We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Found”
Review of The Oberoi Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Oberoi Bali
Ranked #10 of 144 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
West Byfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
227 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Paradise Found”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This has to be one of the best hotels that we have ever stayed at and we have stayed in a few 5 star hotels in the Far East!
Nothing was ever too much trouble, we were not even allowed to move our sun beds ourselves or clean our sunglasses, my wife thought that this was a bit over the top though.
We stayed in a garden room just back from the pool, the room was huge and kept very clean at all times. The staff were great and couldn't do enough for us.
The whole setting of the gardens, the buildings and the view from the main terrace area were simply stunning. We had breakfast most mornings by the pool, such a wonderful setting, again beautifully prepared and served.
I could go on and on about this hotel, go there if you can afford it, you will not be disappointed, I promise you.
My wife and I were on my retirement trip which I had planned over several months. My wife was not sure about going to Bali, but was so pleased that I managed to change her mind.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TorchyPyrford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
25/7/14.

Dear Torchy Pyrford,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor after your visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for recognising the service delivery from our dedicated team. We are indeed fortunate to have such a great group of people working here. I am happy they looked after you after you had worked so hard to convince your wife to visit Bali.

Thank you for having stayed with us. Enjoy your retirement and and we all look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali again one day.

Warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
Email : john.halpin@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,586 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,325
    181
    56
    16
    8
See reviews for
269
956
65
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

First place we stayed in Bali where we travelled to for our honeymoon. From the moment we arrived to the time we left nothing was too much trouble for the staff members. Around the pool staff came to clean glasses, brought sorbet round in the afternoon and kept you topped up with water all day long. The bar was wonderful and romantic with excellent cocktails. The restaurant was first class so much so we didn't bother venturing out to see what Seminyak had to offer. One evening we had a special Balinese meal whilst watching traditional dancers which was a great experience sat dining under the stars. We can't praise this hotel enough and would recommend anyone visiting the Seminyak area to stay here. It's a haven from the hustle and bustle of Seminyak. Already looking at other Oberoi resorts for our next holiday!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Wrights131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
25/7/14.

Dear Wrights131,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor after your visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for having stayed with us and we all look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali once again.

Please let me know if I can assist with any arrangements at any of our other hotels and resorts you wish to visit.

Warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
Email : john.halpin@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

In writing a review of the Oberoi, Bali I am torn; as a hotel it is quite wonderful but compared with the two other Oberoi Hotels we have stayed in, it isn’t quite at the same level. Please don’t misunderstand me, the Oberoi is fantastic and fully warrants the five star review I have awarded it, it simply falls a tiny bit short of the exacting standard that the Oberoi Group have set themselves. Funnily enough this isn’t because of age of the hotel or the beach, which some reviews highlight as a negative, for us it was the service that didn’t quite meet their usually stellar levels during our two nine day stays in June and July 2014.

Let me open with the location. The Oberoi, Bali is located on a stretch of Seminyak beach within easy walking distance of the vast array of restaurants, bars, markets and retail outlets in the Seminyak area. For those that do not want to walk, the hotel provides a car (30,000 IDR for around a five minute journey) or taxis are readily available and very cheap. For those that want to venture out, the location is ideal and in terms of dining options, Seminyak is spectacular – perhaps the best place I have been for such a rich concentration of varied and quality eateries. The problem with Seminyak and I say this as someone who would return there in an instant, is that it’s a bit of a dump. The rapid expansion of the area has clearly resulted in rapid development and thus fantastic buildings are interspersed with the derelict, streets are dirty, busy and smelly and awash with scammers, drunken Australians (and other nationalities of course, the Australians are just there in substantial number) and men on motorbikes approaching you assuming the one thing you really need in your life is a copy of the Melbourne Times. Some might say this is simply Bali, it isn’t – we went to Ubud and it was a far cry from the rushed development of Seminyak. Advised that it was even worse, we did not stray into Kuta. I mention all of this as it may be valuable information to those who have visited more secluded Oberois, to me it didn’t detract from the hotel but for others, it might.

Given the above, the Oberoi Bali is a wonderful oasis. Traditional Balinese architecture and acres of beautiful landscaped gardens provide a haven away from the hustle and bustle of Seminyak. The long driveway ensures you are a good distance from the main road and as soon as you are in the main reception, you are in another world. The garden staff deserve special mention, they do a phenomenal job - during our stay a tree was brought down outside our room by heavy wind, within 24 hours not only was it removed and the ground re-turfed but another tree was planted and it was as though it had never happened! Located within the grounds guests will find a pool, tennis court, restaurant, bar, spa and guest library / computer room.

During both our stays we had a garden view luxury lanai room, these were of an excellent standard and good size but noticeably smaller than in more modern Oberois. Our first room, 291, was better than our second, 288, which was odd given they backed on to each other. 291 had more storage space, in the shape of a large chest in the bathroom, and was generally in a better state of repair. In 288 the shower didn’t heat up quickly and the showerhead leaked around it, rather than pushing all the water through it. I reported both these issues, the heat issue was fixed but the showerhead was not. Other fittings in the bathroom were a little loose and hadn’t quite stood the test of time as well as in 291. These minor differences aside, there is no cause for complaint with the rooms, we specified the need for a mosquito net (changed every two day or so in 291 but, again strangely, not changed at all in 288) and this was in situ when we arrived. Special mention should go to the size of the bathroom and the usual high quality Oberoi sunken bath. All the rooms are well spaced out and there was no encroachment on our privacy at any point. In terms of privacy, I would suggest the garden view rooms are better than the sea view ones near the pool, which have a lot of foot traffic outside them, particularly on the way to breakfast in the mornings. We had no problems with noise from other establishments, save one evening when another hotel to the south was playing loud music but even this was barely audible inside the well sound proofed room.

Many of the reviews I read before visiting the Oberoi criticised the hotel and even marked it down for Seminyak beach. This is unfair – it’s a public beach and there is little, if nothing, the Oberoi can do about it. If it’s a secluded white sand beach holiday in an Oberoi you want, go to Lombok or Mauritius otherwise do your research in advance and don’t complain! Seminyak beach is busy, the sea is rough (good for surfing but bad for swimming), the sand is a far cry from white and watch where you step as dog faeces are often underfoot, despite signage encouraging owners to clean up they rarely do. Thankfully, this wasn’t a surprise to us as we’d done our research and had a week in the Oberoi Lombok between our two stays at the Oberoi Bali. The only time the beach was somewhat unpalatable was at breakfast, it’s nice to watch the sea as you eat but much less nice to watch dogs defecate just yards away in the shrubs that separate the Oberoi from the beach! Be warned and do not blame the Oberoi – there is nothing they can reasonably do about this, it’s a wider control and hygiene issue that Bali will eventually have to tackle. The beach did, invariably, provide spectacular sunsets and for us, as we spent most time poolside, this more than made up for its shortcomings.

Given that Seminyak beach is pretty poor, the poolside area at the Oberoi is a key component. The pool itself is a delight to look at, like the rest of the hotel, it has aged beautifully and looks distinguished rather than run down. Stacked turtle statues return the filtered water to the pool and its maximum depth of 1.45m is more than adequate while never even verging on the intimidating. Because few, if any, guests choose to spend their time on the beach the pool area is crowded and the sunbeds perhaps fractionally closer to each other than we would have liked. This wasn’t a problem in June when the hotel was a touch quieter but became a frustrating, if small, issue when the hotel was awash with families come July. The difficulty is that the rules in the Oberoi guide in the room are not enforced; these clearly state that you can’t leave your sunbed unattended for more than 30 minutes (if you do so your belongings will be packed up and your beds presumed empty). This meant that many families would rise very early, put their beach bags or flip flops on beds to reserve them and then embark on a leisurely two-hour breakfast or stroll into Seminyak! This minor gripe, which often deprived us of the best placed sunbeds, aside the service poolside and the environment cannot be faulted; the beautiful grounds at the Oberoi provide the perfect backdrop and their brilliant use of planting provides a barrier to Seminyak beach while not detracting from the view of the sea or sunset. The staff there are incredibly attentive, to the extent that your sunglasses are even polished once a day! Fruit skewers were provided earlier in the morning, later the daily sorbet (usually an excellent banana) and at 4pm afternoon tea. In terms of food options, guests can either choose from the Bar menu or the Frangipani Café menu. Both of these offer quality options but the pricing, like all food at the Oberoi, are of a big city level (think London, Paris, New York) rather than on a par with other places in Seminyak, even the high class ones. Rather than venture away and leave our sunbeds unattended like some guests (so very British of us) we simply chose to take this on the chin and pay the price, if you’re in the Oberoi the chances are you can afford it. To put the pricing perspective they were roughly as follows once tax is factored in – a 10” cheese pizza or a burger / Panini would cost around £13 ($22), while lunch dishes from the Frangipani Café menu were in the region of £20 ($35). The drinks poolside are from the Bar Menu (bottled water is free though) but they aren’t quite mixed as well or as generously as in the evening, they tend to be served long rather than short, as they are in they evening, and thus suffer from an overuse of mixer.

Kura Kura Restaurant is the main dining option in the evening. It is a wonderful setting, the service is impeccable and the food of a high standard. Particular highlights included the fois gras, tian of lump crab, scallops, wagyu beef cheek, and chocolate fondant. It is, however, always quiet – we ate at Kura Kura about 4 or 5 times over our total 18 days at the Oberoi and the reason is immediately obvious; there are many equally good options in Seminyak who charge substantially less. A three course meal for two with a cheap bottle of wine comes in at around £150 ($255), there is a set menu option at 350,000 IDR per person (£19 / $32 including tax) but this is restrictive and more of a gesture towards those hoping to save money. Wine at Kura Kura is very expensive, now here is my one pricing bugbear with the Oberoi – they even apologise, for the cost of wine (all very noble) pointing out the extortionate level of import duty on alcohol in Indonesia, which can be as much as 600%. This is fine in principle but the wine is the first and only time I felt overcharged by the Oberoi; exactly the same bottle of wine the Oberoi sell for around 800,000 IDR (£42 / $72) can be had next door in Ku De Ta, the next most expensive place to eat in Seminyak, for £32.50 / $55 and £22.50 / $38 in Bistrot, (along the main ‘eat street’ in Seminyak). This is exactly the same wine from the same vineyard being sold in the same country, had the Oberoi not attempted to blame tax it would have irked me less – it’s just a touch disingenuous and diversionary; say it like it is – it’s an expensive place. Kura Kura is truly exceptional, the frangipani flower given to female guests on leaving is a lovely touch, but is it better than the other fine dining establishments in Seminyak (Ku De Ta, Merah Putih, Bambu, Urchin et al) who charge a good deal less? If I was in London I wouldn’t blink at these prices but in the context of Seminyak where options at the same level are extensive, one must stop and pause.

Two to three times a week the Oberoi put on a dance performance with dinner at their Amphitheatre, this is certainly worth doing once during your stay – the food is good, if not of the level found in Kura Kura, and the dance incredibly interesting.

Frangipani Café provides open air dining at breakfast and lunch. At breakfast the options are extensive and the service stellar. We can heartily recommend the Chef’s Favourite and Baker’s Box (one pastry in this changes daily and is always a delight). The only niggles at breakfast were the occasional dog defecating in the bushes a few yards away, the lottery as to whether one received a butter knife (some days it was provided, others you had to request it) and the fact that the Eggs Royale was so stingy in its serving of salmon – one tiny slice (think a slightly longer piece of sashimi and you’re pretty much there). The Eggs Royale was particularly odd given the Oberoi Lombok provide lashings of salmon on exactly the same dish!

The Kayu Bar was our pit stop every evening on the way out for at least one cocktail, sometimes more. The setting is simply beautiful, with views of the ocean, grounds and Kura Kura restaurant (which looks simply magical at night when viewed from the outside). The provision of board games is a lovely touch; we broke up the drinking and eating with a good number of scrabble games during out stay! The service in the bar is the best at the Oberoi Bali, save perhaps poolside and from Wy Wandana at breakfast, but unfortunately it was too dark in there to make out the excellent waitress’s name on any of our visits, so we couldn’t mention her by name on our leaving survey! I single out the service in the Kayu Bar, simply because it felt the most ‘Oberoi’ of all the service at the Bali hotel but more on this later. The cocktails are very good, if not as inventive as in Mauritius or Lombok, and we can particularly recommend the Munti’s Delight and the Passion Fruit & Cinnamon Daiquiri. The Kayu Bar is also a cheaper dining in the evening if you’re determined to eat onsite, that said it’s still possible to eat as well or better for the same price in Bambu, Merah Putih, Urchin or Zibiru (if not Ku De Ta).

The Oberoi Bali has a number of events or activities, as they term them, during the week. These are interesting but not nearly as interactive as at the Oberoi Mauritius and therein rests their flaw. One can for example ‘learn to make traditional Balinese offerings’ as it’s termed in ‘Tomorrow’s Happenings’ but once you arrive, you don’t get to learn – you simply watch a young girl make them. The same can be said of the egg painting and dances. In Mauritius these would be engrossing and interactive activities, in Bali they are simply a pleasant background visual. This is, however, a minor niggle.

We went on two tours, organised by the concierge, while at the Oberoi Bali and cannot recommend our tour guide Agung Gunawan highly enough. Both of these were incredibly interesting and exceptional value for money. However, there should be a note of caution about the Barong Dance & Kintamani Tour and I would have appreciated a heads-up from the hotel – during the tour you are deposited, sans tour guide, at a silversmiths and a wood carving factory, fine in principle but after a very brief explanation of technique and process, you are moved on to the shop and given a very hard sell on items that are disproportionately expensive. As it was early in our stay, we spent more than we should and were slightly naïve, we later found the same or similar items at much lower prices. We simply trusted the hotel and didn’t think we’d be left alone somewhere we could be overcharged on their watch. My one piece of advice is at the silversmiths, do not even ask to see the showroom – we spent £300 ($515) and got of lightly, they even seemed disappointed! It's much easier to be frugal at the woodcarving showroom.

One thing for which the Oberoi must be given special mention is their sea turtle conservation efforts; while we were there in the region of 90 eggs were laid on the beach outside the Oberoi. When this happens, to safeguard this endangered species and give them the best opportunity for survival, the Oberoi take in the eggs, allow them to hatch and mature for a few weeks before releasing the babies back into the sea. We were delighted to be there for their release on the final day of our stay and released two of the 80 plus that hatched into the sea. This was a great occasion and was spoilt only by a few badly behaved children, who were not hotel guests (word got out and a large family arrived at the bar shortly beforehand). There was nothing the Oberoi could do about this but it was a wonder none of the babies were stepped on by ill-mannered children who refused to stay behind the guide rope. The effort to preserve and protect this species is truly commendable and one can only admire the Oberoi for their efforts.

So far the problems I have highlighted are minor blemishes on what is an excellent Hotel, niggles that could easily be fixed – hence my mentioning them, in the hope that they are. Sadly, where the Oberoi fell down is the last place we expected it to. Before I go on, by any other hotel chain’s standards the service at the Oberoi Bali is excellent, hence my five star review, but by their own, it fell short. The best service in Bali comes from the least senior staff, perhaps a virtue of the Balinese people’s inherent politeness. Staff at the two other Oberois we’ve visited, particularly those in senior positions, made a real effort to learn everyone’s name by at the latest the second day, in Bali it took about 14 days over our cumulative stay for anyone to start calling us by name and even then they were few – Wy Wardana and another lady at breakfast (both a delight throughout our stay), the bar staff in the evenings and the staff on the driveway who help you in and out of taxis. This alone is a forgivable, if unlike an Oberoi; the Bali hotel perhaps has a higher turnover of guests who take make short trips from Australia making learning names difficult and time consuming. However, there were other shortcomings that hint at managerial oversight or complacency. As I mentioned earlier in the review, we spent 9 days at the Oberoi Bali, then 7 at the Oberoi Lombok, before returning to the Bali hotel for 9 days – choosing this package sees the hotel arrange travel between the two properties, which they did excellently. The odd thing was that none of the staff knew of or acknowledged these plans, unless we raised it with them to discuss it. On our return from Lombok to the Oberoi Bali not a single member of staff asked how our stay in Lombok was or whether we enjoyed it (which we did, very much)! All it would take is a simple note on they system that we’d been there and then they could, at least, appear interested – instead they seemed entirely disinterested in where we’d been for 7 days, the check-in staff didn’t even say ‘welcome back’ instead greeted us with ‘sorry, I can’t remember your names’! Despite it being our second stay in a month only Wy Wandana and one of the pool staff said ‘welcome back’, simple words but they go a long way. In Lombok or Mauritius, if you take a stroll you are asked how it was and what you enjoyed. Sadly, at the Oberoi in Bali if you spend thousands of pounds at their sister property, nobody asks how it was. It was most odd and very unlike the other two properties. This slightly disinterested air was continued when I asked at reception to arrange a special dinner at the hotel for our penultimate night (in Lombok and Mauritius this was suggested to us); the slightly confused staff member questioned the word, consulting another member of staff, before producing a list of romantic dining options. These all looked fantastic in theory but when I mentioned the wind and rain that was commonplace that week and asked if we could instead eat undercover, I was told it wasn’t possible. I left it at that and instead we ate an excellent meal from the normal menu in Kura Kura. Again, if you compare this to Lombok or Mauritius it is a stark contrast – in either of those hotels, you are always told if you want something special, or something that is not on the menu all you have to do is ask and the chef will talk to you. In Bali I expected the same response and was somewhat surprised when it didn’t come. Our final disappointment was that the manager, who from overhearing chats with other guests seemed a thoroughly affable chap, never made the effort to speak to us. This isn’t from a self-important point of view, it’s simply disappointing from a business perspective; we were in Oberoi properties in Indonesia for 25 days, had previously been to the Mauritius hotel and had expressed plans to the assistant manager to go to Wildflower Hall in the autumn. All this should have been flagged on the system and the manager should have taken a few minutes during the 18 days we were there to sure up some firm Oberoi business. It’s management 101 but it was overlooked. Our final farewell, after our nearly a month in Indonesia, just compounded all this, in Lombok or Mauritius at least some senior or reception staff accompany you to the car, thank you for your stay and say goodbye – in Bali there was nothing of the sort. In a rather lackluster finale to a wonderful holiday, we walked alone to the car alone and got in. In another hotel I’d expect this but from what we’d seen in the other two properties it was just rather sad and a bit of a downer on a wonderful holiday.

If you’ve read this far, thank you, I can wholeheartedly recommend the Oberoi, Bali and the only reason my review has highlighted so many niggles is that I’m genuinely frustrated with how easily the property could be truly exceptional. It’s a five star hotel and more by Trip Advisor standards but it’s only a three star Oberoi. Perhaps we were unlucky with the managerial oversights during our stay, I truly hope so and I certainly intend to return to find out – it’s a magical place.

Room Tip: Rooms away from Ku De Ta are likely to be quieter, we were on the south side, those that front on to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank BuryFoodLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear BuryFoodLover,

Thank you for posting your extensive review on TripAdvisor after your visit to The Oberoi, Bali & The Oberoi, Lombok.

I am delighted to note that you have enjoyed the most aspects of your stay with us. I do apologise for not systematically seeking you out to find out how your stay was at both of our resorts. We greatly appreciate your patronage of our hotels and resorts.

I humbly accept your criticisms of my managerial performance. Thank you for recognizing the team members who have gone out of their way to look after you. We are indeed fortunate to have such dedicated people working here.

Thank you for staying with us, and I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you to The Oberoi, Bali once again. I would be delighted to personally assist with your arrnagements and will be delighted to personally meet you.

Sincere regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
The Oberoi, Bali
Email : john.halpin@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a night in The Oberoi, Seminyak in one of their Lanai rooms (with a garden view). As expected of an Oberoi property, this beachfront hotel is set in beautiful grounds with lovely landscaped gardens. The Lanai rooms are not terribly spacious but comfortable inside and each have their own patio. However, in our case, we didn't have much privacy as it was just in front of a pathway. The best part of the property was probably the beach. The sea was too rough to swim in but we thoroughly enjoyed walking on the beach. In fact, we didn't realise the hotel was right next to Ku De Ta and you can access it via the beach. We also noticed though that there were no deck chairs on Oberoi's beach which would have been nice for the guests to rest or sunbath on. Food wise, the ambience was great, quality was good but we felt that it was too pricey. We had a snack at the bar and dinner and breakfast at the main restaurant. We really enjoyed the thoughtful extras prepared by the chef for dinner, such as the soursop juice drink to cleanse our palate, gazpacho appetizer and limoncello to end the meal. The breakfast was tasty too (for a change try the Indian options) but three mains, bread basket and drinks set us back by almost US$100. Our suggestion would be to get the breakfast sets and not order ala carte. Service-wise, it was good and you can't really fault the staff but you don't get the personal touch or feeling that the staff is making any extra effort, unlike the staff in other hotels/villas that we have stayed in. For example, I had indicated when making the reservation that we were vegetarians and that one of my friends traveling with me had walking difficulties. However, it didn't occur to the reservation staff to warn me that in order to get to the lobby, you will need to go up and down a couple of flights of stairs and accordingly suggest an alternative entrance. And upon check-in, one of the staff asked me if we had any dietary restrictions. It was good that he asked but you can't help but wonder if they have read your email. I would say this hotel is a safe choice, especially for those with families.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank IshqTraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
25/7/14.

Dear Ishq Traveller1,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor after your visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

I am delighted to note that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your constructive feedback about personalising the experience. I am sincerely apologetic that we did not let you know in advance of your arrival about the layout of the resort and the accessibility of the upper lobby requires walking up some stairs. I assure you we do read all guest correspondence prior to their arrival and highlight all requests, dislikes, and likes to relevant team members. It is a standard during the rooming process to check about dietary restrictions and I apolgise that this was asked of you again despite previously letting us know.

Thank you for having stayed with us, and we all look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali.

With warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
The Oberoi, Bali
Email : john.halpin@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manly, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Hurrying down Jln Laksmana, very hot and hassled, and suddenly an Oberoi car stopped beside me and the driver offered me a lift. I had met this gentleman only once earlier that morning when he dropped me in Seminyak, and I was amazed both that he recognised me and that he saw I was in a hurry. I mention his consideration of me as it is a perfect example of our Oberoi experience - it was exceptional. Others have described the very comfortable lanais ( villas look amazing if you can afford one), the beachfront location, excellent Kura Kura restaurant and beautiful grounds. And being able to walk to Seminyak restaurants, avoiding the traffic chaos, is a huge plus.

But it comes back to the wonderful Oberoi people. You can't make someone smile with their eyes, but at the Oberoi there is such a genuine warmth and welcome, a real concern that guests will have the best holiday possible. It is such a special hotel, and I hope we can return.

Room Tip: Leave it to the hotel, they will look after you
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee-College
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Dee-College,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor after your visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

I am delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I was pleased to note that our driver recognised you and stopped to pick you up on Jalan Laksmana when you were out shopping.

Thank you for having stayed with us, and we all look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali.

Warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
Email : john.halpin@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

If you intend to stay in Seminyak, THERE IS NO BETTER HOTEL.

The Oberoi Bali is located on Seminyak beach, walking distance to Potato head and Kudeta. The staff were extremely well trained, and knew us by name for the time we spent there. There was a buggy that brought us from the lobby to our room anytime we wanted, 24/7.

The rooms were spacious and private. The hotel plot is HUGE, we hardly saw anyone during our stay except at the pool. Every inch of grass was perfectly trimmed and the landscaping was excellent. Its the destination hotel for kicking back and feeling relaxed.

The pool and sunbeds by the beach were attended by staff with HAWKLIKE vision and attentiveness, we were always asked if we needed mosquito sprays, water, towels, fruits.

I must stress that i have stayed in many other hotels in Bali, and MOSQUITOES are always a problem, but at this hotel i didn't get a single bit in 4 days. AMAZING.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KelvinTan84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Kelvin Tan84,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor after your visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

I am delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us and you have found The Oberoi suited your desire to relax .

Thank you for having stayed with us, and we all look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali.

Warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
Email : john.halpin@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Located in the centre of Seminyak, Bali - right on the beach, The Oberoi hotel is still the best. When holidaying in tropical paradise you don't want to have to traverse corridors and lifts to get to the pool, beach, restaurant, etc as is the case with high rise hotels. All facilities at The Oberoi are on the ground. Set in magnificent gardens with water features, fish ponds, and everything that tropical gardens can provide. The friendly efficient staff will always make your stay memorable. Breakfast at the Frangipani cafe set beside the beach is a wonderful experience. We have stayed many times and we will be staying many times more hopefully.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterAlice2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
21/7/14

Dear Peter Alice 2014,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor after your visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

I am delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that garden setting, pool, service, ambience and food have been enjoyed by you.

Thank you for having stayed with us, and we all look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali.

With warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
The Oberoi, Bali
Email : john.halpin@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.2 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#8 of 144 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,476 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#5 of 144 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#22 of 144 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,167 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alila Seminyak
Alila Seminyak
#24 of 144 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Bali

Property: The Oberoi Bali
Address: Seminyak Beach, Jl. Kayu Aya, Seminyak 80033, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#4 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#5 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#9 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#10 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Southall Travel, Travelbag, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oberoi Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Bali Hotel Seminyak
Oberoi Hotel Bali
Oberoi Hotel Seminyak
Oberoi Bali
Oberoi Seminyak
Seminyak Oberoi
The Oberoi Bali Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing