We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oh boy ! at the Oberoi”
Review of The Oberoi Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Oberoi Bali
Ranked #10 of 144 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Northumberland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Oh boy ! at the Oberoi”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Well, what can one say that has not been said already in the many reviews preceding this.
Service impeccable, beach position superb,accommodation first class and food in the Kura Kura a match for any top restaurant.
Yes, it is beginning to feel and show its age in places but the level of ground maintenance and general attention to detail coupled with the level of service throughout keeps this hotel on a par with the best hotels in the world.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank churchburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you were satisfied with the services rendered. We are also pleased that you found The Oberoi, Bali’s excellent beachfront location and traditional Balinese architecture appealing and enjoyed the good quality of food served in the Kura-Kura restaurant.

Thank you for having stayed with us and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali in the near future.



With kind regards,

Kamal K. Kaul
Vice President & General Manager
Email : kamal.kaul@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,583 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,322
    181
    56
    16
    8
See reviews for
269
953
65
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We had recently had 3 nights in Ubud (the Uma) and then 4 nights in a private villa in Seminyak and by the end of the 4th night were ready for a change. We tried the Oberoi and it was only a small amount more per night than the villa we were in. It was an order of magnitude better.
They quickly secured a room for us, then picked us up from the villa, we checked in early, the room was lovely and well appointed. They are set-up in groups of four around a fountain and it is lovely. The rooms are good (lovely bathrooms, good A/C, lovely large and comfortable beds) but the service is better. Nothing is too much. There are countless little touches, from the daily news summary to the info on the weather the following day. The pool are is great, with wonderful views and with cold water and sunscreen on tap. Breakfasts are great and cooked to order with a large variety of options.
We had some drinks in the bar but did not eat there because there are so many quality options in Seminyak itself.
Great location, great rooms, by the beach, but this is all about the service. This is quality service, of a global standard and extremely good. I can thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisAlner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

We are pleased to note that you have enjoyed your stay and that you were satisfied with the facilities and services offered by the hotel. We are also delighted that you particularly enjoyed the personalized, thoughtful service delivered by our caring and friendly staff and the convenient beach front location, just a short walking distance to the centre of Seminyak’s popular shopping and dining area.

Thank you for having stayed with us and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali in the near future.



With kind regards,

Kamal K. Kaul
Vice President & General Manager
Email : kamal.kaul@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
609 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Our 2nd visit to this little piece of paradise was even better than our 1st. I think because our expectations were set so high we were a little wary returning - but rest assured this property delivers on all fronts. One of the oldest properties on the island, the stone cottages are lazily dotted across the sprawling coconut palmed lawn, overlooking a peaceful piece of Seminyak beach. The pool is amazing and we barely moved from it and the service out of this world. For those who love Bali but need to get away from the chaos of Kuta (and government road and building planning standards) the Oberoi delivers. Seminyak boutiques are walking distance from the gates for those that can drag themselves away from the pool.

Room Tip: Some rooms have ocean views but are not classified as such. Ask reservations about these.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StuckinBangers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed your 2nd stay with us even better than your 1st visit and that you were fully satisfied with the facilities and services offered by the hotel.

It is very encouraging for us to receive your feedback appreciating The Oberoi, Bali’s “unchanged” low density development of only 75 Villas and Lanai rooms on one of the most beautiful beach front, garden estates on the island, just a short walking distance to the centre of Seminyak’s popular shopping and dining area.

Thank you for having stayed with us and we look forward to another opportunity of welcoming you back again to The Oberoi, Bali in the near future.



With kind regards,

Kamal K. Kaul
Vice President & General Manager
Email : kamal.kaul@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

The place stunned us with the amazing level of service that is offered (making reservations for restaurants / afternoon tea) and the eye for detail (a little box of chocolates on valentines day etc. / fresh fruit everyday in the room / turndown service after sunset / fresh flower on pillow everyday etc etc ) Cant put my finger on the things that all made it special but lets just say they thought of everything.

Really enjoyed the delicious a la carte breakfast every morning while sitting next to the ocean at the outdoor restaurant! The lobby and grounds are really beautiful and the location makes it possible to walk to all close by bars/restaurants over the beach as Kudeta/Breeze/Mr Potatohead/WooBar. The whole property of the resorts oozes peace and tranquility and gives a piece of real Bali in the completely ruined touristic Seminyak/Legian area.

The downer of the hotel was the smell of the room it smelled like molt (we just burned some incense) and the bathroom door couldn't close completely so maybe its time for a small renovation? For the price of the rooms these points are not acceptable.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alexbdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay and that you were satisfied with the services rendered. Your feedback is appreciated that you enjoyed The Oberoi, Bali’s quiet setting and tranquil gardens by the beach, just a short walking distance to the centre of Seminyak’s popular shopping and dining area.

We have taken note of your comments that the room assigned to you had a damp smell and the bathroom door couldn’t be closed. I would like to assure you that your comments have been brought to the attention of the concerned team members to further improve our facilities and services. We regret the inconvenience caused.

Thank you for having stayed with us and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali in the near future.



With kind regards,

Kamal K. Kaul
Vice President & General Manager
Email : kamal.kaul@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Strengths: Great beach location/ The spacious clean rooms are thatched cottages with porch/ good tea & cofee making facility in the room/fresh complmentary fruit on arrival/ loved the bath soaps etc.,/ Loved the superking size bed/ great mattress. Complimentary afternoon tea with Balinese cakes. Good size swimming pool. The staff are friendly and polite.

Weaknesses: The Lobby is not a WOW factor - no ambience - other hotels in bali have a gamelan player when a guest arrives. Gardens lack creativity. The fish pond next to the Amphitheatre is dirty. The bathroom in the rooms have not been planned correctly...when having a shower the toilet area gets wet. Not all the cottages face the sea - so our view from our cottage was a wall. The bed mattress is great but the bed has a chunky wooden frame around it...take care when gettting on and off the bed...we sustained bruises when getting off the bed. The breakfast was poor. Duck Eggs were on the menu but they did not have them. Fried eggs were over done. The jam and preserves on the breakfast tables outside were riddled with ants - so we gave that a miss! Breakfast did not thrill us - so we ate out.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nazzy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, 19 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

We are pleased to note that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us and that generally you were satisfied with the services rendered by the hotel.

Your feedback is very important as we carefully analyze all of our guest comments to evaluate the performance of each department. We have taken note of your comments that the fish pond next to the Amphitheatre was not clean, bathroom shower design caused the floor to get wet and the breakfast was unorganised. I would like to assure you that your comments have been brought to the attention of the concerned team members to further improve our services. We regret the inconvenience caused.

We will most definitely look into improving the bed design to ensure the best overall guest experience.

Thank you for having stayed with us and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali in the near future.


With kind regards,

Kamal K. Kaul
Vice President & General Manager
Email : kamal.kaul@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Check in was a little unorganised but once we got to the room I was gob smacked ! Huge beautiful room bathroom and bed! It was stunning. The grounds are immaculate. The staff are so so lovely. The pool is right near the beach and it was so nice to relax on the sun bed and look out to the ocean.

Was a bit disappointed that laundry charges an added 50% on Sundays on top of the already expensive prices. (we were only here for a Sunday)

But overall, great stay.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louds-davo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you were fully satisfied with immaculate grounds at The Oberoi, spacious bathroom and the swimming pool near the beach.

Your feedback is very important as we carefully analyze all of our guest comments to evaluate the performance of each department. We have taken note of your comments that your check in was a little unorganised and you were disappointed with the surcharge on laundry charges on Sundays.

I would like to assure you that your comments will be discussed with the concerned team members to improve our services.

Thank you for having stayed with us and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali in the near future.


With kind regards,

Kamal K. Kaul
Vice President & General Manager
Email : kamal.kaul@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Oberoi during the final part of our honeymoon in Bali and we were very glad we did! The grounds at the Oberoi are simply beautiful. Everything from the entrance to the lobby to the pool and the rooms are well maintained. The staff at the Oberoi was fantastic. Extremely friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and comfortable and the sunken bathtubs in the bathroom were a nice touch. I especially loved the location of the to Oberoi. Close to all the action but far enough to feel at peace when coming "home". I would definitely recommend the Oberoi to anyone traveling to Seminyak!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sofiakheraj143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed your final part of your honeymoon stay with us and that you were particularly impressed by the beautifully maintained grounds at The Oberoi, clean and comfortable room and the hotel’s convenient location close to the island’s best shopping and dining street.

The Oberoi, Bali, which is modelled after a Balinese village, was developed in early 1970s, with the aim of offering discerning visitors to Bali, the opportunity to experience authentic Balinese architecture of single storey thatched roof villas, spread in spacious tropical gardens with an extensive 450 metres beach frontage. We are continuously striving to maintain this legendary resort as Bali’s heritage hotel, with all imaginable modern facilities and amenities, including broadband internet access throughout the resort.

Thank you for having stayed with us and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali in the near future.



With kind regards,

Kamal K. Kaul
Vice President & General Manager
Email : kamal.kaul@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.2 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#8 of 144 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#6 of 144 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#22 of 144 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,165 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alila Seminyak
Alila Seminyak
#23 of 144 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Bali

Property: The Oberoi Bali
Address: Seminyak Beach, Jl. Kayu Aya, Seminyak 80033, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#4 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#5 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#9 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#10 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oberoi Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Bali Hotel Seminyak
Oberoi Hotel Bali
Oberoi Hotel Seminyak
Oberoi Bali
Oberoi Seminyak
Seminyak Oberoi
The Oberoi Bali Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing