We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So Relaxing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Oberoi Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Oberoi Bali
Ranked #12 of 141 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
236 reviews
203 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“So Relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2011

As expected, wonderful/welcoming service in an almost perfect location - the madness 45 mins walk down the beach one way and increasing quiteness the other. Excellent food, as it should be at the prices charged - impeccable service. As reported many time - wine is very expensive in Bali, and obviously the Oberoi is no exception to this. Lunch on the terrace is to be recommended. The young musicians being mentored during afternoon tea were excellent - fascinating. In direct contrast to some parts of the world, the lady beach vendors were very low key, polite and not at all either numerous or invasive. We were kindly upgraded to Villa 205, which was
all that was to be expected - wonderful.However the only downside to this Villa was the early morning noise from the hotel construction on the adjacent plot - maybe at the time of writing (4 months on) this will have abated somewhat. Didn't ruin the experience !

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeCBansteadUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,291
    177
    56
    16
    8
See reviews for
262
932
62
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol UK
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2011

I stayed here with my husband in January and having been told by my brother how dreadful the weather had been for him a week earlier the most pressing thing was...would it rain for two weeks??

In the end, the weather was great.

This is an established hotel in a chain which has a very good reputation. It seems to have a very colonial feel, which I thought was pitched right for the sophisticated, mostly european clientele.

The rooms were wonderful. We had a garden room (standard) but the suites looked amazing. You do get used to the bed being high, on one night we slept for 12 hours so there must be something right about them! Air con is very efficient. Room turn around and service was impeccable.

The turn down boys were so lovely as were the boys at the pool. In fact all the staff were first class, without exception. If a hotel is judges by its people the oberoi is up with the best.

We both had a spa treatment (I had Maunday Luluar) and it was the highlight of the holiday for this stressed out lawyer. My skin was so soft and it lasted for a week like that. Gorgeous.

The hotel had what I would call subtle, cultured local entertainment which was not in your face and early in the evening. It provided a small insight into the arts of Bali. Seminyak is on your doorstep so if you want to go out and get crazy, it's all there. Ku De Ta is next door. Just go..and see what the fuss is about.

We were on room only as we wanted to sample local cuisine. We did not eat in the hotel restaurant. Not on account of the prices but because it was so quiet!! It didnt have the buzz which was next door at Ku De Ta. This is a completely personal thing, as the food looked delicious and the plat du jours menu was very reasonable for the ambiance and the skills and service.

Drawbacks..the beach. Not great to be honest, not all that clean but not the hotel's fault. It was wonderful to look at from the hotel pool/bar. Trip to Kuta..we hated it and it was the only time I felt unsafe. Get a driver from the hotel taxi service to take you round the island.

As for the hotel- we loved it and will return, if not to Bali then ceratinly to another Oberoi.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsFussbags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2011

First impressions - older hotel, gracious, beautiful gardens.
Impressions by end of stay - impeccable service, beautiful details in the gardens, lovely setting, did I mention wonderful service???? I was sad to leave it was such a comfortable, homely (in a luxurious way) place to stay with a nice older crowd mostly. A dignified hotel. Spa was lovely too.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Springstreet77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, 25 February 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to The Oberoi, Bali

We are pleased to note that you have enjoyed your stay and that you were satisfied with the services rendered.

Thank you for having stayed with us and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali.


Kind regards,

Kamal K. Kaul
Vice President & General Manager
The Oberoi, Bali
E-mail : kamal.kaul@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2011

Lovely hotel, lovely location, lovely beach, lovely pool. But everyone recommending it made it seem like it was the most amazing place they'd ever seen. While the beach was gorgeous, there was nothing particularly spectacular about the hotel itself.

Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank meghan365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, 1 February 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

We are pleased to note that you have enjoyed your stay and that you were satisfied with the services rendered.

Thank you for having stayed with us and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali.


Kind regards,

Kamal K. Kaul
Vice President & General Manager
The Oberoi, Bali
E-mail : kamal.kaul@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2011

I stayed at the Oberoi over Christmas with my fiancee. I found the resort quite intimate. It is not big compared to some of the other big name resorts on the island.
The service was impeccable. I was greeted with smiles every morning and the general up keep of the property was nice.

However, there were some strange details that I think they should think about. First and most importantly, the beds are ridiculous. I am by no means a short person but these beds were so high up, it was so uncomfortable getting into bed. Another thing about these ridiculous beds are that they have this hardwood edged frame that goes all around the bed and sticks out, its impossible not to bang your leg on it at least once (especially when the bed is made up and you are not aware of this hardwood ledge).

Another thing I really didnt like about the room was that although they had a beautiful bathroom and a beautiful area to take a cath, right next to it was a toilet bowl (bidet)...ewwwww! That did NOT offer me any incentive to use the bathtub.
I'm curious to know why anyone would want to place that there! who wants to bathe next to a toilet bowl!!!

All in all, the stay was more positive than negative and I especially appreciated the friendly staff who provided excellent service but would not stay here again because of the detail they lack.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Missyjkitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, 1 February 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

We also thank you for your comment that you found the bed in your room to be too high and uncomfortable. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience. Our bed design is based on typical Balinese beds, which are higher than usual beds. Foot stools are provided on request to meet all guests’ needs.

The sunken marble bath in Lanai room is set against the private walled bathroom garden for guests to enjoy daylight and the outdoor views. We will certainly look into your suggestion to reposition of bidet in relation to the sunken bath.

Thank you for having stayed with us and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali.


Kind regards,

Kamal K. Kaul
Vice President & General Manager
The Oberoi, Bali
E-mail : kamal.kaul@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2011

You read reviews and are not sure what to make of them as they often contradict one another, went here for honeymoon and loved it! Service was impeccable rom start to end...was made to feel like royalty...would highly recommend to anyone! Just dont tell taxi drivers the name of the hotel upon return (say the street instead) otherwise they will charge you extra!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sp120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, 1 February 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

We are pleased to note that you have enjoyed your honeymoon stay with us and that you were satisfied with the services rendered.

I have shared your compliments with my entire team in the hotel. It will encourage them to keep working with the genuine and warm Balinese spirit of hospitality.

Thank you for having stayed with us and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali.


Kind regards,

Kamal K. Kaul
Vice President & General Manager
The Oberoi, Bali
E-mail : kamal.kaul@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denpasar, Indonesia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2011

Room was great but we were told breakfast was complimentary and then got a bill for around $40 for each when we checked out, we were in a hurry so didn't argue it....some misunderstanding I think by us or the waiter who told us it was.

As a lot of reviews have commented, the restaurant is central London prices for Michelin starred joints. Maybe they should point out on the menu it includes the taxes rather than replying to every review. I am fairly well off and I found the prices too much for me but what I really noticed was that I never saw more than 3 tables being used and kept thinking "no wonder" at these prices and also if they lowered the price a bit how much more they could profit, I makes me wonder who did all the research mentioned in their replies to these reviews as I run businesses and having 30 odd tables and all those staff, with say 10% used is strange economics, to me anyway..

Small point, I am now sick back in UK after swimming for 3 hours a couple of days ago in the surf, I left the water after I noticed it was not all water...I will spare you the details. But Bali is in danger of over development without proper infrastructure, the smelly stuff seemed to come from the trendy Ku De Ta next door.

But still, after a murderous few days on a Gili Island washing in salt and escaping to the Oberoi saved my holiday, they were great.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brightontrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, 25 February 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to The Oberoi, Bali. Your feedback is very useful as we carefully analyze all of our guest comments in order to assess the performance of each department.

We also thank you for your comment regarding the menu prices, which you had found to be expensive. As suggested by you, on each menu page, it is already stated that all our menu prices include 11% Government Tax and 10% Service Charge.

As you would have observed, the neighboring Seminyak area offers a choice of popular independent restaurants, which add to the wide dining options available to our guests. Therefore, at the Kura-Kura restaurant for dinner, we aim to meet the need of our guests looking for a fine-dining experience instead of a casual restaurant, with extensive selection of three different cuisines : Continental, Indonesian and Indian.

We share your concern about the impact of tourism development on Bali’s environment. All over the island of Bali natural waterways carry exess rainfall and irrigation water from paddy fields to the ocean. On Seminyak beach there are three such natural waterways, one of which flows just outside the northern boundary of The Oberoi, Bali past a neighboring restaurant. Before reaching the ocean, this waterway flows along the Jalan Kayu Aya, also known as the ‘Eat Street’ with many popular restaurants and shops. The local Government is already laying sewage collection pipe work in south Bali, which has just started at the north end of Jalan Kayu Aya. Once completed, all sewage is planned to be brought to a central public Sewage Treatment Plant facility in south Bali.

Thank you for having stayed with us and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali.


Kind regards,

Kamal K. Kaul
Vice President & General Manager
The Oberoi, Bali
Email : kamal.kaul@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.1 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#8 of 141 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,435 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#4 of 141 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#25 of 141 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,017 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
0.5 mi away
Alila Seminyak
Alila Seminyak
#23 of 141 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Bali

Property: The Oberoi Bali
Address: Seminyak Beach, Jl. Kayu Aya, Seminyak 80033, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#4 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#5 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#11 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#12 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, Expedia, Agoda, Travelbag, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Destinology and TravelUp so you can book your The Oberoi Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Bali Hotel Seminyak
Oberoi Hotel Bali
Oberoi Hotel Seminyak
Oberoi Bali
Oberoi Seminyak
Seminyak Oberoi
The Oberoi Bali Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing