We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the best villa” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa
Ranked #21 of 142 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not the best villa”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

Let me start by saying my husband and I have been to Bali many many times (and I have a sister who lives in Semanyak). But this experience was somewhat disappointing. Decking around the pool was dodgy to say the least - a bit of a paint or oil job is overdue. No grass at all in the single room villas so we were surrounded by old wood decking. You need to do the high jump to get into the shower - which is in the bathtub for gods sake - didn't they outlaw those types of showers many years ago? And the outdoor sun lounges were softer than the mattress on the bed - and that's saying something!!

Location is certainly not central Semanyak - apart from Bali Deli across the road it is like a rural location. 20 minutes walk to anywhere central and a 10 min taxi ride to beach or KuDeTa etc. Luckily my sister recommended a few nice restaurants (after a crappy meal at the Villas Prana Restaurant) and I would highly recommend Sardine, Sip and Gado Gado (at night).

Only thumbs up would go to the staff - lovely people and always willing to help.

So that was the last trip to Bali for us. Sad note to go out on - we were hoping for so much more at US$320++ a night - also a rip off.

Room Tip: Don't believe their photos - check photos from reviewers, in particular the one bedroom villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Knill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Villas M, Manager at The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
Dear Knill,

Thank you for taking the time to share your holiday experience on Tripadvisor. It is disappointing and unusual to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

It is great that our team made a positive impression on you so thank you for your acknowledgment. We pride ourselves not only on our beautiful villas but on our level of personal, professional service.

We always recommend addressing issues whilst staying with us so that we can assist if your expectations have not been met. Of course holiday choices are a personal thing and what suits one person may not suit another.

We are located in Seminyak and are 1.5km’s from the beach and are surrounded by boutique shops and restaurants. Our location is ideal for so many and is in one of Seminyak’s most popular areas, certainly by no means rural. The information we provide on our website and through many other channels is exactly this, so we are at a bit of a loss why you would choose this location. As you sister lives in Seminyak would she have not advised you of an area that you would enjoy?

Our villas receive rave reviews, are constantly maintained and the images that we provide (through our website and numerous other channels) show exactly what the grounds, pool and villas are like. Prana Restaurant and in villa dining also receive many recommendations, again it would have been beneficial if you had expressed your disappointment whilst you stayed with us.

We continue to receive wonderful recommendations on our villas and as a guest you not only have the privacy and luxury of your own private villa but all the services you would expect of a fully serviced hotel. We offer daily housekeeping service plus evening turndown, free flow water, a full kitchen stocked with all the necessary equipment and of course luxurious accommodation, surrounded by lush gardens and large swimming pools. All of this plus the numerous inclusions in our rates make this a value holiday.

Villa accommodation is not for everyone and it is a shame that you didn’t have the experience you wanted.

The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    855
    198
    35
    8
    12
See reviews for
369
361
20
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

I spent 3 days and 2 nights at the Villas Seminyak of Bali Indonesia. It was an extraordinary experience. For the minute we walked in we were blown away by the lavishing look of the Villa. We couldn’t believe our eyes in amazement that we would stay in such a majestic place like this. We were greeted with warms smiles as we entered The Villa had its own private pool and garden. The beauty I saw inside was no match for the splendour I witnessed outside the hotel. It was a perfect blend of nature and civilization coming together. The yin and yang symbol painted in the pool was the perfect representation of what the place has to offer. We were treated like royalty. Everything that we needed was given to us. Daily breakfast was cooked and served to us at our own private Villa. Over all the experience was extraordinary. My stay at the hotel was so enjoyable that I wished it could go on forever. I will definitely recommend to all my friends that if they ever travel to Bali, they must stay at the Villas. Majestic

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agathahenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Villas M, Manager at The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
Dear agathahenry,

Fantastic that you enjoyed your stay with us, enjoying our amazing villas and beautiful Bali!

Our villas are a perfect combination of Balinese architecture blended so well with luxury - from our deep water swimming pools and lush tropical gardens to the stunning bathrooms and fantastic facilities offered in each villa.

There is no denying that our villas are wonderful, however it is our team that make your stay even more special. Nothing is too much trouble and the smiles and good will flow freely – thank you for acknowledging our efforts.

Having breakfast prepared and served in your villa is a wonderful way to start the day and it’s great that this was a highlight for you.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and for your recommendation to others.
We do offer great benefits to return guests so please check our website for details on this when you are next planning a holiday to Bali.

The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

Staying in the Villas for days was one of the highlights of Roxy's Let the Sea Set You Free Bali Trip. The staff at this hotel went out of their way to make us feel at home, to make us feel like we were VIPs. The place is unreal and divine, rooms were really awesome, especially the bathroom and the pool. They've got excellent service,and wonderful housekeeping staff and they din't disappoint us. The thing i love about this place is the pool and the bathroom, pretty awesome! The outdoor kitchen was also a great spot. Breakfast cooked in our villa was really nice.The food was always served with a smile. One word about the spa, HEAVEN! i felt like a baby for an our and 3o minutes!!! by far the best spa treatment!! :) two thumbs up for you guys! you made our trip worthwhile! im definitely coming back! :D

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beethevee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Villas M, Manager at The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 August 2012
Dear Beethevee,

Fantastic that you loved your stay with us and how wonderful that this was a highlight of your trip to Bali!

Our villas are divine and a real oasis tucked away from all that makes Bali wonderful! Our bathrooms and pools are a highlight for many guests and we are pleased that you especially loved these. Having breakfast prepared in the privacy of your own villa is such a wonderful start to the day – there is nothing better than feasting as you sit back and enjoy your surrounds.

Thank you for acknowledging our team, we do pride ourselves on our high level of service all delivered with a warm, genuine smile. We all aim to exceed your expectations and it is great to see that you loved all that we offer.

It is wonderful that you had a chance to experience Prana Spa – it is simply like no other spa in Bali and offers so many wonderful treatments to help you relax and recharge.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and for recommending us to others. We do offer great benefits on return visits as a thank you for your loyalty so please contact us when you are next planning a holiday in Bali.

We too look forward to seeing you again.

The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

My Family and I spent 10 days staying in a 3 bedroom villa and we had an amzing holiday. From the moment we walked in we were blown away by the size of our villa, the well kept gardens, beautiful pool and amenities.
After staying in an number of different resorts in Bali, I can honsetly say I will be going back to The Villas for my next holiday. It has all the benefits and services of a resort, while providing you with your own private piece of Bali paradise.
The staff are friendly, the service was excellent and having breakfast prepared in our villa each morning was a both delicious and luxurious!
The surrounding area had an excellent assortment of spas, restaurants, bars, shopping and delis.
I would like to give a special shout out to the security staff of The Villas, who were more than happy to stop traffic so my family could safely cross the road when ever we needed to, it was very reassuring when crossing the road with small children.
Do yourself a favour and check out The Villas, you'll be glad you did!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Villas M, Manager at The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Dear Matt H,

Fantastic that you all had an awesome holiday at The Villas! What a wonderful way to holiday with your family, having the luxury and space of a 3 bedroom villa complete with its own pool, with Seminyak on your doorstep. Some say heaven, some say paradise – we agree either way!

We know we have far exceeded your expectations when you are already planning a return trip – to us that is just wonderful and confirms that we are doing things right.

Our villas and the surrounding area are amazing however it is the team that makes all the difference so thank you for acknowledging everyone’s efforts. Our security team are fabulous and do go completely out of their way to ensure that you have a safe and wonderful experience in Bali – we have passed on your thank you to them in particular.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and for your recommendation to stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family again. We do offer great return guest benefits as a thank you for your loyalty, so please contact us when you are next planning your holiday to Bali.

The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

I could not fault the service, room, and stay. Amazing villa, possibly the best hotel I have ever stayed in. We had a 3 bedroom villa and it was amazing.

Only faults: terrible wifi, would barely work at all and I couldn't send emails. Other fault: try blocked our credit card and it took 3 days to come off. As we were sharing the bill with friends this was very frustrating because our card went over the limit for the whole stay and we couldn't use it.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Willy-hiiiiiine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Villas M, Manager at The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Dear Willy-hiiiiiine,

Thank you for taking the time to share your holiday experience on Tripadvisor. There is not a higher recommendation than yours and we all thank you for stating that we are “possibly the best hotel you have stayed in”!

We are all very pleased that you enjoyed your stay – amazing and fantastic are expressions we hear often and it’s great that you also thought the same. We do all genuinely enjoy offering wonderful service and going that extra mile, so thank you for acknowledging this.

Our 3 bedroom villas are stunning, with a beautiful large pool, lush gardens and of course the luxurious villa itself which is just perfect for relaxing holidays in Bali!

We do offer free WiFi in every villa and we thank you for your comments relating to this. We are continually trying to improve and overcome faults and services that are beyond our control. Internet services offered in Indonesia are not the same as other countries and we are continually aiming to improve what we have on offer.

Upon check in we do conduct a preauthorization on a credit card which is normal practice in most hotels when your card is scanned on arrival. This simply verifies that the funds are available and the banks sometimes have a delay in releasing the preauthorization. We have shared your comments with our team who are continually improving the service we offer – so again thank you.

We do offer great benefits on return visits as a thank you for your loyalty so please contact us when you are next planning a holiday in Bali.

The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

Our family of four stayed in a 3 bedroom villa for 6 blissful nights. Loved the bedrooms and the outdoor bathrooms. Huge garden and pool, but only 2 sunbeds! The villa is very Balinese. Bonuses were huge 19l bottle of filtered water, multi-national adaptors, DVD/CD player. Lots of choice for breakfast and all made fresh but had to pay for extra coffee! It was a luxury to have breakfast cooked in our villa one morning and the complimentary bbq was a feast. The spa treatments were fantastic; great treat to have a complimentary massage and half price treatments. Would definitely return as staff were so genuinely friendly and warm. Had complimentary use of Canggu Club but didn't use it as too far away.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RuthSands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Villas M, Manager at The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Dear RuthSands,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent holiday experience on Tripadvisor. We are all very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and had a chance to rest and relax surrounded by luxury!

Our villas are amazing and it’s wonderful that you enjoyed the space and the facilities that each villa offers. It is the detailed items that do make the difference and offering 19 litres of water, adapters and a music system that has an Ipod/Smartphone/Mp3 port just seem to make everything that little bit more relaxing and less to worry about!

It is great that you enjoyed breakfast and the in villa BBQ. Both are a true treat and are so much more than just breakfast or a BBQ. Having a freshly prepared and serviced meal in the privacy of your own villa is a wonderful way to begin and end your day.

Prana Spa is like no other and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your treatments. The exotic atmosphere just seems to make everything even more special and luxurious.

We do offer temporary membership at Canggu Club whilst staying as a guest with us simply to provide access to facilities that you would normally not receive in Bali unless you were a club member. Canggu is located about a 20 minute drive from us and offers the best sporting facilities in Bali including tennis and squash courts, gym, sports field, large swimming pool for laps plus a children’s pool and restaurants. It is simply a bonus included in our rates and another wonderful reason to stay with us!

Thank you for acknowledging our team and their efforts to make your stay special. We pride ourselves not only on our amazing villas and facilities but more so on the service our team offers so willingly and naturally.

We look forward to seeing you again when you are next holidaying in Bali.

The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire, England
Level Contributor
113 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

Enjoyed stay here. Had a very large villa with 3 bedrooms all nice and private. Pool smaller than expected and only 2 moveable sunbeds between 5 people. There are other soft beds by the rooms which are out of the sun. Fully air conditioned. Breakfast is good and the spa is also very good. Very relaxing. Staff even provided a birthday cake. Well recommended if you dont want to stay near beach area.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lo2sogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Villas M, Manager at The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Dear Lo2sogo,

Fantastic that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our team to be very friendly. We pride ourselves on our service and the can do attitude to go the extra mile. What a wonderful place to have a birthday - we are glad to share in the celebrations with you and pleased that you enjoyed the cake.

Our 3 bedroom villas are amazing and feature a beautiful large swimming pool and lush gardens along with fully air-conditioned bedrooms. Our website shows various pictures of our villas including a 360 degree virtual tour of a 3 bedroom villa’s living and pool area. Prefect for planning your time with us!

Great news that you enjoyed breakfast - there is no better way to start the day than sitting back and relaxing in privacy whilst breakfast is fully prepared and laid out for you – some say heaven!
Prana Spa is wonderful and it is great that you had a chance to enjoy a treatment. It is simply like no other spa and the exotic atmosphere accompanied by wonderfully trained therapists and high standards of cleanliness make it the best place to recharge and relax.

Thank you for taking the time to share your holiday experience on Tripadvisor. We do offer great benefits to return guests so please check our website for details on this when you are next planning a holiday to Bali.

The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
1.1 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#2 of 142 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Seminyak Icon
Seminyak Icon
#7 of 142 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
1.7 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#24 of 142 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,026 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Trans Resort Bali
The Trans Resort Bali
#13 of 142 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa

Property: The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa
Address: Jalan Kunti 118X, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#8 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#19 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#19 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#20 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our exclusive accommodation offers privacy and luxury with all the conveniences of a full service hotel. Every one, two or three bedroom Villa has its own private swimming pool. We're located in the heart of Seminyak, one of Bali's trendiest areas; walking distance to dozens of fabulous restaurants and shops, yet once within The Villas grounds that has 24 hour security, it is extremely quiet and private. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Fastbooking, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TravelUp, ACCOR and Prestigia so you can book your The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Villas Bali Hotel And Spa
The Villas Bali Hotel Seminyak
Hotel Bali
The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing