We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STUNNING!!!”
Review of The Oberoi Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Oberoi Bali
Ranked #11 of 148 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2011

The Oberoi Bali is upscale and simply beautiful. The location is amazing. The beach in front of the hotel is very clean. The service is always with a smile. Great food! I loved this place. Highly recommend.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
Thank travel2destination
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

We are pleased to note that you have enjoyed your stay and that you were satisfied with the services rendered.

Thank you for having stayed with us and we look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali in the near future.



With kind regards,

Kamal K. Kaul
Vice President & General Manager
Email : kamal.kaul@oberoihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,717)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,177 - 1,183 of 1,717 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2011

Always heard about Bali from acquaintances but never thought it would be so beautiful!
The hotel is about half hour away from the airport and the drive is exciting with so many sites. I love the Hindu influence in the temples and the architecture. Makes me feel more in touch with the richness of the culture which shares common roots with our India.

The hotel is located In seminiyak which is a very popular area with night clubs and shares the wall with a very upmarket beach club and bar - kudeta!!!

The rooms are beautiful lanai's and the smell of Frangipani is all around- I have been told these flowers are synonymous with the Balinese hospitality.

Food is very good and I had the opportunity to interact with the chef who is very hospitable and did go out of his way to make our dinners special! Cuisine ranges from Thai, Indonesian, Indian , Italian and continental.

Very well equipped gym and the spa

Please do stay here as this one is a mix of baliese and Indian hospitality!!!

Room Tip: TAke the rooms away from the sea for privacy as people need to cross your lanai
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Delhigirl8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay and that you were satisfied with the services rendered.

We thank you for having stayed with us during your recent visit to Bali and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali in the near future.

With kind regards,

Kamal K. Kaul
Vice President & General Manager
Email : kamal.kaul@oberoihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Humph now I am trying to think of negatives because otherwise I'll sound like I own the place - but there are only three....we walked in off the beach to find out about availabilty - as we always tend to book on arrival and our greeting by the man behind the desk was nothing if not snooty - he felt like he would have done 'anything' to keep us out (clearly not his cup of tea) - luckily we were desperate and loved the place instantly so we overlooked his attitude and are extremely glad we did - because actually he was only member of staff we met that was like that (we didn't even see him again) and all the staff were ultra friendly - once you get through the door!

The second negative - is that the beds in the villas are unusually high up - so much so you have to use a step to get into bed - but annoyingly there is a wooden sort of shelf thing around the bed that you have to kneel on to get in and I kept hurting myself on it - especially in the middle of the night - I'm still not sure why they were there.

And finally, and the worse thing is - you have to leave and go home... it's three days later and I'm stil gutted.

On to the hotel... it has wonderful grounds and communial areas, really nicely thought out, has a kind of faux Indiana Jones touch without being cheesy - loads of space to just find your own spot - either on the finely raked beach (that hawkers can't approach, or around the pool, in a hammock, on your terrace, by your own pool, flying a kite, sitting by the pond, lounge bars, outdoor restaurant - whatever is your thing it has space - so it rarely feels crowded.

We stayed in a variety of rooms because we booked late and kept extending and took what we could, so we stayed in the villa with private pool, seaview villa with seaview, and delux room with sea views and another one I can't remember - but each was absolutely charming and had it's own USP - I loved having my own pool obviously but the villa without one had such a huge and beautiful garden area it was just as lovely to hang out in - and the beach front rooms were cheaper but had lovely, proper views and were still thoughtfully designed (and didn't have the bed issue) and had a nice private seating area... so it's done to budget I guess - I actually quite liked moving rooms too.

We had breakfast in our room everyday and loved our own elevated alfresco dining area in the villas - lovely to sit surround by trees and birds and friendly squirrels. Breakfast was included in our deal (or it might have worked out quite pricey) and there was a wonderful choice of cooked and non cooked, asian, european - everything you could want served at your own dining table - really felt like being spoilt - as did everything in fact. While sun-bathing you were brought compliementary ice-cold towels, fruit skewers, sorbets, sun-cream, iced rose-water face spritzers, pillows - you name it they made sunbathing feel like a luxury.

The food standard was high - beautifully served although we ate out every evening because there are so many wonderful restaurants and bars in the area - also it was nice to get out every now and again as the hotel sort of lures to stay in its confines with all it's comfort - that could be a negatives - and in some other luxury hotels I've stayed in has become quite claustrophobic and expensive - but because there is so much to do in the area you can easily escape and do your own thing.

However if you do tire of the sunken baths, complimetary products coming out your ears, silk dressing gowns, choice of pillows, huge rooms, wonderful grounds, complimentary afternoon tea and cakes, yummy cocktails and a variety of entertainment, bats, birds, turtle hatchery, free body-boarding, spa, little inconspicious and reasonably-priced boutique, free internet - then you are a mere quick dash across hot sand to the sea... which for my taste was a bit too rough - great to watch and hang around in the foam - but the 3/4 metre waves are just too scary for me - but my husband loved surfing and hurling himself about in them - do watch the warning flags though as there is a nasty current.

The beach is surprisingly quiet and really clean - the odd horse, couples ambling by and a couple of nice massage ladies (at a fiver - I had one every day) and beer, kite and trinket sellers - all who stay out your face if you don't want to be bothered

The hotel pool was a bit boring so you should get on to the beach but I'm not a sitting round the pool kinda girl - and others seemed to like it.

Erm - what can I say - I want to go back next year - I'm definately a huge Oberoi fan now and want to check out the one on Lombok.

Do check out the area - Ku da ta (the hotel suggest not walking along the beach to it - though heaven knows why - it's a stone's throw - maybe worried you won't come back) is an expensive upmarket lounge bar - that gets crazily busy around sunset - but worth a visit, The Living Room is another upmarket restaurant within walking distance - twinkly lights in the garden and expensive but nice food - I would go to ultimo for really, really good food at a really reasonable price - but get the hotel to book as the queue is round the block. Visit lombok, Ubud - but the main Gili Island was too crowded for our tastes.

If money is an issue still stay here but save on cabs and use Bluebird taxis - cheaper than hotel cars and really good, buy beers/soft drink out and put them in your fridge, bring two litres of spirits from duty free (very, very expensive everywhere) and make your own cocktails, get massages on the beach and not the spa, and eat out.

But whatever you do - stay at least a night here - you really wont regret it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iloveglamping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

We are pleased to note that you have enjoyed your stay and that you were generally satisfied with the services rendered.

We also thank you for your comments that you found the wooden bed frame made it difficult to get in and out of bed and that the restaurant service was slow. We will most definitely look into your comments to ensure the best overall guest experience and to further improve our service and facilities.

We are also pleased that you found The Oberoi, Bali’s location with direct 440 metres frontage of Seminyak beach ideal for your vacation and within walking distance of several good quality independent restaurants and bars in nearby Seminyak area.

Looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali in the near future.

With kind regards,

Kamal K. Kaul
Vice President & General Manager
Email : kamal.kaul@oberoihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We stayed here for our honeymoon and was very pleased. It was $$$$ but worth the experience. Our Liani/bungalow was fantastic! The bathroom was clean and spacious, bed comfortable and plenty of space to relax without feeling enclosed like you can in hotel rooms. They double booked our room on our last day so were upgraded to a bungalow that had a private pool and beach views it was AMAZING! I would hate to think how much it cost to stay in there but they upgraded us for free. Our room service bill at the end of our stay was very reasonable. The best thing about this hotel is that as soon as you enter the grounds which are huge, it is suddenly quiet and the honking and busy sounds are forgotten. It is also in walking distance to very nice restaurants.
The worst parts about this hotel was the breakfast which we paid $50USD per day but after the first morning chose to eat in restaurants. Dont bother getting a breakfast package with your accommodation. The Oberoi seems to attract a certain calibre of guests which adds to the tranquil feel. The main pool is average but who needs that if you have your own private one!

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jansen85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

We are pleased to note that you have enjoyed your honeymoon stay with us and that you were satisfied with the services rendered in both a Lanai room and a Villa with private swimming pool. We are grateful for your affirmation of the hotel’s beachfront spacious private tropical garden setting, dotted with single storey thatched roof 60 Lanai rooms and 14 Villas (9 with private swimming pools), inspired by authentic Balinese architecture.

We have taken note of your comment regarding Breakfast price of US$ 50 for two persons, which you had found to be high. All our menu prices include 21% tax and service charge for the convenience of our guests.

We would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity of being of service to you during your recent visit to Bali and look forward to welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali in the near future.


With kind regards,

Kamal K. Kaul
Vice President & General Manager
Email : kamal.kaul@oberoihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We were very pleased with our stay at the Oberoi Hotel in Semniyak in late March of 2011. It was our honeymoon, and we wanted to be spoiled, but still kept a practical mind about dishing out the dough. The Oberoi was less expensive than the other luxury properties on our list for Bali, but we did not notice any skimping on the pampering. The room was clean, we had ample privacy from our neighbors and the employees were polite and catered to our needs. We requested the complimentary daily fruit serving contained mangosteen and we were not dissapointed! This property is right next door to Ku De Ta for sunset drinks, but we often preferred to stay at the hotel for thier evening tea service. The beach front is typical for Bali...no white sand beaches here, and the north end of the beach had street runoff into the ocean, so mind the water on a rainy day. But all in all, we had a great stay at the Oberoi and would recommend it to any friends wanting luxurious seclusion among the hubub of Bali's busy streets.

Room Tip: Expedia's rates were lower than the hotel website
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phangie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Great room, pool, location and food was supplemented by considerate and courteous staff. The best service I have ever received from each and everyone of the staff made our honeymoon stay truly memorable.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

We are pleased to note that you have enjoyed your honeymoon stay with us and that you were satisfied with the services rendered.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali in the near future.


With kind regards,

Kamal K. Kaul
Vice President & General Manager
Email : kamal.kaul@oberoihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We have been in the Oberoi of Seminyak for a week.
The setting and the atmosphere of the Hotel is really nice, the pool and the beach too. Service at the pool is top class.
Breakfasts are not good for a 5 star, the waiting is far too long and the food is not good. If they cannot do it why don't they choose a Buffet style? Unfortunately this is not the last bad point because what really annoyed me during this stay is the quality of sleeping.
First the rooms are clearly outdated, they smell, they are dark and the beds are much too high.
On top of this, you better ask for a room not too far from reception because there is music going on every night!
A pity this wonderful setting is not up to the standard of Oberoi.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jeanadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to The Oberoi, Bali. Your feedback is important as we carefully analyze all guest comments to identify opportunities of improving our services and facilities.

We have taken note of your comments that you found the room assigned to you was not satisfactory as you found it too dark, far away from the Reception and you could hear music at night from outside night clubs. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience.

The interior design of our bed rooms follows a distinctly Balinese theme with teak wood and rattan furniture and Balinese artworks. The marble bathrooms fitted with up to date fixtures are set in a private bathroom garden for natural light. While rooms offer all modern amenities, they are deliberately not contemporary in design.

The Oberoi, Bali is set in 60,000m² of beautifully landscaped tropical gardens with over 500 major trees. Our 30 single storey thatched roof Villas and Lanai Cottages are spread throughout this parkland setting, which is the main attraction in our hotel as opposed to the concrete multi-storey buildings elsewhere. Out of 74 Villas and Cottages, only 16 Lanai rooms are located near the main pool and Restaurant and during busy periods, you will appreciate these are not always available. Moreover, many of our guests do prefer rooms away from main area for added privacy.

We would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity of being of service to you during your recent visit to Bali and look forward to welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali in the near future.


With kind regards,

Kamal K. Kaul
Vice President & General Manager
Email : kamal.kaul@oberoihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.2 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#4 of 148 in Seminyak
1,604 reviews
0.9 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#19 of 148 in Seminyak
3,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#6 of 148 in Seminyak
1,834 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#1 of 148 in Seminyak
761 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Bali

Address: Jl. Kayu Aya, Seminyak 80033, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#4 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#5 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#9 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#11 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range: £232 - £413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Oberoi Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Bali Hotel Seminyak
Oberoi Hotel Bali
Oberoi Hotel Seminyak
Oberoi Bali
Oberoi Seminyak
Seminyak Oberoi
The Oberoi Bali Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing