese hospitality in an authentic setting.

We would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity of being of service to you during your recent visit to Bali and look forward to another opportunity of welcoming you back again to The Oberoi, Bali in the near future.


With kind regards,

Kamal K. Kaul
Vice President & General Manager
Email : kamal.kaul@oberoihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

We’ve been to Bali quite a few times but always come back to The Oberoi.

The pros:
Friendly and helpful staff
Great breakfast choices
Beautiful gardens
Beachfront
Sunset views
Peaceful and quite
Only single story buildings so feels very spacious
Central location for Semiyak – next door to Ku De Ta and a short walk to La Lucciola
Spa
Gym

Cons;
The rooms need a little updating
Eating and drinking in the hotel is incredibly expensive

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luxe_Hippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

We are pleased to note that you have again enjoyed your stay and that you were satisfied with the services rendered. Your feedback is very useful as we carefully analyze all of our guest comments in order to assess the performance of each department.

We also thank you for your comments that room needs a little updating and you found that the restaurant prices to be very expensive. We regularly conduct market surveys and I would like to assure you that our prices are in line with all other international hotels in Bali. For the convenience of our guests, all our listed menu prices include 10% Service Charge and 11% Government Tax.

Thank you for having again stayed with us and we look forward to another opportunity of welcoming you back again to The Oberoi, Bali in the near future.


With kind regards,

Kamal K. Kaul
Vice President & General Manager
Email : kamal.kaul@oberoihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

This was my first trip to Bali and I was trilled to have picked this hotel. I found Oberoi on Small Luxury Hotels website. It seemed like good value, so I went for it. The hotel is not that small, though. And it exceeded my expectations. It sits on a HUGE property, has direct access to the beach. You get to enjoy your breakfast waterfront and you have the front row seat for watching sunset, which is simply breath-taking. Rooms are actually little cabanas, spread around the property the with luxurious, spa-like bathroom. We got the room at the very far side of the property at first, but they were happy to switch us so we can be closer to the pool and spa facilities. Pool is much bigger than it looked in the picture and is a great temperature. The gym is great and they even have a beach–front yoga introduction class for the newbies.
If you decide to spend your day hanging out by the pool and dip into the ocean if the waves allow it (it's great for surfers, but it can be dangerous for swimming), the staff makes sure you keep hydrated. They bring you all the water you can drink, they provide free sun-screen and the fruit-kebabs twice a day are not so bad either!
Seminyak is the place to be in Bali- it's very happening at night with great shopping and tons of outstanding restaurants (KU DE TA is just next door and it's not to be missed!) but if you're in for a more relaxing time, you can skip it all together and go to bed early. It's very close to the airport too, about 30 min, which makes a difference if you have an early flight home to catch, like we did.
However you want your Bali experience to be- romantic and relaxing, or fast(er) moving- do yourself a favor and choose Oberoi. At US$300+tax, you won't find anything quite as nice. Hope to be back soon!
P.S. You get a complimentary beach bag upon check-in: and a stylish one too. Nice!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzerSchmoozer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

We are pleased to note that you have enjoyed your stay and that you were satisfied with the services rendered. Your detailed feedback on various service areas of the hotel is extremely useful and indeed very encouraging for my team members to keep working hard to exceed our guest’s expectations.

Thank you for having stayed with us and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali in the near future.


With kind regards,

Kamal K. Kaul
Vice President & General Manager
Email : kamal.kaul@oberoihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

Wow!!! The villas and the grounds are immaculate, the service is impeccable and I fell in love with this resort! My stay here was so relaxing and I didn't want to leave. The restaurants were excellent - the ambiance and the food were wonderful! While relaxing at the resort, you would never know of the busy world of Seminyak which sits just outside - until you are ready to go shopping or sightseeing, that is... This resort is absolutely beautiful and all of the staff do an excellent job in pushing this resort over the edge with their extra special touch, thereby justifying the Oberoi's 5 star rating and then some... It is truly a GEM.

Room Tip: The ocean view villas are breathtakingly beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 5iveStarGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay and that you were satisfied with the services rendered. Your detailed feedback on various service areas of the hotel is extremely useful and indeed very encouraging for my team members to keep working hard to continue to exceed our guest’s expectations with their genuinely warm Balinese hospitality.

We would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity of being of service to you during your recent visit to Bali and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali in the near future.


With kind regards,

Kamal K. Kaul
Vice President & General Manager
Email : kamal.kaul@oberoihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seminyak
0.2 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#19 of 148 in Seminyak
3,572 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#8 of 148 in Seminyak
1,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#7 of 148 in Seminyak
1,839 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#1 of 148 in Seminyak
774 reviews
9.8 mi away
The St. Regis Bali Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Bali

Address: Jl. Kayu Aya, Seminyak 80033, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#4 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#5 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#9 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#11 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range: £237 - £366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Travelbag, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Oberoi Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Bali Hotel Seminyak
Oberoi Hotel Bali
Oberoi Hotel Seminyak
Oberoi Bali
Oberoi Seminyak
Seminyak Oberoi
The Oberoi Bali Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing