We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Happy with Oberoi Bali”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Oberoi Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Oberoi Bali
Ranked #11 of 143 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Solihull, England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Very Happy with Oberoi Bali”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Oberoi in Seminyak for 7 nights in August 2009. It was our first time in Bali, but in the past we had a number of holidays in the Indian Ocean (Maldives, Seychelles and Zanzibar), Thailand, Mexico... and, if you want or not, you still compare all those places... I am using TripAdvisor as my 'travel bible' and, after many hours spent reading reviews, I try to get realistic expectations about the hotel and resort.

To summarise, Oberoi in Bali exceeded my expectations and I would recommend it to anybody as good value (if you are prepared to eat/drink outside the hotel as well).

The hotel is in a quiet area of Seminyak about 30 minutes drive from the airport. It is in an older style hotel, but villas are very modern. We had a Lanai Graden Villa near the spa which was great - large room, very nice bathroom, lots of storage space and very, very clean. Couldn't be better for what we paid (there are hotels in Bali that are much more expensive). The hotel gardens are superb and well maintained. Swimming pool is old style, but clean with lots of beach chairs and umbrellas. And service is great - you get towels, free water, suncream and a waterspray to cool down.
The beach in front of the hotel is a public beach - meaning anybody can walk there (and that includes some beach sellers - they are not a problem - and some stray dogs - again no problem at all). The sunset is spectacular.

We stayed all the time by the large pool, but went into the sea when the waves weren't very high. It is usualy windy and there are waves - sea is not great for swimming, but it is nice to go into the ocean for a laugh. It is paradise for surfers.
The bar and restaurants are nice, but very expensive as mentioned in other reviews. If you eat/drink all the time in the hotel, it will be an expensive holiday. But if you are prepared to walk 5-10 minutes into Seminyak, there are a high number of restaurants and bars that are much cheaper and food is reasonable (my stomach is quite sensitive and I didn't have a problem, I think the average restaurant in Bali is cleaner than the average restaurant in the UK).

If you want to do trips, there is a lot to chose - you can hire a car with driver for a day for 85 US dollars and visit temples and see spectacular terraced rice fields. The best trip we did was a cycling tour down Mount Batur - really recommended, most of the cycling is downhill and relatively easy and you see the locals, villages, temples, nature...

All staff at Oberoi is excellent and they have a policy asking tourists not to give tips to staff directly (a 10% service charge is added to all the bills) - I think it is a great policy (unlike other resorts where they add 10% to everyhting as well, but all staff members expect tips and even ask for them).

Overall, we were very happy with our Bali holiday and with Oberoi Seminyak!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank a_r_szabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,308
    179
    56
    16
    8
See reviews for
267
943
65
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2009

My husband and I spent 2 nights in the garden view lanai at the Oberoi for our honeymoon. I wish we had cut out one hotel to make this incredible stay longer! The room was very comfortable and beautifully styled. The bedding and towels were very clean and plush. The bathroom was huge -- with a big tub, large shower, bidet, two sinks -- and it was exceptionally clean. Everything about the hotel is a delight to all of the senses! From the visually pleasing grounds and beach, the fragrance of the plumerias, the sound of the ocean waves to the absolutely delicious food! Like most resorts, the food and beverages prices are inflated, but their prices were definitely more reasonable than the other hotel that we stayed at prior to arriving at the Oberoi. The Indonesia breakfast items were incredible -- love the Nasi Goreng if you're into spicy food! My husband raved about the Indian food -- the Chicken Tikka Masala and Veggie Samosas. I am a HUGE fan of their tea quality!! I greatly miss their Earl Grey.... they use very high quality loose tea leaves with tea cup strainers -- no tea bags here! They offer french press coffee as well (my husband had that) but I just couldn't stray from their tea (and I'm more of a coffee person).

Overall, the service was impeccable. The staff was extremely friendly and very accommodating. After dinner, we returned to our hotel room, and it was lavishly decorated with flowers, a cute teddy bear, a honeymoon cake, and a sweet hand-written note from the manager wishing us a happy honeymoon. My only regret is not booking a longer stay with them!! At the end of our trip, we were at a different hotel, and we contemplated extending our trip by a few days just so we could stay at the Oberoi again. We will definitely stay here again if we plan to visit Bali in the future.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinat168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2009

This was my 4th time at The Oberoi, Bali, and is my third review of the property. Any hotel goes through ups and downs, so a review can only be an evaluation of its current status!
After this trip, I can say without hesitation that The Oberoi has fully vindicated its position as THE hotel of choice in Bali and my personal loyalty to both the hotel and the chain.
This is due in no small measure to its wonderful General Manager, Mr. Kamal Kaul. He has been connected with the property ever since it became an Oberoi, 30 years ago; and now, after a short hiatus in a corporate position with the group, is back at the helm, running things on a day-to-day basis.
And it shows. Every aspect of service is at an all-time high; a reflection of the morale, attitude and efficiency of the staff. Moreover, the entire property looks and feels "invigorated" as though it has just been freshly scrubbed!
As for F&B, even though Bali is filled with excellent restaurants (some within a stone's throw of the hotel) I did not feel the need to eat out more than twice during my week there; and that too because I was going out anyway. Everything, from a hot and fresh smoked-salmon focaccia (with caviar sour-cream!) for a lazy poolside lunch, to the Chef's signature Foie Gras with Valhrona (and a slow-braised Wagyu cheek that literally melts in the mouth!) is utterly superb. And NOT astronomically priced.
To crown it all, the property itself is perfectly located, on the nicest, cleanest stretch of Seminyak beach, blending old-world dignity and grace with true Balinese cultural values.
And....it feels like home.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bombayteddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
188 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2009

The hotel is spread out over a large area. Some people complain about this as their bungalow or room is far from the front desk or pool area, but it is really the charm of the hotel. It isn't a private villa facility, unless you want to spend the money for that, and it's not a modern/trendy hotel. It is an old property with character, quiet, and spread out. It represents older Bali traditions in its style and in it's daily afternoon tea with cultural experiences, sculptures, architecture and gardens. When compared to the competition, and compared price-wise, it is THE place to stay as both the Anantara and the Legian have limited grounds. The beach front is private, secure, peaceful, and runs along the entire property. From the looks of it, most people staying there took part in lying by the pool and next to the ocean enjoying this aspect. The rooms are impecably clean and well maintained twice daily and include many small details in terms of toiletries, bug sprays, fruit changed daily, great choice of TV programming, and many others that make the stay comfortable. One person in these reviews was very against the beach itself in Seminyak and it reflected poorly on this hotel. I think that was unfair. Actually, the beach in front of The Oberoi is well maintained and clean compared to a few other spots. Seminyak beach isn't white sand and pristine and it does have drainage runoff from streams. It's one of the facts of life of the beach and should not reflect on the hotel. If you want relaxation, comfort, and a competitive price I highly recommend The Oberoi.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tokyo Shirokuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Oberoi for 12 nights and this was our third visit to this hotel.The hotel has not lost any of its charm. There is wonderful calming and serene atmosphere which is emphasized by its wonderful staff. Nothing is too much trouble. As we had been there before breakfast and transfers were included in the price of our stay ( we booked independantly and not through a travel agent. On arrival at the hotel we were treated to the usual Oberoi welcome of a garland of flowers and a refreshing drink while formalities were being sorted out. We were celebrating both our birthdays whilst at the hotel and the staff were just super and could not have done more. We had lovely cakes and all sorts of goodies ,cards etc which was so unexpected!
The rooms were beautifully furnished with teak furniture and fresh fuit delivered every day and fresh flowers too. Service is very efficient but discreet.

We ate most nights at the Kura Kura restaurant. Yes it is much more expensive than eating outside but the quality of the food is excellent, the German chef superb and the restaurant staff very attentive. It is a place where you can feel totally relaxed in a beautiful surrounding.

As for the beach staff, they could not have done better. Littel fresh snacks are brought twice during the day, you can have complimentary tea at 4pm every day whilst watching different Balinese arts being demonstrated at the Amphitheater. Twice a week there is also a Balinese ballet and classical dance which is absolutely brilliant.

The hotel grounds are beautifully managed and looked after. The swimming pool is very clean and also very well maintained. Complimentary bottled water is provided and yuou even get your sunglasses cleaned daily by the beach staff.

Alcohol is also reasonably priced at the hotel if you stick to the local beers and local wines such as the Wine of the Gods or Balinese Rose, Red and Sparkling Wine. European wines are expensive but the quality of the locals wines are good and we certainly did not have a hangover the next day! :)

Overall, we would just like to say that this holiday has been excellent and would certainly recommed this hotel to anyone who likes to stay in an elegant hotel with exceptional staff.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andromeda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2009

Recently stayed in a Garden Lanai Room for 3 nights. Very relaxing, spread out resort with soothing service and always with a smile. The package was great as it included airport transfers and breakfast (ordered ala carte but all you can eat). The Oberoi gets it right in service, all very calm and relaxed. Pool service to lay out the deck chairs, cold drinks and towel, sunscreen as well as relaxing spritz. Right on the beach so crashing waves day and night. The rooms are somewhat small and the resort is one of the older on that stretch of beach. Also, can hear the boom boom sounds of the trance music at night if there's a party going on at Ku De Ta next door. Still, all in all, a great hotel and we had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malaysian_suzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2009

We stayed for 4 nights at the Oberoi, in a Lanai with garden view. For sure, the room is small compared to other hotels, but it's really the only negative comment we could find. The location is exceptional, with a large beach access, beautiful gardens, good food (not too expensive, much probably because there is strong competition from the Seminyak restaurants), good swimming pool, fantastic service (smiles, yes, lots of them, but above all very professional), beautiful architecture without excessive decoration...and we nevel felt that the hotel was full. We tried to go back there later during our stay, but it was unfortunately full until almost the end of August - not a big surprise. Considering we "only" paid less than 400$ per night, we has the best quality/price ratio of all our stay in Bali. Other so-called "luxury" places should send their staff for a good training to the Oberoi...

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank François_Bogacz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.2 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#7 of 143 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#6 of 143 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#25 of 143 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,088 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alila Seminyak
Alila Seminyak
#24 of 143 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Bali

Property: The Oberoi Bali
Address: Seminyak Beach, Jl. Kayu Aya, Seminyak 80033, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#4 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#5 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#10 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#11 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Holiday Gems, Agoda, Travelbag, Destinology, TravelUp, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oberoi Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Bali Hotel Seminyak
Oberoi Hotel Bali
Oberoi Hotel Seminyak
Oberoi Bali
Oberoi Seminyak
Seminyak Oberoi
The Oberoi Bali Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing