We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Oberoi Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Oberoi Bali
Ranked #11 of 143 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

The Oberoi is a resort in traditional Indonesian-style and is situated close to the heart of the Seminyak town (just a 2 min walk). The resort looks very lovely, but if you are more into modern design and fancy swimming pools this is probably not the right place for you in Bali. However, the service is excellent and starts from the moment you enter the the resort. The staff is amazing friendly and helpful (they refresh the room multiple times a day, supply fresh fruits and offer refreshments at the pool, etc.). The front-desk employees and local doctor even called us multiple times to assure everything was fine, when we got a bit ill. The lanai room was fine, but again do not expect any fancy design elements or gadgets. Undermentioned some (minor) improvements;

- Dirty beach (loads of trash after high water) and sometimes very smelly (because of some sort of brackish river). Probably a general (community) problem in Seminyak.
- Lack of more watersport activities. The hotel only have some bodyboards available.
- Beds are not available on the actual beach, only on a small artificial sand strip.
- Spa center is at the back of the property. During a (massage)treatment you hear the noise of the nearby road (why not offering a massage with an ocean view)?
- Pictures on the Oberoi website feel a bit outdated and do not show the scale of the resort (yes, the resort is very large). However, the virtual tours give a way better impressions.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GDoek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear GDoek,

Thank you very much for posting your review on Trip Advisor after your visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

I am delighted to note that you and your family have enjoyed your visit here and that the services, gardens, accommodation, and location have all been enjoyed by you.

It is a shame that bad weather had caused lots of debris from the ocean to wash ashore all along Seminyak beach during the course of your stay. I assure you that Seminyak beach is not always like this. The normally debris-free stretch of Seminyak Beach began to experience rubbish washing ashore during the Christmas New Year period. We have had very heavy rains and stormy seas resulting in lots of unwanted debris washing ashore. All beaches in Indonesia are public property and difficult to control from a single hotel. The pollution of Indonesia's beaches is national concern and we are at the forefront of educating the community and cleaning beaches on this island. I am very sorry that the beach was in such a state during your visit.

Seminyak Beach is a public beach. No hotel on the island is legally permitted to place any sun-beds on the beach. There is natural beach vegetation protecting the beach head al along The Oberoi's 500 metre expanse of beach frontage from erosion. I assure you the sand behind the plantation, where we are allowed to place sun-beds, is 100% natural and not an 'artificial' strip of sand.

You have mentioned the high surf. Heavy surf and rip-tide are the reason for the 'lack of water-sports'. Our team of well trained lifeguards are always on the ready to ensure guests wishing to experience a swim in the Indian ocean can do so safely. Only well versed surfers would be able to challenge the waves. Therefore we do only offer boogie boards for the sake of guest safety.

When The Oberoi Spa was built, its location was intentional as it overlooked verdant rice fields. As Seminyak continues to become more built up, and rice fields give way to development, we have expanded our gardens to help shield us from the sounds of the outside world. Views along the ocean are indeed beautiful, however the area where the spa is, accords more privacy than overlooking the ocean.

Thank you for your comments about the photography on our web site. I very much appreciate your helpful advice to the TripAdvisor audience to experience the Virtual Tours found on the left hand window of our web site.

Thank you for having stayed with us, and we all look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali.


Warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
Email : john.halpin@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,310
    179
    56
    16
    8
See reviews for
267
945
65
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Penebel, Indonesia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

The Oberoi is one of the best hotels in Bali. It sits in 18 acres of garden right on the beach. It has Balinese style with modern amenities. You are looked after from the moment you arrive. The healthy breakfast had the best omelet I have ever eaten! The management went out of their way to fix a small problem and were generous in the resolution. I have nothing negative to say about the Oberoi. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who would like a truly wonderful Balinese experience.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mardi19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Mardi19,

Thank you very much for posting your review on Trip Advisor after your visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

I am delighted to note that you have enjoyed your visit here and that the gardens, services, and balinese atmosphere have been enjoyed by you.

Thank you for having stayed with us, and we all look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali.


Warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
Email : john.halpin@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indonesia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Large green garden and nice pool with a beach view. The beach was pretty lively but shared with other hotels alongside the beach so it was a bit crowded and there were even dogs running around and therefore the beach was not that clean as we would have liked it to be. Rooms were a bit old but spacious and clean and a nice Balinese design and feel. The only complaint was the breakfast is not a buffet and ordering nasi goreng and omelet took over 30 minutes. Asked the waitress in which she replied nasi goreng is a main course and therefore takes a long time to make for breakfast. This seems unacceptable since there weren't that many people and it was already past 10:30 am and it still took so long to make. In my opinion they need to improve the F&B service.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deflair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear deflair,

Thank you very much for your kind comments on Trip Advisor after your visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

I was delighted to read that you found the gardens, ocean view, and Balinese architecture at The Oberoi was enjoyed by you. I was sorry to read that you were not pleased with the beach in front of The Oberoi, Bali. According to national laws, all shoreline in Indonesia is public property. The 500 metre stretch in front of The Oberoi, Bali spans from Kuta in the south, all the way up to Tanah-Lot Temple north of Canggu. As Bali has grown in popularity, so too has the area surrounding The Oberoi, making our 6 hectare gardens and low rise, thatch roofed accommodations all the more special in Bali's 'out of control' building boom.

During the rainy season breakfast navigates between our outdoor seaside dining venue, The Frangipani Cafe, and the open aired covered Kura-Kura Restaurant, when it rains. I appreciate that you would have preferred a buffet, however the warm climate and our outdoor, open aired venues are not conducive to serving a buffet from 7- 11 AM. I assure you that we do have an adequate number of chefs on duty at all times. Please accept my sincere thanks for your feedback and for identifying an area where there is room for improvement. Breakfast service at The Oberoi, Bali is intentionally served in courses. Cold dishes, juices, toast, and coffee or tea are always brought to tables first. Hot dishes are served after the cold dishes have been cleared away. I apologise that this European style of breakfast service delayed the delivery of your hot dishes to your breakfast table. I have met with the Food and Beverage Managers and Chefs, and shared your feedback with the team.

I was sorry to read that your experience was contrary to most of the reviews and guest feedback we receive. I assure you we will always take guest comments extremely seriously and ensure concerned team members are retrained to improve our overall guests experience. I do apologise for the inconvenience caused in by the delay in serving your breakfast.

Thank you for having stayed with us, and we all look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali.


Warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
Email : john.halpin@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

The Oberoi at Seminyak has an awesome location, within walking distance of Seminyak Square as well as the shopping and popular eating places. The villas are beautifully done up and the property opens up into the beach. Service is excellent, with extremely helpful and friendly staff. Will definitely recommend the hotel to those planning to spend a few days in Seminyak.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LetsGetAway123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Traveller123India,

Thank you very much for posting your review on Trip Advisor after your visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

I am delighted to note that you have enjoyed your visit and the location, style of Villas, and the service from our ever-smiling Balinese staff has been enjoyed by you.

Thank you for having stayed with us, and we all look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali.


Warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
Email : john.halpin@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmont-sur-Lausanne, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

The resort is nestled in a beautiful garden right at the ocean! Palm trees, the breeze from the ocean and the great architecture of the guest lanais do welcome you and let you leave normal life behind. The exceptional food, the outstanding service and the perfect excellence in details make you want to stay forever. We will keep this as a treasure and are planning to come back every January!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MG2202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear MG2202,

Thank you very much for posting your review on Trip Advisor after your visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

I am delighted to note that you have enjoyed your visit here and that the ocean views, swaying coconut palms, sea breezes, and Balinese architecture have all been enjoyed by you.

Thank you for having stayed with us, and we all look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali again next January or any time of year.


Warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
Email : john.halpin@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed at the Oberoi Amarvillas in Agra and Udaivillas in Udaipur in the past which have a rep as being amongst the best hotels in the world, I liked Oberoi Bali even better. The sprawling, lush grounds which abut the ocean are beautifully landscaped and understated and really make this property special. My wife and I stayed in an ocean view villa which was terrific and private. The kids stayed in a "regular" room which also had an equally great view and was tastefully appointed. In spite of the fact that one feels a million miles from town you are a 15 minute walk from the center of Seminyak. The staff uniformly were excellent,quick with a smile and hello. Then again I think the Balinese people ,in general, are the most genuinely happy I have come across in my travels. Really a special place.

Room Tip: For a romantic getaway a splurge to a ocean view villa definitely worth it with a beautiful private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jayraka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear jayraka,

Thank you very much for posting your review on Trip Advisor after your visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

I am delighted to note that you and your family have enjoyed your visit here and that the services, gardens, accommodation, and location have all been enjoyed by you.

Thank you for having stayed with us, and we all look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali.


Warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
Email : john.halpin@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

This is a world-class hotel. Personal, friendly and attentive service from the minute you arrive until the time you leave. The gardens are beautiful and beautifully maintained, the Villas are beautifully appointed and very comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CTann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear CTann,

Thank you very much for posting your review on Trip Advisor after your visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

I am delighted to note that you have enjoyed your visit here and that the services, quality of accommodation, and location have been enjoyed by you.

Thank you for having stayed with us, and we all look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali.


Warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
Email : john.halpin@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.2 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#7 of 143 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,455 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#6 of 143 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#26 of 143 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,099 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alila Seminyak
Alila Seminyak
#24 of 143 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Bali

Property: The Oberoi Bali
Address: Seminyak Beach, Jl. Kayu Aya, Seminyak 80033, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#4 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#5 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#10 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#11 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, Destinology, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelbag, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oberoi Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Bali Hotel Seminyak
Oberoi Hotel Bali
Oberoi Hotel Seminyak
Oberoi Bali
Oberoi Seminyak
Seminyak Oberoi
The Oberoi Bali Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing