We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Honeymoon Perfection”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Oberoi Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Oberoi Bali
Ranked #11 of 143 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Honeymoon Perfection”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

We were very pleased with our stay at the Oberoi Hotel in Semniyak in late March of 2011. It was our honeymoon, and we wanted to be spoiled, but still kept a practical mind about dishing out the dough. The Oberoi was less expensive than the other luxury properties on our list for Bali, but we did not notice any skimping on the pampering. The room was clean, we had ample privacy from our neighbors and the employees were polite and catered to our needs. We requested the complimentary daily fruit serving contained mangosteen and we were not dissapointed! This property is right next door to Ku De Ta for sunset drinks, but we often preferred to stay at the hotel for thier evening tea service. The beach front is typical for Bali...no white sand beaches here, and the north end of the beach had street runoff into the ocean, so mind the water on a rainy day. But all in all, we had a great stay at the Oberoi and would recommend it to any friends wanting luxurious seclusion among the hubub of Bali's busy streets.

Room Tip: Expedia's rates were lower than the hotel website
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phangie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,310
    179
    56
    16
    8
See reviews for
267
945
65
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

Great room, pool, location and food was supplemented by considerate and courteous staff. The best service I have ever received from each and everyone of the staff made our honeymoon stay truly memorable.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, 24 August 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

We are pleased to note that you have enjoyed your honeymoon stay with us and that you were satisfied with the services rendered.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali in the near future.


With kind regards,

Kamal K. Kaul
Vice President & General Manager
Email : kamal.kaul@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

We have been in the Oberoi of Seminyak for a week.
The setting and the atmosphere of the Hotel is really nice, the pool and the beach too. Service at the pool is top class.
Breakfasts are not good for a 5 star, the waiting is far too long and the food is not good. If they cannot do it why don't they choose a Buffet style? Unfortunately this is not the last bad point because what really annoyed me during this stay is the quality of sleeping.
First the rooms are clearly outdated, they smell, they are dark and the beds are much too high.
On top of this, you better ask for a room not too far from reception because there is music going on every night!
A pity this wonderful setting is not up to the standard of Oberoi.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jeanadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, 25 August 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to The Oberoi, Bali. Your feedback is important as we carefully analyze all guest comments to identify opportunities of improving our services and facilities.

We have taken note of your comments that you found the room assigned to you was not satisfactory as you found it too dark, far away from the Reception and you could hear music at night from outside night clubs. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience.

The interior design of our bed rooms follows a distinctly Balinese theme with teak wood and rattan furniture and Balinese artworks. The marble bathrooms fitted with up to date fixtures are set in a private bathroom garden for natural light. While rooms offer all modern amenities, they are deliberately not contemporary in design.

The Oberoi, Bali is set in 60,000m² of beautifully landscaped tropical gardens with over 500 major trees. Our 30 single storey thatched roof Villas and Lanai Cottages are spread throughout this parkland setting, which is the main attraction in our hotel as opposed to the concrete multi-storey buildings elsewhere. Out of 74 Villas and Cottages, only 16 Lanai rooms are located near the main pool and Restaurant and during busy periods, you will appreciate these are not always available. Moreover, many of our guests do prefer rooms away from main area for added privacy.

We would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity of being of service to you during your recent visit to Bali and look forward to welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali in the near future.


With kind regards,

Kamal K. Kaul
Vice President & General Manager
Email : kamal.kaul@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

Eight years later (after our honeymoon in 2003) we wanted to return to this resort where we spent such a great time. The hotel is worth every dollar you pay. The customer service, the attention you get and every single detail (and they do have a lot with their clients). The pool in front of the sea where you can enjoy wonderful sunsets, the food, the SPA, the staff, everything is top quality. As a comparison, in Bali we also stayed at The Four Seasons Sayan (Ubud), an incredibly expensive hotel considering what you get (and they charge you ridiculous prices for absolutely everything).

We definitely recommend the Oberoi Bali and we will surely come back!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SilviaAdolfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, 24 August 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed your second stay with us after eight years and that you were satisfied with the services rendered. On behalf of my entire team, I would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity to being of service to you during your visit to Bali.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali in the near future.


With kind regards,

Kamal K. Kaul
Vice President & General Manager
Email : kamal.kaul@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

We visited the Oberoi in Bali for 6 nights for our honeymoon and had an amazing time. Its expensive but worth every penny. The resort is in a great location, the rooms are lovely, the food is great. But really it is the staff who make the difference. They are incredible, very helpful and pleasant without being overbearing. Nothing is too much trouble for them. Many hotels would do well to visit the Oberoi and understand what real 5 star customer service is all about. We have very fond memories of our trip to the Oberoi and would certainly recommend. Some day we hope to return : )

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank odowda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, 12 August 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed your honeymoon stay and that you were satisfied with the services rendered. Your feedback is very encouraging for my entire team
who will keep working hard to continue to exceed our guest’s expectations with their
genuinely warm Balinese hospitality.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali in the near
future.


With kind regards,

Kamal K. Kaul
Vice President & General Manager
Email : kamal.kaul@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
188 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

The hotel is old Bali. If you are interested in modern and sleek, then move on to the W or elsewhere. If you want charm and exoticism that represent the hotels long history, this is the hotel for you.

This property is huge and beachfront. They keep the cheap umbrella stands off the beach in front of the hotel (pay them off?) and the views are wonderful. You can choose to sit near the pool or over to the side beachfront. The service and pool/beach time is just superb and relaxing. Screaming children were at a minimum, though there were a few. I would think this hotel would be better for couples without children.

The staff were always friendly and helpful, and even grounds keepers are instructed to greet you! Every person we came in contact with did a perfect job. Nothing was too much for them.

The daily fruit refreshments and afternoon tea were ideal to make the relaxation complete. I like how the hotel sponsors local child artists to perform/practice with their teacher in the afternoon tea time.

Breakfast was wonderful, though pricey.

The room is lovely, but I have a few complaints. I've decided I don't like the beds. They are hard to get in and out of, though comfortable and traditional. Also, there was a small problem with the shower splattering water around the bathroom, but that could be solved easily enough if the hotel will take my advice. The sofa in the lounge area is uncomfortable. Mind you, even with these flaws, I am still a fan of the hotel and recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tokyo Shirokuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, 24 August 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay and that you were satisfied with the services rendered. Your detailed feedback on various service areas of the hotel is appreciated as it will assist us in further improving our standard of service and facilities.

We also thank you for your comment that you found the bed was uncomfortable. Our bed design is based on typical Balinese beds, which are higher than usual beds. Foot stools are provided on request. We will most definitely look into improving the bed design to ensure the best overall guest experience.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali in the near future.


With kind regards,

Kamal K. Kaul
Vice President & General Manager
Email : kamal.kaul@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

This was our second visit and we will come back soon! We took a villa with swimming pool at the beach. It was heaven! What I like most about this place is the fact that you experience luxury in a very relaxed environment. The villas are in typical Bali style, with a good distance between eachother, providing real privacy.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, 10 August 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

We are pleased to note that you have enjoyed your stay and that you were satisfied with the services rendered.

Thank you for having stayed with us and we look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali in the near future.


With kind regards,

Kamal K. Kaul
Vice President & General Manager
Email : kamal.kaul@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.2 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#7 of 143 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#5 of 143 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#25 of 143 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,092 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alila Seminyak
Alila Seminyak
#26 of 143 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Bali

Property: The Oberoi Bali
Address: Seminyak Beach, Jl. Kayu Aya, Seminyak 80033, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#4 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#5 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#10 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#11 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Destinology, Odigeo, Holiday Gems, Agoda, Booking.com, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oberoi Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Bali Hotel Seminyak
Oberoi Hotel Bali
Oberoi Hotel Seminyak
Oberoi Bali
Oberoi Seminyak
Seminyak Oberoi
The Oberoi Bali Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing