We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Compared to the rest, it's the best.”
Review of The Oberoi Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Oberoi Bali
Ranked #9 of 144 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
187 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Compared to the rest, it's the best.”
Reviewed 4 September 2009

The hotel is spread out over a large area. Some people complain about this as their bungalow or room is far from the front desk or pool area, but it is really the charm of the hotel. It isn't a private villa facility, unless you want to spend the money for that, and it's not a modern/trendy hotel. It is an old property with character, quiet, and spread out. It represents older Bali traditions in its style and in it's daily afternoon tea with cultural experiences, sculptures, architecture and gardens. When compared to the competition, and compared price-wise, it is THE place to stay as both the Anantara and the Legian have limited grounds. The beach front is private, secure, peaceful, and runs along the entire property. From the looks of it, most people staying there took part in lying by the pool and next to the ocean enjoying this aspect. The rooms are impecably clean and well maintained twice daily and include many small details in terms of toiletries, bug sprays, fruit changed daily, great choice of TV programming, and many others that make the stay comfortable. One person in these reviews was very against the beach itself in Seminyak and it reflected poorly on this hotel. I think that was unfair. Actually, the beach in front of The Oberoi is well maintained and clean compared to a few other spots. Seminyak beach isn't white sand and pristine and it does have drainage runoff from streams. It's one of the facts of life of the beach and should not reflect on the hotel. If you want relaxation, comfort, and a competitive price I highly recommend The Oberoi.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tokyo Shirokuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,320
    181
    56
    16
    8
See reviews for
269
952
65
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Oberoi for 12 nights and this was our third visit to this hotel.The hotel has not lost any of its charm. There is wonderful calming and serene atmosphere which is emphasized by its wonderful staff. Nothing is too much trouble. As we had been there before breakfast and transfers were included in the price of our stay ( we booked independantly and not through a travel agent. On arrival at the hotel we were treated to the usual Oberoi welcome of a garland of flowers and a refreshing drink while formalities were being sorted out. We were celebrating both our birthdays whilst at the hotel and the staff were just super and could not have done more. We had lovely cakes and all sorts of goodies ,cards etc which was so unexpected!
The rooms were beautifully furnished with teak furniture and fresh fuit delivered every day and fresh flowers too. Service is very efficient but discreet.

We ate most nights at the Kura Kura restaurant. Yes it is much more expensive than eating outside but the quality of the food is excellent, the German chef superb and the restaurant staff very attentive. It is a place where you can feel totally relaxed in a beautiful surrounding.

As for the beach staff, they could not have done better. Littel fresh snacks are brought twice during the day, you can have complimentary tea at 4pm every day whilst watching different Balinese arts being demonstrated at the Amphitheater. Twice a week there is also a Balinese ballet and classical dance which is absolutely brilliant.

The hotel grounds are beautifully managed and looked after. The swimming pool is very clean and also very well maintained. Complimentary bottled water is provided and yuou even get your sunglasses cleaned daily by the beach staff.

Alcohol is also reasonably priced at the hotel if you stick to the local beers and local wines such as the Wine of the Gods or Balinese Rose, Red and Sparkling Wine. European wines are expensive but the quality of the locals wines are good and we certainly did not have a hangover the next day! :)

Overall, we would just like to say that this holiday has been excellent and would certainly recommed this hotel to anyone who likes to stay in an elegant hotel with exceptional staff.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andromeda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2009

Recently stayed in a Garden Lanai Room for 3 nights. Very relaxing, spread out resort with soothing service and always with a smile. The package was great as it included airport transfers and breakfast (ordered ala carte but all you can eat). The Oberoi gets it right in service, all very calm and relaxed. Pool service to lay out the deck chairs, cold drinks and towel, sunscreen as well as relaxing spritz. Right on the beach so crashing waves day and night. The rooms are somewhat small and the resort is one of the older on that stretch of beach. Also, can hear the boom boom sounds of the trance music at night if there's a party going on at Ku De Ta next door. Still, all in all, a great hotel and we had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malaysian_suzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2009

We stayed for 4 nights at the Oberoi, in a Lanai with garden view. For sure, the room is small compared to other hotels, but it's really the only negative comment we could find. The location is exceptional, with a large beach access, beautiful gardens, good food (not too expensive, much probably because there is strong competition from the Seminyak restaurants), good swimming pool, fantastic service (smiles, yes, lots of them, but above all very professional), beautiful architecture without excessive decoration...and we nevel felt that the hotel was full. We tried to go back there later during our stay, but it was unfortunately full until almost the end of August - not a big surprise. Considering we "only" paid less than 400$ per night, we has the best quality/price ratio of all our stay in Bali. Other so-called "luxury" places should send their staff for a good training to the Oberoi...

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank François_Bogacz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2009

Everything about this hotel was great - accommodations, service, friendliness of staff, grounds and facilities. Would gladly go back again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newmoon186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2009

We have returned from our trip to Bali and have just sent a note to thank the Oberoi team for their delightful, efficient service which really made our 5 day stay at the Oberoi, the best and most blissful Hotel experience we have shared. The heavenly grounds and authentic low key beach hut accomodation are divine. Every day we were surprised and impressed by the exemplary Oberoi service. Be it the complimentary cocktail and sweet smelling lay cheerfully offered on arrival. It was like the staff really were waiting for us like friends. Be it the ground staff going out of their way to make eye contact in the morning to greet us from the beautifully manicured lawn, the way the breakfast staff remembered just the way my partner preferred his coffee every morning, the telephone calls made to assist with alterations to transfer times, the assistance with IT/email, the constant supply of the chilled water and fresh fruit treats bought to all beside the pool, the exquisite fresh fruit platters bought to our room or the final unexpected gift- the string beach bag from our room. One staff member even went that extra mile and shared with us her own Blackberry recharger. This was all beyond expectation and I am pleased to say that as customers we had a lovely time enjoying the blissfull Oberoi experience.

Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank flourishMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
64 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2009

One of the best known luxury hotels in Bali. It's right on Seminyak beach and next door to the trendy Ku de Ta bar/restaurant which is worth going to for a drink or bite to eat. Accommodation is in Lanai style villas with small patios, unless you pay more for your own pool etc. The basic Lanai is perfectly nice, but nothing incredible for the price. Bathroom is a decent size with Kama toiletries (from India) -the bath tub is sunk into the floor, but not that practical to use. Gym is pretty small with a couple of running machines, bike and a few free weights. Ok but not much good for a serious workout. The pool is really good and much better for swimming than the beach, which is supposed to be quite dangerous for swimming. When I was there you could only swim between two flags which were very close together and watched by a lifeguard constantly because of the strong tide. At the pool they give you a little white flag which you put in a little wooden block when you need to attract the attention of the waiters. Quite cool. They also give you a small cold water spray for cooling down when you're in the sun and a small complimentary sun cream. Nice touches. Probably the worst part of the hotel is the price of the food - really overpriced by local standards - obviously you expect the hotel prices to be higher but not by this much. They are way higher than the best restaurants locally. The bar also lacks any decent wines by the glass.
For dinner try La Lucciola which is a great Italian close by and also practically on the beach. Food, prices and location are really nice.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElHutch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.2 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#8 of 144 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,472 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#6 of 144 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#22 of 144 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,160 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alila Seminyak
Alila Seminyak
#23 of 144 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Bali

Property: The Oberoi Bali
Address: Seminyak Beach, Jl. Kayu Aya, Seminyak 80033, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#4 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#5 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#8 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#9 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oberoi Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Bali Hotel Seminyak
Oberoi Hotel Bali
Oberoi Hotel Seminyak
Oberoi Bali
Oberoi Seminyak
Seminyak Oberoi
The Oberoi Bali Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing