We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel, wonderful service”
Review of The Oberoi Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Oberoi Bali
Ranked #9 of 143 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel, wonderful service”
Reviewed 16 June 2009

We stayed at the Oberoi, Bali for our wedding (we celebrated it there) for 4 nights. We truly had a wonderful time. The hotel is very well kept, the staff and service was stunning and the breakfast a real delight. We stayed in a Ocean view Lanai that was really comfortable and with the a great bathroom.
All the attention is given to make your stay a relaxing and truly enjoyable time.
Spa staff were also fantastic.

I definitely recommend this to anyone looking for pure bliss. Loved it!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elodbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,603 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,342
    181
    56
    16
    8
See reviews for
273
964
66
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
262 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2009

This was our second hotel on this, our 4th visit to Bali. It was also the first visit to Seminyak. Seminyak is ideal for Kuta but the beaches are far better on the Sanur side.
So onto the Oberoi. You have all heard of this chain and have no doubt also heard that you will need quite deep pockets to stay here. Absolutely true. Not quite as expensive as London, but a very narrow margin all the same.
So is it any good??? My God YES. Its adorable, we only had a simple villa room and it was fantastic with a very high bed and a bathroom from your dreams.
One point here. If you are Senior you might just possibly have a minor problem getting into bed; they really are quite high. But I am sure that the staff would be delighted to assist.
And what FANTASTIC staff. They understood our English sense of humour perfectly and indeed we spent quite a lot of the time just getting to know the staff.
My advice for the swimmers is to stay by the hotel pool...the beach is nothing to speak of and as the pool is right next to the beach there is no real cause to stray. Indeed with such excellent pool service you would not need to move or indeed have the desire to.
Iced water at regular intervals? Tick. Iced cream treats? Tick. A spectacle cleaning service?? Er...well yes..tick. I must confess I did not take advantage of that as it felt too surreal.
In conclusion? Superb and wonderful classy hotel worth experiencing even if only for a couple of nights. Just remember to bring your platinum cards...:)
On this trip we also road tested the Bali Hyatt in Sanur and the Sofitel. Please see separate reviews.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Electricwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2009

We stayed 9 nights in Bali, 6 at the Intercontinental Jimbaran and 3 nights at the Oberoi. Overall, this hotel is just lovely. Amazing service, beautiful location. Villas are definitely more Balinese style but have all the amenities. I was a little worried about bugs when we arrived, but saw none. The pool is small, but right next to the ocean. They serve fresh fruit and cold water poolside all day long.
The great thing about the hotel is the location. You are close to all the great restaurants and shopping of Seminyak. You are right next to Ku De Ta (fun for a drink, but get there early) and Breeze (Samaya's romantic oceanfront restaurant - excellent!). There are also a number of great dining options within walking distance (if you can stand the heat) or a $1-$2 taxi ride. We did not eat dinner at the Oberoi, but breakfast each morning was fabulous.
I really can't fault this hotel. The only thing I would say is in regards to the "beach front" villas - they aren't truly beachfront as the path to our room was right in front of them. Not super private so I'm not sure it is worth paying more for them. The private pool villas looked stunning though.

Spa - excellent! But if you want a lower cost massage check out Body Works (5-10 min walk from hotel).

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank strelaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZRH
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2009

The Oberoi Bali Hotel
We spent altogether 7 nights at The Oberoi Bali in April and here are the comments on the stay:
• Great location right on the beach in large, beautiful, quiet perfectly tended gardens with old trees at the Seminyak end closer to Canggu, close to The Legian Bali and The Samaya. Right outside the Seminyak ‘Eat street’ with many restaurants serving international and Balinese cuisine in all price ranges.
• Some 15 minutes away from Kuta by taxi. Have the taximeter on every time you take a taxi (should cost you some 25’000-25’000 Rupiah per car per way – less than a beer back home).
• Some nice restaurants in walking distance (Chandi – modern international and Balinese, beautiful interior, super shakes and smoothies!, Made Warung II –Indonesian cuisine at moderate prices on the street to Kuta – some 30’ walk from the hotel)
Hotel itself:
• Nice lobby, you are greeted with a garland of tropical flowers and some aromatic lime drinks, perfect after a flight and queuing at the immigration.
• Very professional staff, very friendly and helpful, efficient and smiling, never stressy or hectic. You really feel your holiday has started once you’ve arrived.
• Great open air Indonesian / International buffet during theme evenings around the amphitheatre, with Balinese dance and / or music
• The Main restaurant serves very good fusion cuisine, at a gourmet level. The (German) chef knows and apparently enjoys his business and the restaurant staff gives the starry evening the last touch. Of course the prices move in the same upper spheres ... International high level, and the evening is worth every penny.
• Breakfast is served on a terrace surrounded by shadowy trees; you can chose from all kinds of types (European, American, Indonesian, Japanese, ...) and mix everything together! It’s a the day and has one satisfied till ... five o’clock tea by the amphitheatre. Don’t miss this one: perfect pastries, good teas with ginger or mint or jasmine and Ok coffee.
• The beach with sunbeds is also very well taken care of; the beds are prepared with towels, sun sheds and complimentary cold water right when you get there. Attentive staff is always ready to see to any need.

Rooms:
• There are garden view and sea view lanais (bungalows) with one quite large room and bathroom, AC and a nice little terrace in front. The bathrooms have a window wall into a mini Balinese garden and fine toiletries.
• We very much enjoyed our garden view bungalow, never having felt it was too small. Very nice, you can walk up from the bungalow right out to the beach; I wouldn’t have wanted walls between the house and the perfect beach.
• There also are villas – larger, some with own pool - and surrounded by a wall. Didn’t give them any closer look though.

SO: if you want perfect holidays by the beach with crashing waves, great (hot!) sand and blue waters, homelike feeling, if you want to relax and get pampered without even noticing it – this is the choice!
We hadn’t booked any hotel for the last three nights of our holidays, wanting to decide once we knew more of the island. The decision on this was easy and the best: back to the Oberoi.
We loved it, my kids (aged 12 and 13) loved it, my parents were sorry to leave and will never forget the stay. Would we go again? Now!
Something important: don’t forget to be friendly, you’ll enjoy your stay even more!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adswiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2009

I visited the Oberoi Bali last month. I have been there for a meeting and i booked the hotel online from its site: http://www.oberoihotels.com , i did it before leaving so that i dont have to face problem as i have to be there for a meeting. The hospitality was awesome, the food was great and the facilities they were providing was of top quality. The hotel is worth its price. I will never mind going their again but this time with my family ofcourse.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2009

We stayed at the Oberoi for our Honeymoon.
The hotel was brilliant, we really enjoyed our time here. The Restaurant was really nice, with very good food, there was a good selection for breakfast that you could enjoy in the morning outside looking out over the ocean.
The swimming pool was really lovely and there was use of boogie boards for in the sea. The gym is small but it has a few machine's - running, rowing etc
The staff were really great, very friendly and attentive.
In the evenings there was often some sort of entertainment.
Afternoon tea by the pool was a very nice touch.
The hotel is situated in a really nice area in seminyak, just outside the hotel there is a great selection of other restaurants and shops, speak to the staff and they can help you out with directions and bookings - go to mades warung (it's a short taxi journey away but is well worth it, it's not posh but very relaxed and lovely atmosphere - you'll find great local food here.)
There's a good business centre with a couple of computers where you can access free e mail and internet.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beanmod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2009

The oberoi resort is located in the best area of Seminyack, just next door the Kudeta, one of the coolest restaurant/lounge in Bali. Villas are very nice and quite. King size bed with plenty of pillows. Typical Indonesian decoration and amenities. You can have breakfast in your room without surcharge and enjoy the peace of the quite private garden. Staff are very professional and friendly. I loved the traditional Balinese style of this hotel, much better of the new fancy hotels that opened in the last 2 or 4 years. Would stay here again on my next trip to bali

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trip4visor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.4 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#7 of 143 in Seminyak
1,497 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#19 of 143 in Seminyak
3,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#3 of 143 in Seminyak
1,755 reviews
0.6 mi away
Double-Six Luxury Hotel Seminyak
0.7 mi away
Alila Seminyak
Alila Seminyak
#22 of 143 in Seminyak
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Bali

Property: The Oberoi Bali
Address: Seminyak Beach, Jl. Kayu Aya, Seminyak 80033, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#4 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#5 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#8 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#9 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelbag, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Oberoi Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Bali Hotel Seminyak
Oberoi Hotel Bali
Oberoi Hotel Seminyak
Oberoi Bali
Oberoi Seminyak
Seminyak Oberoi
The Oberoi Bali Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing