We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treated like royalty, what a idyllic place”
Review of The Oberoi Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Oberoi Bali
Ranked #9 of 145 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Treated like royalty, what a idyllic place”
Reviewed 30 September 2011

We stayed at the Oberoi in Sep 2011. What a wonderful, blissful, amazing place! I cannot praise it highly enough. From the moment we arrived, we were treated like royalty. Within a few minutes, the stress accumulated during the year had disappeared. The location is perfect, set in it's own private (immaculate) lanscaped gardens but just a few minutes walk from the bustle of Seminyak. The staff were the happiest most welcoming people I have ever had the pleasure of meeting. They made us feel welcome and very special. The room, or more appropriately, Lannai, was wonderful. It was spacious, comfortable and the staff had added numerous little touches. The Lannai was topped up each day with fresh flowers, fresh fruit and ice and the smell of Jasmine was always there. The bath, well, who wouldnt like a sunken stone bath? The two restaurants were top notch and served fresh, high quality and interesting food. Kura Kura, the a la carte restaurant, served the most fabulous seafood and the desserts were to die for. The pool and beach areas were beautfully kept and the staff were superb. When you first arrive at your chosen sunlunger you are served fresh water, a cold face towel, a face mist made with Frangipani water and a flag for you to wave for assistance, should you need any i.e. more water, food etc. The bar was very relaxing and we usually managed to bag a sea view seat. The cocktails were delicious and I did partake in a few..... We did venture out and had a great time but always returned looking forward to the tranquility of the hotel. During our stay we also took advantage of the spa facilities. Again, the experience was of the highest quality and we came back from our treatments even more relaxed than before. This is the one holiday where I was almost in tears leaving the hotel and also boarding the flight in Denpasar. We will be back in Bali, hopefully very soon.... and I couldnt imagine staying anywhere else but at the Oberoi.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EGBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, 6 October 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to The Oberoi, Bali

We are pleased to note that you have enjoyed your stay and that you were satisfied with the services rendered by my team of warm and welcoming Balinese staff. Your feedback is greatly appreciated that you found The Oberoi, Bali’s tranquil beachfront garden setting was perfect for de-stressing and the location to be very private yet close to the numerous independent restaurants in Seminyak.

I have shared your compliments with my entire team in the hotel. It will encourage them to keep working with the genuine and warm Balinese spirit of hospitality.

Thank you for having stayed with us and we look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali in the near future.


With kind regards,

Kamal K. Kaul
Vice President & General Manager
Email : kamal.kaul@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,357
    183
    56
    16
    9
See reviews for
277
975
67
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
United kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

We stayed at the Oberoi for 10 days as part of our honeymoon. We used the express visa service and hotel limo service. From the moment we landed at the airport, the oberoi started our honeymoon. We were greeted and in minutes were through visa/customs and in our luxuary car with water and warm face cloth and were on our way to the oberoi. Throughout our stay the service from the hotel staff (all of them) was different class! Everyone of them gave us nothing but first class service. Whether is be getting your sunglasses cleaned, fruit at the pool, fresh water upon request, or a drink at the bar, every member of staff gave grade 'A' service. I had read reviews about the oberoi before i went and was slightly concerned by reading some of the negative ones. In response i would say that the rooms are defnately not tired or 70's in style! They are traditional Balinese and are beautiful. Some people had complained about the food prices and yes i would agree that the food is very expensive, however the restaurants in Seminyak are great (apart from Tratorria - dont go!). We walked into the town most nights for dinner as we did not want to be too secluded all the time and wanted to taste some traditional balinese food. We hired a driver for the day who took us round the island for £50 which was cheap as he drove us all day and told us all about Bali. The beach in front of the hotel is lovely. I dont understand how anyone could reallycomplain about this hotel as its perfect! We thank all the staff for a wonderful stay and if we were ever returning to Bali we would book here!!

Thank you

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrismck1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, 6 October 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed your honeymoon stay and that you were satisfied with the “good old-fashioned” services rendered by our friendly Balinese staff. I have shared your compliments with my entire team in the hotel. It will encourage them to keep working with the genuine and warm Balinese spirit of hospitality.

We also thank you for your comments that you found our food prices to be expensive. Due to different operating cost structures, the menu prices at some independent restaurants in neighbouring Seminyak could be lower than our hotel.

A wide variety of dining options in Seminyak area is a big attraction for our hotel guests, who enjoy the choice of top quality fine dining at The Oberoi, Bali, and dining at nearby restaurants, within walking distance from the hotel. I would like to assure you that we regularly conduct market surveys and our prices are in line with other international hotels on the island of Bali.

Thank you for having stayed with us and we look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali in the near future.


With kind regards,

Kamal K. Kaul
Vice President & General Manager
Email : kamal.kaul@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
csf1981
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

This is a truly gorgeous hotel, being somewhat of an Oasis in the hustle and bustle of Seminyak and, on a larger scale, Kuta. The moment you walk into the hotel, and hear the music, it doesn't matter how you are feeling beforehand, you will be utterly calmed. It is rather like staying in a spa.

That said, you are close to all the action, with numerous great bars and restaurants just around the corner, scuba, surf and fishing companies all around, and right on a gorgeous stretch of beach with romantic crashing waves.

The staff are all amazing, impossible to single the anyone out. We loved the rooms and found them exotic and interesting rather than dated. The pool was great and the little trays that are brought over with water, cold towels, frangipani spray and suntan lotion an amazing little idea. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, and we never felt like "just another customer". As the hotel is small, you really did get a personal service.

We saw an authentic show put on when we were there and it was so much better than the tourist "tat" that you see elsewhere on the island. When the shows are on, go and watch, you will not be disappointed! Well done the Oberoi for supporting the ancient cultures of Bali and not doing what most hotels in Bali do and have a Disneyfied version of Bali dance.

Also, well done Oberoi hotel for putting all of the prices on all of the menus INCLUDING taxes, the only place we saw in Bali that did this. So much easier to know what you will be paying.

For the first time ever my girlfriend actually cried in the taxi on leaving the hotel, that is how much we loved it. We will definitely be going again - we wouldn't dream of going to Bali and not staying there.

I can see that the manager reads this (and that alone is good as they genuinely care what customers think) so I'll just give a couple of things which I think could be improved (not that they destracted from the holiday at all!)

Firstly, the frame around the bed could be reconsidered. I gave myself a dead leg bumping into it, and both my girlfriend and I bumped into it several times.
Secondly, the cocktail menu is seriously in need of an update. You can get truly modern and interesting cocktails in Bali (just look next door at Kudeta) so there is no excuse but the cocktails here lack any interest or imagination. A more modern and funky cocktail list would have tempted us to stay at the hotel more in the evening, and may even have persuaded us to have the odd cheeky one during the day around the pool.

Room Tip: So far as we could tell they were all good. Even the "cheap" Garden Lanai rooms were amazi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csf1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, 30 September 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay and that you were satisfied with the services rendered. Your detailed feedback on various service areas of the hotel is very much appreciated as it reaffirms our belief to maintain the hotel’s authentic Balinese architecture and personalised friendly service in a lush tropical garden setting by the beach.

We also thank you for your comments that you found the bed frame was uncomfortable and the cocktail menu needs updating. We will most definitely look into these constructive suggestions, to ensure the best overall guest experience.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali in the near future.


With kind regards,

Kamal K. Kaul
Vice President & General Manager
Email : kamal.kaul@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2011

The Oberoi is a beautiful traditional Balinese hotel with immaculate grounds and rooms. The location is very private but right next door to all the great restaurants of Seminyak. The staff here are so welcoming and always wear a friendly smile. Cannot recommend this hotel highly enough but if you are looking for a modern trendy hotel this is not your place.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, 27 September 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to The Oberoi, Bali

We are pleased to note that you have enjoyed your stay and that you were satisfied with the services rendered by my team of warm and welcoming Balinese staff.

Your feedback is greatly appreciated that you found The Oberoi, Bali’s location to be very private yet close to the numerous independent restaurants in Seminyak.

The hotel’s traditional Balinese architecture, conceived over 40 years ago by the brilliant Australian architect, Peter Muller, sets The Oberoi, Bali apart as a unique luxury resort in Bali, with immaculately maintained rooms, public areas and lush tropical gardens.

Thank you for having stayed with us and we look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali in the near future.


With kind regards,

Kamal K. Kaul
Vice President & General Manager
Email : kamal.kaul@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epe, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

lovely hotel ( small leading hotel)
quite setting on walking distance to the centre of seminyak

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anthony g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, 27 September 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

We are pleased to note that you have enjoyed your stay and that you were satisfied with the services rendered. We are also delighted that you enjoyed The Oberoi, Bali’s quiet setting and tranquil gardens by the beach, just a short walking distance to the centre of Seminyak’s popular shopping and dining area.

Thank you for having stayed with us and we look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali in the near future.


With kind regards,

Kamal K. Kaul
Vice President & General Manager
Email : kamal.kaul@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2011

I can not recommend The Oberoi enough. Fantastic staff , fantastic Gardens and beautiful tradition Balinese rooms. We spent 4 days here at the end of our Bali trip and it topped off our holiday perfectly. Good old fashioned service and beautiful grounds. The location is perfect

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheech_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, 27 September 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed your honeymoon stay and that you were satisfied with the “good old-fashioned” services rendered by our warm and friendly Balinese staff. Your feedback is very encouraging for my entire team who will keep working hard to continue to exceed our guests’ expectations with their genuinely warm Balinese hospitality.

We are also pleased that you found The Oberoi, Bali’s location to be perfect, set over 15 acres of beautiful Balinese gardens along 440 metres of direct Seminyak beach frontage with stunning views of rolling surf.

Thank you for having stayed with us and we look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali in the near future.


With kind regards,

Kamal K. Kaul
Vice President & General Manager
Email : kamal.kaul@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armagh
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We went here as part of our honeymoon and it was a little slice of paradise! We were greeted by name and shown to our traditional and spotless villa, which was perfectly chilled and had its own sunken bath tub. Bali is quite overcrowded and has a lot more tourists than I expected, but you would never know there was a world outside once you stepped into the Oberoi- so peaceful and the grounds are lovely to stroll round. We even took some cocktails down to the private beach one night and sat in the hammock for an hour undisturbed. The staff all so pleasant, smiling and attentive. The breakfast were incredible, my eyes were bigger then my belly most days. In the rooms they have thought of everything; there were mozzie plugs already in place (the bites you get are huge!!), the had plug adaptors, yummy smelling bath products, a fully stocked fridge, comfy bathrobes and a T.V and DVD player with a small collection of DVDs available to borrow when the intoxicating smell of flowers and cocktails at lunch all becomes too much. Food is of a very high standard, although there are lots of great eateries in the area. We travelled here with Kuoni and our reps and transport where both great. We went into Kuta a couple of times and were not fussed, it is quite tacky in parts and looks cramped and spoilt, coming back to the Oberoi after these trips was always a joy. I nearly cried when we had to leave. Thank you to this hotel for making our honeymoon a dream.

Room Tip: Get breakfast on your terrace- such a luxury
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olliedogArmagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, 24 September 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed your honeymoon stay and that you were satisfied with the services rendered. Your feedback is very encouraging for my entire team who will keep working hard to continue to exceed our guest’s expectations with their genuinely warm Balinese hospitality.

We are pleased that you enjoyed strolling around the hotel’s vast tropical gardens, which afforded you complete privacy and unhurried pace on this private visit for both of you.

Thank you for having stayed with us and we look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali in the near future.


With kind regards,

Kamal K. Kaul
Vice President & General Manager
Email : kamal.kaul@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.4 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#7 of 145 in Seminyak
1,513 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#19 of 145 in Seminyak
3,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#4 of 145 in Seminyak
1,771 reviews
0.6 mi away
Double-Six Luxury Hotel Seminyak
0.8 mi away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#1 of 145 in Seminyak
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Bali

Property: The Oberoi Bali
Address: Seminyak Beach, Jl. Kayu Aya, Seminyak 80033, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#4 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#5 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#8 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#9 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelbag, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Oberoi Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Bali Hotel Seminyak
Oberoi Hotel Bali
Oberoi Hotel Seminyak
Oberoi Bali
Oberoi Seminyak
Seminyak Oberoi
The Oberoi Bali Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing