We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Hotel in Bali” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Oberoi Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Oberoi Bali
Ranked #12 of 142 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
409 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“The Best Hotel in Bali”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

This is my fourth visit to the Oberoi in Seminyak and I just love the hotel.
The rooms are comfortable with large king size beds.
The bathrooms are spacious and are decorated in Balinese style.
The hotel pool is on the ocean front and surrounded by beautiful gardens.
The hotel has its own amphitheater where you can watch Balinese dancers.
The food and the service are exceptional.
The hotel has a great position walking distance from many of Seminyaks best restaurants.
There is just something special about this hotel that I haven't found anywhere else.

Elizabeth Hall
Sydney Australia

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1954Elizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

We are delighted to note that you have again enjoyed your 4th stay with us and that you were satisfied with the services rendered by my team of warm and friendly Balinese staff. Your feedback is greatly appreciated that you found your room to be comfortable, enjoyed the good quality of food in the hotel and the different daily cultural activities at our Amphitheatre.

The continued encouragement and support received from our repeat guests such as yourselves, will spur us on to maintain The Oberoi, Bali as the island’s premier classic Balinese resort, reflecting the wonderful warmth and hospitality of Bali.

We would like to thank you for having stayed with us and look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali in the near future.



With kind regards,

Kamal K. Kaul
Vice President & General Manager
Email : kamal.kaul@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,549 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,292
    177
    56
    16
    8
See reviews for
265
933
62
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

We spent ten nights at the Oberoi during March 2012 and selected the hotel based on Trip Advisor Reviews.

If you are looking for a modern, glitzy hotel this is not for you. However, if you prefer refined, understated elegance in tranquil surrounds this will hit the mark. The gardens are very restful and provide a calm oasis in the midst of busy Seminyak.

We stayed in a partial ocan view room which we would recommend. Being by the water provides access to the ocean breezes and the partial view provides more privacy than the full ocean view. The rooms are adequate in size and are in the Balinese style. I agree with the comments by other reviewers that the beds can be difficult to get into, but once you get the hang of it there are no problems. There are also standard tea and coffee making facilities in the room and a fresh fuit plate provided daily.

The hotel has a cafe, a restaurant and a bar, all of which provide access to sea views and breezes. A basic afternoon tea is provided to guests on a daily basis. Although there are many restaurants in Seminyak, we ate most of our meals at the hotel as we found Seminyak too busy and dirty and do not understand the attraction of eating in "outdoor" restaurants just metres from a busy road. We did however eat at Breezes a couple of nights as this is right on the beachfront and is only a ten minute walk from the Oberoi. It is a good alternative for beachfront dining.

The hotel has a small, basic gym with standard equipment such as a treadmill, bicycle and rower. We also used the spa facilities. Again this is small and simple, but we found the treatments very relaxing. The pool is basic but adequate, and although the beach in front of the hotel is kept clean, overall the Seminyak beach was covered in litter and is quite dirty. It is long enough for a daily walk if you don't mind the litter.

The best thing about the hotel is the staff. They took the time to understand our preferences and accommodated all our requests without ever being pushy. Best of all, the prices for all services are included in the quoted price so you don't get hit by the ++ which can add 21% to your bills. The hotel also has a policy of not tipping staff, given that the prices include the service tax, so what you see is what you pay.

Overall, we loved this hotel and will definitely return next time we need some rest and relaxation.

Room Tip: Partial Ocean View
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sashenka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you were satisfied with the services rendered by my team of warm and friendly Balinese staff. Your feedback is greatly appreciated that you found the Lanai room to be comfortable with all facilities and services expected of a 5 star hotel, good quality of food, and the hotel’s spacious gardens directly on the beach.

Thank you for having stayed with us and we look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali in the near future.



With kind regards,

Kamal K. Kaul
Vice President & General Manager
Email : kamal.kaul@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

Just love it here. I stayed at Christmas and will be back again at Easter. Relaxing, friendly and in a perfect location. Cannot wait to return. The staff at The Oberoi is what makes the experience memorable.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yasminlovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

We are also delighted that you and your family particularly enjoyed the personalized, thoughtful service delivered by our caring and friendly staff on a perfect beachfront location reflecting the timeless classic spirit of Balinese hospitality.

Thank you for having stayed with us and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali at Easter.



With kind regards,

Kamal K. Kaul
Vice President & General Manager
Email : kamal.kaul@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

Great beach location and lovely sea views as I paid extra for sea facing Lanai cottage. The rooms are spacious with great air con and very clean with a little veranda but not very comfortable seating and not sheltered from sun or rain.
Basic tea & coffee making facility in the room, fresh complementary fruit every day, bath soaps could be better quality. Be careful of the chunky wooden frame, I still have a bruise and cut on my shin. Lovely, pool side complimentary afternoon tea with Balinese cakes. Good size swimming pool and the pool staff are very formal and polite.
Breakfast menu looks like it hasn't changed since the 80s, arrives with very average pastries and juice and main dish is served with potato,carrots,beans or broccoli for ....colour? I would have preferred La Luciolla type menu, great coffee, fresh and healthy.
Yoga once a week and the morning it was scheduled, it was raining so we had our class in an airless conference room squashed amongst the desks and seating!
Probably wouldn't recommend the Oberoi as it is lacking in a little "wow factor", considering the cost.

Room Tip: Villa or lanai with sea view otherwise you have no view, except a wall
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jhaym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

Your feedback is very important as we carefully analyze all of our guest comments to evaluate the performance of each department. We regret that you found our breakfast menu was not satisfactory and the wooden bed frame caused a bruise on your shin. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience.

We will most definitely look into improving the bed design and breakfast menu to ensure the best overall guest experience.

Due to The Oberoi, Bali’s architectural layout of single storey thatched roof cottages and villas, only a few rooms have direct oceanviews, while majority of rooms have gardenviews. However, all our rooms are just a couple of minutes walk away from the hotel’s 450 metres long beach front. Uninterrupted spectacular oceanviews can be enjoyed throughout the day from the hotel’s swimming pool, Kayu Bar, Frangipani Cafe, Kura-Kura Restauanrt and the Lobby Terrace.

We would like to thank you for having stayed with us and look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali in the near future.


With kind regards,

Kamal K. Kaul
Vice President & General Manager
Email : kamal.kaul@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

I took my mother here for two nights at the end of our Bali trip. My first time to Seminyak and I must confess and I am not a huge fan of the place (all a bit pluto-chav), but the Oberoi is a wonderful oasis of calm civilisation. It's not over-the-top glitz, glam and bling (and thanks Heavens for that).

The service is outstanding. It is perhaps the oldest hotel on Bali and service standards are excellent. The food is good and the cocktails at the bar outstanding. The staff are impeccable and charming. A small army of gardeners keep the grounds looking lush and truly impressive

Here and there the venerable of lady of Seminyak is beginning to show her age and I think the pool area - quite possibly the biggest bottom-step drop to the bottom in the deep end! - probably needs a renovation (the elegant mouldings are begging to delapidate).

I know a lot of people don't like the 'Balinese-style' beds - and even having been warned on Tripadvisor I still painfully hit my knee on the wood surround that hides under the duvet - but, once mounted, the beds are hugely comfortable and the pillow selection ensures a good night's sleep.

Living in Jakarta, I plan to visit the Oberoi again; but as an oasis long-weekender to re-charge batteries, without venturing into what I think has become a pushy and slightly tacky town. That said, the Oberoi is rightly regarded as one of the best hotels in Indonesia: civilised, tranquil, thoughtful.

Room Tip: The Lanai suites, while the hotel's 'entry level' are spacious and comfortable with noti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StephenLock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you were satisfied with the services rendered by my team of warm and friendly Balinese staff. Your feedback is greatly appreciated that you found the Lanai room to be comfortable and you were fully satisfied with the good quality of food, and the hotel’s spacious gardens directly on the beach.

We also thank you for your comments to upgrade the swimming pool area, which we will certainly look into.

We would like to thank you for having stayed with us and look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali in the near future.



With kind regards,

Kamal K. Kaul
Vice President & General Manager
Email : kamal.kaul@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

This hotel is just superb with a great beach location.The rooms are excellent.Very Good swimmimg pool and restaurants and bars.Cultural shows most nights.But Most of all , the staff are just brilliant, so friendly,proffessional and nothing was to much trouble. The service was just superb from the time we checked in to the time we checked out and what was so nice the staff were always smiling and always greeted you.I can say nothing but good about the Oberoi in Bali.

Room Tip: Try and get a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank colinpennyfu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you were satisfied with the warm and efficient services rendered by our friendly and smiling Balinese staff. We are also pleased that you enjoyed The Oberoi, Bali’s excellent beachfront location, cultural performances, restaurants and bar.

Thank you for having stayed with us and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali in the near future.



With kind regards,

Kamal K. Kaul
Vice President & General Manager
Email : kamal.kaul@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

The Bali Oberoi is a nice hotel, right on the beach, offers outstanding service and excellent staff. It is well positioned in Seminyak, and represents and nice place to stay, but I had a couple of significant issues. Some relate to the hotel itself, but others relate to Seminyak

The hotel itself if looking tired and dated. In the competitive market that Bali represents, for the money, there are just better places to stay. The rooms are nice without being fabulous, of average size, and really didnt offer the sort of zing that you would hope to see in a hotel of this standing. The grounds are kept in magnificent shape, the food is good, but the food and wine are expensive, more than is justified in a third world country.

The beach is simply no good. It is filthy, the water full of rubbish, vendors, dogs etc etc. There are open drains running into the beach only 50 M away on each side. For me, if you are travelling overseas for a beach holiday, I am not interested in swimming in a sewer. I appreciate that this is not under the hotels control, but it is, none the less, an integral part of the hotels surrounds.

The Oberoi was nice. The staff were great, but at the end of the day, there are just better places to stay when you are travelling all that distance.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LyndhurstPrahran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

We regret that you were disappointed with the ocean water around Seminyak Beach, rubbish, vendors and dogs on the beach and you found our restaurant and bar prices were high. Your feedback is very important as we carefully analyze all of our guest comments to evaluate the performance of each department.

All over the island of Bali, there are natural waterways, which bring excess rain water and water from rice fields to the ocean. On Seminyak beach there are three such natural waterways, two of which flow just outside the northern and southern boundaries of The Oberoi, Bali. Before reaching the ocean, these waterways flow along the Jalan Kayu Aya, also known as the ‘Eat Street’ with many popular restaurants and shops. The local Government is already laying sewage collection pipe work in south Bali. Once completed, all sewage is planned to be brought to a central public Sewage Treatment Plant facility.

I would like to assure you that our food and wine prices are in line with other international hotels in Bali. In Indonesia, all imported alcoholic beverages are subject to very high import and excise duties, due to which the end retail price for wines and beverages in hotels are on the high side.

Thank you for having stayed with us and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali in the near future.


With kind regards,

Kamal K. Kaul
Vice President & General Manager
Email : kamal.kaul@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.1 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#9 of 142 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#5 of 142 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#24 of 142 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,026 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
0.5 mi away
Alila Seminyak
Alila Seminyak
#23 of 142 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Bali

Property: The Oberoi Bali
Address: Seminyak Beach, Jl. Kayu Aya, Seminyak 80033, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#4 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#5 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#11 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#12 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, Agoda, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Odigeo and Travelbag so you can book your The Oberoi Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Bali Hotel Seminyak
Oberoi Hotel Bali
Oberoi Hotel Seminyak
Oberoi Bali
Oberoi Seminyak
Seminyak Oberoi
The Oberoi Bali Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing