We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel with very friendly staff.”
Review of The Oberoi Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Oberoi Bali
Ranked #9 of 143 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel with very friendly staff.”
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Very nice hotel where all the rooms are in villas or parts of villas rather than one building. One thing for me was that I thought the rooms were very nice but a bit old fashioned. Staff were very friendly and helpful which seems to be quite common in Bali. Don't think Seminyak beach is the prettiest in the world and the waves are more suited to surfers than swimmers. Quite a few dogs and horses on the beach but would definitely recommend riding one at sunset (a horse that is!). Trendy Ku De Ta bar and restaurant just next door which is expensive but very nice. Coming from the UK, Bali seemed very expensive especially the wine.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martiantourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,339
    181
    56
    16
    8
See reviews for
272
962
66
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

We spent 3 nights here after spending time in the north of the island, The Spa Village - amazing, and then Ubud which we loved. This area is certainly not the most cultural, it is by far the most commercialised area on the island, but The Oberoi is an oasis within Seminyak. The hotel and service really cannot be faulted. We loved the little touches such as the sorbet and fruit kebabs delivered around the pool and the afternoon tea at 3 which we enjoyed every day. The room was great with lovely toiletries and as we were celebrating our silver wedding we returned to our room one night to find a beautiful cake and countless little gifts including a teddy bear and a love poem. The breakfast venue has amazing views which would have deterred us from eating in our room and do try the croque monsieur on the breakfast menu, it was delicious. We didn't have dinner in the restaurant but would highly recommend The Junction, Mykonos and Ultimo.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky_993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

We are pleased to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us to celebrate your special silver wedding anniversary and that you were satisfied with the attentive services rendered by our Balinese staff.

Thank you for having stayed with us and we look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali in the near future.


With kind regards,

Kamal K. Kaul
Vice President & General Manager
Email : kamal.kaul@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We live in south east Asia and we have stayed in many beautiful resorts of the region. The Oberoi in Bali is certainly on the top of the resort experiences we had so far. Service notably is amazingly careful to every need of the clientele. The luxury villas and the garden are so tasteful. The serenity and the calm of the resort are surprising when you know how busy it is otherwise in Seminyak and Legian... We read from trustful sources that the Oberoi in Bali was one of the best resorts in the world since 1971 and were a little bit skeptical but we were happily surprised to realise that it was fully deserved! A real treat, perfect for honeymooners or any couple for a romantic escape.

Room Tip: Luxury villas!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

We are pleased to note that you have enjoyed your stay and that you were satisfied with the services rendered.

I have shared your compliments with my entire team in the hotel. It will encourage them to keep working with the genuine and warm Balinese spirit of hospitality.

Thank you for having stayed with us and we look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali in the near future.


With kind regards,

Kamal K. Kaul
Vice President & General Manager
Email : kamal.kaul@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

The Oberoi Bali is upscale and simply beautiful. The location is amazing. The beach in front of the hotel is very clean. The service is always with a smile. Great food! I loved this place. Highly recommend.

Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank travel2destination
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, 7 September 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

We are pleased to note that you have enjoyed your stay and that you were satisfied with the services rendered.

Thank you for having stayed with us and we look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali in the near future.



With kind regards,

Kamal K. Kaul
Vice President & General Manager
Email : kamal.kaul@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Always heard about Bali from acquaintances but never thought it would be so beautiful!
The hotel is about half hour away from the airport and the drive is exciting with so many sites. I love the Hindu influence in the temples and the architecture. Makes me feel more in touch with the richness of the culture which shares common roots with our India.

The hotel is located In seminiyak which is a very popular area with night clubs and shares the wall with a very upmarket beach club and bar - kudeta!!!

The rooms are beautiful lanai's and the smell of Frangipani is all around- I have been told these flowers are synonymous with the Balinese hospitality.

Food is very good and I had the opportunity to interact with the chef who is very hospitable and did go out of his way to make our dinners special! Cuisine ranges from Thai, Indonesian, Indian , Italian and continental.

Very well equipped gym and the spa

Please do stay here as this one is a mix of baliese and Indian hospitality!!!

Room Tip: TAke the rooms away from the sea for privacy as people need to cross your lanai
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delhigirl8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, 1 September 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay and that you were satisfied with the services rendered.

We thank you for having stayed with us during your recent visit to Bali and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali in the near future.

With kind regards,

Kamal K. Kaul
Vice President & General Manager
Email : kamal.kaul@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Humph now I am trying to think of negatives because otherwise I'll sound like I own the place - but there are only three....we walked in off the beach to find out about availabilty - as we always tend to book on arrival and our greeting by the man behind the desk was nothing if not snooty - he felt like he would have done 'anything' to keep us out (clearly not his cup of tea) - luckily we were desperate and loved the place instantly so we overlooked his attitude and are extremely glad we did - because actually he was only member of staff we met that was like that (we didn't even see him again) and all the staff were ultra friendly - once you get through the door!

The second negative - is that the beds in the villas are unusually high up - so much so you have to use a step to get into bed - but annoyingly there is a wooden sort of shelf thing around the bed that you have to kneel on to get in and I kept hurting myself on it - especially in the middle of the night - I'm still not sure why they were there.

And finally, and the worse thing is - you have to leave and go home... it's three days later and I'm stil gutted.

On to the hotel... it has wonderful grounds and communial areas, really nicely thought out, has a kind of faux Indiana Jones touch without being cheesy - loads of space to just find your own spot - either on the finely raked beach (that hawkers can't approach, or around the pool, in a hammock, on your terrace, by your own pool, flying a kite, sitting by the pond, lounge bars, outdoor restaurant - whatever is your thing it has space - so it rarely feels crowded.

We stayed in a variety of rooms because we booked late and kept extending and took what we could, so we stayed in the villa with private pool, seaview villa with seaview, and delux room with sea views and another one I can't remember - but each was absolutely charming and had it's own USP - I loved having my own pool obviously but the villa without one had such a huge and beautiful garden area it was just as lovely to hang out in - and the beach front rooms were cheaper but had lovely, proper views and were still thoughtfully designed (and didn't have the bed issue) and had a nice private seating area... so it's done to budget I guess - I actually quite liked moving rooms too.

We had breakfast in our room everyday and loved our own elevated alfresco dining area in the villas - lovely to sit surround by trees and birds and friendly squirrels. Breakfast was included in our deal (or it might have worked out quite pricey) and there was a wonderful choice of cooked and non cooked, asian, european - everything you could want served at your own dining table - really felt like being spoilt - as did everything in fact. While sun-bathing you were brought compliementary ice-cold towels, fruit skewers, sorbets, sun-cream, iced rose-water face spritzers, pillows - you name it they made sunbathing feel like a luxury.

The food standard was high - beautifully served although we ate out every evening because there are so many wonderful restaurants and bars in the area - also it was nice to get out every now and again as the hotel sort of lures to stay in its confines with all it's comfort - that could be a negatives - and in some other luxury hotels I've stayed in has become quite claustrophobic and expensive - but because there is so much to do in the area you can easily escape and do your own thing.

However if you do tire of the sunken baths, complimetary products coming out your ears, silk dressing gowns, choice of pillows, huge rooms, wonderful grounds, complimentary afternoon tea and cakes, yummy cocktails and a variety of entertainment, bats, birds, turtle hatchery, free body-boarding, spa, little inconspicious and reasonably-priced boutique, free internet - then you are a mere quick dash across hot sand to the sea... which for my taste was a bit too rough - great to watch and hang around in the foam - but the 3/4 metre waves are just too scary for me - but my husband loved surfing and hurling himself about in them - do watch the warning flags though as there is a nasty current.

The beach is surprisingly quiet and really clean - the odd horse, couples ambling by and a couple of nice massage ladies (at a fiver - I had one every day) and beer, kite and trinket sellers - all who stay out your face if you don't want to be bothered

The hotel pool was a bit boring so you should get on to the beach but I'm not a sitting round the pool kinda girl - and others seemed to like it.

Erm - what can I say - I want to go back next year - I'm definately a huge Oberoi fan now and want to check out the one on Lombok.

Do check out the area - Ku da ta (the hotel suggest not walking along the beach to it - though heaven knows why - it's a stone's throw - maybe worried you won't come back) is an expensive upmarket lounge bar - that gets crazily busy around sunset - but worth a visit, The Living Room is another upmarket restaurant within walking distance - twinkly lights in the garden and expensive but nice food - I would go to ultimo for really, really good food at a really reasonable price - but get the hotel to book as the queue is round the block. Visit lombok, Ubud - but the main Gili Island was too crowded for our tastes.

If money is an issue still stay here but save on cabs and use Bluebird taxis - cheaper than hotel cars and really good, buy beers/soft drink out and put them in your fridge, bring two litres of spirits from duty free (very, very expensive everywhere) and make your own cocktails, get massages on the beach and not the spa, and eat out.

But whatever you do - stay at least a night here - you really wont regret it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iloveglamping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, 1 September 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

We are pleased to note that you have enjoyed your stay and that you were generally satisfied with the services rendered.

We also thank you for your comments that you found the wooden bed frame made it difficult to get in and out of bed and that the restaurant service was slow. We will most definitely look into your comments to ensure the best overall guest experience and to further improve our service and facilities.

We are also pleased that you found The Oberoi, Bali’s location with direct 440 metres frontage of Seminyak beach ideal for your vacation and within walking distance of several good quality independent restaurants and bars in nearby Seminyak area.

Looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali in the near future.

With kind regards,

Kamal K. Kaul
Vice President & General Manager
Email : kamal.kaul@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We stayed here for our honeymoon and was very pleased. It was $$$$ but worth the experience. Our Liani/bungalow was fantastic! The bathroom was clean and spacious, bed comfortable and plenty of space to relax without feeling enclosed like you can in hotel rooms. They double booked our room on our last day so were upgraded to a bungalow that had a private pool and beach views it was AMAZING! I would hate to think how much it cost to stay in there but they upgraded us for free. Our room service bill at the end of our stay was very reasonable. The best thing about this hotel is that as soon as you enter the grounds which are huge, it is suddenly quiet and the honking and busy sounds are forgotten. It is also in walking distance to very nice restaurants.
The worst parts about this hotel was the breakfast which we paid $50USD per day but after the first morning chose to eat in restaurants. Dont bother getting a breakfast package with your accommodation. The Oberoi seems to attract a certain calibre of guests which adds to the tranquil feel. The main pool is average but who needs that if you have your own private one!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jansen85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, 25 August 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

We are pleased to note that you have enjoyed your honeymoon stay with us and that you were satisfied with the services rendered in both a Lanai room and a Villa with private swimming pool. We are grateful for your affirmation of the hotel’s beachfront spacious private tropical garden setting, dotted with single storey thatched roof 60 Lanai rooms and 14 Villas (9 with private swimming pools), inspired by authentic Balinese architecture.

We have taken note of your comment regarding Breakfast price of US$ 50 for two persons, which you had found to be high. All our menu prices include 21% tax and service charge for the convenience of our guests.

We would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity of being of service to you during your recent visit to Bali and look forward to welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali in the near future.


With kind regards,

Kamal K. Kaul
Vice President & General Manager
Email : kamal.kaul@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.4 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#7 of 143 in Seminyak
1,494 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#19 of 143 in Seminyak
3,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#4 of 143 in Seminyak
1,754 reviews
0.6 mi away
Double-Six Luxury Hotel Seminyak
0.7 mi away
Alila Seminyak
Alila Seminyak
#23 of 143 in Seminyak
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Bali

Property: The Oberoi Bali
Address: Seminyak Beach, Jl. Kayu Aya, Seminyak 80033, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#4 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#5 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#8 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#9 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Travelbag, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Oberoi Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Bali Hotel Seminyak
Oberoi Hotel Bali
Oberoi Hotel Seminyak
Oberoi Bali
Oberoi Seminyak
Seminyak Oberoi
The Oberoi Bali Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing