We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A classic in Bali”
Review of The Oberoi Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Oberoi Bali
Ranked #10 of 144 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A classic in Bali”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The Oberoi was the last place we stayed in Bali and although its service was not as personalized as Komaneka in Ubud and was missing the atmosphere of our stay in Gili T, we found that it grew on us in the 3 days that we were there. The Oberoi is the oldest luxury hotel in Seminyak and has therefore got THE best location and is on a beautiful beach which is an amazing spot to see the famous sunsets of Seminyak. It is close to lots of shopping streets, bars, restaurants and areas like petitenget. The villas are done up tastefully with beautiful Balinese art and frangipani flowers. The pool area is beautiful but a bit crowded. The staff was hospitable and the food at breakfast was good. All in all, it was a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lavz21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Lavz21,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor after your visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

I am delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for having stayed with us, and we all look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali.

With warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
The Oberoi, Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,582 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,321
    181
    56
    16
    8
See reviews for
269
953
65
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Beautiful views overlooking the sea while sat by the pool, or whilst eating your breakfast! The service was outstanding! The accommodation was lovely, little thatched rooms/villas not overlooked by anyone. The bathroom was amazing with sunken bath surrounded by candles.Would definitely recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tjs333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Tjs333,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor after your visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

I am delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for having stayed with us, and we all look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali.

With warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
The Oberoi, Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The Oberoi is a great dame, great staff - great service - well kept grounds and rooms but in need of some upgrades. The hotel has everything and all works mostly well but the material and rooms are a bit tired. If you dont mind the older style - its the perfect place to relax and enjoy impeccable service, food and drinks but it all comes at a heftly pricetag.

It's very easy to spend $ 100 ( Australian ) per day on just a simple breakfast and and 2 or 3 drinks plus a snack at the pool. It spoils the otherwise great experiences.

Room Tip: We had a room near the water. It was very clean and very nice. Just a bit tired. But remember - it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uschild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear uschild,

Thank you very much for posting your review on Trip Advisor after your visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

I am delighted to note that you have enjoyed most aspects of your visit to The Oberoi, Bali and that you found the staff, service and grounds were up to your satisfaction.

I note that you found our rooms in need of upgrades and that to you, they seemed "a bit tired". For the sake of the TripAdvisor audience, I would like to highlight that The Oberoi, Bali is an authentic Balinese Resort and is indeed deemed The Grand Dame of Bali resorts. The 500 metres of beach frontage set upon 15 acres of mature gardens with all low rise thatched roof and natural stone buildings were built in an era pre-dating the new large high-rise resorts which seem to be sprouting up all over the island, with lots of white cement, frosted glass and chrome. Over the years subtle upgrades have always been implemented at the Oberoi, whilst ensuring the historic integrity of this landmark resort is maintained. If Indonesia had "Heritage Listed Properties", The Oberoi, Bali would surely be at the top of the list.

We appreciate your comments that you found food prices are at high side. Quality of ingredients is something The Oberoi, and our Executive Chef will not compromise upon. This does come with a higher price than can be found at other restaurants. I assure you that prices at The Oberoi, Bali are similar to other five star resorts in the similar category, on the island of Bali. We conduct monthly surveys to ensure that.

Thank you for having stayed with us, and we look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali.

With kind regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
The Oberoi, Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We have just had the best experience in Bali. Staying at the Oberoi was one of the most enjoyable and relaxing times that we have ever had. We had great weather, the staff were excellent and so obliguing. The food was great, cocktails were great....everything great. You know you've had a good time when you absolutely dread leaving. We are already thinking of how/when we can get back..........:)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Catherine P,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor after your visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

I am delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for having stayed with us, and we all look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali.

With warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
The Oberoi, Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed 6 nights at the Oberoi Bali and had the best time ever! The hotel is located in a big parc and directly on the beach and still it is in the middle of Seminyak. We enjoyed every thing. The room was spacious and although it is not brand new, it is very well kept.
The food was delicious, and during the whole day, their were small attentions. The service is perfect and everyone is well trained, polite, smiling and always with a personal touch.
The six days went by like 6 seconds and we had a perfect time.
If we had to find one potential improvement, I could say that the acoustic isolation between the rooms is not the perfect as the rooms are connected by a door.
If you like quietness and although being very central, this is the perfect place to stay. It is also important to know that although it is a 5* hotel, it is very relaxed and easy-going.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JulienCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear JulienCH,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor after your visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

I am delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We note your comment regarding the soundproofing in our connecting rooms. Your feedback is seriously considered, to help improving the overall experience.

Thank you for having stayed with us, and we all look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali.

With warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
The Oberoi, Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed every moment at this resort. I research carefully and this resort lived up to all expectations. Nothing not to like. The staff are exceptional, from airport pick up to departure we enjoyed every moment. Will return! Stayed garden villa near pool, good position.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kgeorgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Kgeorgie,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor after your visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

I am delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for having stayed with us, and we all look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali.

With warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
The Oberoi, Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

A beautiful, tranquil haven of a hotel. We had a wonderful week in Bali and staying at the Oberoi was a treat. After exploring the beautiful island, it was a pleasure to come back to the serenity of The Oberoi. The rooms are immaculate and large. The staff are some of the best we have ever come across. They were attentive without being pushy and most of them remembered our names. Every meal we had was delicious. We were a little disappointed with the beach at Seminyak and have marked the hotel down on this as it was not very appealing to sit on the beach as it was quite dirty. Although all the beaches in Bali are public, we felt that more could have been done to keep it clean in front of the hotel with some nice beds.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nollo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear nollo,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor after your visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

I am delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

I am sorry that the beach was not up to your expectation. While keeping in mind that Seminyak beach is public beach, we have tried our best to educate people walking on the beach by providing rubbish baskets and signs. Thank you for highlighting this for me.

Thank you for having stayed with us, and we all look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali.

With warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
The Oberoi, Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.2 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#8 of 144 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#6 of 144 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#22 of 144 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,161 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alila Seminyak
Alila Seminyak
#23 of 144 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Bali

Property: The Oberoi Bali
Address: Seminyak Beach, Jl. Kayu Aya, Seminyak 80033, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#4 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#5 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#9 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#10 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oberoi Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Bali Hotel Seminyak
Oberoi Hotel Bali
Oberoi Hotel Seminyak
Oberoi Bali
Oberoi Seminyak
Seminyak Oberoi
The Oberoi Bali Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing