We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit of a disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa
Ranked #22 of 143 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A bit of a disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Villas during our recent trip to Bali. We stayed in a one bedroom villa in the Sunset. I hate to say anything negative, but our experience was a bit disappointing.

Be aware that the kitchen and bathrooms are outdoors. This sounds great in concept but the kitchen and sitting area become useless once it gets dark because the mosquitoes and other bugs become an issue. And imagine if you will using the bathroom in the middle of the night and walking from a air conditioned room into a hot and muggy bathroom where bugs roam free. I found a large black bug in the sink. Not a pleasant experience when I am paying more than $200 a night. The only completely enclosed and air conditioned room is the bedroom. To be fair, the staff was very accommodating and friendly. They were able to quickly respond and put up a mosquito net to cover the opening in the bathroom when we found bugs in the bathroom.

The personal pool was lovely (but beware that the tiles around the pool are very slippery when wet) and the food was OK, but really for the price we paid, we truly expected luxury, and unfortunately we were disappointed. The place needs a serious face lift. It is showing its age. The sheets are rough and have a weirdly oily feel to it.

On top of all of this, they are a bit shady with the rates they quote. I was given a quote in dollars, but they charge in rupiah and ultimately I was charged more than the quote. I'd would have rather been quoted in rupiah and paid that price in rupiah. And of course, they refused to honor the price they quoted and give me a refund.

Overall, I would not recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Villas M, Manager at The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Gina S,

It is disappointing to read that you did not enjoy your villa vacation.

We did address your concerns during your stay as you reported them to our team and these were resolved. Our villas are an open plan design with the living room a central area open to the garden as shown clearly on our website.

We do have an excellent management system in place to deal with mosquitoes including twice weekly fogging, coils and spray in every villa. All our bedrooms have mosquito nets over each bed which is often a draw card for many guests. Unfortunately a down side of a tropical destination is living with these type of insects and we do all that is possible to combat this and any concern of this nature.

We pride ourselves on our beautiful villas that embrace the Balinese lifestyle, with large swimming pools and lush gardens along with the most helpful and friendly team around. It is great that you enjoyed our service and that you found our team to be accommodating.

We clearly outline in all our documentation that for consistency our rates are confirmed in US dollars and are converted to local currency (Rupiah) by the hotel at your time of stay. This is based on the exchange rate used by the hotel and this is subject to exchange rate fluctuation. Credit card charges are subject to additional currency conversions by banks or credit cards companies, which are not within the hotel’s control and may impact the amount charged to your credit card.

Our aim is always for you to have a wonderful holiday experience and we certainly acknowledged that villa accommodation is not for everyone.

Thank you for your feedback and please contact us directly if we can assist further.

The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    857
    199
    35
    8
    12
See reviews for
370
361
20
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

From the first entrance to our villa the experience amazing. I could not fault this place. Breakfast was excellent. Accommodation was one of the best. And the Prana Spa was incredible. Book here. You will love it!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank macbookkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

Stayed at The Villas for a few days and it was beyond anything I could have imagined. The pictures don't do it justice. An oasis! My room was incredible. A beautiful mosquito net and incredible bathroom. The pool was deep and paradise just outside my door. The staff were so polite, professional and friendly. I was lucky enough to experience a famous The Villas BBQ. Our villa was decorated with Balinese flowers and the food was unbelievable. I hope I can return someday.

Head to the Prana Spa if you get the chance. Another unforgettable experience!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveltoseelearnlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Villas M, Manager at The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear traveltoseelearnlove,

Thank you for your recommendation and for taking the time to share your holiday experience with others. We are so pleased that you enjoyed every aspect of your holiday with us and that we exceeded what you imagined.

We are very lucky to not only have beautiful villas (indeed your own personal oasis) but also to have a brilliant team who work together with the one goal in mind which is for you to have a terrific holiday. It is so good to know that we achieved this for you and that our team, villa and facilities were holiday highlights.

Our villas are perfect for family and friends to holiday together combining a great location, luxury, more facilities than a full service hotel and of course our team who are genuinely warm, caring and professional.

Great to hear that you also had a chance to visit Prana Spa! It is an unforgettable experience with the exotic decor and amazing treatments such a treat and providing a beautiful location to relax and recharge.

We look forward to welcoming you again to The Villas and don’t forget we offer terrific benefits to our return guests so have a look at our website and join our Loyalty program for when you next stay.

The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

We first went to Villas in March 2013 and then back again in December. What an absolutely beautiful place The Villas are. The service is exceptional, the Villas are spotless and the food is so very good. I would return just for the breakfasts. Seriously though the staff are amazing, so friendly and polite and can't do enough for you. The cleaners come twice a day, the pool is sparkling clean - I do not have a bad word to say. Whether you're a family or some single mates - I highly recommend the Villas to everyone. As my friend said - we're now saving for our next wonderful stay at the Villas. :-)

Room Tip: Have now stayed in a 3 bedroom Villa and a 2 bedroom Villa - both beautiful. I did prefer Villa No...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jenny N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Villas M, Manager at The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Jenny N,

We love that you are already planning for your next holiday with us- that really is a testament that not only are our villas lovely but that we help make holidays memorable.

Having your own villa complete with lovely pool is the best way to holiday. The great part about The Villas is that we offer all this plus all the facilities and more of a full service hotel – you simply don’t need to lift a finger!

We are very lucky to have a fantastic team of people that really do go out of their way to make sure you have the holiday you deserve. Thank you for acknowledging our efforts as this was obviously a holiday highlight for you.

Thank you for taking the time to share your holiday experience on Tripadvisor and for your recommendation. We look forward to seeing you on your third stay!

The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

we, 3 friends and myself, were here in March 2013, we returned last week but this time with my 23 and 25 year old daughter and a friend. we had a 2 bedroom sunset villa, absolutely loved it again. I cant speak highly enough about the fabulous, friendly and funny staff, the amazing food in their restaurant and also had a few room services meals better than a lot of restaurants we went to, and the breakfasts are amazing, the massages in the Prahna Spa sensational and the villas themselves are like living in your own lil oasis. I cant believe the bad report i read earlier! insanely hard to please i think! we did the sea walk with the fish, worth doing, had a great meal in greek restaurant in Seminyak, Mykonos??, only non indonesian food we had. Now saving to return :-)

Room Tip: last time we stayed in The Villas, more handy to the Bali Deli, but a bit noisey, this time we staye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FirstThaiTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Villas M, Manager at The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear FirstThaiTime,

Fantastic that you have returned again this year with your daughters and a friend! We are so pleased that you love The Villas as much as we do and that you have chosen to stay with us again. You are right, each villa is a little oasis tucked away from the wonderful streets of Seminyak!

We are very lucky to have a wonderful team of people who are truly united in the one goal, which is for you to have a wonderful holiday. It is great to hear that we continue to deliver this to you and that you took the time to point this out as a highlight of your stay.

Great that you had a chance to relax and enjoy a treatment in Prana Spa and that you also enjoyed eating in Prana Restaurant and in your villa.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor and for your wonderful recommendation. We look forward to seeing you again in the future and creating more happy memories.

The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kandy
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

As a veteran traveler to Bali I can honestly say that the Villas was worth every cent. As a small group we decided to splurge on a really nice villa and the Villas was a top decision. I can only reiterate what others have said...our 3 room villa was deluxe, spacious, well-designed and with enough room for a small herd of elephants with a garden to graze in !! Our personal pool was huge and everything kept spic and span by an efficient team of gardeners,pool attendants and cleaners who were very discreat and non-intrusive. The music system allowed us to play our own music and the excellent design and space of the Villa meant we did not disturb others. A great location for that special family or small group occasion. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank miche b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Villas M, Manager at The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Miche b,

Thank you for your fabulous recommendation and for taking the time to share your holiday experience on Tripadvisor.

There are so many wonderful places to stay in Bali and we are so pleased that you chose to spend this holiday with us.

Our 3 bedroom villas are just perfect for families or friends travelling together and sounds like you made the most of the space. There is nothing better on your holiday than sitting by your own pool, listening to your own music with everything at your fingers tips. We are glad you loved it all!

We are very lucky to have a great team of people that really want you to have a wonderful holiday. A big thank you for noticing our efforts.

Thank you again for your recommendation – it means so much to us. Please keep in mind that we do offer great benefits to return guests so please check our website when you are next planning a holiday to Bali.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

The Villas Bali Hotel and Spa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

The Villas Seminyak are ideally located close to the wonderful streets of shopping in Seminyak. Each Villa is beautifully proportioned with large bedrooms, bathrooms and living space. The best part about The Villas is the large swimming pool that you have all to yourself which is surrounded by gorgeous gardens. Each bedroom is independently air conditioned and the beds are turned down each evening by staff who also release the mosquito nets surrounding the beds which add to the luxurious feel. Breakfast was prepared daily by two chefs, if you choose, in your villa and we also made lots of time for ourselves to indulge at Prana Day Spa and Chill Reflexology, both amazing in their experiences. This was my second time staying at The Villas and my two friends and I now making it a yearly event! The staff are amazing and extremely accommodating and I would not hesitate to recommend The Villas as a quiet and enjoyable getaway.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Clare P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Villas M, Manager at The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Clare P,

Wow! Thank you for your fantastic recommendation and for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

Great to hear that you not only love our beautiful villas but also our location which is ideal for shopping and has easy access to all that makes Bali wonderful.

Our lovely large swimming pools set in a beautiful tropical garden are a holiday highlight for so many and we are pleased that you also loved these features. You really feel like you are on holidays when you can just relax and enjoy everything around you.

Great to hear that you had a chance to visit Prana Spa and Chill Reflexology! Both are so different from each other and yet are so fabulous leaving you revived and rejuvenated.

We love hearing from all our guests, especially guests that have stayed before as they have a previous holiday to measure us against. To hear that you enjoyed this trip as much and that you are making it a yearly event is really great.

Thank you again from all of us for recommending a holiday at The Villas and we look forward to seeing you next year.

The Villas Bali Hotel and Spa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.1 mi away
The Amala
The Amala
#16 of 143 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seminyak Icon
Seminyak Icon
#4 of 143 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#2 of 143 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
The Dusun
The Dusun
#13 of 143 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Coco
Villa Coco
#27 of 143 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa

Property: The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa
Address: Jalan Kunti 118X, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#8 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#19 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#20 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#21 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our exclusive accommodation offers privacy and luxury with all the conveniences of a full service hotel. Every one, two or three bedroom Villa has its own private swimming pool. We're located in the heart of Seminyak, one of Bali's trendiest areas; walking distance to dozens of fabulous restaurants and shops, yet once within The Villas grounds that has 24 hour security, it is extremely quiet and private. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Fastbooking, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Villas Bali Hotel And Spa
The Villas Bali Hotel Seminyak
Hotel Bali
The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing